Customer Reviews for

Reader's Digest

Average Rating 3.5
( 457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Still Rocks, on a small scale

I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but...
I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but maybe I flipped by them too quickly.

It was a little hard to navigate, but if you don't mind reading right on through it's still as great as it always was and the Dec/Jan issue was full of fun articles on gift giving and all it's quirks.

I love the magazine and I will probably get a subscription for the Nook. It's a great price too.

posted by JA_Bal on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I don't Recommend

I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, an...
I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, and the articles are boring. I used to love the jokes, but there are so few of them that it is not worth it. I canceled my 14 day trial subscription in two days. I have heard that Readers Digest is struggling, and now I see why. So long to an Icon.

posted by 5395468 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 457 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    All Ads

    I don't know if the "free trial" has more ads than the usual magazine, but this was mostly advertisements, with few articles. Canceled in the first 14 days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    I have always loved this mag!

    Absolutely perfect on my Nook Color. It's practically the same size as the print edition! I have been reading RD literally all my life and it's the first e-subscription I purchased. Can't recommend this mag enough!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    A Lot Has Changed!

    Not something I would reccommend. There are page after page of ads....then a tiny little article....then more pages of ads. Not the RD you and I grew up with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too many ads, inappropriate content

    I grew up with Reader's Digest in the home. When I saw this and the topic, I thought, "Why not". I found the 50 secrets to be very poorly done. Much of what was said was not accurate nor positive to nurses or any medical profession.

    In addition, it seemed as if half the content were ads for drugs.

    This magazine has gone so far down hill, I'd give it an F-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really nice app

    I am impressed by this digital Reader's Digest. I saw the other reviews that complained about the ads, but those writers apparently don't know how to use the app. Yes, if you thumb through page by page, there are many, many ads, just like a paper copy would have. But if you make use of the navigation aids, you can get to the article(s) you want very easily using either the content or the scrolling bar which was pretty neat.

    My only complaint is that in the content, you can't tell a main article from a sidebar since they are all listed equally. I suggest somehow subordinating the sidebars underneath the main articles so that they are more obvious. That was improve the user experience.

    Other than that, thumbs way up on this enjoyable magazine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    It is not what it used to be.

    I used to read Readers Digest as a kid and was excited to get it delivered to my Nook! Unfortunately the childhood nostalgia that I experienced while downloading this could not last for more than two days! The digest is dry, it lost its grip on English and its humor is... absent!!! I am glad B&N gives 14 day free trial period...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    You don't miss a thing with the digital Version!

    I was a little tentative about the subscription after reacing some other reviews but no longe. The e-version of Reader's Digest is terrific, and a great example of the usefullnes of the color Nook. There is a brief learning curve but then its just like having the paper copy in front of you. If other magazines are anywhere near as good, I'm through with paper for good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Not as good as expected

    The articles are extremely shortened. They are already condensed but the e version is like having ADD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    Very Readable on the NOOKcolor

    One of the nice things about this magazine is that its print edition is not much large than the NOOK, so adjusting is very easy. This periodical is not serious, but it is great for flipping through and finding a nice article.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    totally enjoy this magazine

    I totally reading this magazine. I used to read it when I was younger when I still lived at home with my parents,(they had a monthly subscription could articles and their humor columns are always enjoyable. I remember always doing the definitions in the Toward A More Picturesque Speech column every month. (it was here that I learned that there is no such word as "Irregardless" and whenever my wife or I hear it in conversation we look at each other and just smile! The color Nook really brings out the beautiful colors in the pictures. The only sad thing about this magazine as in most others now is the complete invasion of advertising which gets bothersome at times..but this is just a sign of the times so the magazine can remain solvent, I suppose.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    I came to Reader's Digest as a grown-up (we didn't have it growi

    I came to Reader's Digest as a grown-up (we didn't have it growing up) and I find it a very thoughtful, compelling magazine. With so much information and reading out there, it's nice that it pulls out things I might have missed and reports on topics I may have not seen. Overall I find it very "upbeat," the opposite of loud local news shows. The jokes are funny, too! Nice mix of stories. For the Nook it's all there, and, easy to get lost in it same as the printed copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    How do i cancel this

    There no options to cancel after free trial. Its mostly ads I don't want to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Right wing rag

    I used to love RD, but I have cancelled my subscription as they are consistently making snarky comments about the President and his family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Did not order a subscription of Readers Digest

    Please, do not automatically subscribe me any magazines or books. I will order them periodically.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Readers digest #1 fan says:

    Best magazine I have ever read! Both funny and inspiring!
    Love it! Oh yeah! Never ever gonna stop reading it!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    This is awsome

    This book is the best book i have read in YEARS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Had to cancel

    I own a simple touch nook and it is not so great for a magazine. There is a lot of squished together words and incorrectly spelled words. I am sure it is better on a newer HD nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    Informative, but too many ads.

    Informative, but too many ads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    First Choice!

    With my new purchase of a NOOK I wanted to try a magazine subscription. Having read READERS DIGEST in print form for years, I thought the digital version would be good to try. I love the convenience of the digital format!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 457 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23