Customer Reviews for

Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is a must read: for singles, dating or married couples

I just have to say right from the start: if you honestly read this book and were offended by or feel as if the Driscoll's have "no idea" what they are talking about, you didn't really read the book with the mindset of wanting to change your marriage or relationship with...
I just have to say right from the start: if you honestly read this book and were offended by or feel as if the Driscoll's have "no idea" what they are talking about, you didn't really read the book with the mindset of wanting to change your marriage or relationship with your spouse. If you think this book is just full of..., then you are feeling convicted and doing all that you can to disagree with the principles in this book.

This was an incredible book. Let me say that again...an INCREDIBLE book. Not only was I convicted by this book but I learned so much about marriage that I never really knew. I honestly wish I could've had this book before I got married. I feel like my marriage would be a lot different, and my husband would agree with that statement. The Driscoll's discuss topics in the book that I haven't found in many Christian marriage books that I have read. They can be very vague and really beat around the bush when it comes to topics that should and need to be discussed about marriage. I loved how each topic, and really the whole book, was centered around the Bible and brought out specific texts to back up what they were discussing. LOVED this.

My husband and I are both excited to apply the principles in this book to our marriage and to our friendship! I believe in this book so much that I have purchased copies for family members and friends. I will always stand by this book and will continually recommend it for those dating, engaged or married.

And for those of you that purchased this book, without knowing that it was a Christian book on the topic of marriage, I'm glad that you at least read it! Just know that the Driscoll's wrote this book with the intention of helping people. And I know and believe that this book is going to change marriages all over this country, especially in a country where marriages are falling apart like monkey bread. This book is life changing for a marriage.

posted by JessieLeigh on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Does more harm than good...

You'll either love it or hate it. That's how I feel about this book after spending an evening with it. Where do I come out? Well, you'll have to keep reading to find out.
I was warned about this book and it didn't take me long to find out why. By page 29, I was ban...
You'll either love it or hate it. That's how I feel about this book after spending an evening with it. Where do I come out? Well, you'll have to keep reading to find out.
I was warned about this book and it didn't take me long to find out why. By page 29, I was banging my head on a metaphorical wall, trying to figure out how I was going to make it through the rest of the book with an open mind.

Driscoll is fairly opinionated about specific gender roles and makes these opinions very clear. In his chapter written to men, Driscoll tells men not to be "dumb" and to act like men. Ok, fair enough. Men should be men. I agree. But he also says that it is the man's job to provide enough income so that the woman does not have to work, but rather has everything she needs to stay at home with the children. I quote, "A wife who finds a way to make money from home or without neglecting her first God-given responsibilities of Christian, wife, and mother is acceptable. But men, you should make money. You should feed your family." He also tells men that if they want other men, their wives, and their children to respect them, they need to pay the bills. Simple as that. Well, life isn't always as simple as that. This chapter is full of this and other "wake-up calls" to men that yes, are worth considering, but perhaps would do more harm than good to read.

Throughout the book, Driscoll includes Scripture references. Wonderful! I love when authors, pastors, TEACHERS back what they're saying with the Bible. I took the time to look up many of the references on my trusty iPhone Bible app and was blown away by the interpretation of some of the passages. Some of the verses were taken completely out of context and seemed to be stretched and twisted to somehow fit what Driscoll was trying to say. I urge you to do your own research into the passages used and study the context surrounding them to understand what they are really saying. Find a good commentary...

I was cringing when I reached the "Sex" portion of the book, not really knowing what I would find inside. I was pleasantly surprised, for the most part. Driscoll's ideas about sex seemed fair and worth consideration. At times he seemed to go a bit far, such as when he suggests that one should have sex with their spouse, despite not wanting to. At the end of the book, there is a section that goes through various sexual acts and Driscoll lays out his thoughts (and "biblical" groundwork) on each. I won't go into detail, but please, PLEASE read these with a grain of salt and talk to someone you trust such as a pastor or spiritual director if you are unclear or uncertain about anything that you see here.

Overall, I wouldn't say that this book was a COMPLETE waste of my evening, but I wouldn't say that it was the best use of my time either. I found myself frustrated, annoyed, and disappointed that this book is getting all the press that it is. With all of its contradictions, poor biblical interpretation, and unfair gender stereotypes, I find that even the good and helpful parts of this book get lost in the harmful and distinctly wrong ideas, leaving it doing more harm than good. There are better options out there in terms of books on marriage (ask your pastor for suggesions), but if you want to read this book and see the "car crash" for yourself, by all means...

posted by NMcC on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    This is a must read: for singles, dating or married couples

    I just have to say right from the start: if you honestly read this book and were offended by or feel as if the Driscoll's have "no idea" what they are talking about, you didn't really read the book with the mindset of wanting to change your marriage or relationship with your spouse. If you think this book is just full of..., then you are feeling convicted and doing all that you can to disagree with the principles in this book.

    This was an incredible book. Let me say that again...an INCREDIBLE book. Not only was I convicted by this book but I learned so much about marriage that I never really knew. I honestly wish I could've had this book before I got married. I feel like my marriage would be a lot different, and my husband would agree with that statement. The Driscoll's discuss topics in the book that I haven't found in many Christian marriage books that I have read. They can be very vague and really beat around the bush when it comes to topics that should and need to be discussed about marriage. I loved how each topic, and really the whole book, was centered around the Bible and brought out specific texts to back up what they were discussing. LOVED this.

    My husband and I are both excited to apply the principles in this book to our marriage and to our friendship! I believe in this book so much that I have purchased copies for family members and friends. I will always stand by this book and will continually recommend it for those dating, engaged or married.

