Customer Reviews for

Ready, Aim. Specialize!: Create Your Own Writing Specialty and Make More Money

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    Queries, Questions, and Quests

    Kelly James-Enger thoroughly explains how to earn a living as a freelance writer. She begins by explaining the value of specialization, and then shows writers how to use their education and life experience to choose their own specialities. She follows these opening chapters with an insightful chapter that helps demystify the murky realm of queries. The subsequent case study is a practical and highly useful outline for freelancers who require a clear understanding of the steps involved in getting an article published. Finally, the chapters on ten hot markets serve as a useful guide to specialization, pointing out the rewards and challenges associated with each specialty. James-Enger has not only written a lucid and well organized text, but has anticipated a host of questions commonly posed by freelance writers. Whether your quest is improved productivity or a new career as a freelance writer, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    Right on Target!

    I have read and re-read this book - most recently with a highlighter and sticky tags. Now I have it front and center on my bookshelf for easy reference. I'm not a newbie writer (10 years as a freelancer), but I was all over the place, and needed to focus. Kelly's concepts have been a big help in that direction. The thing I like best about Kelly's book is that she walks her talk. I saw her byline five times in women's, fitness, and writing magazines during a 30-minute wait in my dentist's lobby. And these are publications that I know are high-paying. It gives me confidence in what she writes about the business of writing. She also has a helpful e-zine (sign up at her Website, www.KellyJamesEnger.com), and does seem like a very nice person, to boot. If you're not getting published as often as you'd like, or making as money as you'd hoped, I'd encourage you to give Kelly's ideas a shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    A Must Have if you want to break into Mags

    This is the best book on how to break into the major magazines that I have ever read. The author gives examples of before and after query letters that she used to get assignments, and offers invaluable tips on how to tweak ideas and come at old concepts from new angles. She also gives a list of resources that could be another book in and of itself. Very useful book to have on hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    Keep a pen handy

    When you read this book, keep a pen handy. You'll be surprised by the generous nature of this author and the wealth of ideas she shares. Ready, Aim, Specialize! is full of positive and fresh suggestions for magazine writers. It is already teaching me different ways to approach editors and succeed in selling more articles. It will remain a practical desk resource for me because of all the detailed reference information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Savvy Tips for New and Established Writers

    Whether you're a wannabe or an established pro, you'll find James-Enger's book is packed with value. In today's economy, more and more magazines are marketing to a narrowly focused audience. For writers that means you need to position yourself as an expert in one more more fields. This book shows you exactly how to do that. The book begins by helping you recognize the specialties you already have. It then moves into the nuts and bolts of how to sell an article, find experts to interview, write and get paid! A step-by-step case study is included to illustrate each step of the process. I particularly enjoyed the section which profiled the ten hottest specialties. Each specialty chapter gave detailed information on breaking in, research, contacts and tips. As a fulltime freelancer wanting to expand into the health market, I found this section invaluable. I also believe the specialty chapters will help new writers understand what's involved in being successful in any given field--and perhaps even help them choose a field of focus. If you want to be a successful freelancer, imitate what successful freelancers are doing. And James-Enger is one of the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    Great Ideas for the Freelance Writer

    James-Enger provides excellent advice for the freelance writer and the freelance writer-to-be. By specializing in several areas, the writer can soon become a sought after expert in her specialty. Ten of the hottest specialties are discussed. The author shows you how to find experts to interview, target the article for specific markets, find buyers for the finished work, and find sources to research the article. The all-important query letter to the editor is not neglected, as both advice and examples are included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    Make More When You Specialize

    If you¿re a freelancer, do you specialize? You should. This book tells you how. Author Kelly James-Enger shares the details, resources, and secrets about the top ten freelancing specialties today: health, business and finance, parenting, travel, essays, diet, nutrition and food, technology, fitness and sports, profiles and features, and home and garden. If you¿re not sure which area is for you, just read the first chapter and a simple exercise tells you where to focus. In "Tales from the Front," James-Enger interviewed over 50 successful freelancers from every discipline for their tips and success stories. For example, in chapter eight, writer W. Eric Martin explains how to accurately cover the constantly changing field of technology. Each market chapter also includes the nuts and bolts on how to crack a market and a large list of resources specific to the specialty. If you¿ve ever wondered where business writers find their experts, check out chapter seven. Should travel writers take complimentary trips from travel agencies? Read what the specialists think in chapter ten. The book explains why you should specialize, tricks of the freelancing trade, and a case study of James-Enger¿s experience with Shape magazine. I recommend this book for every freelancer trying to make a living writing. Why? First, because the author is a freelancer with a six-figure income, she knows what it takes to thrive. In addition, this book leads you step-by-step from everyday generalist to successful specialist. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    GREAT IDEAS for NEW and OLD Writers!

    "Ready, Aim, Specialize" is a motivating and inspiring "How-To" book for non-fiction writers. Whether you're just starting out in the non-fiction market, or you're an experienced writer looking to expand into a different market -- even to the Internet -- James-Enger's tips can help you get started, and SUCCEED! I know because I read the book, used the ideas she suggested, and have already made several positive contacts with editors and publishers! I would HIGHLY recommend this book to ALL writers, novice AND seasoned alike!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1