BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Reapers Are the Angels: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is a slow and emotionally intense story. The main protagoni

This is a slow and emotionally intense story. The main protagonist is a hard and simple young woman who is as kind as her circumstances allow her to be. I'll be honest, I cried over this book. The various people you meet through Temple are an interesting and varied lot ...
This is a slow and emotionally intense story. The main protagonist is a hard and simple young woman who is as kind as her circumstances allow her to be. I'll be honest, I cried over this book. The various people you meet through Temple are an interesting and varied lot and you get to see how vastly different people can turn out in a post-apocalyptic world. All of the characterizations made sense for the situations the characters were in, and the world building was excellent.

The only reason this got a four instead of a five from me was that I didn't find it believable that people and society would still have some of the luxuries they were shown to have in the story.

Fair warning: It's a brutal story.

posted by TMBreck on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Be prepared to suspend your disbelief

I'm more than willing to accept that Zombies roam the earth, but some aspects of this novel defy belief. Society collapsed at least 15 years ago, and yet the protagonist can hop into a car abandoned for decades and start it. What about fuel spoilage, battery drain? Enti...
I'm more than willing to accept that Zombies roam the earth, but some aspects of this novel defy belief. Society collapsed at least 15 years ago, and yet the protagonist can hop into a car abandoned for decades and start it. What about fuel spoilage, battery drain? Entire cities have power. How? Who's maintaining the infrastructure? This might have been a readable novel, but the author's lazy world building spoiled it for this reader.

posted by GotZombie on July 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a slow and emotionally intense story. The main protagoni

    This is a slow and emotionally intense story. The main protagonist is a hard and simple young woman who is as kind as her circumstances allow her to be. I'll be honest, I cried over this book. The various people you meet through Temple are an interesting and varied lot and you get to see how vastly different people can turn out in a post-apocalyptic world. All of the characterizations made sense for the situations the characters were in, and the world building was excellent.

    The only reason this got a four instead of a five from me was that I didn't find it believable that people and society would still have some of the luxuries they were shown to have in the story.

    Fair warning: It's a brutal story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Be prepared to suspend your disbelief

    I'm more than willing to accept that Zombies roam the earth, but some aspects of this novel defy belief. Society collapsed at least 15 years ago, and yet the protagonist can hop into a car abandoned for decades and start it. What about fuel spoilage, battery drain? Entire cities have power. How? Who's maintaining the infrastructure? This might have been a readable novel, but the author's lazy world building spoiled it for this reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was amazing. With all honesty, this has to be one of t

    This book was amazing. With all honesty, this has to be one of the best books that I've ever read. With huge twists and turns throughout the plot, with relationships and characters you'll never forget, all leading up to the shocking conclusion that will bring a tear to your eye. Hands down this has to be a book you will be reading under the covers at night, and afterwards lying on your pillow, regretting that you had read it in the dark. The only down side of his book is that it uses no quotation marks, but does add a new line with every new speaker. So to  tell who is speaking, you might have to pay close attention. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    This is my all time favorite book!

    This is my all time favorite book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Pretty great

    This book is full of action and suspence along with amazing characters. Temple is a girl whom the reader will be voting for until the very end. A reccomended read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Quick, fantastic read!

    This book is a quick read (you could get through it in a dedicated 2-3 hours), but it is well worth your time. I don't mind that they didn't explain how the outbreak happened, but was hard to believe that gas stations would still have gas and edible food on the shelves this many years after society decayed.
    But if you can activate a willing suspension of disbelief about some of the technical aspects of this book, you should really enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Best Book I have read this year.

