Customer Reviews for

Reading the Bible Again For the First Time: Taking the Bible Seriously But Not Literally

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Reading the Bible Again For the First Time: Taking the Bible Seriously But Not Literally

In many ways this book has the feel of a history of social and political protest in the ancient world. Borg's emphasis on what he refers to as 'opposition to systems of domination' is repeated often and he points out in his chapter on Paul that Christianity is the only ...
In many ways this book has the feel of a history of social and political protest in the ancient world. Borg's emphasis on what he refers to as 'opposition to systems of domination' is repeated often and he points out in his chapter on Paul that Christianity is the only major religion whose two most influential personalities were put to death by established authority. The clear implication then is that the messages of Jesus and Paul may be very threatening to systems of domination.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Incomplete

The Nook version has no endnotes available. I have read this as a paper version and assumed the endnotes woukd be there when I purchased the Nook edition. What a disappointment!

posted by 1122383 on March 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Incomplete

    The Nook version has no endnotes available. I have read this as a paper version and assumed the endnotes woukd be there when I purchased the Nook edition. What a disappointment!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Reading the Bible Again For the First Time: Taking the Bible Seriously But Not Literally

    In many ways this book has the feel of a history of social and political protest in the ancient world. Borg's emphasis on what he refers to as 'opposition to systems of domination' is repeated often and he points out in his chapter on Paul that Christianity is the only major religion whose two most influential personalities were put to death by established authority. The clear implication then is that the messages of Jesus and Paul may be very threatening to systems of domination.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended for any serious student of the Bile

    Dr. Borg's insights are what is needed for a new and revitalized understanding of the Judeo/Christian scriptures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    For Intellectual Christians

    I am so relieved to find a book that allows me to use my mind and still be a Christian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    a nice intro to Borg

    I've read several of Prof. Borg's books and this one, along with 'The Heart of Christianity,' is my favorite. Borg offers a progressive view of the Bible. The Bible, he says, isn't an infallible text about God, the world, and human beings instead, it's a sacrament or a window through which we see God. The scriptures are a purely human response to the reality that Jews and Christians call 'God.' What do we learn about God? That God has a dream for the world, a dream shown to us by the Hebrew prophets and Jesus Christ. Other topics covered by Borg are creation myths, literal vs metaphorical uses of scripture, the experience of God, and the meaning of Jesus. This is a great book with a ton of information, and I highly recommend it for 'Introduction to the Bible' classes. It will also provide students with an alternative to Fundamentalist/conservative evangelical readings of the Bible. One criticism: Borg is often unclear about his view of God. Is God something like a person? Or is God beyond personhood? Does God interact with the world in any literal sense? Sometimes he speaks like a process theologian, sometimes not, and other times I'm not sure what he believes (he's definitely not a supernaturalist, though). But perhaps this shows the difficulty of theology, and Borg may still be wrestling with these issues. Whatever the case may be, Borg is a fine scholar and writer, as well as a good Christian man. I will look forward to his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    A different kind of 'truth ? '

    According to Borg, the bible is metaphorically, not literally, true. Evidently, we are to understand that accounts of miracles, given as testimony in the Bible, do not hold up to an enlightened, modern stage of critical thinking. In order to see the truths in the Bible we must be led to a state of 'post-critical naivety' in which we read again taking account of their historical context and therefore see a different kind of 'truth.' Borg's concept seems to require that the believer enter a special state, receptive to special understanding. The trouble is, it is never quite clear what it is we are to understand. Faith is basically our assent to what others have said or written. What is not so easily seen is that almost all 'truth', even Borg's ideas, are dependent on the faith we have in what others teach us. He comes across as almost Gnostic in his thoughts about humanity requiring a special understanding. He seems to dismiss all those who have the historical context right but nevertheless have simple faith in the Bible's testimony as historical events. The logical consequence of Borg's thesis is that the majority of souls who never learn to enter Borg's 'post-critical naivete.' are simply victims of a 3000 year old deception.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2002

    Reading the Bible Again For the First Time: Taking the Bible Seriously But Not Literally

    Borg repeats some of the opinions he has given in previous books. Most important is that being Christian is not about believing in the Bible or about believing in Christianity. It is instead about having a relationship with the God to whom the Bible points. The Bible itself contains a combination of history and metaphor. Critical thinking allows the reader to integrate the Bible stories into a larger whole. Although the Bible speaks with many voices, a major theme throughout is the conflict between the royal theology of pharaohs, kings and caesars on the one hand and the prophetic protest against it by Moses, the prophets, Jesus, Paul and John of Patmos. Borg never fails to provide an uplifting experience for me. It helps that he writes with so much clarity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended- Life changing Information

    This book contains so many new and fresh ways to read and understand the Bible. it is changing how I read, understand and apply the Bible to my daily life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Discover The Bible

    Reading The Bible Again For The First Time is a life changing and soulful masterpiece! The author tells of his own personal spiritual journey as a biblical scholar, and reveals the history and facts of the Judeo Christian scriptures. It's fascinating and heartfelt. Thank you for this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Giving man what his itchy ears want to hear.

    This along with everything else that is happening in the world today, has all been predicted in the very book Borg is discrediting. Man(this includes Woman)want to hear what they want to hear to suit their own needs. The Bible is not just stories but the Son of God, Jesus Christ, as the Word became flesh, to take on this sins of the world. This book is a tool of deception that will lead many people away from the truth.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    Not Recommended for anyone.

    This book discredits every miracle of the Bible. Borg, who wasn't there when Jesus walked the Earth in the flesh, seems to think that none of the biblical miracles actually happened, but were just the authors' way of writing in parable. I would not suggest this book for anyone who has faith or anyone who is without faith in Jesus Christ. I am very disappointed.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    5 Star and Then some

    To think I thought I was alone with the thoughts I had on the bible. This book really helped me to understand exactly what's going on and to see things in a new light. Nothing like corrective lenses. Can't wait to read 'Meeting Jesus Again For The First Time'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2003

    Decaffenated & lukewarm.

    It is amazing how someone would read the bible & take their view as the truth. Jesus claims to be the way, the truth & the life. That is a very narrow road. Definitely does not meet the current world view. He Jesus never left any other options. Do not take any ones word on what Jesus said. Read the book by John to see & hear what was written 2000 years ago & still rings true today. Many a person have worn out their hammer on the rock of God. The bible is still the the most read, most loved & most hated book ever written.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    Say What?

    Borg seems to articulate a view of the Bible that is not new at all. In fact, his perspective of the Bible and who Jesus is seems to be a denial of the vary foundational principles of the Bible and who Jesus is. This is not a new theme, but rather it is the same theme the devil (who is the foremost critic of the Bible)has used to deceive people into thinking there are no absolutes. The devil seems to historically do this through the disguise of 'academia' or higher thinking. In other words, a 'fresh new' look for the 'thinking person' at the word of God. You either Believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God and died for your sins. Thus the only way to eternal life with Jesus is by faithfully accepting this and asking Jesus into your heart. Which acknowledges that it is the rightousness of Jesus dying sinlessly and raising from death breaking the chains of death that 'gets' us into Heaven. Not anything that we can do. We can not think our way into a place that we can not even fully comprehend for sure. Or we can deny that there is a God as such that the Bible describes for us. We all choose for our selves with the consequences being eternal, either eternally something or eternally nothing. I choose to interpert the Bible literally, I think it is in my best interests to fear God, which is the beginning of wisdom...

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2