Customer Reviews for

Real

Average Rating 4.5
( 651 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(491)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Ok when I usually review a book I always review straight after r

Ok when I usually review a book I always review straight after reading it so I remember everything and what I'm feeling straight after reading it so I can give the most honest review I can.

With this book I have had to sleep on it, it rendered me speechless. Even now a...
Ok when I usually review a book I always review straight after reading it so I remember everything and what I'm feeling straight after reading it so I can give the most honest review I can.

With this book I have had to sleep on it, it rendered me speechless. Even now after 10 hours have passed I'm numb.

The excerpt :
A fallen boxer.
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition…

He even makes me forget my name. One night was all it took, and I forgot everything and anything except the sexy fighter in the ring who sets my mind ablaze and my body on fire with wanting…

Remington Tate is the strongest, most confusing man I’ve ever met in my life.

Had me hooked from that. So our story begins with Brooke and her friend Melanie going to watch an underground boxing match. When they are at the ringside and they announce Remington Riptide Tate.

"A shiver runs along my spine as the crowd goes crazy over the name alone"

This is even before Brooke has seen Remington. When Melanie dares Brooke to "look at him and tell me you wouldn't do anything for that man" When Brooke first sees Remington's face
"his face is suddenly before me, illuminated by the lights, and I just stare like an idiot from my place. My God" There are so many quotes I could use. when Melanie shouts how hot Remy is he turns and winks at Brooke. When Remy takes on Hammer in his first round he has Brooke melting in his seat. Then when he wins that round and turns and stares straight at Brooke she feels taken right there. As Remy takes on his second fighter Brooke stands to go to the toilet Remy k'os the man quickly and jumps out the ring and runs after Brooke. This is the start to their relationship, and omg is all I can say.

I loved this whole book, everything about it, the story, the character's, the pace, the setting. It drew me in like an addict and had me hook, line and sinker. There is so much I can say about the story to give you an insight but I wont because you need to read it with a fresh mind with no spoilers.

This is an amazing read, its made me numb and fried from reading it. My favourite quote from the book that can explain how I felt when I had read it is:
" Something rushes through me as if this is the first sip of water I've had in weeks, and every pore in me is dehydrated"

This book has plenty of move moments in it and I would give it 5/5 for movie moments( which is for me when your watching a film and it gets to the exciting part that grips you and you either have to go for a walk around the block or leave the room then come back, when I read a really good book and I get like this, for me the author has hit everything right about the story)

The only advice I will give about this book is this

1) Be prepared to forego all normal duties.
2) Make sure you have blinkers and earbuds, so cant see or hear anyone.
3) Preferably lock yourself in a room which has a lock.
4) You need a huge DO NOT DISTURB sign.

To the author Katy Evans, thank you for an amazing read I can't wait for Mine(Raw & Ripped#2)

posted by purpinkrose on April 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Was the male lead raised by wolves? That is the only way I can

Was the male lead raised by wolves? That is the only way I can explain all of this 'scenting' nonsense going on. I don't understand how people loved this book so much. It was just bizzare all the way around. One minute Brooke is a prude, the next minute she's talkin...
Was the male lead raised by wolves? That is the only way I can explain all of this 'scenting' nonsense going on. I don't understand how people loved this book so much. It was just bizzare all the way around. One minute Brooke is a prude, the next minute she's talking like a phone sex operator.
Remy is grunting and sniffing the whole time. Also, this book does a great job making people with bipolar look like social outcasts. Just a hot mess.

posted by 10642326 on April 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    an interesting look at bipolar disorder. it's a little hard to

    an interesting look at bipolar disorder. it's a little hard to follow at times and needed better development at the beginning especially. but I'll probably read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    I really like this book! I don't even know where to begin. Let's

    I really like this book! I don't even know where to begin. Let's start with sexy Remy who is underground fighter. His rough, sexy, quiet, and
     always leaving you wanting more. I like Brooke but she does get a bit annoying. 

    "It's because of you, I'm deliriously happy. Completely at home anywhere you are."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    Most impressed !

    Most impressed !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    While I really liked this book overall and LOVED Remy, the 1st h

    While I really liked this book overall and LOVED Remy, the 1st half of the book was 5+ stars for me, but slowed down to about a 4 for the 2nd half.  So, I would have to rate this a 4.5?  I am torn on the actual rating.

    Remy Remy Remy! I can hear myself cheering it or maybe it is some of the other things that the women at his fights scream to him.  Hmmm, I’ll never tell!  I don't know what it is exactly, well maybe I do, but Remy does it for me!  Like "right. from. the. start".
     
    Katy did such a great job in describing him that I could easily picture him and all his hotness!  As in - OMG hotness.  I need a fan - LOL!  I don't even like watching fighting!!!!  I feel like Brooke at the first match she saw Remy.  Have to look away, but drawn to him.  I could not seem to put the book down.  The first half I literally COULD.NOT.PUT.DOWN!  

    While there are other fighter types of books that I have read and even loved, I am thinking Remy is my new favorite.  While he has that whole dominant bad boy vibe, he has enough redeeming qualities that he was not off-putting to me and I felt bad for him.

