Customer Reviews for

Reader's Digest

Average Rating 3.5
( 445 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Still Rocks, on a small scale

I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but...
I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but maybe I flipped by them too quickly.

It was a little hard to navigate, but if you don't mind reading right on through it's still as great as it always was and the Dec/Jan issue was full of fun articles on gift giving and all it's quirks.

I love the magazine and I will probably get a subscription for the Nook. It's a great price too.

posted by JA_Bal on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

I don't Recommend

I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, an...
I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, and the articles are boring. I used to love the jokes, but there are so few of them that it is not worth it. I canceled my 14 day trial subscription in two days. I have heard that Readers Digest is struggling, and now I see why. So long to an Icon.

posted by 5395468 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still Rocks, on a small scale

    I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

    I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but maybe I flipped by them too quickly.

    It was a little hard to navigate, but if you don't mind reading right on through it's still as great as it always was and the Dec/Jan issue was full of fun articles on gift giving and all it's quirks.

    I love the magazine and I will probably get a subscription for the Nook. It's a great price too.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not perfect, but really good...

    As the others have said, the person complaining about too many ads is wrong as there isn't a single ad in the entire magazine. The layout is pretty good and it is easy to navigate from story to story, but it somehow feels smaller than I'm used to. I actually want to go pick up this months regular copy to compare them against each other to see if it is my imagination. Still a really good e-version of the magazine and is well worth the subscription price.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Entire Monthly Digest on my NOOK - Loved it!

    Waited a minute after purchasing my subscription and it arrived in my B&N Library. Upon opening the Jan 2011 Issue, I find there are 529 pleasantly laid out pages free of advertising. First 73 pages were brief article/section synopsis, page 74 begins with Letter from the Editor (Peggy Northrop), followed by the articles and stories.

    Being new to the NOOK, I learned how to use reader features such as "Find", "GoTo", "Bookmarks", "Front Page", and "Sections".

    It's all there - just paperless. So glad I came across this Reader's Digest monthly NOOKmag.

    This subscription is a KEEPER!

    Thanks! Randy Stewart

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really nice app

    I am impressed by this digital Reader's Digest. I saw the other reviews that complained about the ads, but those writers apparently don't know how to use the app. Yes, if you thumb through page by page, there are many, many ads, just like a paper copy would have. But if you make use of the navigation aids, you can get to the article(s) you want very easily using either the content or the scrolling bar which was pretty neat.

    My only complaint is that in the content, you can't tell a main article from a sidebar since they are all listed equally. I suggest somehow subordinating the sidebars underneath the main articles so that they are more obvious. That was improve the user experience.

    Other than that, thumbs way up on this enjoyable magazine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    You don't miss a thing with the digital Version!

    I was a little tentative about the subscription after reacing some other reviews but no longe. The e-version of Reader's Digest is terrific, and a great example of the usefullnes of the color Nook. There is a brief learning curve but then its just like having the paper copy in front of you. If other magazines are anywhere near as good, I'm through with paper for good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    Very Readable on the NOOKcolor

    One of the nice things about this magazine is that its print edition is not much large than the NOOK, so adjusting is very easy. This periodical is not serious, but it is great for flipping through and finding a nice article.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    totally enjoy this magazine

    I totally reading this magazine. I used to read it when I was younger when I still lived at home with my parents,(they had a monthly subscription could articles and their humor columns are always enjoyable. I remember always doing the definitions in the Toward A More Picturesque Speech column every month. (it was here that I learned that there is no such word as "Irregardless" and whenever my wife or I hear it in conversation we look at each other and just smile! The color Nook really brings out the beautiful colors in the pictures. The only sad thing about this magazine as in most others now is the complete invasion of advertising which gets bothersome at times..but this is just a sign of the times so the magazine can remain solvent, I suppose.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Did not order a subscription of Readers Digest

    Please, do not automatically subscribe me any magazines or books. I will order them periodically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Getting my RD Fix

    Love being able to get RD on my Nook. Would really like it if they made it like People does where you touch a topic and it jumps automatically to the page. The print is pretty small, but you can tap page to enlarge, so it's not too bad. Other than those small things, it's awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Great stories

    Readers digest seem to have the best short stories kn them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    nice

    preety nice. info, humor i like the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Disappointing

    I remember reading Reader's Digest for years. I always enjoyed the articles and the jokes. It was always a pleasure and I waited expectantly for each issue. I hadn't thought of it for quite some time, but it was the first magazine I put on my new Nook Color. I couldn't be more disappointed in how much the magazine had changed. I had to wade through ad after ad just to find mediocre articles. It seemed like I was reading through an advertising journal instead of the entertaining magazine I enjoyed growing up and into my 20's. I cancelled my free trial in less than 24 hours. Sad to see such an icon go so far downhill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Perfect for nook

    Obviously, many magazines are far larger than the nook's screen and that can be fixed by the pinch and zoom function, but Reader's Digest is about the size of the nook's screen anyway so this is the perfect magazine to convert to this device while staying as true as possible to the hard copy experience. Sometimes I would find myself just staring at the picture quality of the pages and the content is easy to flip back and forth through. I'm not going to review the publication itself as that's for your personal taste to decide (they've got a free trial for you to find out), but the actual user experience here is flawless and even though the hard copy subscription is cheaper (around 68 cents an issue), I'm pretty sure if we audit ourselves, many of us would find far less constructive uses for spending a buck fifty during the month. Overall, this is a great subscription.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Great magazine

    Love this magazine! So many different articles on different topics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't miss this issue

    Tax season is here,and find out about some of the deductions you can take.

    If you have a cell phone and your current contact is about ready to come to an end,find out how you can save money on your next one,or get out of the one you are currently in.

    Plus articles on aging,and a whole lot more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6