Customer Reviews for

Ready to Die

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I am a big fan of Lisa Jackson's writing. She knows her way arou

I am a big fan of Lisa Jackson's writing. She knows her way around a mystery, and that is clearly the case with Ready to Die. I found the writing crisp and fast paced. The plot was strong. The characters were strong. I truly enjoyed reading this one.

posted by KarenWalters on August 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

O

I wish you ppl woukd take your childish roleplaying crap to a web site where it belongs. This is a book review site, not a sex site. Take your vulgar games somewhere else. Bn, cant you trace these ppl down and ban them from using this site for their roleplaying games?

posted by 8888649 on August 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a big fan of Lisa Jackson's writing. She knows her way arou

    I am a big fan of Lisa Jackson's writing. She knows her way around a mystery, and that is clearly the case with Ready to Die. I found the writing crisp and fast paced. The plot was strong. The characters were strong. I truly enjoyed reading this one.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    O

    I wish you ppl woukd take your childish roleplaying crap to a web site where it belongs. This is a book review site, not a sex site. Take your vulgar games somewhere else. Bn, cant you trace these ppl down and ban them from using this site for their roleplaying games?

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    BAN THE GAMERS!

    B&N please delete the posts of the gamers! They waste my time and your authors are short changed because I refuse to wade through their stupid and often innapproriate comments.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lisa. Jackson. WHEW! Man, this book ... geez! I have read hun

    Lisa. Jackson. WHEW! Man, this book ... geez!

    I have read hundreds of books in tons of different genres. One of my favorites is the mystery/suspense group. But only if a few conditions are met:

    1. The hero/heroine MUST be flawed. I detest reading about some perfect person who lives in the perfect house with a perfect dog, the 2.5 perfect children, the perfect spouse who drives the perfect car with the perfect life. I want someone who has been down in the trenches, who has had bad stuff happen to them and they have dusted themselves back off, sworn to never make that same mistake again, only to make that same mistake again! I guess I could have said just a regular person. But what fun would that have been?
    C. I would really like it if I couldn't pick out the killer. If I can pick out the villain in the first couple chapters, I get very angry and refuse to read the book for 10-15 minutes while it's in time out and had time to think about what it's done. I'll probably finish the book ... but I will probably not read from that author again anytime soon.
    4. The word of the day is: twistyturney. There have to be lots of twistyturneys in the book. Mandatory. OR ELSE (dun dun DUUUUN) <-- Imagine scary music.

    Okay, if all of those conditions are met, then that makes a happy reader (me). So. The question is whether Lisa Jackson met those criteria and the answer is ABSOLUTELY!

    It has been too long since I have picked up a Jackson book and I really regret that now. I feel like I have missed out on a great series and now after the mountain of books that I have to read is a bit smaller, I'm going to pick up the rest of the To Die series.

    While there are quite a few characters, I felt like I knew where all of them were coming from. It was a bit much to keep up with at first but I quickly caught on. And maybe that would have been a non-issue if I had read the rest of the series.

    I really felt like this could be a standalone book. I didn't feel anything was lacking in the story ... there wasn't a back story that I felt like I was missing out on or anything, so that's a gigantic thumbs up.

    All in all, a great book. Definitely one I'll pick up again and of course an author that I'll stop neglecting!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kayti Nika Raet for Readers' Favorite In Ready to D

    Reviewed by Kayti Nika Raet for Readers' Favorite

    In Ready to Die by Lisa Jackson, the fifth novel in the gritty Grizzly Falls series, Detectives Selena Alvarez and Regan Pescoli return to track down a serial killer targeting the town's law enforcement. As the clock ticks and time runs out, the two women must find the killer while dealing with their own dramas at home. 

    Ready to Die has a huge and sometimes tangled web of characters. I was expecting my first encounter with Grizzly Falls to be through Alvarez and Pescoli's point of view but it seems like half the town makes an appearance. That isn't necessarily a bad thing but it felt like I was reading an inter-generational, inter-community drama with a dash of crime than a book that was about Alvarez and Pescoli working to catch the bad guy. Perhaps because I started the book right in the middle of series, I didn't find myself as connected to the characters as I would have been if I was a true-blue-from-the-beginning fan. 

    The mystery part of of Ready to Die was very well done and will certainly keep readers guessing, not to mentioned be shocked by the twist in the end. There's also one last surprise Lisa Jackson has in store for her fans that will have them clamoring for the next book. I only hope she can type fast enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lisa Jackson has written another AWESOME book in her To Die Seri

    Lisa Jackson has written another AWESOME book in her To Die Series. Ready to Die is the 5th book in this series and it like the others is a page turner. I love that her characters are so easy to bond with and they each have regular people issues. She makes you care what happens to them and you will read this book hoping and praying that they all will survive. This book was a little harder to get into but once you are, you are hooked and will have a hard time doing anything else except reading this book. Ready to Die will keep you guessing and just when you think you have the answer of who done it, you will be thrown a curve ball. So everyone get ready for the ride and enjoy, this book is definitely a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Great Read!

    Another great suspense story by Lisa Jackson. However, I do think this is the 1st book I've read of hers where there wasn't a twist at the end & I anticipated the right bad guy! Highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    I love Lisa Jackson books!

    I'm a huge Lisa Jackson fan!!! I have read all her suspense books, and i always give them 5 stars or more!!! This book i have to give it 4 stars, only because though it is an OK book, it lacks the murder/suspense mrs. Jackson is so well known for!!!! The storyline is all dialoge and backstory on charters, to the point you loose the murder plot along the way!!! But i will still read future books by mrs. Jackson, just hoping the next one will be more about the murder/suspense, not so much charter drama!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    This book held my interest

    I am a new fan of Lisa Jackson. This is my fifth or sixth book. The story was suspenseful and detailed. I like her characters and the thoughtful way that Lisa writes.I just bought another book by Lisa and will continue to buy her books, as I enjoy reading them and trying to figure out who the killer is. She makes it so you get emotionally involved with her characters and you end up hoping for the best for them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Another great book

    I have enjoyed every book in this series. Very well written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Wasafan

    Too many characters and too many useless details.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Very Good

    A nice book to curl up with. Had me hooked from the first page.Surprise ending, not what I expected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Great read

    Greatt read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Kayne

    He walks up to Arca. "You want a guy, hmm? Will i do?"

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    not a good read - I struggled through it; the ending was Ok; the

    not a good read - I struggled through it; the ending was Ok; the writer has written better

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    To Sophi

    Tell me when you are ready

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    liked it

    all of the to die books where good reads could not put them down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Arca

    Grins at Kayne. "Res5."

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Scarlet

    Ill be in res 3.. she walkes thire unzipping the back of her dress as she walkes

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Joy

    A pretty blonde walked in. She re a tight red dress and black killer heels. "Im Joy...anyone want to take me on?"

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3