Customer Reviews for

Ready Player One

Average Rating 4.5
( 657 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(498)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!

I did not want this book to end! If you randomly stumbled upon this book, like i did, give it a shot, you won't be sorry!

posted by Laurie-Lou on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Credits remaining: 0

I wanted to love “Ready Player One”, but I realized by the hundredth page that I was in store for a meanderingly predictable journey with zero surprises along the way. The world Cline has created is inhabited by characters who all share the exact same obsessions, the ex...
I wanted to love “Ready Player One”, but I realized by the hundredth page that I was in store for a meanderingly predictable journey with zero surprises along the way. The world Cline has created is inhabited by characters who all share the exact same obsessions, the exact same base of knowledge, the exact same shamelessly self-aware pop-culture references, and largely identical personalities – all while they struggle towards the same goal. The lone antagonist in the story is a cartoonish one-dimensional corporate-fascist entity, lead by a clichéd evil villain sporting little more than a three sentence back story. The main characters barrel forward against this single conflict, spouting childish dialogue as they unsurprisingly emerge victorious against every challenge put in their way. The debatable charm of this novel comes from the endless stream of 80’s references which vacillate between John Hughes films, Atari, Duran Duran, and the etceteras. Some readers may find the references endearing, but others might see them as a literary crutch that does little more than decorate an otherwise unimaginative journey with excerpts of wholesale transcripts from films like “War Games” and “Monty Python and the Holy Grail”. If you’ve ever wanted to have a fictional character describe a movie that you’ve already seen, then this book is for you. It’s hard to fault an author for attempting to fictionalize their interests, but the resulting book is a lazy framework of half baked conflict, predictable plotline and characters that are just marginally differing facsimiles of the author. I really do wish I had some kind words for Ernest Cline, as it is obvious that he threw his heart into the writing of “Ready Player One” with its endless 80’s geekery and pop-culture references, but the story he has fabricated is just as painfully one-dimensional as his underlying obsession might imply. Maybe this might make an interesting movie some day, but the book was simply disappointing.

posted by Barnesie on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 498 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    AMAZING!

    I did not want this book to end! If you randomly stumbled upon this book, like i did, give it a shot, you won't be sorry!

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    All Hail Cline!

    This book is the bomb! And not just any kind of bomb, but a classic grenade for all the geeks out there (yeah like me!). A book with the touch of old school gaming from the ever popular Pacman to the Dungeons and Dragons! If being a nerd means reading more books that tickle my fancy like this then I am a nerd all throughout!Whew!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Great book

    A must read for any person who has a love for video games and sci-fi literature. A book filled with memories of games ranging from pacman and older all the way up to present day online social gaming, while also seeing a future vision of a post apocolyptic future. A fun and great read for anyone.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Words cannot effectively convey my gratitude to Cline for writi

    Words cannot effectively convey my gratitude to Cline for writing such an imaginative, wholly absorbing world for me to live in. Let me make this perfectly clear : I am not big on the 80's. I have no in depth knowledge of video-games. And mostly everything mentioned in Clines book went totally over my head. With all this in mind, it was STILL one of the best books I have ever read ( and I've read A LOT of books). It was so good that I read it all in one go, over the course of 12 hrs.
    I was literally biting my nails, and when I wasn't reading it in bed, I was on the edge of my seat. When I had to stand up to refill my coffee cup (because as far as Im concerned, the only thing you can drink while reading this book is coffee. The reason being that sleep is just not an option) I was pacing at extraordinary speeds, narrowly missing pets in the process.
    If you don't read this book you are missing out. Big time. I will most definitely re-read this book, a great honor let me tell you, as only a few books out of hundreds have ever held the position. I will also force all of my friends to read it because after ch.1 they'll be hooked.
    So thank you Mr. Cline again, for crafting this wholly absorbing, original, and entertaining world for us all to enjoy. You did good :) (PS. THEY'RE MAKING A MOVIE!!! :D <3)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Epic Ride Through a Virtual World

