BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Real Mermaids Don't Need High Heels

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

I've said it not once, not twice, but three times now.  The Real

I've said it not once, not twice, but three times now.  The Real Mermaids series is a breath of fun, sweet, humorous fun as we follow half-human, half-mer girl Jade through the trials and tribulations of growing up in a world she never envisioned.  This series is full o...
I've said it not once, not twice, but three times now.  The Real Mermaids series is a breath of fun, sweet, humorous fun as we follow half-human, half-mer girl Jade through the trials and tribulations of growing up in a world she never envisioned.  This series is full of so many firsts, and REAL MERMAIDS DON'T NEED HIGH HEELS is no exception. Jade is entering high school for the first time.  She finally has a boyfriend...she thinks.  And she's been reunited with her long-lost mother!  What could go wrong?




Only the fact that Jade is put into the eighth-ninth grade split homeroom. She has to return to the middle school wing every day, while her best friend Cori and now-actual boyfriend Luke get to be in the cooler ninth-tenth grade split.  Instead, she's in a homeroom with burping, smelly, immature boys, the evil Lainey and, surprise, surprise, Serena, who is still adjusting to her own life on two legs.  There's also a fall dance looming where the girls ask the guys, and since Luke is her boyfriend now, that means she's expected to ask him, right?  Even though they haven't been on a real date yet and she doesn't even want to go in the first place?  And as if she needs even more to worry about, a supermoon is coming, and the Mermish Council wants to invoke Tidal Law to recall all land-walking merfolk to the sea to quell rumors that webbed one (landwalkers) exist and stop a revolution before it can begin.  Jade's only just gotten her mother back.  There's no way she's losing her again!




Hélène Boudreau continues to balance the awkward pains of growing up for a girl split between two worlds, tying the two together in a fun, fresh way.  Comparing this series to Liz Kessler's Emily Windsnap series (I've previously reviewed one of the books and interviewed Kessler), I love the lore and mythology better in Emily Windsnap, but I adore the humor/tone and extra level of maturity in Real Mermaids more.  Both are great series, albeit for slightly different age demographics despite the fact that two half-mer girls are roughly the same age.  Boudreau creates unique mermaid lore in RMDNHH in a way she hasn't in previous books, pairing a mer-revolution with the coming of a supermoon.  Merfolk can't escape the calling of Tidal Law, and it's intriguing to see the unique ways the webbed ones are being effected as they attempt to resist the call.  The way the supermoon's appearances changes everyone emotionally despite the fact that they prep a special room to hide out in reminds me of a fun TV series I started watching last summer, H2O: Just Add Water. The girls constantly had to have sleepovers and find new ways to hide from the moon because if they caught its reflection, they instantly changed.  At the same time, the situation is wholly different; it's just a fun comparison in my brain.




Readers will have no problem picking up this book in the series--or even starting with it--because again, Boudreau does an adequate job summing up the past, albeit with fewer details now.  There are also more characters and motivations to balance now, so it's still a good idea to read the prior books first, though you don't necessarily have to.  I still recommend this series for tweens and up, especially now that Jade and her friends have entered high school.  The series is still done with a light touch, so the amount of romance is perfect, with none of the drama found in more mature titles.

posted by Bonnie_W on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Flower

Should I read it? Is it full of romance,comedy,or mystery? Would I like it ? Is it scary or full of laughter?

posted by 17050864 on April 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I've said it not once, not twice, but three times now.  The Real

    I've said it not once, not twice, but three times now.  The Real Mermaids series is a breath of fun, sweet, humorous fun as we follow half-human, half-mer girl Jade through the trials and tribulations of growing up in a world she never envisioned.  This series is full of so many firsts, and REAL MERMAIDS DON'T NEED HIGH HEELS is no exception. Jade is entering high school for the first time.  She finally has a boyfriend...she thinks.  And she's been reunited with her long-lost mother!  What could go wrong?




    Only the fact that Jade is put into the eighth-ninth grade split homeroom. She has to return to the middle school wing every day, while her best friend Cori and now-actual boyfriend Luke get to be in the cooler ninth-tenth grade split.  Instead, she's in a homeroom with burping, smelly, immature boys, the evil Lainey and, surprise, surprise, Serena, who is still adjusting to her own life on two legs.  There's also a fall dance looming where the girls ask the guys, and since Luke is her boyfriend now, that means she's expected to ask him, right?  Even though they haven't been on a real date yet and she doesn't even want to go in the first place?  And as if she needs even more to worry about, a supermoon is coming, and the Mermish Council wants to invoke Tidal Law to recall all land-walking merfolk to the sea to quell rumors that webbed one (landwalkers) exist and stop a revolution before it can begin.  Jade's only just gotten her mother back.  There's no way she's losing her again!




