Customer Reviews for

The Reading Promise: My Father and the Books We Shared

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Gift for new parents or for Father's Day

This book is wonderful, readable, and compelling. The author talks about her years of reading every night with her librarian father (her mother leaves the family when she is quite young). This book is a reminder of how important it is for parents/grandparents to MAKE T...
This book is wonderful, readable, and compelling. The author talks about her years of reading every night with her librarian father (her mother leaves the family when she is quite young). This book is a reminder of how important it is for parents/grandparents to MAKE TIME to read to their children regularly, and to KEEP IT UP. It's a way of forging and keeping a relationship, developing real interests, and knowing what your kids are thinking. Nowadays parents give their kids hand-held games in preschool and leave them to entertain themselves. Later they wonder why their kids struggle with schoolwork and can't talk to grownups articulately.

posted by 8237912 on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good read

This was not as enthralling as I hoped it would be, but all in all, it was a good read. I really enjoyed the bond between father and daughter, despite teenage angst and drama. I still read to my 5th grader, maybe not every night, but most nights and enjoy it. This bo...
This was not as enthralling as I hoped it would be, but all in all, it was a good read. I really enjoyed the bond between father and daughter, despite teenage angst and drama. I still read to my 5th grader, maybe not every night, but most nights and enjoy it. This book helped me see that I don't have to give that up even when she gets older. Definitely worth the read.

posted by BookhoundMP on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Great Gift for new parents or for Father's Day

    This book is wonderful, readable, and compelling. The author talks about her years of reading every night with her librarian father (her mother leaves the family when she is quite young). This book is a reminder of how important it is for parents/grandparents to MAKE TIME to read to their children regularly, and to KEEP IT UP. It's a way of forging and keeping a relationship, developing real interests, and knowing what your kids are thinking. Nowadays parents give their kids hand-held games in preschool and leave them to entertain themselves. Later they wonder why their kids struggle with schoolwork and can't talk to grownups articulately.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Heartwarming Story of Father/Daughter Bonding

    Quick and witty look at a father and a daughter bound together by their love of reading. The book is a serious of short segments from "the streak" which involved 3200+ nights of reading together. It proves the educational and emotional value of parents and children reading together.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Wonderful read

    This book pulls at your heart from the start. It brings back memories of childhood reading bedtime stories with my parents as well as exposing and reminding us all of the problems with our school systems. It will make anyone feel like pounding on thir school boards door to bring back the joy of reading in our education standards. If every school administrator read this, our literacy ratings would increase dramatically across the country. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    Excellent!

    Everyone could learn something from this book considering we live in a Snooky/Kardashian/Housewives obsessed era.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    A great read for anyone who cares about books, about children, a

    A great read for anyone who cares about books, about children, about family, and the importance of it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    By mable daze December,26 2012

    Love this book that you said it was good and now im reading the book now!!!!! Love it soo much!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Wonderful, bonding with children

    I saw this book and thought, how wonderful, a father reading a marathon of books to his kids! I didnt realize how long it had gone on. Its wonderful. I started reading to my toddler afterreading this book. It iswonderful because technology will eventually wipe out all tge books. I have afull working library in my house and am very proud of it. Books teach children so much and should NEVER be replaced by technology

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Inspirational!

    This book was very inspirational! The way that Alice Ozma puts this story together is amazing and it's hard to believe that she got this book published at the young age of 22, fresh out of college. Her literary advancement inspires me to read to my children the way her father read to her, because what she has learned shines through strongly and skillfully in this book! I would recommend it to any reader/writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    A must read for anyone who has a child in their life

    As a elementary school librarian, this book was one I could not resist. It did not disappoint! I empathized alternately with both Alice and her father. Especially when he was told he could no longer read to his students! That's tantamount to telling a children's librarian not to breathe! A must have for any children's literacy advocate, parent, teacher, or anyone who loves to read. It should be required reading for ALL school administrators and school board members (they're the ones who put the libraries (and/or qualified librarians) and arts on the chopping block when budget cuts need to be made).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great Book, especially for Fathers or Daughters

    I normally like my books hard-boiled, dark and dangerous. But as an avid reader, this book appealed to me. What a marvelous find! Well written and not a bit preachy. It's as much autobiography as a book about books. Her dad is a cross between the father in Calvin and Hobbes and the fathers in Jane Austen books. Funny, sweet, poignant and satisfying. Well worth the investment of your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Wonderful Writing!

    Bluestalking (sic), I couldn't disagree more with your review. The writing was excellent and the vignettes were compelling and fit together seamlessly. I gulped down the entire book in one night and plan to re-read it and also buy a copy for our library. Please, other readers, give it a try. A warm and wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for ALL Adults who care about children and family

    The Reading Promise is one of the best books I ever read. If you care about children, family, or education you must read this book. This book show us the importance of reading to our children and spending just a little special time with them is. Alice and her father are an inspiration to everyone. We need more teachers like Jim Brozina in our schools and more fathers like him in our home. Because then this country would be a much better place.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2