Customer Reviews for

The Reader

Average Rating 4
( 457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

This is possibly one of the most entrhalling translated pieces I've read. It bypasses The Stranger by miles. Very hartwarming and, yet, disturbing. If you have ever taken the simple skill of reading for granted this novel will force you to think upon it.

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Why all the hooplaa?

The way everyone ranted and raved about this book lead me to believe it would be fantastic! What a let down. Oprah, why such great reviews on this book? I've read much more interesting books than this. I give it a low one star rating.

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 167 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    Beautiful Reader

    What a moving and thought provoking story. Written in beautiful, spare language and filled with morally complex questions, this is a wonderful book that deserves to be read and re-read. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    Powerful, educational, humane - outstanding

    I'm 25 years old, the world constantly surprises me, people scare me sometimes, they are cynical, they are cold. The human race keeps repeating the same mistakes over and over again, century after century, only the details are different, but the concepts that people can't seem to agree upon are the same. The majority of all wars and suffering in the world is caused by people's ignorance and their impatience and inability to LISTEN instead of waiting for their turn to speak. It's amazing how little we know of world history, when in fact it's this knowledge that will educate us and make the evolution process a little bit less painful. I keep rereading this book and it keeps making me cry. The same way 'Remains of the Day' (film) makes me cry. It makes me listen more. Especially now, with everything that is happening in the world. I know this isn't a very good review - forgive me. This book will make its readers think, it examines human cruelty, human cowardice, and human indifferene - qualities that are very particular to americans (the nation of sleepwalkers with me being one of them). 'The Reader' makes one to look deeper into the world around us; it'll make you THINK and FEEL - actions that our society often replaces with cynisism and sacrasm - defense mechanisms against thinking or feeling too much. Everyone should read it for it is very contemporary. This is not 'enjoy me' literature. It is not to be read during a meal or on the toilet. This is the topic and the writing that knocks you out of your comfort zone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2001

    sophomore in highschool loved it!!!

    This was a grea book and to all the people who think it sucked, you have no sence of style. i am a female sophomore in high school and i used this book for my oral book report. i got an A+ because my teacher loved the book too. READ IT, IT'S SOOO WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2000

    important book for americans

    This book is about pre l945 germany hanna and post was germany michael. Much washing needs to be done for the two to get together.German people are asking how the war could have been possible and what was their fathers role in the war. The answer in this book is that no one saw what was happening, no one saw the relationship between the two, or the change in michael. no one noticed hanna was illiterate. etc. The judge says dont ask me what I would have done. Three characters see in the book, the stamp collection buyer, the man on the wall is recognized by michael and the survivor of the church fire. Seeing leads to see the truth, but Germany saw nothing. Hanna in prison made herself unacceptable by not bathing. Germany is asking about the war and this is one of the first books to be read by americans. It is a translation of a german best seller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    What is it that makes this book so great?

    Many detractors seem to have a single voice, predictable, flat, unsympathetic characters, the secret was no secret, immoral. I agree with most of this, but that wasn't the point of the book or maybe that was exactly the point. It's not a mystery, it's not an exploration of deep emotion, it's not about moralization. So what is it? It's thought provoking. It's about the good and bad in human nature and what a fine line there is between them. It points out that we don't have a lot of control over our destinies, life happens to us. The one thing I disagree with the detractors about is that this book is immoral. That implies that this was erotica, it wasn't. The evocative nature of the relationship was necessary and human. That is what makes the book rich and interesting. That is not to say I would want my child in such a relationship. We can appreciate what we don't condone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2000

    couldn't put this one down

    this is the first book that i have read in a long time that kept me turning the pages. I 've read it multiple times and everytime the pages don't stop turning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    Wonderful

    I loved this book. The content, the way that it was written.A haunting tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2000

    WHAT A BOOK

    REGARDLESS OF THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS YOU MIGHT READ HERE THIS IS A GREAT BOOK! SO MUCH SO THAT I COULD NOT PUT THE BOOK DOWN AND READ IT IN ONE DAY. IT IS THE TYPE OF BOOK THAT IS WRITTEN SO WELL IT MAKES YOU THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU MIGHT DO IN THE SAME SITUATION.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2000

    deepest german book of the century

    if you have not bought this book yet, do it now. it is the best book you will read this year.should have six stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    Read It, If You Can

    Schlink captures mature themes in a childlike manor and tells nothing but the truth. He portrays male fantisies in such a way that it seems as though it could happen to you, too. Beautiful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    Self dissection made readable

    Most everyone reflects, or ought to, over and over about the most ethically challenging events of their lifetime. It's a necessarily private endeavour and should be not only because such reflection does not work best in public, but also because it can be downright boring for others not on one's path. Not so this novel. Schlink, using (but not limited to) a professional eye for justice, law and their disjunctions, tells most fascinatingly about the inner workings and re-workings of the protagonist's lifelong struggle with the events of his adolescence. In so doing, and without being at all didactic, he teaches us much about the social psychology of guilt and forgetting in post-war Germany. A true masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What an amazing story. I never saw the movie but the book was re

    What an amazing story. I never saw the movie but the book was recommended to me. I'm glad I read it. Easy read. I read it within a few days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    One of my favorite books of all time

    I read this book for a college course and absolutely loved it. The way Schlink writes is as profound and moving as it is accessible -- this is a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    In love

    I havent read the whole book... but thr movie is amazing!!!!!!!! im in love with it... you shall watch it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I loved it

    I read it not expecting a whole lot but I loved it so much I couldn't put it down. It took me three days and I loved it! You won't be able to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    Very good audio book - even with the movie out there.

    Very good audio book. Coming of age, sex, love, holocaust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent book, thought provoking.

    To be honest I saw the film adaptation before I read the book. The Reader made a very good movie, but was a far superior novel. The author is able to go into the mind of the young (then older) Michael Berg with greater detail and ultimately, with more sympathy (empathy?). This is more than a romance novel, or a story of a coming of age. Against the story of Michael and Hanna he is able, very effectively, to dive into the world of post war Germany. The push/pull that had to be going on in the minds of everyone effected by the war, its consequences, and final outcome. Mr. Schlink's prose is smooth, the characters rich, and events very believable. I plan on reading this book again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Read for Book Club

    Compelling story with a surprise or two. A quick read that I just couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read it, then reread it

    This is a good story on the surface, but there is much depth to the novel. Read it, then think about it, then ponder it in your heart. "Man's inhumanity to man" has so many repercussions as this novel referring to the Nani era and the horrors of the Holocaust demonstrates. There are many other issues in the novel as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 167 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9