Customer Reviews for

The Realm of Possibility

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I almost considered 4 stars

However... after realizing how completely ACCURATE this book is, the 5 star rating is completely necessary. From a span of about 5 pages i had went from sad to lauging my (butt) off.... from touched to disgusted. Levithan is able to depict the most vivid emotions with...
However... after realizing how completely ACCURATE this book is, the 5 star rating is completely necessary. From a span of about 5 pages i had went from sad to lauging my (butt) off.... from touched to disgusted. Levithan is able to depict the most vivid emotions with naught but a few fleeting words scattered amongst lines of flowing free verse poetry. More than commended... this book has my highest praise and is my read of the year.

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

OOOOKKKK...

Um, wow. It's...different from what I usually read. I mean, how often do you find gays and lesbians in books? I enjoyed how it shifted from character to character, focusing on the main situation- the story that each student is facing. It's not the best book, or the grea...
Um, wow. It's...different from what I usually read. I mean, how often do you find gays and lesbians in books? I enjoyed how it shifted from character to character, focusing on the main situation- the story that each student is facing. It's not the best book, or the greatest but hey, that's just my opinion.

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    I almost considered 4 stars

    However... after realizing how completely ACCURATE this book is, the 5 star rating is completely necessary. From a span of about 5 pages i had went from sad to lauging my (butt) off.... from touched to disgusted. Levithan is able to depict the most vivid emotions with naught but a few fleeting words scattered amongst lines of flowing free verse poetry. More than commended... this book has my highest praise and is my read of the year.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    A life changing book

    This is one of the most poignant books I have ever read. David Levithan somehow knows exactly how high schoolers feel, act and just are overall. I was blown away by his beautiful, flowing free verse poetry. He so perfectly describes first loves, the awkwardness of the social scene in high school, and he addresses the issue of gender and sexuality in an appropriate and understanding manner. Working at a bookshop, I got the advance copy of the book to read back in December and was immediately in love with this book. The funny thing is, I'm not usually one to read poetry, but this book defies all of the cliches and usual poetry stereotypes. It is, quite simply, a wonderful and perfect book that embodies all of the feelings an adolescent goes through, something that is not easily captured by simple words. David Levithan tells these peoples' stories in a flowing and beautiful manner. This is definitely a good read, and recommended to all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I first read this book I was stunned at the range of emotion and how well David Levithan captures emotion. I fell in love with Jed and Daniel and wondered along with Charlotte. The words are arranged so beautifully in these poems that anyone can appreciate it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    Ive never felt so many emotions

    it is amazing how he can turn our thoughts and feelings into words ... i couldn't put this book down ... ive never felt more connected to any story ive ever read ... he is an amazing author i felt like i was listening to twenty highschool students ... it just blew me away

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    One Night Stand Reader

    I couldn't put the book down; it took me about an hour to read the whole thing and I fell in love with it by the second verse. The content was perfect and the story was depicted wonderfully, even if it is composed entirely of poems.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    I got this book around the time it first came out before my fres

    I got this book around the time it first came out before my freshman year and still read it years later. It was a really cool book to read as a teen as I and friends and people around me went through things so similar to the teens in the book. It was inspiring, the story of these different characters who faced with all these teenage struggles find their ways through them and even take leaps of courage into these realms of possibilities. It was great because as I went through these confusing, awkward, intimidating, sad or out right breath taking moments of high school adolescences I felt understood, not alone. It felt ok rather then scary or weird. I read how these teens in his writings would be faced with all these possibilities and take these chances to chase a possibility at something amazing in its way and it gave me a courage, an understanding. Even at the risk--that your crush won't return your feelings, your relationship won't last, you'll not fit in, it'll blow up in your face--it'll go bad there's also the chance it'll lead to something great. And that understanding and hopeful courage gave me a willingness to dive head long into these realms of possibilities in my life. Not many books do that, speak to and inspire or empower you, but this one did for me. And that's what makes it so special in my eyes. It's ability to speak to you, a person in these scenarios, like another teen facing the same things the same way you are. Like it's right there with you, like a kid from one of your classes. Not like an adult writing about it, but like another teen just like you experiencing in that moment the same as you. This book is great and so different in look and tone from most other poetry I've read. I'd recommend it to anyone interested by poetry or a teen looking for a relatable story, it's definitely worth the buy and time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    A gift

    Did not read this, it was a gift for my granddaughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everytime I read this novel I find something new to fall in love

