Customer Reviews for

Reaper's Property (Reapers Motorcycle Club Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

If you like Kristin Ashely, you will love this book. 

If you like Kristin Ashely, you will love this book. 

posted by Jlunsen on January 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

White-trash comes full circle...

I read a few reviews about this book and decided to give it a try. I won't say it's not worth the time. It's actually pretty well written and it does have an interesting story. The book is in the first person, but that's part of my problem. I don't really like books in ...
I read a few reviews about this book and decided to give it a try. I won't say it's not worth the time. It's actually pretty well written and it does have an interesting story. The book is in the first person, but that's part of my problem. I don't really like books in the first person. This is especially true if I don't like the head of the character I'm in. Marie, the heroine, alternates between being an idiot and fulfilling every white trash stereotype in the dictionary. It's hard to understand why she does what she does. On another note, the author clearly has a love-on for SoA. I'm not a really a fan of the show, but it's clear she did most of her research after watching all the seasons back to back...lol.

Overall, if you're looking for something to pass the time this is the book for you. Don't expect anything special....

posted by charl_huntress on March 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this book after Reaper's Legacy, never realised it was #1

    I read this book after Reaper's Legacy, never realised it was #1 in the series, and to be honest, I don't think interchanging the order affected the read of either, so they can be stand-alones.

    Firstly, Joanna Wylde is a new-to-me author, recommended by a friend. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and will be adding any others in this series to my wishlist.

    The story is a romance but certainly not a "conventional" romance, so if you're looking for light and fluffy, this series is not it. I don't know anything about motorcycle clubs, so I can't make any comment about the knowledge imparted in this series but even if this was all drawn from the author's imagination (which I know it's probably not) the world building is engrossing and draws you right in.

    Fair warning - the motorcycle club world isn't pretty in some parts (the author doesn't hold back on the violence, etc., it's written into the story and it makes for a gritty, confronting read at times, but this is part of the "ride". If you don't like reading about that sort of thing, then this series is not for you.).

    And there are some clearly defined roles men and women play in the world. I have to say, like Marie (and Sophie, in Bk#2) I didn't get, or like, the the terms "property of", or degrading names women who mixed with the clubs were labelled with.

    The whole idea of motorcycle clubs being a part of the "real" world yet living to their own rules and regarding themselves as outside "the law", handling their own problems in their own way, definitely made me uncomfortable, BUT - and this is where every reader has to make their own call on this - I understand these elements much better after reading the books, and I totally think it worked in the context of the world being portrayed (real life or fictional).

    These elements pushed my buttons, made me squirm, made me question if I really wanted to read this sort of story, yet the connection I felt with the characters, their emotional journey's, grabbed me enough to keep going.

    With that understanding and acceptance, I could look past my own personal dislikes/judgements/opinions, and allow myself to read Marie & Horse's story, be immersed in Wylde's world-building, and enjoy it for what it was.

    One of the highlights is how the MC world is revealed through Marie's eyes. I might not have come from Marie's background or shared similar life experiences but I walked this journey with her, was introduced into the world through her eyes, and this perspective helped me understand Horse and the Reapers. Working my way in form the outside, seeing and reacting pretty much like Marie to certain things engaged me, connected me to her, and to the story.

    Horse is a complex character, and I loved him. He's a returned soldier, ex-military. The author made him so darn "human", unapologetic for his lifestyle choices, bold, confronting, a hottie, but what really hit me was the scene at the end of the book when he deals with the death of a brother/soldier who's deployed O/S. That made me cry.

    Why only 4 stars - as I said, I read this after Reaper's Legacy, and the only negative I have is that the female characters of Marie and Sophie sounded similar. Both were characters who came from the outside in to the Reapers, their impressions and experiences were sort of the same, and it was reflected in their "voice" (the first person narrative). This is probably just me, my own very personal reaction, and everyone else will see/read it/feel differently. Overall though, this was such a small issue, but enough for me to give it 4 stars rather than 5 (can I just take a half star off and make it 4.5 instead?).

    Put simple, there's so many layers and facets to this story, and despite the elements that made me uncomfortable, I really, really enjoyed this book.

