Customer Reviews for

The Reapers Are the Angels: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is a slow and emotionally intense story. The main protagoni

This is a slow and emotionally intense story. The main protagonist is a hard and simple young woman who is as kind as her circumstances allow her to be. I'll be honest, I cried over this book. The various people you meet through Temple are an interesting and varied lot ...
This is a slow and emotionally intense story. The main protagonist is a hard and simple young woman who is as kind as her circumstances allow her to be. I'll be honest, I cried over this book. The various people you meet through Temple are an interesting and varied lot and you get to see how vastly different people can turn out in a post-apocalyptic world. All of the characterizations made sense for the situations the characters were in, and the world building was excellent.

The only reason this got a four instead of a five from me was that I didn't find it believable that people and society would still have some of the luxuries they were shown to have in the story.

Fair warning: It's a brutal story.

posted by TMBreck on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Be prepared to suspend your disbelief

I'm more than willing to accept that Zombies roam the earth, but some aspects of this novel defy belief. Society collapsed at least 15 years ago, and yet the protagonist can hop into a car abandoned for decades and start it. What about fuel spoilage, battery drain? Enti...
I'm more than willing to accept that Zombies roam the earth, but some aspects of this novel defy belief. Society collapsed at least 15 years ago, and yet the protagonist can hop into a car abandoned for decades and start it. What about fuel spoilage, battery drain? Entire cities have power. How? Who's maintaining the infrastructure? This might have been a readable novel, but the author's lazy world building spoiled it for this reader.

posted by GotZombie on July 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Stellar 5 out of 5 stars

    I came across this book over the summer at my local library. It was not my type of book but something told me to pick it up. I was glad I did. So beautifully written. A must read even if you are not into the whole zombie invasion craze. :-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    I think it's an ok book but it's sort of confusing. I wouldn't r

    I think it's an ok book but it's sort of confusing. I wouldn't recommend this book. The plot is good but not the best. I'd rate it 2 out of 5 stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I thought I would be a fan of this book. I really did. I like

    I thought I would be a fan of this book. I really did. I like zombie books, and I like a good survival story in a post-apocalyptic setting. Combine that with a strong heroine, and I thought I had myself an enjoyable novel. Unfortunately, I was wrong. I did not like this book.

    It started out well enough. Actually, scratch that. It started off with me wondering how I received an e-Book with such broken formatting. I quickly realized that it was another of those stylistic things. I’ve been taken aback by this before in Blood Red Road and Shatter Me, so I moved past it and did my best to move on. However, I think it does bear mentioning that you should be prepared to find zero quotation marks in this book. In a book that uses dialogue and inner thoughts to drive the plot, it sometimes becomes difficult to muddle through exactly who is speaking, and if Temple is speaking aloud or in her head.

    That aside, the book started off on a pretty good foot. It was a book about a young girl making her way in a country defeated by mindless zombies. She is thoughtful, considering God and the way things may have been before — when there were enough people to keep civilization running smoothly. But Temple knows that God works in mysterious ways, and that nature will always win. She moves on from place to place as the zombies or nature itself force her out. Pretty soon on from there it becomes apparent what the problem with this book is. At least, what I consider to be the problem.

    That is, the author. Trying far too hard. This novel is chock full of purple prose and leading situations. Alden Bell has tried too hard to craft a literary zombie novel, and to me it shows. This is a book the author clearly intended to be analyzed in an English class, with students pain-stakingly examining between the lines for evidence of allegory, symbolism, motifs and themes. In my opinion, this is not a book written to be enjoyed, and it was not. I stuck it through to the end, because I hate leaving a book unfinished. But by the last few chapters, I was sorry I had done so, because the forced literary elements just piled on at the novel’s conclusion.

    I’d only recommend this novel if you consider yourself a person that enjoys the kind of work that goes with reading a novel not just for enjoyment, but for hidden messages. Perhaps you will find yourself a good match for this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!!!!!

    Best book ive read in awhile.
    Great gore.
    Very well written.
    With a million deep life lessons.
    Everyone can learn a something from this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Awesome

    I loved this book. I took off one star, however, because of the strange and in my mind unnecessary twist in the middle of the book during Temples journey to return her mentally challenged friend to his home. I liked this book because the danger was not really sprouted from the zombies, but from the other humans Temple comes across throughout the book. Its more of a simple survival book rather than a zombie book. Temple has grown up only knowing this post apocalyptic zombie world, its nothing new to her, and in reading her story you believe how this could really happen. It is strange that the author chose not to put quotes into the dialogue so it takes a moment to realized characters are speaking and not thinking. The story reminded me a lot of The Book of Eli for some reason, and if you were a fan of that film you might enjoy this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A literary zombie read? Not a fan.

    The story starts off just fine - the writing superb - Temple has been living on a remote island that finally gets breached with its first "meatskin" (zombie). Which means more will eventually be coming, so she decides to head back to the mainland (America) and make the most of her time left on Earth by seeing the sights. Which makes total sense - I mean, why stay holed up when you can travel the world, that is, as long as you are equipped to handle zombies. Thankfully, the zombies are the slow-moving type in this book, so really her chances of survival are pretty phenomenal.

    So I was reading along just fine for the first 50 pages or so, and then I hit a roadblock when Temple picks up a traveling companion who is virtually mute and things just get weirder and weirder. And maybe I didn't read too closely to see if their relationship changed, but I didn't appreciate Temple's attitude towards her unexpected (and unwanted) companion - sure, she showed pity by having him tag along, but did she have to treat him like a dog?

    Long story short, The Reapers Are The Angels feels more like a literary zombie fiction that might fall in the same category as any of William Faulkner's books (which I haven't read, so maybe I'm off, but I totally had the same reaction!), but with zombies. It was like The Forest Of Hands And Teeth / Carrie Ryan, but the more adult version with some more grown-up themes, and without as much amazing vibes.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Amazing Read!

    this book was great. Temple's profile just kinda sticks out if u ask me. It all kinda starts off for when she meets ruby that's kinda where the whole story launches. i highly recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Temple has some bad-ass survival skills. Zombies (otherwise known as meatskins) plague the earth and the only she has to rely on is herself. If escaping zombies wasn't enough, Temple finds herself being hunted by more than the walking dead.

    I enjoyed this book for the most part. The thing I didn't like was that there were no quotation marks. The plot was great and temple was easy to relate to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4