    Everytime I read this novel I find something new to fall in love with. This book quickly became my favorite novel and David Levithan has earned the honor of being my favorite author.  This novel has changed my life. The characters are intertwined and connect in ways that our every day lives intertwine.  I love the fact that David Levithan has characters that anyone can relate to. If you're the popular kid, you will relate to someone. If you're that kid in the back of the classroom, you will relate to someone. There are 20 different characters and you will be able to relate to at least one of them. 
    I recommend this book to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Hollyleaf 9

    Fallen Leaves steered Featherwhisker toward the far edge of the clearing. "Did anything happen?" He hissed. "Jayfeather proved that he did not kill Flametail!" Featherwhisker's eyes were bright. Paw steps were thundering toward the thorn barrier. Owleyes. The dawn patrol was returning. The barrier rustled as Owleyes exploded into the camp. "WindClan has reset the borders and put a permanent watch at the stream." Fur ruffled, he headed for Thunderstar. "We should do the same." Lionheart and Ferncloud followed the ThunderClan deputy into camp, with Sweetpaw, Swiftpaw, and Hollyleaf right behind. "I should have stayed at the border," Lionheart growled. "What could you have done alone?" Ferncloud argued. Thunderstar narrowed his eyes. "Go back," he ordered Lionheart. "Don't start anything, but warn us if there's trouble." Rainwhisker poked his head out of the warriors' den. "Is WindClan planning to invade?" "We're not sure," Thunderstar told him. "But it is better to be prepared." He signaled to Owleyes with his tail and the two warriors scrambled up the rocks to his cave. Swiftpaw bounced around Honeyfern. "Can I go with Lionheart?" He begged. "My hearing's sharper than his. I'll know if they're coming way before him." Honeyfern gazed sternly at the apprentice. "Lionheart has the experience to know the difference between the sound of action and the sound of threat." She nudged him toward the fresh-kill pile. "We don't want any false alarms. Now go and eat." As Swiftpaw stomped away, Hollyleaf joined Fallen Leaves and Featherwhisker. "WindClan is furious," she warned. "They've found enemy scents all over the moorland, especially ThunderClan scent." Featherwhisker narrowed his eyes. As Hollyleaf headed for the yew bush, Fallen Leaves nudged Featherwhisker toward the fallen beech. Poppydawn was stretching outside the warriors' den. Stonepelt pushed past her and headed for the fresh-kill pile, where Adderfang and Stormtail were already rooting through yesterday's catch. "Has Owleyes organized the patrols?" Adderfang hooked a shriveled shrew with his claw. "We're going to need something fresher than this." "I should think so!" Frostfur padded from the nursery. "Mousefur's hungry and she wont want to eat stale mouse." "I'll go hunting!" Swiftpaw offered. Honeyfern sat down. "We just got back from patrol!" Adderfang rubbed his nose with his paw. "I'll take Swiftpaw and Sweetpaw out while you rest," he told the creamy golden she-cat. "Thanks." Honeyfern breathed. The yew bush shivered and Hollyleaf emerged, followed by Bluefur, whose eyes were bleary with sleep.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is amazing. I am only 13 but i can relate to what these characters are going through and i fell in love with them. The way the author put it together is great to and even though it is kindof hard to follow i understood everything. All i have to say is AMAZING BOOK! =^_^=

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Awesome.

    Finished this in two days, it's really great. Every story really paints a picture in your mind.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Beautiful Stories

    Wonderful book. Worth the money. Some would say this book is confusing, but it isn't, not for me atleast. Its writen from different points of view and everyone in the book is linked to each other someway. I think its kinda sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    a new favorite!

    an absolute must read for poetry lovers or really anyone who enjoys amazing lines that will linger in your mind long after you set it down. i am in love with this book: )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    this book helped me through alot of things

    i have read this book countless times as everytime it still feels like the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    a beautiful book

    i absolutely loved this book. i read it in one day, and i was so sad when i finished it because i wanted it to be longer. the really great part of this book is that there's at least one character you can relate to. after you read this, you'll start seeing beauty in every one you meet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Addictive

    This book was absolutely my Favorite book this year, and the first book that I read in only 5 hours, im a huge fan of david levithan's style of writing. This book uber easy to read but hard to remember who the chapter is exactly about.YOU ARE HAPPY EVEN IF YOU ARE AFRAID TO ADMIT IT is truly my favorite quote from this insiring novel that tells the story of 20 diffrent people in a free verse form of writting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    READ IT

    Probably one of the best teen novels ever created. Definately read it. Even though it is a sort of short read (it's written in verse), it tells so much about teens that you wouldn't learn anywhere else. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Strangely Excellent

    I am a middle schooler, so I don't really know how high schoolers feel. But I am a poet, so I appreciated this book because it was told in hauntingly good poems. It was well-written and very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2