BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ready Player One

Average Rating 4.5
( 677 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(513)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!

I did not want this book to end! If you randomly stumbled upon this book, like i did, give it a shot, you won't be sorry!

posted by Laurie-Lou on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Credits remaining: 0

I wanted to love “Ready Player One”, but I realized by the hundredth page that I was in store for a meanderingly predictable journey with zero surprises along the way. The world Cline has created is inhabited by characters who all share the exact same obsessions, the ex...
I wanted to love “Ready Player One”, but I realized by the hundredth page that I was in store for a meanderingly predictable journey with zero surprises along the way. The world Cline has created is inhabited by characters who all share the exact same obsessions, the exact same base of knowledge, the exact same shamelessly self-aware pop-culture references, and largely identical personalities – all while they struggle towards the same goal. The lone antagonist in the story is a cartoonish one-dimensional corporate-fascist entity, lead by a clichéd evil villain sporting little more than a three sentence back story. The main characters barrel forward against this single conflict, spouting childish dialogue as they unsurprisingly emerge victorious against every challenge put in their way. The debatable charm of this novel comes from the endless stream of 80’s references which vacillate between John Hughes films, Atari, Duran Duran, and the etceteras. Some readers may find the references endearing, but others might see them as a literary crutch that does little more than decorate an otherwise unimaginative journey with excerpts of wholesale transcripts from films like “War Games” and “Monty Python and the Holy Grail”. If you’ve ever wanted to have a fictional character describe a movie that you’ve already seen, then this book is for you. It’s hard to fault an author for attempting to fictionalize their interests, but the resulting book is a lazy framework of half baked conflict, predictable plotline and characters that are just marginally differing facsimiles of the author. I really do wish I had some kind words for Ernest Cline, as it is obvious that he threw his heart into the writing of “Ready Player One” with its endless 80’s geekery and pop-culture references, but the story he has fabricated is just as painfully one-dimensional as his underlying obsession might imply. Maybe this might make an interesting movie some day, but the book was simply disappointing.

posted by Barnesie on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    An Amusing Read,

    An amusing though somewhat near sighted exploration of 80's Pop Culture employing a formula common amongst online writers. While enjoyable it didn't strike me as a text that I'll recall a month or even a week from now. I wouldn't judge the authors ability based off of this work alone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Snow Crash?

    Have you read Snow Crash? Then you've read this book as well. It's enjoyable, yet entirely derivative of a book written almost 20 years ago. Bleck.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Decent story, though a bit repetitive

    I liked this book overall, and would not mind recommending it to a fan of video games and such. The writing is fine, but I can sum up the style of this book in one phrase:

    "How many 80's references can we pack into a given sentence?" I understand that the main character causing the quest was a huge 80's fan and so on, but MAN, it's almost like he (the author) was trying to show how much research he did/stuff he remembered rather than writing a fuller story.

    The times that were spent on talking about the current dystopia in which the world found itself, and the ways people survived, THOSE were the best parts of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I finished it

    It was a decent book. The author is very descriptive and tends to make a few too many 80's references and lists of 80s stuff. I grew up in the 80s and early 90s but a lot of the gamer speak was above my head and I found that it distractec from the story a bit. But overall I enjoyed the story and read in under a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    An entertaining but predictable ride down memory lane for those

    An entertaining but predictable ride down memory lane for those who grew up learning to play video games in the 80s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Great references, unimaginative characters and plot.

    For a gaming geek like myself that actually remembers some of the 80's references and many of the gaming references, it was cool to see them packed into one book. I remember when arcades were cool. When local pizza places had sit down versions of pac man and "game rooms". The Oasis, aptly named, is this fantastically marvelous place in the midst of real world's desolate desert.

    And that's where the book begins to fall apart. In order to make the protagonist's real life situation such a stark juxtaposition to The Oasis, the author goes off on some rather tired modern trope tirades stretching from the bitter atheist, the world using up all its natural fuel resources (instead of coming up with renewable alternatives), and of course, evil corporations that will stoop to any level to make money. And for added bonus there's the parent rejecting their child being gay. It's such a blatant insertion of social commentary that I just had to roll my eyes. It's almost as if the author was himself stuck in the 80's believing these tropes were fresh and interesting...

