BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Real Mermaids Don't Hold Their Breath

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Cute story! Fun and fresh, I had no trouble diving into this boo

Cute story! Fun and fresh, I had no trouble diving into this book, falling into the world quickly.


Being that this book is the second and I still have not read the first, I did not have any trouble picking up where the author left off. The author does a great job on c...
Cute story! Fun and fresh, I had no trouble diving into this book, falling into the world quickly.


Being that this book is the second and I still have not read the first, I did not have any trouble picking up where the author left off. The author does a great job on catching up the reader without it being too much. The subtle hints and past thoughts help the reader move at a smooth pace along with the story.


The plot line of this book is enjoyable. There is some action in it that made me feel giddy. I love that Jade is practical in all that she does. At times, she acts way more mature at her age. I admire that about her. Jade is just like any other teenager, a plate full of school, drama, and of course, her adventures under the sea. I especially enjoy the little plot twist here and there. The reader doesn't expect them, so it makes the book so much exciting with each page turn.


The love interest play out good too. I like that Jade takes everything in so calmly even through she is freaking out in her head. Her thoughts and feelings are well describe for the boy. The excitement that Jade feels of smirks, drama, and life in general makes me feel young again.


Real Mermaids Don't Hold Their Breath is an sweet and enduring story. With the rise and fall in the plot, it hold the reader in their seat. Made to be charming, you can't help but love this book.

posted by BooksWithBite on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Where is Jade’s missing, mermaid mother? Will Luke, her f

Where is Jade’s missing, mermaid mother? Will Luke, her first kiss, talk to her…text her…date her? Will Jade ever be comfortable with her new mermaid tail? Most fourteen-year-olds might have the boy problem; the mermaid problems are a bonus! Jade...
Where is Jade’s missing, mermaid mother? Will Luke, her first kiss, talk to her…text her…date her? Will Jade ever be comfortable with her new mermaid tail? Most fourteen-year-olds might have the boy problem; the mermaid problems are a bonus! Jade also has a great dad who is a quirky inventor. Jade and Luke and some good friends locate the most likely place for her missing mom’s location, but the area is part of an impending environmental disaster.
I hadn’t read the first book in this series, and I’m much older than the suggested 9 and up age group. However, I remember loving mermaids as a kid! They are much more appealing to me than the ubiquitous vampires of young adult books today. I would guess that young teens will enjoy Jade’s story as she searches for her mom, stands up against big business, and tries out her new tail with cute Luke, another mer.
Three Stars

posted by Icecream18JA on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cute story! Fun and fresh, I had no trouble diving into this boo

    Cute story! Fun and fresh, I had no trouble diving into this book, falling into the world quickly.


    Being that this book is the second and I still have not read the first, I did not have any trouble picking up where the author left off. The author does a great job on catching up the reader without it being too much. The subtle hints and past thoughts help the reader move at a smooth pace along with the story.


    The plot line of this book is enjoyable. There is some action in it that made me feel giddy. I love that Jade is practical in all that she does. At times, she acts way more mature at her age. I admire that about her. Jade is just like any other teenager, a plate full of school, drama, and of course, her adventures under the sea. I especially enjoy the little plot twist here and there. The reader doesn't expect them, so it makes the book so much exciting with each page turn.


    The love interest play out good too. I like that Jade takes everything in so calmly even through she is freaking out in her head. Her thoughts and feelings are well describe for the boy. The excitement that Jade feels of smirks, drama, and life in general makes me feel young again.


    Real Mermaids Don't Hold Their Breath is an sweet and enduring story. With the rise and fall in the plot, it hold the reader in their seat. Made to be charming, you can't help but love this book.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Loved!!!!!

    Oh please let there be a third! And 4th! I never want them to end!!!!!!!!!!!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Amerzing!

    I totally "sank" into this book!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Work of art!

    After reading the first book ("REAL MERMAIDS DON'T WEAR TOE RINGS") I was instantly hooked on this series! It is so well written and creative that I feel as if I am Jade myself! I love how you get what Jade is thinking and how Jade's personality actually reflects a teenage girls personality. Well written and truly will keep you readingnto the end!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Where is Jade’s missing, mermaid mother? Will Luke, her f

    Where is Jade’s missing, mermaid mother? Will Luke, her first kiss, talk to her…text her…date her? Will Jade ever be comfortable with her new mermaid tail? Most fourteen-year-olds might have the boy problem; the mermaid problems are a bonus! Jade also has a great dad who is a quirky inventor. Jade and Luke and some good friends locate the most likely place for her missing mom’s location, but the area is part of an impending environmental disaster.
    I hadn’t read the first book in this series, and I’m much older than the suggested 9 and up age group. However, I remember loving mermaids as a kid! They are much more appealing to me than the ubiquitous vampires of young adult books today. I would guess that young teens will enjoy Jade’s story as she searches for her mom, stands up against big business, and tries out her new tail with cute Luke, another mer.
    Three Stars

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Hannah Colorado

    Yes tottally worth money

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    This is a great book.

