Customer Reviews for

Ready Player One

Average Rating 4.5
( 657 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(498)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!

I did not want this book to end! If you randomly stumbled upon this book, like i did, give it a shot, you won't be sorry!

posted by Laurie-Lou on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Credits remaining: 0

I wanted to love “Ready Player One”, but I realized by the hundredth page that I was in store for a meanderingly predictable journey with zero surprises along the way. The world Cline has created is inhabited by characters who all share the exact same obsessions, the ex...
I wanted to love “Ready Player One”, but I realized by the hundredth page that I was in store for a meanderingly predictable journey with zero surprises along the way. The world Cline has created is inhabited by characters who all share the exact same obsessions, the exact same base of knowledge, the exact same shamelessly self-aware pop-culture references, and largely identical personalities – all while they struggle towards the same goal. The lone antagonist in the story is a cartoonish one-dimensional corporate-fascist entity, lead by a clichéd evil villain sporting little more than a three sentence back story. The main characters barrel forward against this single conflict, spouting childish dialogue as they unsurprisingly emerge victorious against every challenge put in their way. The debatable charm of this novel comes from the endless stream of 80’s references which vacillate between John Hughes films, Atari, Duran Duran, and the etceteras. Some readers may find the references endearing, but others might see them as a literary crutch that does little more than decorate an otherwise unimaginative journey with excerpts of wholesale transcripts from films like “War Games” and “Monty Python and the Holy Grail”. If you’ve ever wanted to have a fictional character describe a movie that you’ve already seen, then this book is for you. It’s hard to fault an author for attempting to fictionalize their interests, but the resulting book is a lazy framework of half baked conflict, predictable plotline and characters that are just marginally differing facsimiles of the author. I really do wish I had some kind words for Ernest Cline, as it is obvious that he threw his heart into the writing of “Ready Player One” with its endless 80’s geekery and pop-culture references, but the story he has fabricated is just as painfully one-dimensional as his underlying obsession might imply. Maybe this might make an interesting movie some day, but the book was simply disappointing.

posted by Barnesie on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 659 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    AMAZING!

    I did not want this book to end! If you randomly stumbled upon this book, like i did, give it a shot, you won't be sorry!

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Credits remaining: 0

    I wanted to love “Ready Player One”, but I realized by the hundredth page that I was in store for a meanderingly predictable journey with zero surprises along the way. The world Cline has created is inhabited by characters who all share the exact same obsessions, the exact same base of knowledge, the exact same shamelessly self-aware pop-culture references, and largely identical personalities – all while they struggle towards the same goal. The lone antagonist in the story is a cartoonish one-dimensional corporate-fascist entity, lead by a clichéd evil villain sporting little more than a three sentence back story. The main characters barrel forward against this single conflict, spouting childish dialogue as they unsurprisingly emerge victorious against every challenge put in their way. The debatable charm of this novel comes from the endless stream of 80’s references which vacillate between John Hughes films, Atari, Duran Duran, and the etceteras. Some readers may find the references endearing, but others might see them as a literary crutch that does little more than decorate an otherwise unimaginative journey with excerpts of wholesale transcripts from films like “War Games” and “Monty Python and the Holy Grail”. If you’ve ever wanted to have a fictional character describe a movie that you’ve already seen, then this book is for you. It’s hard to fault an author for attempting to fictionalize their interests, but the resulting book is a lazy framework of half baked conflict, predictable plotline and characters that are just marginally differing facsimiles of the author. I really do wish I had some kind words for Ernest Cline, as it is obvious that he threw his heart into the writing of “Ready Player One” with its endless 80’s geekery and pop-culture references, but the story he has fabricated is just as painfully one-dimensional as his underlying obsession might imply. Maybe this might make an interesting movie some day, but the book was simply disappointing.

    16 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    All Hail Cline!

    This book is the bomb! And not just any kind of bomb, but a classic grenade for all the geeks out there (yeah like me!). A book with the touch of old school gaming from the ever popular Pacman to the Dungeons and Dragons! If being a nerd means reading more books that tickle my fancy like this then I am a nerd all throughout!Whew!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    What fun!

    If you liked The Hunger Games, you'll enjoy this. It was lovely romp down memory lane. If you ever paid a quarter to play a video game, were ever a Dungeon Master, watched Tom Baker on PBS or wached Lady Hawk on Beta (you don't have admit that last one outloud)...in other words, if you were a geek before it was cool...you will love this book!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Great book

    A must read for any person who has a love for video games and sci-fi literature. A book filled with memories of games ranging from pacman and older all the way up to present day online social gaming, while also seeing a future vision of a post apocolyptic future. A fun and great read for anyone.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Words cannot effectively convey my gratitude to Cline for writi