    I was able to fly through this book - which is always a good sign that I am into a book. The sexual attraction and sparks that fly between Remy and Brooke is sizzling.  I get to a certain part of the book and think it is FINALLY going to happen! I am ready for it, I want it! And I was so nervous, I was not going to get it LOL!  I think my sexual frustration level was more than Brooke's LOL

    I loved it, I want more, but I wish that the 2nd half punched me as much as the first half did – don’t get me wrong, the second half was still good and if you have not read this series yet, now is the time to start it so you don’t have to wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2014

    I really liked Remy and Brooke's story.  I have read a lot about

    I really liked Remy and Brooke's story.  I have read a lot about Katy Evans and the buzz on this series.  
    From chapter one I was hooked on Remy and fell totally in love.
    I do have to say that at about 30% I was getting a little bored the dragging on of their sexual attraction was falling flat
     for me because I didn't understand why he was doing it.  I felt the author took a little to long to help me understand why
    he was taking things so slow and kept refusing Brooke.  I figured there was something happening with him and was
    surprised when it was finally revealed but I did almost give up I felt the author could have brought us to that revelation
     two or even three chapters sooner.  But once that happened I got back into the story and enjoyed it the rest of the way through.  
    Brooke's actions at one point annoyed me.  It was all well written and made for a very entertaining read.
     I understand the second book Remy is his POV and I am looking forward to reading that one.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    ? Remy

    I love how music is a big part of showing how much they mean to each other!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Excellent

    There were so many parts of this story I didn't like. But it was never the writing and it was never the characters. A story of people coping with and overcoming odds that most of us would crumple under. I simply wanted to find a way to make it all better for these characters. Thank you Katy Evans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Highly Recommend this series

    I don't prefer books in 1st person but this series was an exception. I was hooked after the 1st chapter. I also love how Katy Evans incorporated music into these books. It allows a deeper connection for the reader. Oh, and Remy is HOT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Love it!!!

    Love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Love story and originality - perfect combination

    I read a lot. This was a keeper. Liked both characters. Hit on bipolar issue. I loved how he loved her and her strong enough to set limits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Original Romance

    I love it when a romance has depth to it. This one did, worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Great, fast read! Loved this book! First time I read anything fr

    Great, fast read! Loved this book! First time I read anything from this author and I was happy I picked this book allow with the two that followed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    Intense to the 100th power. REAL is a gritty, angry, dark, trium

    Intense to the 100th power. REAL is a gritty, angry, dark, triumphant, sexy sexy sexy, human and deeply emotional story. Remington "Riptide" Tate is a woman's wet dream. And when Brooke Dumas is dragged to the Underground match where this bad buy is fighting after having been thrown out of the league, she's not expecting what happens. She's certainly not expecting him to spot her, lock her in his gaze and then refuse to take no for an answer. In any way, shape or form. For fear of giving a "spoiler", I won't divulge the secret Tate tries desperately to hide from Brooke. But once she has been ushered into his tight circle of fighting friends with a job as his physical therapist, who keep the unstoppable champ on the straight and now. Brooke loves athletes and athletics - and has adapted to the tragedies that destroyed her Olympic chances in track. So she "gets" Remy. But the man's intensity, his magnetism, and his animal allure cannot be denied. Every moment with him is a physical maelstrom. But there is the Scorpion, who wants to not only destroy Remy, but destroy everything the man cares about. And there are Remy's parents whose unspeakable actions turned a young boy's world upside down. And there's Brooke's sister who is walking straight towards destruction. Real is the first of 2 books and ends in a cliffhanger that will demand that you have MINE, book 2, at the ready. The sex is intense, smoldering, and Remy and Brooke's physical relationship, and their hungers for one another, are very different from anything I've ever read. While I will say that there were moments when the physicality became a bit repetitive, the speed at which this romance moves, and the desperate intensity that author Katy Evans has captured beautifully in this NA novel, are truly addicting. You won't be able to put this book down. A powerful keeper novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Wow

    Love Remy and Brook :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Real!

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Great, addictive, read! It's a different story line then the usu

    Great, addictive, read! It's a different story line then the usual erotic romance novels I've read, which makes the book very entertaining. I don't like boxing and that's why I initially diddn't buy this but the story consumes much more than boxing. I already preordered the sequal. a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    I was a little unsure of this book when I first started reading

    I was a little unsure of this book when I first started reading it, but I quickly came to really like it. Remy's character really got to me, and the intense love he has Brooke. I can't wait to read the second book in this series! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Lick Me ;-)

    Katy Evans.......very interesting! I have to say that the whole "lion" comparison was very eye opener. A little scary at first to imagine someone like that but he can lick all he wants. I cried, laughed, pouted, got mad....basically all emotions were brought out of me. I loved how our fighter expressed himself through music that i needed to create my own Remy playlist and can't get enough it. I loved the message of not giving up when you fall. Fighting for what you believe for is whats its all about. I can't wait for Mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Interesting storyline

    This was an interesting storyline delving into real life problems, however, the characters seemed a little shallow to me and I didn't feel myself plunged into the story like I wanted to be. Well written, but just a little flat for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6