BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Real Men Don't Quit (Entangled Bliss)

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Aubrey Book provided by the publisher for review Rev

    Reviewed by Aubrey
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Real Men Don’t Quit was a cute and quick read. Tyler was a quirky and artsy single mother who was a bit scattered brained but had a strong love for her daughter. Luke is a famous writer who is an introvert with restless feet. An unlikely pair for sure but chemistry keeps them coming together.

    I really liked how feisty Tyler was. She knew what she wanted and what she definitely didn’t. In her chaotic life she had some order and she really did not need a guy like Luke causing a problem. Luke was a smart and witty character who needed to find out why he felt the need to run all the time.

    Together Tyler and Luke figure out their problems and realize they can’t keep their relationship as casual kissing relationship. I really liked how Luke started to become good friends with Tyler’ daughter. It was a relationship that was separate from the relationship Luke had with Tyler.

    I would recommend this book to anyone that likes contemporary romances that a quick reads. I will be reading the first one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As posted on The Smutty Kitty 4 out of 5 Licks I really enjoyed

    As posted on The Smutty Kitty
    4 out of 5 Licks
    I really enjoyed this book. I had a hard time putting it down to go to bed and I snuck in some reading time at the EDJ (shhh don't tell anyone-he I'm allowed a break). It's also set in Aussie which always helps. When I read books set in Aussie I always hear the accent in my head. lol Anyway I like the Luke is a wanderer with no strings left behind anywhere. I find his brooding moodiness intriguing rather than off putting. Tyler's love for her daughter was apparent. Her abrasive feelings of independence could go a bit far at times, but I have an understanding of why she feels the way she does. Chloe (Tyler's daughter) added a nice bit of sweet innocence to the story. I enjoyed the fact that we got to have a little more of Ally and Nate's (Real Men Don't Break Hearts) story as well. I always love going back and peeking in on characters from a previous story. There is no outright sex in this story-they have it but it's behind closed doors, but that didn't bother me. There was enough emotional connection between the characters that it all still worked out. It sure feels like more books could be coming in this series, but I suppose we will just have to wait and see. For now grab this one and enjoy a sweet read with an ending that's all wrapped up in a pretty little purple package just for you-which is exactly how I like my books to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great read w/ characters you will fall in love with

    Tyler Jones and her daughter Chloe were first introduced to readers in Real Men Don’t Break Hearts. Tyler is a single mother to her three- year-old daughter, whose father has never been in the picture. Tyler is a woman who comes off being stronger than what she is. There are times when she needs help but is afraid to ask, thinking that asking will make her less than the mother she thinks she should be. She also has the pressure of her ex’s mother constantly trying to take Chloe away from her, and saying that she doesn’t deserve to have Chloe.

    Luke Maguire is a popular and well known author who moves into his agent’s house, next to Tyler’s, to work on writing his next book. His highly acclaimed book wasn’t who he wanted to be as an author and he can’t seem to write its anticipated sequel. He’s terrified that people will look at him as a fraud. Add to that, the pressure of recently losing his mother. Luke has simply lost his way and doesn’t even realize it. Luke doesn’t like putting down roots. In fact, he hasn’t had a permanent address in four years. All he needs is his car, laptop, and whatever clothes will fit into his suitcase. Luke’s life is simple and that’s just the way he likes it. Or so he thinks.

    Tyler and Luke are alike in so many ways. Neither is looking for a permanent lifetime commitment but that’s just what they both need. They each have serious family issues that have contributed to them having inner self worth issues. But they manage to be strong enough for each other to push the other into taking leaps of faith and doing what’s right no matter how scary or hard it is.

    I think one thing which makes this book so likeable and enduring is the relationship you see develop between Luke and Chloe. From the very start, Luke is a natural when it comes to taking care of Chloe. There is just something extremely sexy about a guy taking care of a kid.

    I love the Real Men Series books because of the sweetness of their romances. Real Men Don’t Quit is the second book in the series but is completely standalone. It’s a great read with characters you’re going to immediately fall in love with.

