Customer Reviews for

Ready or Not (All-American Girl Series)

Average Rating 4
( 358 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

Is this book controversial? You bet! Is it funny! No doubt about it. Is it appropriate reading material for all ages? Depends on what you deem appropriate.

I've read with interest the other reviews for READY OR NOT, Meg Cabot's sequel to All-American Girl. I e...
Is this book controversial? You bet! Is it funny! No doubt about it. Is it appropriate reading material for all ages? Depends on what you deem appropriate.

I've read with interest the other reviews for READY OR NOT, Meg Cabot's sequel to All-American Girl. I even agree with a lot of them. But before I start my review, let me remind you of one salient point--this book is a work of FICTION. It was written by a HUMAN who has her OWN views of life. Just as everyone on Amazon isn't going to agree on whether or not abortion is right, or the war in Iraq is necessary, or whether religion should be allowed in public schools, no two people are going to agree on whether or not *SPOILER* Sam should have had sex with her boyfriend at the age of almost seventeen.

That said, I loved the book. I'm a thirty-year-old happily married mother of two, and I still enjoyed Ms. Cabot's individual brand of humor, the trials of being a teenager, and the ability of one person to make a difference in the world.

The Samantha Madison of ALL-AMERICAN GIRL has grown up. She's older, she's dyed her hair because she "needed a change," and she's wondering what to do now that her boyfriend, David, who just happens to be the son of the US President, has invited her to Camp David over Thanksgiving weekend to play "parcheesi."

Sam is all ready reeling--from the realization that she either looks like a cute Ashlee Simpson (her older sister Lucy's comment on the dye job, which is not good) or a dead Joan of Arc (her younger sister Rebecca's comment on the hair, which could be good depending on how you look at it); the fact that "life studies" in art class obviously means "naked people" (really not good that the first naked man you see is a complete stranger); and the knowledge that the President seems to think providing the teens of America birth-control should not be done without their parents approval.

I truly enjoyed READY OR NOT. The message is a powerful one--the sexuality of a person should be based on their maturity, not their age, and that birth-control is a personal decision of the person engaging in sexual activities. That said, however, never once does the book become preachy about teen sexuality. I can understand where some parents might not like having their teenage daughters reading about a sixteen-year-old who decides to have sex with her boyfriend, but I personally would rather have my daughter read a book about a girl who knows what a big decision it is, comes to peace with it in her mind, and seeks out ways to avoid the dangers that are associated with sex no matter what your age--pregnancy and disease--then have her feel ashamed to research her decision.

I think the subject matter was wonderfully handled, and by no means is the entire book about Sam trying to decide whether or not to have sex with David. A lot of reviewers will attempt to make it be so, just because the subject matter is a touchy one. But it's also about Sam wanting to be her own person, not just "the girl who saved the President." It's about learning to love yourself as you are, and understanding the intricacies of your family, and taking important steps in your life to make the world a better place....

Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com

posted by TeensReadToo on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

An Incredible Disappointment

While I was mildly entertained by Cabot's first installment in the All-American Girl series, Ready or Not was truly one of the most unsatisfactory books I have ever read. Meg Cabot has a fresh, interesting, and comical style of writing that appeals to teens, but Rea...
While I was mildly entertained by Cabot's first installment in the All-American Girl series, Ready or Not was truly one of the most unsatisfactory books I have ever read. Meg Cabot has a fresh, interesting, and comical style of writing that appeals to teens, but Ready or Not had virtually no plot, point, or any value at all--in fact, what was the theme of this book? Sex, and nothing else. Cabot did not even attempt to incorporate any 'morals' in here, such as 'Sam decided to wait until she was ready' or 'David didn't pressure her' or 'It was Sam's decision to have sex'--the entire book was rushed. It was a bit heartening to see the previously completley superficial elder sister Lucy let go of her haughtiness and fall for a geek, and also stand up for her younger sister, but it was highly unbelievable and hey--it drew away from the sexsexsexsex story line! Let me state right here and now that I am neither a concerned mother or disgusted librarian but a highly affronted teenage girl who likes a good romance as much as the next, but is sick of all the focus on sex in America, as well as a completley pointless plot. I would recommend you look elsewhere for entertainment, particularly at several of Cabot's other novels, which I found to have a great deal more substance and ingenuity.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    An Incredible Disappointment