    This is an amazingly good book that happens to be set in a zombie apocalypse. If you like The Road or Game of Thrones you will likely enjoy this. The book has a number of nice twists, an oddball section and some amazingly good sections. There is a nice Southern Gothic feel to the language and scenery that I particularly enjoyed. If you don't enjoy dark fantasy or zombies you still might find this worth your time. Highly Recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    In this intelligent and affecting post-apocalyptic tale a fifteen year old zombie-killing orphan called Temple makes her way across a ruined American landscape on a mission to return a mentally handicapped man to his family, if they're still alive. She's pursued by a man sworn to kill her and haunted by a tragic past. Her story grabs you and refuses to let go until the shocking and heart-wrenching conclusion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Love it

    This novel is awesome. A different take on zombies.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book

    The Reapers are the Angel is one of those books that people aren't going to expect, and that many otherwise avid horror fans might end up over looking. A gothic southern tale of a girl who lives alone after the zombie uprising it does for zombies what Interview with a Vampire did for vampires.
    Temple is barely a teenager, left to survive in a failing world. She's illiterate, had never know family or a world without zombies yet she's searching the world for something she can't put a name to. Despite her very different way of thinking she's easily an Everyman for a wide swath of readers who find this book.
    Intensely strange, deeply emotional this is a zombie tale not to be missed, or underestimated in the sea of knock off biohorror apocalypse books. I cannot recommend this book highly enough, but readers should beware that Bell's intoxicating tale will pull you in and make it very hard to let go. An absolute must have for modern horror collections.
    Contains: language, violence, attempted rape, sex

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Zombies!

    I enjoyed this book! A very well written and unique tale of a Zombie Invasion!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended -YA book

    Wow! A fantastic read. The very young heroine of the story faces internal struggles of whether what she does is right or wrong during a time where the world is populated with zombies and other horrible mutants. As she travels through the U.S. she faces many obstacles, but she is one tough kid who faces all battles and kills for survival. I even enjoyed the ending, which was rather unexpected.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Touched

    wow this is a zombie novel - yet i feel sad! Great, great read! Touching!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    My Best Book of 2010!

    If you had told me that a novel about a zombie apocalypse would make my top 5 books of 2010, I'd have said you were crazy. But that's before I read The Reapers Are the Angels by Alden Bell. The reason this "zombie" novel rates so highly is because it isn't really about zombies. It's the story of a 15-year-old girl's struggle for survival in a world that has become unbelievably hostile. Zombies are just the menace; they could easily be replaced by another obstacle and the work would not suffer.

    It's interesting that there are two apocalyptic novels this summer. The mega blockbuster by Justin Cronin, The Passage, also tells the story of a young girl and how she survives in a world overrun by vampires (albeit vampires who share zombie-like behavior). But the heroine of The Passage is a possible savior of the world. Temple, the heroine of Alden Bell's book, is not the world's savior. She's trying to survive and find some way to atone for the massive evil she believes she has committed.

    I liked The Passage a lot. But I loved The Reapers Are the Angels. In some sense it is more akin to Cronin's first book, Mary and O'Neil, with its lyrical prose and moments of heart-stopping beauty. I point to the scene where Temple and Maury break into the Art Museum and are mesmerized by the beauty of the paintings. Those few paragraphs burn with an intensity rarely seen in modern literature. They sparkle with beauty and irony and sadness and when I encountered them I had to stop and really think about what I was reading. And, of course, read that passage again.

    If you are looking for the equivalent of George Romero's Dawn of the Dead, you'll probably be disappointed by The Reapers Are the Angels. But if you want to read about a journey across a scarred land that deals with the questions of good and evil and has a heroine who is tough and funny and instantly likeable, this is the book for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great book and with a great heroine.