    Source: Publisher
    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Real Men Don't Quit is a fantastic read! The plot was nicely pac

    Real Men Don't Quit is a fantastic read! The plot was nicely paced & the characters were everything you'd want in a romance! I loved seeing the relationship develop between Luke, Tyler and her little girl, Chloe. 
    This story had lots of laughs, but still managed to remain intense...it didn't turn into a "romance fluff", which was very much appreciated!  I'm definitely adding Coleen Kwan to my list of "must reads" for the future! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Luke Maguire is a famous writer who has decided to hole up in hi

    Luke Maguire is a famous writer who has decided to hole up in his agent’s house to finish his manuscript. Tyler Jones is his feisty, sexy neighbor. When they first meet they get off on the wrong foot. Luke finds Tyler’s daughter Chloe wandering around near his pool. Afraid for her safety, he goes grabs Chloe and takes her home. A frantic Tyler meets them halfway, and half dressed. Assumptions are made, tempers flare and libidos flare to life. To say that sparks flew would be an understatement. Getting involved with a single mother would be a very bad idea, or he reminds himself daily. But the more time he spends with Tyler, the harder it becomes to resist her.
    Tyler is fiercely independent and her world revolves around her daughter. She doesn’t need a man to complete her, and she’s certainly not looking for love. With Luke as her temporary neighbor, resisting him becomes more difficult each day. Especially when her daughter takes a strong liking to him, and he seems to have a great rapport with her. A little no-strings attached fun wouldn’t hurt, but she’s about to find out that love happens when you least expect it.

    Both characters come with a chip on their shoulders and a lot of family drama. Combine the two and you have two people who seem to get each other, but they’re too wary to admit that they’d make a perfect pair. Tyler resents her mother for walking out and leaving her in foster care. As a young mother herself, Tyler fights tirelessly to make sure she never becomes that woman. Her jewelry making isn’t the most lucrative job, but it means stability, pays the bills and ensures that the mother of her ex, Gretchen Stafford, can’t take Chloe away from her. I liked Tyler, especially when her feisty side would come out to play. In dealing with her attraction to Luke showed us her more vulnerable side. It was fun seeing her be treated with respect and her subsequent reactions. Her character went through a favorable, steady growth throughout the story.

    Luke hates his father for leaving his mom to raise five children all on her own. Her death six months prior to when the story takes place leaves Luke gutted. He is beginning to despise the book series he’s famous for penning, and the deadline for his latest installment looms over him like a dark cloud. His family troubles and his current lifestyle effectively chase away any thoughts of settling down. Until Tyler. He fights his own battles around the exact same time as Tyler, and they seem to be on the same trajectory for emotional growth. That’s what I liked the most about the execution of this story.

    Ms Kwan teases with a lot of sexual tension. The love scenes are mentioned, not consummated for us to witness. But going by Tyler’s reactions, I’d say they were very good. The story didn’t feel rushed, and like I mentioned before, Ally and Nate are also in this story and have their own mini drama to deal with. I loved Nate in book one, but after this, I love him even more. The ending was perfect for everyone involved. I started this book with a grin, and when I turned the last page, my grin was still in place. If you love sweet romantic comedies with a bit of drama to keep things rolling, then definitely pick up this series.

    Disclaimer: I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Real Men Don't Quit by Coleen Kwan:   Luke Maguire has a massiv

    Real Men Don't Quit by Coleen Kwan:  

    Luke Maguire has a massive case of writer's block. He's blaming his troubles on trying to write in the house where he grew up, a mere six months after his mother's death. In an effort to break that connection, he jumps at the chance to use his agent's house in Burronga.

    Tyler Jones is a jewelry designer and small business owner, who happens to live next door to Luke's agent in Burronga with her daughter, Chloe. She has her fair share of emotional baggage. Her mother dumped her in foster care, her daughter's father chose to use his inheritance to get high, and her would-have-been mother-in-law keeps trying to take her daughter away.

