Customer Reviews for

The Reality Bug (Pendragon Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 197 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This one moved a little slower than the first three, but still r

    This one moved a little slower than the first three, but still really good. The concept of the Reality Bug seems like a future advance in science, but a little creepy at the same time. MacHale continues to impress as things get messier in the territories. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No!!!!

    Saint Dane... Wins?
    Bobby comes to an awesome sci-fi territory only to lose it to Saint Dane. I only reccomend to people who are reading pendragon and understand that sometimes, the bad dudes win.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Not my favorite...

    This time, Pendragon goes to Veelox, a technology dominated world where people escape reality. Saint Dane is up to something, and Bobby and his new, snobby new friend have to figure it out. I think that in this installment, it takes forever to get right to the point, and the suspense doesn't deliver as the last three have. You do have to read all the books in the series, but this one is just a tad over done, but I'm still recommending it for the developing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    A four because evil wins...and I had to write this for school.

    Pendragon: The Reality Bug was a very enjoyable read. Bobby is after Saint Dane after their last encounter and discovers he is trying to destroy Veelox. Aja the only traveler from Veelox has created a virus she calls the Reality Bug to destroy Lifelight. When she plants the virus, she finds that Saint Dane has modified it and made it dangerous and the people who are using Life Light are in danger. Bobby and Aja who get help from Mark, Courtney, and the creator of Life Light itself, are trying to stop the virus that is killing the jumpers and threatening the territory of Veelox itself. Bobby is the only traveler from the territory we know as Second Earth. He sort of has become the leader of the travelers and is always after Saint Dane who is trying to destroy all the territories and Halla. Aja is the traveler from Veelox and she created the Reality Bug. Although she has a short temper and is very stoical, she does befriend Bobby, eventually. Saint Dane is your average bad guy times a million. He tries to destroy Halla 'everything¿literally' and the territory of Veelox. He has always hated Bobby and even his uncle before him. ¿It¿s the whole territory, Pendragon,¿ she said. ¿Reality on Veelox only exists to support the fantasy.¿ She then looked right at me. ¿That¿s why Saint Dane thinks he¿s won. This territory is about to fall apart, and we have nobody to blame but ourselves.¿ Lifelight is like reality except better. You live in your own fantasy world for as long as you want. You can be whomever you want, whenever you want. People on the territory of Veelox are all obsessed with Lifelight. They have deserted Rubic City and all went to live in their own dream world. ¿That¿s why Saint Dane thinks he¿s won.¿ Saint Dane has succeeded in making Veelox miserable and lonely. Bobby and Aja have to destroy the wonderful Lifelight to bring everyone back to reality. And Aja and Bobby have to save it before ¿this territory is about to fall apart.¿ I agree with many points in this book. People shouldn¿t live in a dream world where everything is perfect. Reality shouldn¿t exist to support the fantasy. I don¿t think there were any serious errors with this book. The author could have made Mark and Courtney¿s part in the book bigger especially since they are Bobby¿s best friends. Were there any new and unusual ideas? This entire book is new and unusual, and that¿s why it was such an interesting read. It was great to fall into a little fantasy world myself when I read this book. How is this book related to reality? Well some of the characters have a rather familiar attitude towards danger and adventure. It doesn¿t relate to my life because I¿m not a traveler, unfortunately, but I loved how the author really introduced the reality in fiction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Ummm...

    Okay, I LOVE this series! I love books, period, so my list of 'favorites' is pretty jam-packed. This is way up there. The one and only reason I gave this a four is becaouse evil wins. How wack is that?? I mean, all that for nothing? What's the point of writing it if Saint Dane wins? Don't for a moment think i disliked this book! It was awesome! I just have a few questions, like: Why is Bobby such a jerk when he comes back to Second Earth? Oh, and here's a huge one: What the *alarm clock goes off* happened to Gunny?? This book is amazing, although Dane winning kinda makes me think, like, whaa...? Still love these books though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    Amazing!

    This book is very interesting and one has no idea when things happen! This book is beyond your wildest imagination. Read and enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    One of the best seris iv ever read!

    These books are great! i like the lost city of faar the best,but the others are awesome too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    TOO GOOD

    NEXT ONE better come out fast or else!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    A Great Series (In A Way)

    Wow! This series is pretty incredible. With incredible non- stop action, sarcasm, mystery, and some brain work to understand some of the twisted plot. What more could you want from a series nowadays? Also, the story being told from two points of view One as Bobby Pendragon, writting his acounts in different worlds in a journal. The other view is from Mark, Bobby's best friend, and Courtney, Bobby's love intrest, reading the different journals Booby sends and helping him in any possible way. Though the story line and plot is very well done, the actually writing (D.J. MacHale) is actually a little poor. Compared to the excellent writing skills of other fairly popular fantasy books, such as Harry Potter, The Cronicles of Narnia, or even The Series of Unfortunate Events, the way the author uses his wording and adjectives is pretty appauling and becomes a boring cliche, especially since the word cool and awesome appear about three times on a page. Though, if your looking for a fun little read at the beach or just something to do in your spare time, I would most certain recommend the Pendragon series. Have fun reading!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2