Customer Reviews for

Reader's Digest

Average Rating 3.5
( 460 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Still Rocks, on a small scale

I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but...
I've been a long time reader of Reader's Digest so of course I got at least one copy for the Nook classic to see how it would turn out.

I think they did a fair job. All the articles are still there. I don't see any of the ads mentioned by the other commentator, but maybe I flipped by them too quickly.

It was a little hard to navigate, but if you don't mind reading right on through it's still as great as it always was and the Dec/Jan issue was full of fun articles on gift giving and all it's quirks.

I love the magazine and I will probably get a subscription for the Nook. It's a great price too.

posted by JA_Bal on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I don't Recommend

I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, an...
I have been a Reader Digest fan for many years, but the past couple of years I have seen a real decline in the magazine. I even let my subscription end last year. When I got my nook I decided to try it again. I was so disappointed. The magazine is about one half ads, and the articles are boring. I used to love the jokes, but there are so few of them that it is not worth it. I canceled my 14 day trial subscription in two days. I have heard that Readers Digest is struggling, and now I see why. So long to an Icon.

posted by 5395468 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Readable on the regular Nook

    I downloaded this mag tonight. I made it through to page 72 (out of 485) and did not find any ads so far. I will say for those not familiar with reading e-magazines (or e-newspapers) what I think could be helpful to a new reader is to know the title of the article is "highlighted" on the e-ink screen, and, using the up or down arrows in the touchpad area, you can navigate then select which article you want to read. The little photos of course are in black and white but I don't see this as a problem at all. I would love to see more e-mags available, like the nookColor has. Also, I noticed some reviews complaining about the higher subscription price (even though it's still cheaper than the single issue price.) I personally think it might have to do with the lack of advertisements (just a thought) and if that is the case then I am willing to fork over a few cents more a month for an e-subscription vs. the paper one to avoid flipping through useless pages and deal with those annoying subscription cards that keep falling out and not to mention save on waste/trash.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    About Readers Digest Digital Magazine

    There should be a Get It Free (Actve Print Subscribers) option available for this magazine considering how popular this magazine is world wide. Maybe Barnes and Noble can work with Readers Digest to provide this optionfor Nook/Nook HD Tablets in the future, especially since there is already a Readers Digest app that is available through the Apple App Store for the Ipad and Kindle Tablets.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Had to cancel

    I own a simple touch nook and it is not so great for a magazine. There is a lot of squished together words and incorrectly spelled words. I am sure it is better on a newer HD nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    Informative, but too many ads.

    Informative, but too many ads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Readers Digest

    too many ads !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Good

    This was a good choice to select for my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Looks Great on my Nook

    I navigated through the issue with no problem. It flowed well and the articles were bright and easily read. The 'article view' wasn't needed by me, at all. Indeed, I think this is actually better than the print version.

    My only 'negative' is the sheer number of advertisements (most of them having multiple pages!) I hadn't read a RD in a few years and am sure that the number of ads is the norm. I just was more aware of them having to swipe page after page (after page...). Plus print side by side (left and right) pages would be separate individual pages in the ezine. I still enjoyed reading it and will keep the subscription.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    unhappy

    I have tried for the past month to stop my subscription and it says it will take up to 30 minutes. For february recieved another reader digest. that was suppose to be cancelled. So I tried it again and see if it is cancelled. Do not recommend this , because it says stop at anytime, but I have been trying for a month. Very unhappy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Tons of ads

    I don't know how others missed them. I bought a single issue. Maybe no ads in a subscription?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4