    Get ready to get your geek on. Well, technically I should say, get ready to get your 80′s geek on. I will preface my review with you must be nerd to read this book, or at least willing to embrace your inner nerd. Additionally, a love or deep appreciation for the 80′s is required. If you are not nerd, you will likely loose interest as the entire book is drenched in all things gaming, tech, and 1980′s pop culture. That said, this book is an epic ride through a virtual world with a not so average hero as your guide. Wade Watts lives in a trailer park with his aunt, who sees Wade as more of a food stamp source than an actual family member. His unfortunate life situation drives him to spend most of his time inside the OASIS, a virtual world, that’s best described as a combination of a virtual reality video game and the internet. Inside the OASIS, a user can play video games, hang out in a virtual chat room, and even attend school. One of the many things driving people to spend time in the virtual world is the OASIS wide ‘Easter egg’ hunt set up by James Halliday, the creator of the OASIS. Halliday set up the ultimate video game that calls back to all of his favorite 80′s video game, movies, and music, and the winner will receive his entire fortune. Wade, also known as Wade3 and Parzival in the OASIS, is one of a millions of people hunting the for Copper Key to unlock the first of three gates in Halliday’s game. That is, he was one of the millions until he found the Copper Key. Ready Player One has been categorized in the Young Adult genre, however, I kind of feel like this book would go over the heads of most young adults these days. I mean no offense to them in the slightest. I’m in my late twenties and I didn’t get many of the things referenced in this book, so I would imagine a teenager might miss a context. That is, unless they have an unhealthy obsession with the 80′s. I feel more adults would enjoy this book than teenagers. In fact, I think it’s already extremely popular among the 30-40 somethings. That said, the author does a pretty thorough job of explaining the many 80′s facts dropped in this story, so it’s not too difficult to keep up. Referencing everything from Billy Idol to Rush, anime to School House Rock, Atari to the Apple 1, and 16 Candles to Monty Python’s The Holy Grail, Cline crams it all in. There were so many 80′s facts that I began to I feel like I was prepping to be on an 80′s edition of Jeopardy. I know more about the 80′s than I ever cared to know. And I have to admit it feels kinda good. To give you a little taste, Ernie Cline posted his personal soundtrack/mix-tape for Ready Player One on his blog. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed Ready Player One. I can truly say that I haven’t read or heard of anything like it before. It’s original, clever, witty, and engaging. It’s a trip through 80′s nostalgia and it’s tons of fun. I highly recommend this book to nerds, 80′s fans, and anyone looking for something completely different.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Kept my attention..

    from page 1! I enjoyed this book and wish for more!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'm saying it right off the bat....I loved, loved, loved this on

    I'm saying it right off the bat....I loved, loved, loved this one! I honestly didn't want this read to end. I found myself really wishing that it was a series opener instead of a stand alone title because I would love nothing more than for the story to lead somewhere else so that I wouldn't have to say goodbye to these great characters, this wonderful world, and all the action and excitement Cline brought to the table with this title.

    I cannot thank the lovely people at Random House NY for introducing me and sending me a copy of this wonderful book. Cline's writing was refreshing, easy to relate to, and the type that kept you wanting nothing more than to keep reading even whether during an intense action scene, a romantic flirtation, or just a casual conversation between characters. As someone who has enjoyed video games but never got crazy into them, I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about this title, but I shouldn't have worried. Cline will have you engrossed in the story after the very first chapter and no one will be able to resist the storyline he's laid out for his readers.

    I found myself wishing this was really happening, finally appreciating some of the technology that surrounds us, wondering what it would be like to be able to play out a role in a movie, pick apart a mystery so large that the contest itself could last for years without anyone coming close....the anticipation alone was addicting.

    I unfortunately had never heard about this before it was sent to me, but I can tell you that now that I have, I'll be recommending it to everyone I know, making to sure to gift it to my big reader friends, and hoping with crossed fingers that Cline brings another title to the table in the future that lives up to this amazing book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Nerds Rejoice

    A great mix of Snow Crash and 80's refrences. A must for any video game nerd.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Amazing

    At once nostalgic and futuristic, this book is a must for any self proclaimed geek, nerd, dork or otherwise. Fantastic

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great, Fun, Fast Blast From the Past

    So, our buddy Wade, is living in a pretty grim reality in 2044. The world has devolved to the extreme have's and have-not's (guess which one Wade is...) and almost everyone has retreated to a Utopian virtual world of their own design, OASIS. Wade is an OASIS fanatic and when the gazillionaire creator of OASIS dies and leaves his fortune up for grabs to anyone smart enough to get it, Wade is an unlikely but strong contender.

    Wade has to avoid death and destruction (literally and virtually) in his attempt to find every clue and solve the puzzle before anyone else. The Easter eggs and puzzles are all retro (from the 1980's) and are fun to read and solve along with Wade for anyone who might remember (and love) War Games, John Hughes, and old school video games.

    The stakes are high as an evil corporation is hell bent on solving the mystery before our beleaguered hero. Ready Player One is somewhat of a cross between Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, Tron and Second Life with Eagle Eye thrown in for good measure.