    Words cannot effectively convey my gratitude to Cline for writing such an imaginative, wholly absorbing world for me to live in. Let me make this perfectly clear : I am not big on the 80's. I have no in depth knowledge of video-games. And mostly everything mentioned in Clines book went totally over my head. With all this in mind, it was STILL one of the best books I have ever read ( and I've read A LOT of books). It was so good that I read it all in one go, over the course of 12 hrs.
    I was literally biting my nails, and when I wasn't reading it in bed, I was on the edge of my seat. When I had to stand up to refill my coffee cup (because as far as Im concerned, the only thing you can drink while reading this book is coffee. The reason being that sleep is just not an option) I was pacing at extraordinary speeds, narrowly missing pets in the process.
    If you don't read this book you are missing out. Big time. I will most definitely re-read this book, a great honor let me tell you, as only a few books out of hundreds have ever held the position. I will also force all of my friends to read it because after ch.1 they'll be hooked.
    So thank you Mr. Cline again, for crafting this wholly absorbing, original, and entertaining world for us all to enjoy. You did good :) (PS. THEY'RE MAKING A MOVIE!!! :D <3)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Epic Ride Through a Virtual World

    Get ready to get your geek on. Well, technically I should say, get ready to get your 80′s geek on. I will preface my review with you must be nerd to read this book, or at least willing to embrace your inner nerd. Additionally, a love or deep appreciation for the 80′s is required. If you are not nerd, you will likely loose interest as the entire book is drenched in all things gaming, tech, and 1980′s pop culture. That said, this book is an epic ride through a virtual world with a not so average hero as your guide. Wade Watts lives in a trailer park with his aunt, who sees Wade as more of a food stamp source than an actual family member. His unfortunate life situation drives him to spend most of his time inside the OASIS, a virtual world, that’s best described as a combination of a virtual reality video game and the internet. Inside the OASIS, a user can play video games, hang out in a virtual chat room, and even attend school. One of the many things driving people to spend time in the virtual world is the OASIS wide ‘Easter egg’ hunt set up by James Halliday, the creator of the OASIS. Halliday set up the ultimate video game that calls back to all of his favorite 80′s video game, movies, and music, and the winner will receive his entire fortune. Wade, also known as Wade3 and Parzival in the OASIS, is one of a millions of people hunting the for Copper Key to unlock the first of three gates in Halliday’s game. That is, he was one of the millions until he found the Copper Key. Ready Player One has been categorized in the Young Adult genre, however, I kind of feel like this book would go over the heads of most young adults these days. I mean no offense to them in the slightest. I’m in my late twenties and I didn’t get many of the things referenced in this book, so I would imagine a teenager might miss a context. That is, unless they have an unhealthy obsession with the 80′s. I feel more adults would enjoy this book than teenagers. In fact, I think it’s already extremely popular among the 30-40 somethings. That said, the author does a pretty thorough job of explaining the many 80′s facts dropped in this story, so it’s not too difficult to keep up. Referencing everything from Billy Idol to Rush, anime to School House Rock, Atari to the Apple 1, and 16 Candles to Monty Python’s The Holy Grail, Cline crams it all in. There were so many 80′s facts that I began to I feel like I was prepping to be on an 80′s edition of Jeopardy. I know more about the 80′s than I ever cared to know. And I have to admit it feels kinda good. To give you a little taste, Ernie Cline posted his personal soundtrack/mix-tape for Ready Player One on his blog. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed Ready Player One. I can truly say that I haven’t read or heard of anything like it before. It’s original, clever, witty, and engaging. It’s a trip through 80′s nostalgia and it’s tons of fun. I highly recommend this book to nerds, 80′s fans, and anyone looking for something completely different.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An entertaining romp down memory lane, but in the end its potential for "geektastic-ness" was never fully realized.

    It's the year 2044 and the real world is apparently a place where no one wishes to live. Instead, everyone chooses to live in the OASIS, a virtual world created by James Halliday. Users don their gear, sit in their Haptic chairs and then surround themselves with valuable artifacts to be used in the game. Their avatars are everything as they choose to live their lives behind these figures. Wade Watts is one of those people. He's a kid, living with an Aunt who really doesn't want him there and he has no real-life friends and only a few virtual ones, but what he does have is skill. This comes in handy when Halliday leaves his entire fortune to the person who can solve the OASIS riddle that he's left behind. What worked for me, are the numerous references to 80's pop-culture. I am an 80's girl, through and through so I enjoyed many of the references, but this book tried to be too many things and in the end it was completely consumed by the game itself. I never considered myself a gamer, but when I was in middle school, I spent a good chunk of time playing Pac -Man, Galaga, and let's not forget Frogger. So the fact that gaming was front of and center, really wasn't the issue here, to me, it had to do with balance or specifically the lack of it. I didn't really like any of the characters and they all seemed a bit flat. Perhaps much of that is due to the fact that many of their true identities are not revealed until the end of the book. Instead, we are introduced to their avatars which to me, left a lot to be desired. For this book to have worked for me, I needed more of Wade outside of his avatar, a less predictable story and a little less of the gaming re-hash that ensued every time Wade had to do battle with his opponent via an 80's video game.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Kept my attention..