    Temple, a fifteen-year-old girl, wanders the broken landscape of a destroyed world. Although it's never clear what transpired, it's assumed that some sort of nuclear event wiped out most of civilization. What's left are ruins. There are small pockets of people here and there trying to put the world back together, but in addition to these colonies, there are others. Mainly, those that return from the dead. Zombies, slugs, meatskins. They lurch through the streets and crawl upon the ground. Although they are a nuisance, their lack of speed allows for easy disposal and Temple can't remember a time when they didn't exist. Along the way, Temple meets some interesting characters. Self-sufficient to a fault, she realizes along the way that people matter, that SHE matters and it becomes a journey of self-discovery. I was completely surprised by The Reapers are the Angels. Just a few pages in, I was thinking, "What have I gotten myself into?" The opening was gritty and sort of sickening and another blogger even mentioned to me that she couldn't get past the story's opening. But there was something there that kept me going. I do believe it was story's heroine, Temple. She's endearing in a backward, kiss-ass way. A diamond in-the-rough, so to speak. She reminded me a lot of Lisbeth Salander from the Millennium Trilogy. Temple is tough, but inherently good and she doesn't even know it. This innocence is what reminded me of Lisbeth. As Temple makes her trek across the country, she runs into all sorts of interesting and sometimes, vile characters. At times her interactions with them are uncomfortable. I say uncomfortable because their intentions are not always admirable and she knows it and sort of talks out loud about what is going on. There is one scene with these giant, mutated people. This particular scene is incredibly disturbing. Not disturbing in a graphic way (well, maybe a little), but twisted, backwoods, disturbing. It reminded me of this scene in Texas Chainsaw Massacre where they are all at the dinner table "eating." Remember that scene? Dysfunctional with a capital D. There were times where I felt this book was just wild!! Other times, there was this quiet, beautiful thing going on and I would actually linger on the page a bit longer to enjoy it. This is one of those books that you cannot peg at first glance. It has zombies in it, but it's not a book about zombies. It's about good vs. evil, trust, responsibility, regret, appreciating what you have and there are larger themes here dealing with death and religion and life after death. Overall, very thought provoking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely loved it!

    Oh boy! I stayed up way too late last night - I literally could not put down The Reapers Are The Angels by Alden Bell. I have a fondness for post-apocalyptic novels and this one grabbed and wouldn't let go of me 'til the last page.

    Sometime in the future, zombies have stumbled about the land for over twenty five years, eating whatever humans they can catch. Temple has been born into this world and knows no other. She remembers living with an old man and a boy who might have been her brother. Now fifteen and with heartache and tragedy her constant companions, she travels what is left of the world that was, seeking something. Her chance encounter with a man named Maury could be her salvation - although she doesn't recognize it as such. And an encounter with a man named Moses could be her downfall.

    Reapers was such a great read on so many levels. The uncertainty of what Bell would come up with next in this world and what Temple would encounter had me holding my breath and frantically turning pages. Temple as a character was fascinating. Old beyond her years, born into a world with no compass, she has her own sense of morality and direction. The conversations she has with those she meets in her travels and herself are quite philosophical.

    "See it's a daily chore tryin to do the right thing. Not because the right thing is hard to do - it ain't. It's just cause the right thing - well, the right thing's got a way of eluding you. You give me a compass that tells good from bad, and boy I'll be a soldier of the righteous truth. But them two things are a slippery business and tellin then apart might as well be a blind man's guess. And sometimes, you just get tired of pokin at the issue. Those are the times you just do something because you're tired of thinkin on it. And that's when the devil better get his pencil ready to tally up a score, cause the time for nuances is gone. And you think, that's it for me on this world. You think, all right then hell is my home."
    The setting is mostly in the Southern states and has a distinct Southern gothic tone. In the cover blurb, author Michael Gruber compared it to Flannery OConnor's style - an apt description. Athough the book has zombies, they are more of a supporting platform than a main focus. How they came to be is never explained. Granted, there is a fair amount of violence and blood spilled, so be warned. But it is Temple and her personal journey that captivated me.

    An excellent read for me - definitely 5 stars. This novel would appeal to those who enjoyed Cormac McCarthy's The Road or Richard Matheson's I Am Legend. I can see this being made into a movie as well.

    (interesting sidenote - the title seems to be taken from the Bible - Matthew, Chapter 13, verse 39 King James version) "The enemy that sowed them is the devil; the harvest is the end of the world; and the reapers are the angels."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review - The Reapers are the Angels by Alden Bell

    (Advance Readers Copy)
    Holt Paperbacks 2010
    Trade Paperback
    240 pages

    In light of the wealth of post-apocalyptic stories like The Book of Eli, The Road, and The Passage, now filling book shelves and movie theatres all across America "The Reapers Are the Angels" by Alden Bell turned out to be both a pleasant surprise and a real treat to read and in some ways is better than the others I've mentioned above. I had never heard of this book or the author before so had no preconceived notions concerning any hype or advertising that might be attached. I delved into it without pause and found that I literally could not put it down. Perhaps its my penchant towards post-apocalyptic fiction (you'll notice I used the word "wealth" above for good reason) which goes back to my early readings of book like Deus Irae, A Canticle For Liebowitz, and Dahlgren. So, I knew I had to read this as soon as it appeared in the mailbox.

