Customer Reviews for

Reader's Digest

Average Rating 3.5
( 451 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Still Rocks, on a small scale

I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but...
I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but maybe I flipped by them too quickly.

It was a little hard to navigate, but if you don't mind reading right on through it's still as great as it always was and the Dec/Jan issue was full of fun articles on gift giving and all it's quirks.

I love the magazine and I will probably get a subscription for the Nook. It's a great price too.

posted by JA_Bal on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

I don't Recommend

I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, an...
I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, and the articles are boring. I used to love the jokes, but there are so few of them that it is not worth it. I canceled my 14 day trial subscription in two days. I have heard that Readers Digest is struggling, and now I see why. So long to an Icon.

posted by 5395468 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Great subscription

    I don't know what the other guy is talking about! I ordered this subscription and I couldn't even find one ad. It goes from one story to the next filled with useful information or stories that will make you laugh. I recommend it.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Do Not Have Nook Color-

    I do not have a Nook Color, just a nook, but I do order this subscription in the mail.If you are worried about the content- don't be. There are very interesting articles and true stories, word games, jokes, and a lot of serious articles on top of the cute funny ones. Love! I wish that Nooks original could get a subscription, don't you?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    A Perfect Match for NookColor!!

    Reader's Digest print format size happens to be a perfect match for the NookColor, the articles are very readable without zooming and the color photos are gorgeous! Yes, even the numerous ads look great in color, but that's part of reading a magazine. If you don't want to see the ads, just select the "Article View" option to view only the text in the article. I remember reading Reader's Digest when I was a kid and throroughly enjoying it then as I do today. It can be enjoyed by the whole family and is humerous and enlightening and informative. I have only purchased single issues so far, but the subscription is a very reasonable value.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Excellent- highly recommend for iPad

    I downloaded to my iPad and love this!!! This is a great format--contents and page forward make it easy to navigate, so don't be intimidated by the 900+ pages. I prefer the e-copy over the hard copy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    The best

    I read this cover to...well, flip to flip..lol...I really, really like it, and I read all of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great for Nook

    The format of Reader's Digest works very well on my Nook. Other magazines that I have tried were hard to read due to the larger size of pages, but Reader's Digest works perfectly, and I don't have to dispose of the "hard" copies of the magazine! I've always enjoyed Reader's Digest and this makes it very convenient.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    I have always loved this mag!

    Absolutely perfect on my Nook Color. It's practically the same size as the print edition! I have been reading RD literally all my life and it's the first e-subscription I purchased. Can't recommend this mag enough!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    I came to Reader's Digest as a grown-up (we didn't have it growi

    I came to Reader's Digest as a grown-up (we didn't have it growing up) and I find it a very thoughtful, compelling magazine. With so much information and reading out there, it's nice that it pulls out things I might have missed and reports on topics I may have not seen. Overall I find it very "upbeat," the opposite of loud local news shows. The jokes are funny, too! Nice mix of stories. For the Nook it's all there, and, easy to get lost in it same as the printed copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Readers digest #1 fan says:

    Best magazine I have ever read! Both funny and inspiring!
    Love it! Oh yeah! Never ever gonna stop reading it!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    This is awsome

    This book is the best book i have read in YEARS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    First Choice!

    With my new purchase of a NOOK I wanted to try a magazine subscription. Having read READERS DIGEST in print form for years, I thought the digital version would be good to try. I love the convenience of the digital format!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    FrdopTV

    Hyjuui

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Great!

    This was funny and interesting! A must have for your library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Lov animals

    Lovvvvvvveeeeee aaaaaaannnnnnniiiiiimmmmmmaaaaaalllllllllllsssss! @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@###@#@######@#@#@#@#@#@@#$#@@##$#@@#$@#$%&%$#@#$%&%%$#@#$%&*-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    readers digest

    Love the jokes! Always loved something super-funny...great inspiring quotes 2! Hometown heroes iis an interesting section s well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    I've been a fan of Reader's Digest for years.  As a child, I rem

    I've been a fan of Reader's Digest for years.  As a child, I remember my grandmother would save all her RD magazines and give them to
    me to read!  Reader's Digest is formatted for my Nook HD....what a great reading experience!  I purchased a single issue just to sample it
    'e-reader' style.  

    I'm on the fence about buying a subscription though.  Why don't we have the option of paying for a yearly subscription upfront?  
    I don't want a small charge of $1.49 showing up on my bank statement every month.  Sigh....that's the only 'issue' I have.  No pun intended! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    A FANTASTIC TREASURE FOR THE ENTIRE FAMILY

    We started receiving the digest when i was a child from my uncle so for asbout 40 years. We have not stopped since. When my uncle finally passed away, I took it upon myself to get 2 subscriptions, 1 for my folks and the other for my nook. I actually read alot and as for the digest, this is the only magazine I not only read cfover to cover but always find maybe 4 or 5 stories that I will read constantly. Either they invoke fonmd memories or something in that particular story might have struck a chord with me. For me and my family, Readers Digest will never be gone from my home. My kids will be getting it monthly for as long as I live and then some

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    My opinion only

    This I am keeping, I found it easy to navigate, and although there is a lot there it didn't seem overpowering

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    :)

    I love this magezine!!! :):):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9