    Hélène Boudreau continues to balance the awkward pains of growing up for a girl split between two worlds, tying the two together in a fun, fresh way.  Comparing this series to Liz Kessler's Emily Windsnap series (I've previously reviewed one of the books and interviewed Kessler), I love the lore and mythology better in Emily Windsnap, but I adore the humor/tone and extra level of maturity in Real Mermaids more.  Both are great series, albeit for slightly different age demographics despite the fact that two half-mer girls are roughly the same age.  Boudreau creates unique mermaid lore in RMDNHH in a way she hasn't in previous books, pairing a mer-revolution with the coming of a supermoon.  Merfolk can't escape the calling of Tidal Law, and it's intriguing to see the unique ways the webbed ones are being effected as they attempt to resist the call.  The way the supermoon's appearances changes everyone emotionally despite the fact that they prep a special room to hide out in reminds me of a fun TV series I started watching last summer, H2O: Just Add Water. The girls constantly had to have sleepovers and find new ways to hide from the moon because if they caught its reflection, they instantly changed.  At the same time, the situation is wholly different; it's just a fun comparison in my brain.




    Readers will have no problem picking up this book in the series--or even starting with it--because again, Boudreau does an adequate job summing up the past, albeit with fewer details now.  There are also more characters and motivations to balance now, so it's still a good idea to read the prior books first, though you don't necessarily have to.  I still recommend this series for tweens and up, especially now that Jade and her friends have entered high school.  The series is still done with a light touch, so the amount of romance is perfect, with none of the drama found in more mature titles.

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    ?????????

    I really want to read this book but I would have to pre ordor and I don't want to do that I read the reviews from the first and second book and they r all good so I can't wait for this to come out!

    12 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I love how this series continues without pause! In the third ins

    I love how this series continues without pause! In the third installment to the Real Mermaids Series, there is more action, more humor and more love! Helen Boudreau has a true gift in creating a world where mermaids really do exist...

    Jade is still trying to be a normal teen girl trying to find her way, this time, through high school.
    But the Mermish Council's interference is making it difficult for her to keep her two feet on on the ground, literally...
    But nothing ever gets in Jades way! She is the most determined and caring girl I have ever came across in literature - she is strong minded, creative and extremely smart when put in a bind. Jade is not your average mer-girl, since she was born human, she is the only one who can transform within minutes, making her very special and giving her the advantage in spur of the moment problems and plans.
    Her take-charge attitude is endearing and proves just how much she cares about everyone.

    What I love most about this series is its main focus on how important family and friends are. Sticking up for one another, caring and protecting each other. Also, the way that Jade strives in girl-power, taking charge and believing in yourself. All very important messages for our young woman, teens and tweens.

    The blossoming girlfriend/boyfriend relationship between Jade and Luke is adorable - it's the way a relationship should be at the age of 14 and 15. They are completely smitten with each other, but respectful and sweet.

    Full of action and humor, I highly recommend this to all girls who believe in mermaids...
    and even those who don't! Helen Boudreau will make a believer out of you!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    A REAL BOOK !!!! It a great book it keep me on my edge of my sit

    A REAL BOOK !!!! It a great book it keep me on my edge of my sit !!!!!! I was wondering what was going to happen next !!!! The story is a fun sweet FUNNNY and adventurous book I give book 5 stars *****

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Awesome!

    I read the sample and the 2 other books in this series but not this one. I can't wait till I read this book! I hope there will be more books soon!

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    I havent read it yet but I have raed the first three and they r awesome

    This is a book i would recomend for 9-10 kids

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Great book

    It is a really good book so much emotion and alot of feelings and obstacles to overcome .

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Sage

    My name is sage & i loved it i am 9 years old

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    O<~{

    Love it so much. By the way that sign i did is in the book. Ps the sign is a mermaid just in case you dont know.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Dear ?????????????

    What do you meat pre order.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Effd

    Hey if you love reading or have watched h2o: just add water then you will love this THERES A NEW SHOW CALLED MAKO MERMAIDS: A H2O ADVENTURE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have watched it and loved it. You can get it on neflix!!!!!!!! By the way for those who have netflix they have 13 episodes you can watch now then later in septmber the next 13 episodes witch makes 26 episodes for season 1. They are going to have a season 2. The show is new new they only started airing them the 26 of july. Its about these three mermaids that have to take Zac a new merman then theres lyla and sriena and nixie the three girls have to take Zacs prowers back after he falls into the moon pool. The girls are pushed out of their pod ( a group of mermaids liveong together) after Zac falls in the moon pool. To keep away for the dangers of Zac's prowers the pod leaves mako island. The girls are gruads of mako to keep land- pepole ( the mermaids call the pepole land- pepole) away form mako and the moon pool. Nixie plays with Zac and his best friend Cam on their fishing trip by pulling on thier fish pole lines and giveing Cam a fish. The boys end up camping on mako then Zac gos off and finds the land door to the moon pool. This show rocks!!!!!!!!!!!! great and safe for little kids. My 6 year old sister watch's it. Its great!!!!!!!!! Those who have netflix rate the show all five stars. WATCH MAKO MERMAIDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Thanks for reading. By the way never read this book just rateing it cause i am helping it out.







    Mako mermaids fan 1#

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    AMAZING! I LOVED IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Cool

    Fggdhg

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Flower

    Should I read it? Is it full of romance,comedy,or mystery? Would I like it ? Is it scary or full of laughter?

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Awsome

    I read the first 2 and loved them! This book is just as good if not better!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Tori

    I love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Awesome!!!!!!!

    So good i read it in 2 days!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Great books

    Great books, but i wish jade wasn't plus size. Also read the other 2 in the series before u read this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    It is okay

    This book is pretty good.But i wish Jade wasn't plus size

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    #3

    #3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2