    While I was mildly entertained by Cabot's first installment in the All-American Girl series, Ready or Not was truly one of the most unsatisfactory books I have ever read. Meg Cabot has a fresh, interesting, and comical style of writing that appeals to teens, but Ready or Not had virtually no plot, point, or any value at all--in fact, what was the theme of this book? Sex, and nothing else. Cabot did not even attempt to incorporate any 'morals' in here, such as 'Sam decided to wait until she was ready' or 'David didn't pressure her' or 'It was Sam's decision to have sex'--the entire book was rushed. It was a bit heartening to see the previously completley superficial elder sister Lucy let go of her haughtiness and fall for a geek, and also stand up for her younger sister, but it was highly unbelievable and hey--it drew away from the sexsexsexsex story line! Let me state right here and now that I am neither a concerned mother or disgusted librarian but a highly affronted teenage girl who likes a good romance as much as the next, but is sick of all the focus on sex in America, as well as a completley pointless plot. I would recommend you look elsewhere for entertainment, particularly at several of Cabot's other novels, which I found to have a great deal more substance and ingenuity.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Nothing

    Nothing but sex. That word is on every page. For
    younger readers Meg definetly messed up this time. I am just a little to young to be reading about that when there was absolutly nothing wrong with All-American Girl. Save your money if you are younger than at least 15. Trust me, I know what is wrong and what is right to talk about. Some things Meg could have left out like David's hand in Sam's bra or putting "it" under running water to pratice having sex. I would not recemend this to many people and that is just my opinion.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    HELP

    I want to read this book but my parents probaly wouldn't let me. I read All American Girl and want to know what happens next but since I'm only 10 I need to know if it is inapropeite. Please tell me!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    What the....

    The sample is really nasty. I want to read all american girl but if this is the sequel...ummmm...and this is coming from a 12 year old girl.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    PEOPLE PLEASE!!!!!!

    PEOPLE NEED TO STOP SAYING IT!!!! IT IS REALLY ANNOYING!!!!! AHHH!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    A usual Meg Cabot Lover

    Meg Cabot is usuallly a great Auther. I loved the Princess Diaries, so I thought I would give another one of her books, All American Girl, a try. I loved it, then I heard there was a sequal, Ready or Not. I was so excited. One of my friends had it, so I borrowed it. It was such a disapointment as a sequel to such a great book. As a thirteen year old girl, I found it DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This doesnt even deserve one star.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    What a let-down

    This book was a total let-down. I loved the prequel, All American Girl, and hoped this one would be as great. However, this book was simply about whether she should sleep with David or not. This book revolved completely around that, and I found it boring. Just read the first one, the second one is unnecessary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    WORST BOOK EVER WRITTEN

    I read All American Girl and it was kind of disappointing, but I gave this book a chance because I thought it might have been better. WRONG! This book was so bad! It was so not worth my money. Sam was worse than before. She spent the WHOLE book wondering wether or not to 'Do It' with David. She complained more than the first book. And at the end, they ended up doing it! I can't belivie that Meg Cabot wrote a book that talked about nothing but sex. That is a serious topic, and it was not taken seriously. I HATED this book. Another disappointing book by Meg Cabot. And 12 years old is not a good age on this book. At least 13 or 14 should have been the age. I am 11(yes, a little young for this book) and I KNOW at 12, I would not have been ready for this book. I love Meg Cabot's books, but this book should have never been written. Please, if you are under 13 or 14, do yourself a favor and DON'T read this book. I made a mistake to read this book, and so I am telling you now, DON'T READ IT!!! If I could give this book lower than 1 star, I would give it -10 stars! This book was disgusting. It was the worst book I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    SOFT PORN

    I am a huge fan of Meg Cabot, but this book is garbage! What was she thinking??? What are reviewers thinking when they recommend this soft porn to 9-12th graders???? I did see that many reviews talked about this being FICTION. It is fiction, but she still has proceeded to plant seeds of ways to masturbate, how to act on stupid lustful feelings and permission to do so, creating more intense curiosity about men's genitals, and that parents shouldn't know about your lives, in our daughter's minds. This book is poison and has NO business in our young daughter's hands. I am very disappointed in Meg Cabot and I'm especially disappointed in some of the lasidasical attitudes in the reviews. No wonder we have such high instances of teenage pregnancies!!! Don't read this book until you are old enough to handle the contents and the consequences of what will be put into your mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    DO THEY HAVE SEX?

    WHATS ALL THIS STUFF ABOUT DIPPING VAGINAS IN WATER WHATS ALL

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    To not trying to get all political....

    Hey listen if you have sex before marrriage nowadays thats cool if its witb your bf and you are like twenty five but at fourteen your gonna regret it. The only reason you probably think its okay is because you probably have the brain of a eleven year old. Well thats just what your writing says. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    I'm 12 years old. Help.