    I would really think that this book i awesome by the creative ideas. I would really incourage you to get this book, it is an excellent book to read during tough times or if you are really bored and have nothing to do.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Awesome

    I love the series she is an awesome auther, keep writing

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this seriesI have always loved princass like books so this is a perfect match. This way i can read a princess book without feeling babyish.
    Awesome-Nia :D

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Worth it?

    Do u guys think this book is woth my money??
    Please reply ASAP
    Thank you!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Good

    good

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Luvvvvved it

    The fist book waz reaaly awsum!!!!!!!!!!emyluv;)

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The second book in the Real Mermaids series, REAL MERMAIDS DON'T

    The second book in the Real Mermaids series, REAL MERMAIDS DON'T HOLD THEIR BREATH, doesn't let me down, remaining as humorous and fun as the first book, REAL MERMAIDS DON'T WEAR TOE RINGS, does.  Jade continues to embrace the insecurities of adolescence the summer she turns fourteen.  From the woes of whether or not a crush likes you back to chatting with your dad about the appropriate age for dating, Real Mermaids continues to tackle the issues most important to tweens while still building a fun underwater adventure story.




    While RMDHTB builds off the world set in RMDWTR, it could be read as a stand-alone. Hélène Boudreau does a good job summing up the events of the first book, which reminds me of when I actively read books in this genre.  Sometimes I loved reading the sum-ups and catching up (Unless it was Sweet Valley or the BSC, and then it just got redundant), and this aspect was like a throw-back.  Jade hasn't seen her crush Luke since the night he kissed her at the pool party, and it's been a month.  Sure, he's been away at camp, but he got back on Sunday and he still hasn't so much as texted her.  What's a girl to do?  On top of that, after believing that her mother drowned, only to find out she was a mermaid being held prisoner below the sea, Jade and her father must try to find her before it's too late.  The tidal pool where she's currently residing, however, is about to be filled in as the area is bulldozed for a mall expansion project.  Jade has to figure out a way to stop the construction--and fast--or else she won't have a chance to reunite with her mother, this time for good.




    There's so much more going on in this book.  The first book introduced readers to Jade and suffered with her as she learned about growing up and becoming a girl.  That was all, in a sense, world-building, because the world of Real Mermaids flourishes and expands in the second book.  There was a surprise toward the end of book one that creates new interesting situations in book two, and we learn more about life under the sea, which makes this book fun for all mer-fans.  This book is also more environmentally conscious, creating a sub-plot designed to make young readers think.  Overall, this book is just as sweet and fun as the first, a perfect "growing up" book for tweens.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!

    Ive read the first 1 and this 1 so i cant wait 4 the nxt 1!!!
    Hurry up Helene!!!!!!!!!! :)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Amazing

    Needs more books

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    GREAT

    I HAVN'T READ IT BUT I KNOW IT'S GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Amazing

    I think this book is amazing the firdt and secont biok i am adicted to read it all the time

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    To singers

    Erm 21 aorry for the inconvenience:()

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Real mermaids dont wear toe rings

    It is awesome

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Fast-paced, quirky, adorable and super fun! This sequel immediat

    Fast-paced, quirky, adorable and super fun!
    This sequel immediately follows where Jade's first mermaid adventures left off...

    It's summer vacation time! And Jade's stuck at her summer job. While scooping ice cream for her customers, she's trying to come to terms with a lot of things that have happened to her in the last few weeks: first period, first kiss, first mermaid- tail and turning 14!!!
    But, most of all, finding out that her mother is still alive!

    Now, Jade is trying to figure it all out -
    dealing with her dad who won't let her date (Is she really ready to have a boyfriend right now?)
    Trying to lead a normal life while trying to keep the biggest secret ever from her BFF! (SO hard!)
    AND, most importantly, how to finally get her mother home safely!

    Jade's wish is to have her mom home again and she will do anything to make it happen.
     But is she prepared for the consequences to her actions???

    Real Mermaids Don't Hold Their Breath is a page-turner! Lots of humor and even more memorable moments. The bond of family and friends is heart-warming.
    The more I read about Jade and 'her gang', the more I grow to love them all. Each and every character has a major impact to Jade's life and story. The author truly knows how to weave a realistic fantasy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4