Customer Reviews for

Reading Group: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Moving!!

    I really loved this book. It's about women friends. I didn't want this one to end. I can't wait to read another one of her books. This book draws you in from the beginning. Harriet, Susan, Nicole and Polly will get to you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Raylen

    She packs her stuff in a bag, clutching her picture of Silas and Salem and her. She left.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Loved+it

    I+love+british+humour+and+i+loved+this+book+pick+up+if+you+enjoy+chick+lit+but+with+wit+and+clever+writing%21

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Novel - Easy Read

    This is my first novel by Elizabeth Noble and I will admit that I enjoyed it. It surely makes readers want to be a part of or start a reading group! I will say though, that it was a bit like short stories combined into one novel. Im not sure which would be better because at first with all the characters it gets a bit confusing to remember everyones own story. However, it picks up after the first few chapters. Therefore, it is an enjoyable read and it fits in well with the stories the women read in the book. I would give it a B or Good

    If you like a bit of drama in novels, and you enjoy a few conflicts the pick up the readnig group. It won't dissappoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Reading Group is perfect for reading groups!

    This unique book kept my interest throughout the entire story. The clever way Ms. Noble incorporated each month's book choice into the book group conversation was brilliant! Her characters were well written and I was genuinely interested in what happened to them. I love the way their lives intertwined and how they could relate to the stories they read.
    I would highly recommend this book and any other book written by this author. She's a fun writer and I've already read almost every book she's written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Not quite what I expected, but good

    I expected the book to be more like "The Jane Austen Book Club." The book club choices seemed to correspond with the issues the characters were facing, but I wasn't familiar with all of the books so some of the intended layers of meaning were undoubtedly lost on me.

    The characters are well-written and I totally identified with one of them, which kept me engaged in the book to the end. There was just enough overlap in the character's lives to hold the book together as a cohesive unit. Having the list of characters at the beginning is a good indicator that keeping track of everyone was going to be a challenge. Many times in the book I had to figure out how one person was connected to another.

    Overall, a good rainy day read... which is exactly what I bought it for!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    Truly Amazing

    Sure, it wasn't the light-hearted book I was expecting, but it is a truly amazing book. It is depressing and uplifting, and contrary to popular belief, can reach far beyond its target audience. Chances are you've experience some of the same feelings as the characters, and if you haven't, you can still relate to them. Noble does an amazing job of capturing every aspect of relationships and love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    I was thoroughly taken by this book.  I enjoyed the story, the f

    I was thoroughly taken by this book.  I enjoyed the story, the five women central to the book club,
    the relationships that developed, with such ease, were easy to imagine and surprises popped up along
    the way.  The Reading Group was written with humor, drew characters that were believable, and the
    books chosen by the group offered a few titles that I plan to share with my own book club.  The British terms,
    that naturally came up, kept my interest going.  Very satisfactory read.  If a sequel were to surface, I'd
    read that, too.  I liked Harriet, Susan, Nicole, Clare and Polly and wouldn't mind reading about them
    again. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Jason

    Here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Summe to jason

    Next res thsts her dorm

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Pathetic...Don't waste your money

    Wow...what a disappointment. The book sounded light-hearted, encouraging, and like a fun read. It was totally depressing and portrays intimate relationships in such a poor light...I want my money back. What a complete joke of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Disappointing For Sure

    I agree, it's not a great book to lift your spirits. Pretty depressing, actually.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Reading Group: A Novel

    I loved this book. It is a up-lifting heart warming kind of story! You really get the feeling like you know Harriet, Polly, Nicole, Susan and all the other characters. Contrary to what some others have said, it is not all about abortions and bad marriages. These women go through things that everday woman deal with. I would recommend this to any woman of any age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    Reading Group: A Novel

    I thought this was a great book. I think any woman of any age could become interested. With having such a variety of characters who are different ages, come from different backgrounds, etc., anyone can relate. This is a book I couldn't put down. With many turns and twists, this book keeps you interested from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    Hidden undertones with light overtunes

    This was a great start to a newly formed book club of my own. The characters were written with clarity and delivered in a way that describes them as women who you would like to be friends with. I also thought however that the author tried to attack too many 'big life changing events' into each character's lives and it became predictable at times. Yet, I found myself laughing, crying, and giving a 'you go girl' to the characters which brings my rating of this novel up. It's a good start, and I hope it only gets better for my group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    Great book to raise your spirits!

    Contrary to other opinions, this book has nothing to do with 'loveless marriages, abortions and teen pregnancy.' It is about the strength of women as friends, mothers and individuals. The lives of women involved are far from picture perfect which let's you appreciate their experiences and how they resolve their problems and celebrate their joys. The ending left me with a positive feeling about friendship, love and my strengths to face the ups and downs of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    Finally a great chick book..

    I loved this book and thoroughly enjoyed each character and the story of their lives thus far. It kept my intrest all the way through. It is refreshing to read a book that the author truely seems to enjoy writing. i am so tired of all the flat chic books I have read about rich,boring snobby women...(stay away from Trading up, Wolves in Chic Clothing,and 4 Blondes.) I think there is something to be learned for everyone by reading this book. It was heartwarming. i recommend this to all my girls..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    strength of women

    Really good read. A little slow at the start but once you stick with it you won't be able to put it down. Demonstrates the strength of women in several different areas of the family and society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    It was not what i expected

    I thought this book was going to be a light book about a group of women. IT is realy about loveless marriages, abortion, and a pregnant teen. Not the best book to bring your spirits up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2