    And for those of you that purchased this book, without knowing that it was a Christian book on the topic of marriage, I'm glad that you at least read it! Just know that the Driscoll's wrote this book with the intention of helping people. And I know and believe that this book is going to change marriages all over this country, especially in a country where marriages are falling apart like monkey bread. This book is life changing for a marriage.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    I truly enjoyed reading this book. Whether you've been married

    I truly enjoyed reading this book. Whether you've been married for 17 years or 17 months, there is something to learn here. Most of us had our own ideas about sex before we got married and brought them into our union. This book takes a hard honest look at myths and perceptions of the marriage bed, and how you can turn it all around to bless your marraige. I would definitely recommend this resource to anyone married or even contemplating taking the plundge. A must have for your home library!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    GOOD

    It tells about sex question

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Every person who plans to be Married needs to read this book.

    This book was amazing! I loved the honesty of Mark and Grace in their Marriage. It was really helpful in that sense because instead of giving a bunch of principles that are hard to put into practice, they gave conceptual and practical advice on relationship and sex. It was also really helpful, at least personally, hearing their struggles because it helped to see the effects of the mistakes on both sides and how to be loving to one another through it. All in all, it was awesome and and changed the way that I looked at how to go about a healthy relationship in Christ.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Great Truth

    In Mark Driscoll's book Real Marriage. I enjoyed the countless Biblical detail in his writing of the book. I have heard of other writings by Mark and have enjoyed them as well. I feel Mark touched on a subject that todays church shys away from. It is great the Mark and his wife have taken the leap of faith to share their insights on these very biblical subjects with sex, friendship and life together. This is a good read for anyone single or married to gain insights on the subjects that aren't preached on to often from the pulpit.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Even for single guys.

    Great book, great read. It's super helpful, and it gives us people who are yet to be married a glimpse of the future - even the not-so-fun parts. With other marriage books, they're either not meant for single people to read or they read as if they are giving you all the knowledge you need to eliminate any problems in your future marriage. Real Marriage does nothing of the sort and instead is, as the title suggests, very real. What it does do, however, is tell you how to plan for the future and provide you with information you can use to deal with the problems that will occur when the future inevitably doesn't turn out how you planned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    A must read for all married couples...

    I just finished this book and now my wife is reading it. I loved it...it really spoke to me. As newly weds, I really feel like this book is going to help us prevent a lot of mistakes! Can't wait for my wife to finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    The real hard truth.

    This book is serious ans shouldn't be taken litely. This book is the straight foward and real truth to what marriage is suppose to be. Those who veiw this to be negative have never truly undetstood God's definition of marriage. This book is a powerful and honest read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    good

    ....

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Plaes tell me the next one!

    Hurry l want to hear the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Part two: Bill Cosby? a Ra.pist? That can't be right? Can it?

    No it cannot be right. Bill Cosby is a good actor. A good comedian. Also a great person. The "rap.ees" in my opinion actors who's carreers failed and need money badley. So then they leid and sued. Here are the facts too prove it. How and why would over 40 women all get ra.ped in the same exact way. Even if he is a serial ra.pist it is impossible. By saying that is saying every one of theese women are just as stupid as the last one and made just the same stupid mistakes as the last one. Now doesn't that seem suspicious? If you think that is well than here this. Why would they all wait 40 some years to actually say something? If someone ra.ped you wouldn't you say so the very next day. Even if tey are telling the truth this is such old news and it isn't even valid anymore. My final big and important statement is. WHERE IS THE FUC?KING EVIDENCE! There isn't one bit of evidence saying that Bill Cosby rap.ed anyone and yet people are bi.tchy at him. I feel bad for this poor old black man who's carreer is getting turned the opposite way...... Next up I'm going to tell you abusive officer force towards Black people in the other direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Turn Around

    This book is a must get for any who is gettig married, or married already.
    Information is so timly and to the point. God used this book to turn my marriage around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Practical, blunt, honest and radical...

    A must read for every couple!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    A Must Read

    Highly Highly recommend this book for those who really want to know what being married really means. This is a great book and his website is also great. You can watch the sermon series on this book as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    good read

    honest and insightful approach to relationships
    deff. a good book to inspire conversation between believers

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Best on the topic

    Heartfelt and willing to deal with real life issue that others might pretend do not exist if its a topic of controversy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must read for anyone! Long overdue look at what marriage means.

    As the Driscolls observe, there simply are no books on marriage in the market that tackle the concept of marriage from both a Biblical and practical point of view, while tying that most important relationship to the concept of true friendship. This discussion and the frank honesty of the authors is long overdue not just in the Church and among believing Christians, but by our society as a whole. For the past several decades our culture has been spiraling out of control, particularly in the areas of love and relationships. The debate seems to lurch either between the extremes of puritanical fear (sex is gross) or the absurdity of sexual anarchy (sex is god). It's as if no one in the Church has the guts to stand up and teach people what the Bible actually says about sex and marriage, and how to apply it practically in our lives. Believers and non-believers alike are desperate for someone to simply tell them the truth and the Driscolls are finally doing it. Everything in this book is biblically sound and of practical use. It provides all that is necessary to encourage men and women to be who they're meant to be by God's design and to flourish in a successful, faithful and physically enjoyable relationship. I commend the Driscolls for being so honest with their readers and exposing the difficult times and hard lessons they've learned in their own marriage. I have no doubt that this book will be a blessing to anyone that reads it with an honest heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    I would especially recommends this book for singles. Its a good idea to learn about these problems before they happen to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2