Customer Reviews for

Real Murders (Aurora Teagarden Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Aurora Teagarden Series by Charlaine Harris

I actually picked up book 5 in this series at a secondhand store and decided I needed to read the rest - from the beginning. I love how Charlaine Harris makes you feel so close to her characters - they're like friends. Aurora does seem to find herself in some dangerou...
I actually picked up book 5 in this series at a secondhand store and decided I needed to read the rest - from the beginning. I love how Charlaine Harris makes you feel so close to her characters - they're like friends. Aurora does seem to find herself in some dangerous and awkward positions, but it makes the story that much more interesting. I'm really looking forward to the re-release of books 7 & 8 later this spring/summer.

I have so enjoyed this series that I've started reading the Lily Bard "Shakespeare's..." series - and I'm also planning to read the Harper Connelly series as well as the Sookie Stackhouse series (which my daughter in law is currently reading).

posted by 1035617 on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Didn't Stand Out

I am a huge fan of Charlaine Harris, but this book failed to impress. I got bored and it took me like two weeks to read the book while I can normally breeze through her books in like a day if not faster.

posted by katford11 on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Love Love Real Murders! Must Read!

    This book was such a great read! I did not know what to expect and what was going to happen next. Aurora Teagarden is such a fun character that you just begin to love to hear what is going to happen next to her. Everything that happened was a shock and poor Aurora was caught in the middle of it all. After reading this book I went out and bought the rest of the series! If you have not read this book yet and you are looking for a fun, exciting read then I would totally suggest you pick up this book. I am sure you will fall in love with Aurora Teagarden just like I did.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Real Murders

    Roe belongs to a reading club called Real Murders. Each member is a specialist in a certain murderer or a type of murder. When one of their members is killed, Roe is the one to find her.

    Charlaine Harris tells us a lot about the southerness and the small townness of Roe. She just goes about her life and manages to solve murders, just by the way she lives her life.

    She is enchanting. I bought the series (Aurora Teagarten mysteries) up to the last hardback.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Love it

    Really enjoyed this book. Just finished book 3 and am looking forward to reading the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    I love Charlaine Harris. The Roe Teagarden books, are fun and qu

    I love Charlaine Harris. The Roe Teagarden books, are fun and quick to read. Roe is extremely likable. I have had this series on my reading list for a long time, and am glad I finally have gotten around to reading them. My only regret is I didn't read them years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    I am intensely amused by Aurora Teagarden! Not only is she a uni

    I am intensely amused by Aurora Teagarden! Not only is she a unique character (lets be honest, how many books have you seen with a librarian protagonist?), but the story is captivating and unexpected; I love not being able to know the outcome until it actualy comes.

    This series is one I'll have to have for my own shelves, to reread and stamp with approval.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Great introduction for an awesome series!

    I recently found this series after loving the Sookie novels. I have read all 8 novels, this being the first in the series. If you are looking for a great read, start here! I enjoyed this book as well as the others in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Get this book

    This book is a book i read to my do

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Didn't solve this one!

    Enjoyable, easy read! First of this writers books I've read...got the idea from watching the true blood series but wanted somethin diff! A nice change with a good twist at the end...I will be reading another for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    My favorite Aurora book

    Im currently on book 5 of roes adventures and i must say that i find myself hung up on the first. This series isnt quite as racy as some of Harris others but the plot makes up for it. I would also recommend the sookie stackhouse novels as well as the harper connelly series. -Taylor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    While it's different from the Sookie series, it's just as captivating. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great, Quick Read!

    Charlaine Harris doesn't disappoint! I've read a few other Harris series and have come to expect great books, and book one of the Teagarden series is no different! Harris illustrates the librarian world perfectly down to the style, the weirdos at the reference desk, and the running amok children. I'm usually pretty good at guessing the "who" in "who dunnits" and until the reveal, I was undecided! I can't wait to read the next book to see where quirky Aurora's adventures take her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Great Read! The entire series Rocks!

    Couldn!t read them fast Enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    this series rocks!

    I am a huge Sookie fan, so after I read that series I took up Aurora Teagarden series. It is so good and just goes to show how trulytalented Harris is. I highly, highly recommend reading about Aurora. I read them all and I am sad I have no more new ones to read! I wish Harris woild write moee Aurora stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    If you haven't read part one yet - you won't be dissappointed. You will be hooked.

    I read this book about eight months to a year ago. I have also read all the (Aurora Teagarden Series books). I'm waiting for her to continue the series or go off in another direction with one of the characters in this series. You get to know the characters so well. They could be your next door neighbors. Read and enjoy. I read book one in papaerback. I am sure it will be available soon too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Very FUN read!

    This was an easy, quick, and enjoyable series to read. If you love Charlene Harris's writting style you'll love these little books. Perfect for sharing (lendable) with a friend. Aurora Teagarden is characture indeed! Fans of Miss Marple and alike will enjoy the series for sure. Just finished #8 and tho no further books in the series are shown, there was a loose end in this one so I'm thinking there just might be more coming?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Excellent mix of southern charm and mystery

    The Aurora Teagarden series is excellent. Real Murders, the first book in the series, sets the stage for the personality of the characters and the tone of the series. Real Murders was riveting the whole way through and although a little suspenseful, also slightly humorous. All together, I wanted to read more about "Roe" and her life and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Aurora Teagarden is as interesting as Sookie Stackhouse!!!!

    Aurora Teagardens' character was quite a surprise for me. I didn't think Charlaine Harris could have two such different yet equally interesting characters as Sookie And Roe. Charlaine Harris is truely a gifted writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Real entertaining!

    Aurora is such a moving character. You find yourself fighting for her. Great job by Harris for once again reaching in and making me believe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    a good reading

    It was a good book, plan to get more from the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    Real Murders

    This is an excellent mystery. Charlaine Harris is wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6