Customer Reviews for

Reader and Raelynx (Twelve Houses Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun reading.

Love the world Shinn has created. Still wishing to be a mystic of sorts.

posted by Engenue on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Angieville: READER AND RAELYNX

This is the fourth book in Shinn's Twelve Houses series. Each volume focuses on one of the six companions and this one follows the youngest--Cammon. The boy who reads souls. Heretofore, Cammon has been something of a delightful enigma. The scruffy little brother with a ...
This is the fourth book in Shinn's Twelve Houses series. Each volume focuses on one of the six companions and this one follows the youngest--Cammon. The boy who reads souls. Heretofore, Cammon has been something of a delightful enigma. The scruffy little brother with a good heart, not an ounce of tact, and the ability to gauge a person's true intentions. In this volume, he comes into his own and it was a treat to be one up on the rest of the characters for once. To actually be inside his head. Cammon is still Cammon, but we do get a little more information on his background and abilities as a reader. When he is chosen to assess the true intentions of Princess Amalie's suitors, the inevitable humorous and dangerous consequences follow. In fact, this was the most predictable of the four novels so far. Although I was surprised (and perfectly delighted) with how much of it was Senneth's story. She is my favorite character and, in the end, all the books are about Senneth, the people she gathers around her, and the ways in which she binds them together. As in MYSTIC AND RIDER, her sheer strength took my breath away. Now that I think about it, it makes sense that we get so much of Senneth in this book as it becomes clearer and clearer as the story goes on how much Cammon relies on her. How, even when he disagrees with her logic, she has come to fill a space in his life that was empty until she walked into the tavern and freed him with a swipe of her knife. As always, Shinn's strength is her dialogue and her strong characters. They leap, gleefully and disreputably, off the page, making me wish I knew them. Wish I could talk with them and watch their faces. Become familiar and chummy with them. Until I was one of them. One of the six. No, seven now. That's the sign of a good book. That's the reason I'll read anything she writes.

posted by Angieville on November 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun reading.

    Love the world Shinn has created. Still wishing to be a mystic of sorts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: READER AND RAELYNX

    This is the fourth book in Shinn's Twelve Houses series. Each volume focuses on one of the six companions and this one follows the youngest--Cammon. The boy who reads souls. Heretofore, Cammon has been something of a delightful enigma. The scruffy little brother with a good heart, not an ounce of tact, and the ability to gauge a person's true intentions. In this volume, he comes into his own and it was a treat to be one up on the rest of the characters for once. To actually be inside his head. Cammon is still Cammon, but we do get a little more information on his background and abilities as a reader. When he is chosen to assess the true intentions of Princess Amalie's suitors, the inevitable humorous and dangerous consequences follow. In fact, this was the most predictable of the four novels so far. Although I was surprised (and perfectly delighted) with how much of it was Senneth's story. She is my favorite character and, in the end, all the books are about Senneth, the people she gathers around her, and the ways in which she binds them together. As in MYSTIC AND RIDER, her sheer strength took my breath away. Now that I think about it, it makes sense that we get so much of Senneth in this book as it becomes clearer and clearer as the story goes on how much Cammon relies on her. How, even when he disagrees with her logic, she has come to fill a space in his life that was empty until she walked into the tavern and freed him with a swipe of her knife. As always, Shinn's strength is her dialogue and her strong characters. They leap, gleefully and disreputably, off the page, making me wish I knew them. Wish I could talk with them and watch their faces. Become familiar and chummy with them. Until I was one of them. One of the six. No, seven now. That's the sign of a good book. That's the reason I'll read anything she writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Not credible

    I always enjoy Sharon S hinn's writing, but this particular love affair could simply never happen. No princess would be allowed to get so cozy with an urchin, however likeable and helpful. Further, it's at this point that the high born/low born relationships between the assorted characters starts to feel like schtick rather than entertaining plot devices. Enough already; some of these people would have married appropriately for their society. But every young person in this series follows the same pattern, even minor characters, which removes all suspense from the sihtuation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Great Read

    Some unexpected plot twists added to two main characters who have been a bit of an enigma over the previous three volumes in this series make for a fast and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Excellent Series

    Each book gets better and better. I love these guys!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    good stuff

    I love this series, and this book is no exception. I haven't read the angel series yet, but if it is as engrossing as this one it will be a treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A bit disappointed!

    This plot follows the story as well as the characters very well, however, this is not the final I was waiting for. I would say that for all the drama and difficulties of the characters, the end was weak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    A wonderful ending to the series

    Sharon Shinn does a wonderful job at creating exciting, griping characters that you will fall in love with and will rout for throughout the series. This book was a wonderful conclusion. Fulfilling and a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    An Excellent Read

    Having read all of Shinn's Samaria books I was slow to pick up any in the Twelve Houses series. I picked up this latest one without having read any of the others and was not disappointed. I love the perfect blend of world building, romance, and characterization that Shinn pulls off perfectly. Looking forward to new books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    There was just this one thing missing!!

    Look, am I the only one who thinks that Kirra didn't get what she really deserved? Did Donnal deserve to be the consolation prize? How can we have Kirra crying over Romar in the beginning of the book, and then have that segment just totally forgotten? The second book in the series was a misstep, in my view. I know these are fantasies, but they've been set up as happy ever afters, and this one (and the 2nd), break pattern. Aside from that, this is Shinn in true form. She's truly a magnificent talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    What a great way to end a series

    I just finished this book and had to say how good it was. In a kingdom with a old king and a young princess there is civil war. The fight not only for the crown but it is a religious crusade because the old king had defended a minority group of people that posses magic. Now this is the fourth book in the series and it gave an exciting conclusion to the series. I suggest you read all of them because all the characters in the previous books make an appearance. Maybe this is the end of the series maybe not but you have to love an author that knows when enough is enough. Everything ends eventually. My only complaint was maybe the ending was too convenient. But I am a giant Sharon Shinn fan. If you want epic sci-fi, good battle scenes and some romance then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    I hope this isn't the last!

    I totally enjoyed this latest in Twelve Houses series by Sharon Shinn. She developed such an engaging story line and personable characters that I felt saddened when I finished the novel. I hope there'll be more novels in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A vivid spellbinding romantic fantasy

    In the realm of Gillengaria in the capital city of Ghosenhall, King Boryn knows there is unrest in the Southern Houses especially by the Rayson Fortunalt, who wants to wear the crown. Hoping to avert a civil war, the monarch decides that his nineteen years old daughter Amalie should make an advantageous political marriage. When she meets with her suitors, guards are hidden nearby as well as the mystic Cammon, who reads the truth in the hearts of others.---------- As Cammon reads the intentions of Amalie suitors in order to root out the malevolent ones, he befriends the lonely princess. He feels for her being an expendable pawn of power as he sees inside her soul and knows how noble she truly is. When war comes to the land in spite of Boryn¿s efforts, many lords turn traitorous with avaricious eyes on the throne. As Cam and Amalie fall in love, they risk their lives defending her father, her friends and the kingdom.----------- Sharon Shinn, known for her romantic fantasies, writes a beautiful adult fairy tale that readers will appreciate as they hope the apparent star-crossed wannabe lovers overcome the impossibility of forming a marital relationship. The kingdom of Gillengaria seems real even with magical elements considered part of the norm as the political backstabbing and in-fighting brings a sense of authenticity to the realm. Although the plot has been used often by genre writers, Ms. Shinn provides a vivid spellbinding addition to the superb Twelve Houses saga (see THE THIRTEENTH HOUSE).-------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3