Customer Reviews for

Reader's Digest

Average Rating 3.5
( 453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Still Rocks, on a small scale

I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but...
I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but maybe I flipped by them too quickly.

It was a little hard to navigate, but if you don't mind reading right on through it's still as great as it always was and the Dec/Jan issue was full of fun articles on gift giving and all it's quirks.

I love the magazine and I will probably get a subscription for the Nook. It's a great price too.

posted by JA_Bal on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

I don't Recommend

I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, an...
I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, and the articles are boring. I used to love the jokes, but there are so few of them that it is not worth it. I canceled my 14 day trial subscription in two days. I have heard that Readers Digest is struggling, and now I see why. So long to an Icon.

posted by 5395468 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 453 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    I don't Recommend

    I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, and the articles are boring. I used to love the jokes, but there are so few of them that it is not worth it. I canceled my 14 day trial subscription in two days. I have heard that Readers Digest is struggling, and now I see why. So long to an Icon.

    28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still Rocks, on a small scale

    I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

    I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but maybe I flipped by them too quickly.

    It was a little hard to navigate, but if you don't mind reading right on through it's still as great as it always was and the Dec/Jan issue was full of fun articles on gift giving and all it's quirks.

    I love the magazine and I will probably get a subscription for the Nook. It's a great price too.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Great subscription

    I don't know what the other guy is talking about! I ordered this subscription and I couldn't even find one ad. It goes from one story to the next filled with useful information or stories that will make you laugh. I recommend it.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Readable on the regular Nook

    I downloaded this mag tonight. I made it through to page 72 (out of 485) and did not find any ads so far. I will say for those not familiar with reading e-magazines (or e-newspapers) what I think could be helpful to a new reader is to know the title of the article is "highlighted" on the e-ink screen, and, using the up or down arrows in the touchpad area, you can navigate then select which article you want to read. The little photos of course are in black and white but I don't see this as a problem at all. I would love to see more e-mags available, like the nookColor has. Also, I noticed some reviews complaining about the higher subscription price (even though it's still cheaper than the single issue price.) I personally think it might have to do with the lack of advertisements (just a thought) and if that is the case then I am willing to fork over a few cents more a month for an e-subscription vs. the paper one to avoid flipping through useless pages and deal with those annoying subscription cards that keep falling out and not to mention save on waste/trash.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not perfect, but really good...

    As the others have said, the person complaining about too many ads is wrong as there isn't a single ad in the entire magazine. The layout is pretty good and it is easy to navigate from story to story, but it somehow feels smaller than I'm used to. I actually want to go pick up this months regular copy to compare them against each other to see if it is my imagination. Still a really good e-version of the magazine and is well worth the subscription price.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Was a good magazine.

    I used to like Reader's Digest. The social trend to accepting the homosexual lifestyle has entered Reader's Digest. The story about two men adopting a boy was not one that I wanted to read, so I did not. With that issue, it is the last issue of Reader's Digest that I will be reading. I don't mind the formatting and other updates that Reader's Digest has implemented over the years. It is the push towards social progressivism that is not appreciated by this now former fan of Reader's Digest.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Do Not Have Nook Color-

    I do not have a Nook Color, just a nook, but I do order this subscription in the mail.If you are worried about the content- don't be. There are very interesting articles and true stories, word games, jokes, and a lot of serious articles on top of the cute funny ones. Love! I wish that Nooks original could get a subscription, don't you?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    A Perfect Match for NookColor!!

    Reader's Digest print format size happens to be a perfect match for the NookColor, the articles are very readable without zooming and the color photos are gorgeous! Yes, even the numerous ads look great in color, but that's part of reading a magazine. If you don't want to see the ads, just select the "Article View" option to view only the text in the article. I remember reading Reader's Digest when I was a kid and throroughly enjoying it then as I do today. It can be enjoyed by the whole family and is humerous and enlightening and informative. I have only purchased single issues so far, but the subscription is a very reasonable value.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    About Readers Digest Digital Magazine

    There should be a Get It Free (Actve Print Subscribers) option available for this magazine considering how popular this magazine is world wide. Maybe Barnes and Noble can work with Readers Digest to provide this optionfor Nook/Nook HD Tablets in the future, especially since there is already a Readers Digest app that is available through the Apple App Store for the Ipad and Kindle Tablets.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    I wanted to use the free subscription for print subscribers (6 m

    I wanted to use the free subscription for print subscribers (6 months) advertised,but never found the promo code
    Option option on the payment page. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Too Much Junk

    I used to enjoy RD when I was growing up. This version seems to have so many pages devoted to ads I keep asking.... where are all the articles. Sorry... not worth it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Entire Monthly Digest on my NOOK - Loved it!

    Waited a minute after purchasing my subscription and it arrived in my B&N Library. Upon opening the Jan 2011 Issue, I find there are 529 pleasantly laid out pages free of advertising. First 73 pages were brief article/section synopsis, page 74 begins with Letter from the Editor (Peggy Northrop), followed by the articles and stories.

    Being new to the NOOK, I learned how to use reader features such as "Find", "GoTo", "Bookmarks", "Front Page", and "Sections".

    It's all there - just paperless. So glad I came across this Reader's Digest monthly NOOKmag.

    This subscription is a KEEPER!

    Thanks! Randy Stewart

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    not worth it...

    i only paid 1.49 for this mag and i felt like i wasted my money...to many advertisemnts and not enough stories or info..i have purchased 14 different mags, but this one was not worth it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Excellent- highly recommend for iPad

    I downloaded to my iPad and love this!!! This is a great format--contents and page forward make it easy to navigate, so don't be intimidated by the 900+ pages. I prefer the e-copy over the hard copy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    why can't i unsubscribe? good content

    why can't i unsubscribe? good content

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Same old Digest

    It would be nice if they stepped into the 21st century. Same old tired stories, format and tired jokes it was when I got this in the mail 40 years ago. And, there is page after page of medical disclaimer spam - like I'm going to read that. /rolls eyes

    Canceled!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    The best

    I read this cover to...well, flip to flip..lol...I really, really like it, and I read all of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great for Nook

    The format of Reader's Digest works very well on my Nook. Other magazines that I have tried were hard to read due to the larger size of pages, but Reader's Digest works perfectly, and I don't have to dispose of the "hard" copies of the magazine! I've always enjoyed Reader's Digest and this makes it very convenient.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    too many ads

    I spent more time turning pages. There is nothing but ads.

    No thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Horrible!

    Lazy editing, tons of typos, and spelling errors. most of the funny stories are recaps of late night tv, and when you unsubscribe you find yourself magically subscribed again a month later. Don't waste your money! I used to like Reader's Digest :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 453 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23