    And I did, and was quite pleased to find what I believe might one of the year's best sub-genre releases. Remarkably, Reapers fits snuggly into the mold set by the Science Fiction classics mentioned earlier. The character development is extraordinary, the antagonist(s) (and yes there are more than one), and the main characters, and even the zombies, known as meatsacks, are believable and well-written. One character, and I won't spoil the story here, gets into an almost impossible situation. Later in the story he appears again with no explanation given of his escape. One wonders if another book set in the same universe from this particular characters' POV isn't in the making. I'd pay to read that one, too.

    4 out of 5 stars

    The Alternative
    Southeast Wisconsin

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic, quick read!

    FANTASTIC book!!! I was drawn in from the very beginning and flipped through the pages as quickly as I could! This novel never slows down and keeps you interested from beginning to end.....and what a shocking end it is!!!
    HIGHLY recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An awesome post-apocalyptic read!

    It is a bleak and desolate world, with pockets of humanity scattered around the country. The world is inhabited by both humans and zombies (referred to in the book as "meatskins" or "slugs"), although these zombies really aren't quite as terrifying as in most zombie stories. They're sorta slow and meandering, and relatively easy to defeat. I'm really surprised at how many people get killed or attacked by them and how feared they are, all things considered!

    In this desolate world, it is the humans that are far more dangerous than the zombie population. And alone in this world is a young, tenacious fifteen-year-old girl, being chased by her own demons.

    I love Temple. She's haunting, but strong and courageous and smart and sympathetic. There is really something of a kinship between her and the character of Moses Todd. They really "get" one another. It's as if they are playing by the same rules in the same game, while everyone else in the world is playing by a different set of rules. The two of them are the reapers in a world of saints and sinners , and Temple is a little uncomfortable with her role in this world.

    I also love the cover of this book! It transfixes me everytime my eyes fall on it.

    Oh, please someone make this into a movie! What a fun movie this could be! I can see the scenes playing out in my head. However I also have a bit of an alternate ending playing out in my head as well.

    There is definitely some "suspension of disbelief" required, beyond that required for a basic zombie/post-apocalyptic story. For instance, the fact that this is supposed to be something like 25 years after zombies appeared on the scene and the breakdown of government and society and life as it was known, and yet there is still gas available in working gas stations, and the gas hasn't gone bad after sitting for decades. Shoot! The gas can go bad in a weed-eater or lawn mower after just sitting for one season!

    I really enjoyed this story! If you like post-apocalyptic, give this one a tumble. It's a quick and easy read, very well-written, with some fun, rip-roaring moments. I look forward to more from Alden Bell!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    grim convergence of horror with science fiction

    Fifteen years old Temple has learned one thing in her life; either one kills the zombies and other predators or they die. She can never remember a time before the Meatskins when the globe was relatively safe, but recalls the old man and her younger sibling before she was forced to begin her trek to nowhere.

    At an alleged safe house, human Abraham Todd assaults her. Following her credo, she kills him but flees before his family or allies can come after her. Outraged by the teen's murder of his brother, Moses vows to find, torture and kill Temple. On her trek, Temple finds a dim witted mute Maury who starts tagging along with her. She cannot shake him and soon feels responsible for his safety; as he brings back memories she would prefer to forget. Meanwhile Moses stalks her and the meatskin zombies chase her and her companion.

    The world of Alden Bell is a dark place, a terrible place to live but Temple refuses to die so circumstances of survival has made her one of the fittest and toughest. Temple makes the grim convergence of horror with science fiction work as she seeks redemption instead of the remorse that fills her soul. Her journey is deadly battling predators of all kind; some who would rape and then kill her; other who would eat her to death. The Reapers Are the Angeles is an exciting fast-paced thriller that grips readers from start to finish.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4