BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ready or Not (All-American Girl Series)

Average Rating 4
( 361 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

Is this book controversial? You bet! Is it funny! No doubt about it. Is it appropriate reading material for all ages? Depends on what you deem appropriate.

I've read with interest the other reviews for READY OR NOT, Meg Cabot's sequel to All-American Girl. I e...
Is this book controversial? You bet! Is it funny! No doubt about it. Is it appropriate reading material for all ages? Depends on what you deem appropriate.

I've read with interest the other reviews for READY OR NOT, Meg Cabot's sequel to All-American Girl. I even agree with a lot of them. But before I start my review, let me remind you of one salient point--this book is a work of FICTION. It was written by a HUMAN who has her OWN views of life. Just as everyone on Amazon isn't going to agree on whether or not abortion is right, or the war in Iraq is necessary, or whether religion should be allowed in public schools, no two people are going to agree on whether or not *SPOILER* Sam should have had sex with her boyfriend at the age of almost seventeen.

That said, I loved the book. I'm a thirty-year-old happily married mother of two, and I still enjoyed Ms. Cabot's individual brand of humor, the trials of being a teenager, and the ability of one person to make a difference in the world.

The Samantha Madison of ALL-AMERICAN GIRL has grown up. She's older, she's dyed her hair because she "needed a change," and she's wondering what to do now that her boyfriend, David, who just happens to be the son of the US President, has invited her to Camp David over Thanksgiving weekend to play "parcheesi."

Sam is all ready reeling--from the realization that she either looks like a cute Ashlee Simpson (her older sister Lucy's comment on the dye job, which is not good) or a dead Joan of Arc (her younger sister Rebecca's comment on the hair, which could be good depending on how you look at it); the fact that "life studies" in art class obviously means "naked people" (really not good that the first naked man you see is a complete stranger); and the knowledge that the President seems to think providing the teens of America birth-control should not be done without their parents approval.

I truly enjoyed READY OR NOT. The message is a powerful one--the sexuality of a person should be based on their maturity, not their age, and that birth-control is a personal decision of the person engaging in sexual activities. That said, however, never once does the book become preachy about teen sexuality. I can understand where some parents might not like having their teenage daughters reading about a sixteen-year-old who decides to have sex with her boyfriend, but I personally would rather have my daughter read a book about a girl who knows what a big decision it is, comes to peace with it in her mind, and seeks out ways to avoid the dangers that are associated with sex no matter what your age--pregnancy and disease--then have her feel ashamed to research her decision.

I think the subject matter was wonderfully handled, and by no means is the entire book about Sam trying to decide whether or not to have sex with David. A lot of reviewers will attempt to make it be so, just because the subject matter is a touchy one. But it's also about Sam wanting to be her own person, not just "the girl who saved the President." It's about learning to love yourself as you are, and understanding the intricacies of your family, and taking important steps in your life to make the world a better place....

Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com

posted by TeensReadToo on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

An Incredible Disappointment

While I was mildly entertained by Cabot's first installment in the All-American Girl series, Ready or Not was truly one of the most unsatisfactory books I have ever read. Meg Cabot has a fresh, interesting, and comical style of writing that appeals to teens, but Rea...
While I was mildly entertained by Cabot's first installment in the All-American Girl series, Ready or Not was truly one of the most unsatisfactory books I have ever read. Meg Cabot has a fresh, interesting, and comical style of writing that appeals to teens, but Ready or Not had virtually no plot, point, or any value at all--in fact, what was the theme of this book? Sex, and nothing else. Cabot did not even attempt to incorporate any 'morals' in here, such as 'Sam decided to wait until she was ready' or 'David didn't pressure her' or 'It was Sam's decision to have sex'--the entire book was rushed. It was a bit heartening to see the previously completley superficial elder sister Lucy let go of her haughtiness and fall for a geek, and also stand up for her younger sister, but it was highly unbelievable and hey--it drew away from the sexsexsexsex story line! Let me state right here and now that I am neither a concerned mother or disgusted librarian but a highly affronted teenage girl who likes a good romance as much as the next, but is sick of all the focus on sex in America, as well as a completley pointless plot. I would recommend you look elsewhere for entertainment, particularly at several of Cabot's other novels, which I found to have a great deal more substance and ingenuity.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    Is this book controversial? You bet! Is it funny! No doubt about it. Is it appropriate reading material for all ages? Depends on what you deem appropriate. <BR/><BR/>I've read with interest the other reviews for READY OR NOT, Meg Cabot's sequel to All-American Girl. I even agree with a lot of them. But before I start my review, let me remind you of one salient point--this book is a work of FICTION. It was written by a HUMAN who has her OWN views of life. Just as everyone on Amazon isn't going to agree on whether or not abortion is right, or the war in Iraq is necessary, or whether religion should be allowed in public schools, no two people are going to agree on whether or not *SPOILER* Sam should have had sex with her boyfriend at the age of almost seventeen. <BR/><BR/>That said, I loved the book. I'm a thirty-year-old happily married mother of two, and I still enjoyed Ms. Cabot's individual brand of humor, the trials of being a teenager, and the ability of one person to make a difference in the world. <BR/><BR/>The Samantha Madison of ALL-AMERICAN GIRL has grown up. She's older, she's dyed her hair because she "needed a change," and she's wondering what to do now that her boyfriend, David, who just happens to be the son of the US President, has invited her to Camp David over Thanksgiving weekend to play "parcheesi." <BR/><BR/>Sam is all ready reeling--from the realization that she either looks like a cute Ashlee Simpson (her older sister Lucy's comment on the dye job, which is not good) or a dead Joan of Arc (her younger sister Rebecca's comment on the hair, which could be good depending on how you look at it); the fact that "life studies" in art class obviously means "naked people" (really not good that the first naked man you see is a complete stranger); and the knowledge that the President seems to think providing the teens of America birth-control should not be done without their parents approval. <BR/><BR/>I truly enjoyed READY OR NOT. The message is a powerful one--the sexuality of a person should be based on their maturity, not their age, and that birth-control is a personal decision of the person engaging in sexual activities. That said, however, never once does the book become preachy about teen sexuality. I can understand where some parents might not like having their teenage daughters reading about a sixteen-year-old who decides to have sex with her boyfriend, but I personally would rather have my daughter read a book about a girl who knows what a big decision it is, comes to peace with it in her mind, and seeks out ways to avoid the dangers that are associated with sex no matter what your age--pregnancy and disease--then have her feel ashamed to research her decision. <BR/><BR/>I think the subject matter was wonderfully handled, and by no means is the entire book about Sam trying to decide whether or not to have sex with David. A lot of reviewers will attempt to make it be so, just because the subject matter is a touchy one. But it's also about Sam wanting to be her own person, not just "the girl who saved the President." It's about learning to love yourself as you are, and understanding the intricacies of your family, and taking important steps in your life to make the world a better place....<BR/><BR/>Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    All American Girl the Great Book!!!

    Great book. I personally am 10 years old. I would really recommend this book to somebody ages 13-17. This book has a lot of adultish scenes. This book can be pretty inappropriate for kids my age but I already know about that stuff so it was fine for me. Here is what it is about:

    Samantha Madison is in a deep relashionship with the presidents son, David. He really loves her and she really loves him. He asks her if she wants to go to camp David. She freaks out because she thinks he wants to have sex with her there. Her sister tries to make her feel better by talking about it and by buying birth control.

    I was not very mature throughout this story. Ok, I was, but it was because I know how teenagers get scared about that. I did not laugh because this story is very realistic. I know it would be akward. Sam was nervous because it would be her first time having sexual intercourse and she got paranoid.
    Hey, I would too! I love this story and I think you will too.