    Their first meeting is less than cordial: Three-year-old Chloe sneaks out to go swimming next door. When Luke stops 'Little Miss Moppet' and carries her down the walk toward home, Tyler comes running. He sees an unfit mother; she, a molester/ kidnapper. Luckily, their relationship does improve; by leaps and bounds.

    But both, despite strong feelings for each other, are afraid of commitment. They have been hurt by family members, who made them question their ability to have a permanent relationship and, as the story progresses, keep popping up to further complicate the situation.

    Luke and Tyler are believable characters. Their fears and situations are realistic. The families are, as families are wont to be, a source of endless annoyance and frustration. For every step forward the main characters take, their families knock them back a step or two.

    One of the things I loved best was the 'voice'. Set in Australia, the phrasing and language just feels ... right. It wasn't heavy with slang or indecipherable idiom, but simply sounded authentic.

    Although I've read and reviewed more than a dozen books from Entangled Publishing, this is my first venture into the Bliss imprint. I, honestly, wasn't certain what to expect. Frankly, I can only hope that every other book is as well-written as Real Men Don't Quit.

    ~*~*~

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary electronic copy of this book from the publisher [...]. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm such a sucker for these fun, adult contemporary romances. Th

    I'm such a sucker for these fun, adult contemporary romances. The Bliss line from Entangled publishing has so many fantastic ones. They are quick to read and reel you in. Tyler was a pretty present character in the first book, Real Men Don't Break Hearts, so I was excited to get her story in this book. She was really great to get to know, and I loved her story and how her relationship with Luke went from a pretty bad start, to one that was totally swoon worthy!

    Tyler is a single mom, who has a bit of a hard time with commitment. She has no problem with having a good time with men, but she has been down the failed relationship path, and doesn't want to do it again. The only way she sees to protect herself, and her daughter, is to not get too involved with anyone. That's until super sexy Luke comes into the picture. She is very into him, and falling fast and hard, but she is worried about how attached Chloe, her daughter is getting to him. Her daughter is everything to her and everything she does is for Chloe. She is sometimes a bit over protective and isolating, but I totally get that. Momma bear instincts are fierce. I really liked Tyler and I loved how she was able to let her guard down a little and open up by the end of the book.

    Luke was fun and charming, and had a bit of a mysteriousness to him. He doesn't do commitment either. That's the fault of his father unfortunately. He fears commitment. He is a wanderer, never staying in one place too long. He has no desire to put down roots and settle. He is also in a rough spot with his contract for his books sequel month over deadline, and having nothing at all started for it. He thinks getting away will help his mind get focused on the book, but when he meets hot and feisty Tyler, he only has eyes for her. At first what seems like more of a distraction ends up exactly what he needs. He isn't happy with the book he wrote, he doesn't want to do the sequel, but writing is his passion. Just not what others want from him. He needs to write for him. He also needs to come to terms with the past and things that still haunt him. I thought the changes in him were great and I loved getting to know him along with Tyler.

    The romance was awesome in this. What starts off as friendship, and trying to keep things casual grows into so much more as the both realize (and totally try to deny to themselves) that they are falling for each other. Yes, there are complications, but that's what makes it so good. People have issues. Some issues that they would prefer to keep hidden, especially when getting to know someone. But as they get to know each other, and grow closer, they confide in each other. They are there for each other when needed. Their relationship was anything but easy, but they fight for it to work. That's true commitment. That's what caring for each other and being in a relationship is all about.

