Customer Reviews for

Real Murders (Aurora Teagarden Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Aurora Teagarden Series by Charlaine Harris

I actually picked up book 5 in this series at a secondhand store and decided I needed to read the rest - from the beginning. I love how Charlaine Harris makes you feel so close to her characters - they're like friends. Aurora does seem to find herself in some dangerou...
I actually picked up book 5 in this series at a secondhand store and decided I needed to read the rest - from the beginning. I love how Charlaine Harris makes you feel so close to her characters - they're like friends. Aurora does seem to find herself in some dangerous and awkward positions, but it makes the story that much more interesting. I'm really looking forward to the re-release of books 7 & 8 later this spring/summer.

I have so enjoyed this series that I've started reading the Lily Bard "Shakespeare's..." series - and I'm also planning to read the Harper Connelly series as well as the Sookie Stackhouse series (which my daughter in law is currently reading).

posted by 1035617 on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Didn't Stand Out

I am a huge fan of Charlaine Harris, but this book failed to impress. I got bored and it took me like two weeks to read the book while I can normally breeze through her books in like a day if not faster.

posted by katford11 on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Aurora Teagarden Series by Charlaine Harris

    I actually picked up book 5 in this series at a secondhand store and decided I needed to read the rest - from the beginning. I love how Charlaine Harris makes you feel so close to her characters - they're like friends. Aurora does seem to find herself in some dangerous and awkward positions, but it makes the story that much more interesting. I'm really looking forward to the re-release of books 7 & 8 later this spring/summer.

    I have so enjoyed this series that I've started reading the Lily Bard "Shakespeare's..." series - and I'm also planning to read the Harper Connelly series as well as the Sookie Stackhouse series (which my daughter in law is currently reading).

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    Murder she wrote goes young

    I wish I had read these BEFORE I read the Sookie and Harper series. They are fun, well written, and a quick read when you need to escape. BUT they are very tame compared to Sookie and Harper. Inversely, those who don't want erotica and romance, this series is for you.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy read and well written...

    I really enjoy Charlaine Harris' writing style and although I prefer some magic and mysticism with my mystery, the Aurora Teagarden series is a fun and easy read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kept the pages turning . . .

    I thought this was a well written murder mystery. I had never read anything else by Charlaine Harris, other than the Sookie Sytackhouse series. I didn't enjoy Real Murders quite as much as the Sookie books, but it is still definitely worth the read especially if you like murder mysteries.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Lance

    Willy pushed her beanie down over her eyes and took off out the room.<p>
    Lance walked out of his room and locked the door. He had a black Bring Me The Horizon shirt, black jeans, and black combat boots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Liked it

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was an easy read, made sense and had a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Ben

    He got banned

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    This was really good!

    What a great story! A great premise....A Real Murders Group that meets to discuss real murders that have happened in history. Its a small group located in a small town of Georgia. Aurora Teagarden is the main character and grew up in town which gives her an insight into all the characters in the story.

    When a member of the group is murdered on a meeting night, strange things start happening much more frequently and not necessarily to group members.

    The story is gripping yet creepy....i double checked my doors at home before going to bed....but I didn't think it was too gory in its descriptions. I'm not into "Sookie Stackhouse" and "vampires" so I found this mystery very entertaining and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Recommend

    I got this book because I liked the Sookie Stackhouse series she writes.
    This was a good mystery that I enjoyed reading but it did not get wrapped up enough at the end to make me want to go out and get the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    A little slow but kept me reading.......

    Overall i liked the book. Was tough to get through at times but i liked the character(roe teagarden) so much that i bought the second book in the series and loved it. I will be buying the entire series. Cant wait to read them!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun suspenseful read.

    Roe is part of a weird club where she and others discuss past murders from long ago and how they would solve it. That is one night, at their usual scheduled meeting a real murder does happen to one of their club murders. Who could it be, a copycat?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    Fun read

    I'm a big fan of Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse book and I can't wait to read more Aurora Teagarden books. This was a fun, quick read. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    Quick read

    First in the series featuring Aurora Teagarden, Real Murders is a fast read for a rainy day. Although the characters aren't as magnetic as those in the Sookie Stackhouse series, Roe and her motley crew of real murder enthusiasts seem like old friends. Friends with not much going on. Harris could have involved us a bit more in the characters and the small town they live in before dishing out the first of several murders, but as a whole it was a good story with a moderately surprising twist at the end.

    A fair beginning to what could be a delightful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed this series.

    I got this book for Christmas a couple of years ago. I enjoyed it so I ended up getting the rest of the books. This was a good mystery series. Charlaine Harris is a great writer and now one of my favorites! :) Another good series of her's is the Harper Connelly series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Starts slow to fast ending

    Picked this book up after reading the Sookie Stackhouse books. The book has a slow start but got better as the story went on until it abruptly ended (too fast). Like the love triangle with Roe/Arthur/Robin, interested to see where that goes. Roe's character confuses me, she is 28 yet has the mannerisms, hobbies, dress, job etc. of a much older woman, not sure where that is going.
    All said, I look forward to reading the rest of the series!
    xoxo_leigh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Real Murders

    I found this book entertaining and engaging. The characters were lively and interesting enough to keep me going, and the plot was also good. I did think it wrapped up a little quickly, but I liked it enough to get the next in the series, which I think gets better as it goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick Fun Read

    This was a good book. I have read almost everything Charlaine Harris has written. This series of books about Aurora Teagarden are fun quick mysteries. Very light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE CHARLAINE HARRIS!!!!

    I HAVE READ MOST ALL OF CHARLAINE'S BOOKS. I REALLY ENJOYED STARTING THE AURORA TEAGARDEN SERIES. I AM NOW ON BOOK #5. SHE HAS SUCH A TALENT FOR SUCKING YOU INTO HER BOOKS. THIS IS NO EXPECTION. I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    Good book

    Although I enjoyed the Southern Vampire series better, I did enjoy the first book of the Aurora Teagarden series. I will most likely keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun.

    These books are a fun read. I've read these and the Southern Vampire series, which were great also. I think if you're just in the market to read a fun light murder mystery these books are perfect. Aurora Teagarden is a believable character even if some of the situations she gets into are a stretch. She is funny and lovable, she becomes more realistic the further on in the series you go.

    If you want a little more action, violence and otherwise(hint hint), and some fantasy you should definitely check out the Southern Vampire series revolving around main character Sookie Stackhouse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6