    The pace is brisk and at several points, the pages were turning so fast I thought I was going to get carpal tunnel. I could easily see Ready Player One becoming a great adventure/suspense movie. And guess what? It is! ...in 2014. Great, rollicking thrill ride through our past, present and future. I can't wait to see what Ernest Cline comes up with next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    BEST BOOK I EVER READ YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK OR I WILL HUNT YOU DOWN

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Best book in a long time

    I never write reviews but for the geek in all of us I must say this is a must read. I read all the time and I have to say this book kept me turning pages and not wanting it to end. I loved it. I am sure any GEEK would.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED this book. Anyone who loves the 80s or video games (especi

    LOVED this book. Anyone who loves the 80s or video games (especially vintage classics) will love this book. Its set in the very close future where earth has no more fossil fuels and there is serious overcrowding (trailer parks are now called stacks because they've stacked trailers on top of each other to make more room). A genius computer programer built an online universe called the OASIS where people can live and work without ever leaving their homes in the real world (think the Matrix only voluntary). The creator of the OASIS has died and he left everything to the person who can solve his massive puzzle/treasure hunt game that he's programed into the OASIS. Anyone can search for the Egg (lots of early video games had Easter Eggs that true gamers could find and learn more about the game/programer etc), but only someone who knows and understands all of the obscure 80s references & games that the programer loved so well will be able to find it. Follow some true gamers (or gunters for 'egg-hunters') as they battle corporate scum and wannabe posers in their search for the ULTIMATE PRIZE: control over the OASIS and all of the millions of dollars that go with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    an amazing mmorpg game puzzle/mystery sci-fi novel with romance sprinkled in too.

    First thing ihave to say...
    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    It took me 2 1/2 days to read
    The plot was good... let me rephrase that... amazing!!
    Characters were well described and were attatchable.
    Each one was unique.
    It had happy moments but some sad.
    The end just breathless then quickly fills you up with happy gas!
    I didnt grow up in the 80's... i wasnt even alive. This book is for every gamer and dystopian lover, regardless of what decade you came from.

    So please give this book a chance and prepare to be sucked into a world that you will never forget!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    ^_^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    A Quick and Fun cyberadventure rooted in 80's Culture.

    An easy recommendation for sci fi fans who grew up in the early 1980's. Fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    An Incredibly Entertaining Read

    A friend recommended this book a little over a week ago. I could hardly put it down once I started reading it. It is a fast, easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    80's pop culture meets the ultimate easter egg hunt

    READY PLAYER ONE is one great piece of literature, a book that not only will get hold of you from page one and never let go but it will also speak directly to your soul. At the same time though, Gen-Xers will have the time of their life in a nostalgia trip of the 1980's like no other. I dare you not to fall in love with Ready Player One. And I mean head over heels in love--the way you fall for someone who is smart, feisty, and who can effortlessly finish your favorite movie lines, music lyrics, or literature quotes before they come out of your mouth. The story is set in a near-term future in which the new, new form of the Internet is a realistic virtual multi-verse called the OASIS. Most human interaction takes place via goggles and gloves in millions of unique worlds, including the boring (and free) “public education” world from which our teenage protagonist must escape. But Ready Player One isn’t just a fanboy’s wet dream. Real villains are lurking, threatening our hero with death in their ruthless hunt for the treasure. Worse, these corporate baddies are posers with no love for the game – they have movie dialogue piped in via radio earpieces, use bots to cheat at arcade games like JOUST, and don’t hesitate to terrorize or murder people in the real world to achieve their aims inside the OASIS. Filled with adventure, close calls, death, humor, romance, friendship, pain and a bajillion references to 1980s pop culture, the book is a kick to read. I enjoyed it immensely, and found myself so caught up in the story that I abandoned any pretense of sleep and devoured the book in just a few days. As the book climaxes, a mega-battle unfolds with sobering life-or-death stakes, yet soldiered entirely by exciting and downright fun pop-culture icons. The bad guys are piloting a ferocious Mechagodzilla. Our good guy has to leave his X-Wing fighter aboard his private flotilla so that he can pilot an authentic Ultraman recreation. And how do you not grin when someone dons a pair of virtual Chuck Taylor All Stars that bestow the power of flight? Ready Player One is one of the best books I've read this year, and it has definitely put Cline on my radar as an author to watch. The film rights have been sold and Cline (who is also a scriptwriter) is working on the script. I'd love to see Ready Player One on the big screen. In the meantime, I heartily recommend you read Ready Player One!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    This is one book I found hard to put down. It kept me excited al

    This is one book I found hard to put down. It kept me excited all the way through. A great story that includes the many things I remember from the time period. I loved all the references and the way they were included. A very fun read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Amazing

    Was totally hoooked the whole way through

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Amazing book

    Perfect for fans of sci-fi, fantasy, action, adventure, and theres even a little romance thrown in too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 498 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 25