    The reason being that I gave this book 1 star is because I haven't read it. I read most of the reviews to see if it would be an 'okay' book for myself to read. My mother doesn't know if she wants me to read it, but I would like to read it because I read All-American Girl. I want to know what happens on the rest of Sam's journey through growing up. Plus it drives me crazy not being able to finish a series.

    P.s. I think I worded this awesomelly(is that a word) my teachers would be proud, I think.

    Please Help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Yea

    Im just poking around and really, SEX? BOO!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Anoymus

    I really did not like Ready Or Not. I thought it was very inaproprite for people under 16.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    ready or not

    I HATED IT SOOOOOOO MUCH

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    What Were They Thinking?

    As a mother of a 12 year old daughter, I find the age recommendation for this book appalling. We have enjoyed many of Meg Cabot's books, but this one was very inappropriate for a preteen. I'm sad to say that the information relayed in this book took an 'innocence' away from my daughter that can't be regained. Why do we want our children to grow up so fast? They are older far longer than they are young. 12 years & up. What were they thinking?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Meg Cabot = One Over-Rated 'Author' of Teen Literature

    I borrowed the CD Audio version of this book and well I was pretty disappointed with the quality of Cabot's writing style. I was never really impressed with her other works either. Sam Madison does not come off as a strong girl as Cabot tries in vain to make her out to be so. I realize that the story really isn't about the romance between her and David at all. Its just Sam's story because she gets all the 'screen time' in the story. Like other readers have commented, Sam Madison could only think about one thing, SEX. I really don't know how any of us can relate or like Sam because she always, always jumps to conclusions without really talking to her boyfriend about it. Every part of the book mentioned sex and 'doing it'. She really does not understand David at all. Sure Cabot has plastered all the modern teen interests in it such as music, ipods, movies, and what not. And the whole cafeteria scene with Lucy standing up for Sam after the MTV town meeting incident was SO CHEESY! What is this Braveheart? Meg Cabot does not deserve the title of a 'best-selling teen writer' I'm not trying to insult her in anyway but I'm constructively critising her. I mean does she actually buy what she writes? I've read Cabot's other books before and this by far is the most trashy book I've read/ or heard since I listened to the audio version. I wouldn't say Cabot is a exceptional writer at all. She still needs a lot of practice for her books to be a page-turner. What irks me most about her books is she loves to repeat things over and over like the readers have altimers disease and need to reminded in every sequel. If you ever read a prequel of a series book and then start reading the sequel,there is about 3-4 chapters dedicated to recapping what had happened in the other books, i.e. The Mediator series. I truly think Meg Cabot is an over-rated author of teen literature. I think if I had the money to publish my own writing, I know I can sell more books than she can. I'm just not impressed with her writing style at all. All her heroine characters are all the same to me. She also needs to observe people more to really write realistic characters. I mean teenagers are teenagers and they do have raging hormones but hey sex is not something they'll talk about for weeks and think about it every second. She makes it out like teenagers are sex-craved-monsters. Completely misinterprets teenagers. I'm sure teens think about it, just not to that extreme. Her books does have some good ideas it just falls short of great and excellent suspense, thriller, or romance, or realisticness. Her characters' dialogue bores me to tears! Literally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    disapointing

    I read the first book 'All American Girl' and loved it. So when I heard that there was a second book out about Sam I jumped to the shelves to find it. With great excitement I finished the book in one night and felt that it was well, bad to put it in plain terms. It was all about Sam and whether or not she should 'do it' with her boyfriend David. I also felt the book went into too much gory detail, and you'll know what I mean if/when you read it. I feel let down and only hope Meg Cabot's next book will be more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Ready or Not (All-American Girl Series)

    I was not ready to read Meg Cabot's agenda of portraying premarital sex as wonderful-especially if it is the 'right' person. She ignors any physical, mental, or moral consequences and issues that accompany premarital sexual behavior. Expecting a 'romantic' follow-up with characters from the first book 'All American Girl', unsuspecting readers are exposed to specific sexual 'information' and 'instructions' that is very inappropriate, not only for young teen readers but for mature teen readers as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Ready or Not (All-American Girl Series)

    I was NOT ready to read Meg Cabot's agenda of promoting active sexual behavior in teens, that premarital sex is wonderful and totally acceptable if it is with the 'right' person and that it has no physical or moral consequences. It is very disturbing that the author exposes unsuspecting, young readers to specific sexual 'information' and 'instructions'. These contents are entirely inappropriate even in books for mature youth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2