Customer Reviews for

Reader's Digest

Average Rating 3.5
( 451 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Still Rocks, on a small scale

I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but...
I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but maybe I flipped by them too quickly.

It was a little hard to navigate, but if you don't mind reading right on through it's still as great as it always was and the Dec/Jan issue was full of fun articles on gift giving and all it's quirks.

I love the magazine and I will probably get a subscription for the Nook. It's a great price too.

posted by JA_Bal on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

I don't Recommend

I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, an...
I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, and the articles are boring. I used to love the jokes, but there are so few of them that it is not worth it. I canceled my 14 day trial subscription in two days. I have heard that Readers Digest is struggling, and now I see why. So long to an Icon.

posted by 5395468 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    I don't Recommend

    I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, and the articles are boring. I used to love the jokes, but there are so few of them that it is not worth it. I canceled my 14 day trial subscription in two days. I have heard that Readers Digest is struggling, and now I see why. So long to an Icon.

    28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Was a good magazine.

    I used to like Reader's Digest. The social trend to accepting the homosexual lifestyle has entered Reader's Digest. The story about two men adopting a boy was not one that I wanted to read, so I did not. With that issue, it is the last issue of Reader's Digest that I will be reading. I don't mind the formatting and other updates that Reader's Digest has implemented over the years. It is the push towards social progressivism that is not appreciated by this now former fan of Reader's Digest.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    not worth it...

    i only paid 1.49 for this mag and i felt like i wasted my money...to many advertisemnts and not enough stories or info..i have purchased 14 different mags, but this one was not worth it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Same old Digest

    It would be nice if they stepped into the 21st century. Same old tired stories, format and tired jokes it was when I got this in the mail 40 years ago. And, there is page after page of medical disclaimer spam - like I'm going to read that. /rolls eyes

    Canceled!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Horrible!

    Lazy editing, tons of typos, and spelling errors. most of the funny stories are recaps of late night tv, and when you unsubscribe you find yourself magically subscribed again a month later. Don't waste your money! I used to like Reader's Digest :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    All Ads

    I don't know if the "free trial" has more ads than the usual magazine, but this was mostly advertisements, with few articles. Canceled in the first 14 days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    A Lot Has Changed!

    Not something I would reccommend. There are page after page of ads....then a tiny little article....then more pages of ads. Not the RD you and I grew up with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too many ads, inappropriate content

    I grew up with Reader's Digest in the home. When I saw this and the topic, I thought, "Why not". I found the 50 secrets to be very poorly done. Much of what was said was not accurate nor positive to nurses or any medical profession.

    In addition, it seemed as if half the content were ads for drugs.

    This magazine has gone so far down hill, I'd give it an F-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    It is not what it used to be.

    I used to read Readers Digest as a kid and was excited to get it delivered to my Nook! Unfortunately the childhood nostalgia that I experienced while downloading this could not last for more than two days! The digest is dry, it lost its grip on English and its humor is... absent!!! I am glad B&N gives 14 day free trial period...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Not as good as expected

    The articles are extremely shortened. They are already condensed but the e version is like having ADD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    How do i cancel this

    There no options to cancel after free trial. Its mostly ads I don't want to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Right wing rag

    I used to love RD, but I have cancelled my subscription as they are consistently making snarky comments about the President and his family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3