    This was such a fantastic book. I loved the romance and the characters. I think they were both very stubborn and strong willed, but fabulous too. I loved the family dynamics also. Family was a big part of this story. I think perhaps the only thing that really bothered me was that Chloe is supposed to be three years old, but doesn't talk the way a three year old would. I know that shouldn't be a big deal, but it just really bothered me. Overall she acted the way a child her age would, but her speech seemed more suited for a child older than her. In general I thought this was a really great romance though. Perfect for a quick, sweet escape that leaves you smiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    A good poolside read. I had a couple bouts of disbelief as I rea

    A good poolside read.
    I had a couple bouts of disbelief as I read how Tyler stood in her living room, in her underwear, defending her ability to care for her child to a strange man wearing a t-shirt and boxers and how, in her search to find Chloe after she found the girl missing from her room, she managed to not notice a chair by the kitchen door with Chloe's shoes under it.

    But then the book snuck up and grabbed me. I don't know when or how, but the story took hold and I couldn't put it down

    This was a quick read and when I got to the end, I found myself asking. That's it?" But not in a bad way. Ms. Kwan made me want more. I wanted to keep reading about Luke, Tyler, and Chloe's life now that they were a family unit. I wanted to know more about Nate and ally and their life after he surprised her with their wedding, solidifying in her mind that he truly was committed to her and their future. (I'm going to have to snag a copy of Real Men Don't Break Hearts to read the story of how their romance developed.)

    For a quick beach or poolside read, this is an excellent choice.

    While there were some things I would have liked to see expanded on, I give it four stars for what it is (a quick summer read), not what I wish it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    What a fun, sweet, easy little read. I hadn't read Kwan before b

    What a fun, sweet, easy little read. I hadn't read Kwan before but I absolutely loved her style. Her writing flowed nicely, the characters were charming and likable and they fit well together and had excellent fire between them right from the start. 


    I loved both Tyler and Luke. They're strong and determined and each dealing with some inner turmoil. Luke's a writer who hates his lead character and can't seem to write another word about him and Tyler's a single mum juggling all sorts of things from running her business to dealing with crazy grandparents who keep trying to take her child. They could be a little head strong and stubborn but damn if that didn't work for them.

    I loved that neither of them were really looking for a relationship when they found it. They're both dealing with a lot in their own lives but for some reason they keep finding themselves smooshed together and the sparks are impossible to ignore. They were really just easy together. It didn't feel forced or rushed or fake. They even managed to have really endearing fights that made me love em even more. And again it was stuff you could see happening. Little things the escalate and then damn you're having a fight and going what the hell?! While it's more of a closed door/easy on the sexy details type of read there's a nice fire and heat between them that makes up for it. 

    Things did get a wee bit cheesy towards the end but still it made me smile and that's what's important to me. There are some awwww make-you-swoon moments with the hero and the heroine's daughter. I do love a man who is good with a child. Yum. Some humor and some heartache and a lot of great moments between Tyler and Luke that had me falling for them both. If you're looking for a fun light read that won't stress you out and will just make you happy and give you that warm feeling this is it. And you can totally read it without reading book one. I never felt lost or like I was missing something important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Real Men Don't Quit is the second story in the Real Men series.

    Real Men Don't Quit is the second story in the Real Men series. However, this book can be read as a stand alone. You see, in the first book we met Tyler's friend, Ally. In this story Ally makes a couple of appearances since not only do they co-own a business together but Tyler is helping Ally prepare for her wedding. So even though this is the second in the series, it deals with a whole new set of people who we met briefly but didn't really get to know in the previous book.

    I normally don't like stories with kids in them. They can be a bit weird and uncomfortable, especially when it comes to romance novels but Coleen did a great job with it. Tyler is a single mom who's making ends meet to provide for her daughter. She learned early on to be self efficient and to rely on no one but herself. She is very protective of her daughter, Chloe. So when she wakes up one morning to find Chloe missing from not only her bed but the entire house, only to find Chloe in the arms of a stranger, she immediately goes on the offensive, scoops her 3 year old into her arms and takes off back to the house.

    Luke is the leading man in this story and he was definitely different from the typical males you see in stories. He's been having trouble writing the sequel to his best selling book. So in an effort to get the juices flowing, he's staying at his agent's house to get some piece and quiet to concentrate on the novel. However, those plans are quickly squashed when he wakes up one morning to the sight of a little girl trying to get into his fenced in pool. He runs outside to keep her from getting in and starts to look for her mother, which is when Tyler comes bulldozing over to him. He's instantly struck with her and he finds himself slowly but surely integrating himself into their life.