    from page 1! I enjoyed this book and wish for more!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Disappointed

    The writing style was't for me. So often the story would grind to a halt for exposition. And much of the plot felt like adolescent boy fantasy fulfillment. I never forgot I was reading a YA novel.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    An Amusing Read,

    An amusing though somewhat near sighted exploration of 80's Pop Culture employing a formula common amongst online writers. While enjoyable it didn't strike me as a text that I'll recall a month or even a week from now. I wouldn't judge the authors ability based off of this work alone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm saying it right off the bat....I loved, loved, loved this on

    I'm saying it right off the bat....I loved, loved, loved this one! I honestly didn't want this read to end. I found myself really wishing that it was a series opener instead of a stand alone title because I would love nothing more than for the story to lead somewhere else so that I wouldn't have to say goodbye to these great characters, this wonderful world, and all the action and excitement Cline brought to the table with this title.

    I cannot thank the lovely people at Random House NY for introducing me and sending me a copy of this wonderful book. Cline's writing was refreshing, easy to relate to, and the type that kept you wanting nothing more than to keep reading even whether during an intense action scene, a romantic flirtation, or just a casual conversation between characters. As someone who has enjoyed video games but never got crazy into them, I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about this title, but I shouldn't have worried. Cline will have you engrossed in the story after the very first chapter and no one will be able to resist the storyline he's laid out for his readers.

    I found myself wishing this was really happening, finally appreciating some of the technology that surrounds us, wondering what it would be like to be able to play out a role in a movie, pick apart a mystery so large that the contest itself could last for years without anyone coming close....the anticipation alone was addicting.

    I unfortunately had never heard about this before it was sent to me, but I can tell you that now that I have, I'll be recommending it to everyone I know, making to sure to gift it to my big reader friends, and hoping with crossed fingers that Cline brings another title to the table in the future that lives up to this amazing book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Nerds Rejoice

    A great mix of Snow Crash and 80's refrences. A must for any video game nerd.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Amazing

    At once nostalgic and futuristic, this book is a must for any self proclaimed geek, nerd, dork or otherwise. Fantastic

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great, Fun, Fast Blast From the Past

    So, our buddy Wade, is living in a pretty grim reality in 2044. The world has devolved to the extreme have's and have-not's (guess which one Wade is...) and almost everyone has retreated to a Utopian virtual world of their own design, OASIS. Wade is an OASIS fanatic and when the gazillionaire creator of OASIS dies and leaves his fortune up for grabs to anyone smart enough to get it, Wade is an unlikely but strong contender.

    Wade has to avoid death and destruction (literally and virtually) in his attempt to find every clue and solve the puzzle before anyone else. The Easter eggs and puzzles are all retro (from the 1980's) and are fun to read and solve along with Wade for anyone who might remember (and love) War Games, John Hughes, and old school video games.

    The stakes are high as an evil corporation is hell bent on solving the mystery before our beleaguered hero. Ready Player One is somewhat of a cross between Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, Tron and Second Life with Eagle Eye thrown in for good measure.

    The pace is brisk and at several points, the pages were turning so fast I thought I was going to get carpal tunnel. I could easily see Ready Player One becoming a great adventure/suspense movie. And guess what? It is! ...in 2014. Great, rollicking thrill ride through our past, present and future. I can't wait to see what Ernest Cline comes up with next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Engaging and full of references.

    I was surprised by just how many things were referenced in this book. It was a lot of fun however and all made sense in context. It certainly helped that I was familiar with most of the things the main character mentioned. I'm not sure if this would be nearly as enjoyable for someone who isn't familiar with lots of random things from the 80's.

    On one hand I got a great deal of entertainment out of this novel. It was fun, decently paced, well written, and well researched (for the most part, though there were a few glaring errors).

    On the other hand there were a few instances where I couldn't tell if the author was being ignorant of if the character was. There were also several things that happened towards the end of the story which I felt conflicted about. They weren't quite strong enough for me to feel as if it was a commentary on unfortunate societal norms and they came out more like cop-outs to pacify anyone who noticed the lack of characters in a minority group. I get the impression things were likely meant to be more on the "commentary" side of things which is why I'm still giving it 4 stars. The lack of a 5th star is due to my uncertainty over whether it could stand up on it's own without the reader being familiar with 80's media.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Loved it

    Clever use of trivia. Excellent fast paced story with a grest message. Why yes, the real world is better but I would love to spend sometime in Oasis, maybe I already do, it's just called Everquest. 4 out of 5 because it is better than your average dystopian novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Snow Crash?

    Have you read Snow Crash? Then you've read this book as well. It's enjoyable, yet entirely derivative of a book written almost 20 years ago. Bleck.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    BEST BOOK I EVER READ YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK OR I WILL HUNT YOU DOWN

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Best book in a long time

    I never write reviews but for the geek in all of us I must say this is a must read. I read all the time and I have to say this book kept me turning pages and not wanting it to end. I loved it. I am sure any GEEK would.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 659 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33