    BUY IT!!!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ready or Not is a great book for teenaged girls to read. Sure, it's a little controversial in the content, but teens already know what this is. I am ashamed that there are adults out there calling this 'soft porn.' For one, there isn't even a sex scene. We just get from the characters that it did happen. Another thing, I am appalled people would say that by reading this it is poisoning the minds of young girls. The only thing poisoning their minds is abstinence-only 'sex ed.' With this book, at least they learn about different forms of birth control. If teens who have had abstinence only classes, and decide to have sex, how will they know how to protect themselves? True, not all teens will submit to sex at an early age--certainly not myself--I'm 17--although my views would make you think otherwise--but some WILL. It's ashame we have to employ popular young adult authors to teach teenagers what you parents should have taught them in the first place. Shame on all of you.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Just stop

    I personally adored this book. Other people however are saying it is outrageous that a 16 year old girl is having sex. I know a 7th grader who has lost her virginity. It is perfectly normal for Sam to be explorin her sexuality, especially becase she is a social outcast. Anyways it's not like she shagged every man slut in town. The book was a good way to learn about sexuality and in case you didnt notice Sam used two forms of protection. You cant expect everyone to stay naive forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Amazing

    YA it not something my mom would want me to read cause it says sex alot but there isnt detail and she knows that it is the same author as allie finkle so she got it with out hesitation

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    PLEASE PEOPLE!!

    Um this is why u read the revwew under the book it tells u everything if your uncomforable then don't even read the sample people!!! Anyway this book rcked so stop hattin':)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Teenage Girl? This is a 'Must Read'

    This was one of the best books that I have read in a long time. It was very fast-paced, which I try to look for in a book, was well geared toward teenage girls, and had me laughing a lot of the time. I couldn't put it down! It seemed almost seemed as if Meg had been through all this herself. She is a great author and it shows through Ready or Not. I can't wait to get started on another one of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Outrageous, Laugh Out Loud Read!!!

    Meg Cabot does it again in this sequel to All American Girl, creating a novel just as funny as the first. We're back in the world of Samantha Madison, and this time the spunky teen has a lot on her plate. Sam is juggling a job at a video store, being teen ambassador to the UN, and negative attenion at her school for being 'punk'.It doesn't help when she finds out what life drawing is... after she's already in the class or that David wants to have sex with her over Thanksgiving break. This novel will keep you laughing from begining to end because of Samantha's antics and all to confusing life. Although this book isn't explicit, sex is the main topic, and I wouldn't reccomend it for girls not comfortable with this subject. This book is a fast-paced, funny read with a surprise ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    Awesome!!

    i loved this book i finished it so fast. I even let my friends hold it and she finished in 1 day almost it was kewl. I love how the aurhor continues to keep me interested. I didn't even read the first book but as soon as i read this on i understood it. The book was awesome i totally recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    Awesome!!!!!

    This was a great book and even though i was a little young to read it... (i was 10) i found it realy enjoyable, funny, and i love reading books by Meg Cabot!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    A lot of people are saying that this book is 'so horrible' and 'not meant for girls under such and such age'. This book is original, funny, and, yeah, they talk about sex and naked people. If you don't want to read it, or have your kids read it, then don't. We can all read the back or the inside flap for ourselves. Tell us why you didn't like it, but you help no one by ranting! (Haha, I'm such a hypocrite). If you liked American Girl, I do recommend this one. I didn't think it was *quite* as good, but still enjoyed it to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is one the best books ever!!!!! Meg Cabot is a great writer!!!!!Although if ur not comfortable with the IT subject than don't read it.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Omigosh!

    this book was good but if you don't like talkin about IT then you might wanna get another book :p i really enjoyed this book and it was Very interesting except for the IT parts. :p Other wise its a good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Omg one of the best books i have ever read

    This is the greatest book ever. A little to much adult but i still liked it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    LOVED IT!

    I did love this book, although the first was way better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Restless roaf girl

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Can some one tell me what sex is?

    Please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    To. ?.

    The girl master baits with the faset of her bath rube i tried it didnt really enjoy it that much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Its really good

    Its good and a biit inapropriat but it good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Stop!! Read the All-American Girl First!

    I could not get enough of this story. Yeah the storyline is a little far fetched but that's what makes a good story. Having something happen that probably would never happen in a million years but it's nice to dream. Her teen love angst is so spot on that it brings me back to when I was in high school and you had that crush. I will never get tired of reading anything by Meg Cabot as her characters are completely interesting likable. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9