    While we get to listen to the main character's thoughts, there isn't much insight. He's just about as one dimensional and cliche as the other characters. There is one cool part where the character plans this elaborate data heist plan from the evil corporation, which was good, though its revelation via info dump is kind of meh considering him getting rounded up and imprisoned is about as "uh, what?" as it was when Dawn Summers suddenly appeared on Buffy.

    The others - the shy and beautiful but think she's ugly chick, the macho guy with a secret to hide, two japanese dudes running around with samurai swords, and the evil lead corporate guy who evidently likes to store incriminating evidence where any plucky freedom fighter can snag it - just kind of remind me of NPCs in an MMO. They're only there to interact with the main character and don't really do any development of their own.

    Evidently, this is the first in a series, so I hope the author has plans to do more with the characters than what he did in this book.

    Actually, come to think of it. This book should make a great movie. Think Goonies meets The Lawnmower Man sans the the sillyness and the end of the latter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Good young adult fantasy fiction.

    This was a good read. A little slow in places but once the character gets into the contest things move along. Anyone who has played arcade games or the first RPG games from the eighties,Like the King's Quest or Zelda will enjoy this book. Brought back memories and I miss those old games.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Remember when...

    A fun romp thru my childhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    It was OK

    One's age and one's love of the 80s is a big factor in this book's ratings. I paid little attention to pop culture during the 80s, plus I never played video games. I knew many of the remarks and jokes were going over my head. Even so, I enjoyed the premise of the virtual world vs reality. Intriguing and Interesting. The quest too was fun. Rooting for the protagonist was easy. Writing was a bit banal, not terribly bad. But nothing refreshing. Only read it because I was in a book club. Otherwise, I would've put it down after the first 50 pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Entertaining but not great.

    It is an interesting premise. A battle of good vs evil with few surprises. The author has a great imagination and takes the current use of social media and gaming to and extreme. Entertaining but not really a great book. It will keep you occupied on a long airplane trip but not one that is a "must read"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    So the book has many things going for it story and theme wise wi

    So the book has many things going for it story and theme wise with very little development of the characters. I found myself wondering about the world more than what the characters were actually doing. Reading up a bit more on the author I discovered he wrote the screenplay for the film, Fanboys, which was highly entertaining, but it seems making the transition from screenwriter to novel writer is a bit more difficult. Instead of having actors to bring out the paper written characters you create, you really have to delve into these people and fully flesh them out. This was definitely lacking in the novel and even though I knew what the main character was going to do and what he was going to accomplish three chapters in, I kept reading for the how.

    If you have ever played an MMO or if you are an 80's, 90's nostalgiaphile then the many references thrown in will make you giddy to what you know and love. You'll just have to get past the clunky writing style, paper thin character development, and the odd thrown in preachy moments that really have no context to the story, (threw the story off for an entire chapter but to get to the good nerdy bits just forge on through). So all in all would I recommend this read? Possibly. If you have any relation to a bit of nerd culture or are a nostalgia lover then sure, give it a go. Otherwise if you are seeking a substantial novel with fully fleshed characters and a driven story that you can sink your teeth into I would choose another adventure :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Awesome concept, poor storytelling.

    I really liked the idea...its easy to believe something like this could happen if our media consumption increased with higher tech. In this, the story was good.

    Like another reviewer mentioned (titled Meh), the lack of subtlety with the references really irked me by the end. It would've been more fun if the author didn't hold our hand through every one. It took the spirit of the Game away from me personally. Add that to the high schooler dialogue (granted the story is told by a high schooler) and this book is only readable if you're intrigued by the idea of the Game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Fun times

    Fun and pretty cheesey. Everything the 80s generation would enjoy in a scifi adventure novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Totally 80s

    I Admit i am not a full geek so at times reading it was tedious. Some of the references i didnt get. But overall an enjoyable read and if it gets made into a movie will prob be a lot of fun to watch the action. Be warned if you are not geeky at all or an eightys fan you will be bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2