    "Scowling, Luke stared after her, his blood pressure still thumping, hands fisted on his hips. The woman's long, smooth legs flashed as she motored away, the purple lace panties accentuating the rounded curves of her firm butt. He couldn't help staring after her. There wasn't an ounce of flirtation in her walk- quite the opposite, in fact- but she had him riveted."

    With Tyler being as independent as she is, it was interesting to see Luke interact with her. He didn't try to dominate situations and in fact would step back on occasion and would let her take over. However, when it would seem like Tyler was acting rash, he was the first one to diplomatically point it out to her. He was also very caring towards Chloe, which was really adorable. He "helped" Chloe make dinner so that Tyler could relax and get some work done. When he'd give them a ride, he'd carry Chloe in the house and put her to bed when she'd fall asleep in the car. He was just so darn sweet to that little girl. And he always called her "Little Miss Moppet".

    "He ruffled Chloe's hair, and when the girl offered him one of her mangled daisies, he tucked it into the buttonhole of his jacket. The air caught in Tyler's throat at the sweet, casual interaction between the two."

    This is a very sweet romance. There's isn't really any spice to it but that was okay with me because the story was solid, the characters were likable and it grabbed my attention the entire time. I really do enjoy Coleen's writing style and this series is starting to look like something that I will actually keep up with. (I usually get bored by the second book) I wonder who will gain the spotlight next. If I had a guess, I would say one of Luke's sister. I know he has nieces and nephews but I'm not sure if all of his sisters were married or not. We shall see...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Real Men Don¿t Quit by Coleen Quinn is a fun read about a best-s

    Real Men Don’t Quit by Coleen Quinn is a fun read about a best-selling author with writer’s block and single mother with trust issues. They are brought together by Tyler’s three year old daughter Chloe.
    The last thing Luke Maguire wants is a committed relationship. He arrived in town for solitude to work on his long overdue book. But from the time the three year old next door wandered on to the property he was staying at to use the pool, he found himself enmeshed in Tyler and Chloe’s lives. He fears commitment because he believes he is a wanderer like his father and he doesn’t want to hurt anyone, especially not Tyler and Chloe.
    It’s quite enjoyable watching Tyler and Luke help one another through their various troubles and fight their growing attraction. But soon, they are giving in with the understanding that it is not permanent but both are falling in love despite their best attempts.
    Real Men Don’t Quit is a nice escape from a stress filled life and the characters are well-rounded and likable. My only complaints were that at times Chloe seemed to sound like she was older than three and that the relationship was resolved with no real instigating development.
    I received this arc from the publisher for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Real Men Don't Quit is loosely connected to Real Men Don't Break

    Real Men Don't Quit is loosely connected to Real Men Don't Break Hearts but can be read stand alone.  
    Famous author Luke Maguire moves next door to single mother Tyler Jones.  He is a gypsy type keeping his possessions few and never staying anywhere very long.  He has Daddy issues as in his didn’t stick around.  When he looks in the mirror he sees his father and vows never to do to any woman what his dad did to his mom.  Tyler has Mommy issues.  Her mother dropped her off at a foster home and never looked back.  Tyler was in the system for a couple years until her aunt found her and took her under her wing.  Tyler is determined to be the best mother she can be to her daughter and not depend on anyone else.  When Luke and Tyler meet the chemistry is volcanic.  Can these two independent souls find happiness with each other or will they let the past prevent them from having a future?
    I was afraid that this was going to be one cliché after another and admittedly there were some rather done scenes but over all I really enjoyed this story.  Luke was real and Tyler was charismatic.  Tyler is the girl I want to be friends with.  Luke wasn’t perfect but that’s what made this story fun to read.  For those who enjoy contemporary romance this is a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1