    I can't speak highly enough of it. There is so much packed into the story, so much that I like, I'll be going to back to read it over and over, because the more I reflect the more I marvel at how well the author has constructed everything - the characters, the realism, the issues confronting the characters, the secondary characters, the MC world, everything - it's a keeper.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Hot hot hot. Loved the entire storyline and Horse is truly a hun

    Hot hot hot. Loved the entire storyline and Horse is truly a hunk of burning love. Loved the interactions between him and Marie. At first it was difficult to always like their interaction because she was so naive and he could be hard to deal with. It broke my heart for her when he came after her for the 'deal" and treated her so cruelly. He wanted her to be his and did not completely read all of her text messages. Marie handled things pretty well for a difficult situation. Of course, Horse's motivations were "pure" to him because he wanted her to want him...just him. I really hope that Joanna will consider a sequel or a series with this group. I loved the entire Reaper's group. I'm thinking the daughter deserves her story :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2015

    Great

    Book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    Hot and Saussy!

    Wowza! This was one hot and steamy book. Take a tall, handsome, brawny biker and add a girl down on her luck and you have sparks flying. Some of the scenes I needed to read more than once because I couldn't get them out of my mind. Yeah, they were that kind of hot, hot and HOT. This will go on the shelf as a favorite MC book to re-read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Recommended

    I really enjoyed the story line, but it had a little to much sex detail for my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sexy, tattooed bikers are hot, their passion is hotter and I lov

    Sexy, tattooed bikers are hot, their passion is hotter and I love their alpha male possessiveness when it comes to their women, or specifically, their “property.” I really enjoyed the story and learning about the hierarchy of the MC (motorcycle club). It was also refreshing to learn that this MC was started by Marines and gets most of their membership from them as well. 

    Women tended to be a focal point in the group, whether they were just used for sex, worked for the Reapers’ strip club, or were few of the lucky women who were claimed by a Reaper. I’m not a fan of cheater books and while this book came close, I was happy it didn’t. There is, however, a lot of disturbing scenes involving sex and violence that some readers may be uncomfortable with. 

    The sex scenes were explosive, raw and titillating. The journey to happiness wasn’t an easy one for Horse and Marie. There were a few times I didn’t think they’d last, but their determination to make things work and their love for each other carried them through the bad times. That makes this hard-won happily ever after even more beautiful. 

    Joanna Wylde has me enthralled and I’m looking forward to reading the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    good book

    couldn't put it down wanted more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Loved this book.

    Really enjoyed this book, first book I have read by this author. Hope to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Good

    Good start to the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Wow

    This was a well written and just loved all of those steamy scenes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    good read

    This was a good read but I have mixed feeling
    about Hoarse and the whole biker thing ..I will
    be reading the next one in series and I hope
    It will be more in tune with what they are
    really like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    This is not my usual read, but the book drew me in. I really lov

    This is not my usual read, but the book drew me in. I really loved this book. While there were parts of it that I had a hard time with (references to drug cartels and off-shore bank accounts) I could not put this down until I finished. Marie leaves her high school sweetheart/husband after he abuses her when she confronts him about cheating. She goes to live with her brother Jeff in his trailer, which is where she meets the members of the Reaper’s MC. She is fascinated by Horse. Won’t tell you how he came by that name but I am sure your imagination can fill it in. Horse is also fascinated by Marie. He has never wanted someone to be his “old lady” but interacting with Marie changes his way of thinking. Needless to say the road is rocky. There are misunderstandings, drunken texts, fights and some underhanded dealing. There is quite a bit of heavy duty smexing in this book and some scenes (voyeur, fighting and making up) that are not for the faint of heart. Is this book for everyone? No. But this is about a Motorcycle Club– so take your cues from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Not your traditional love story.  

    Not your traditional love story.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    I really liked this story. My only problem is that once again the heroine gave in too easily when he messed up. This is the trend in most romance books. If not for that, it would get 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommend.

    Good story. Typical motorcycle club. At times, the female lead Marie- drove me crazy, always over come by lust. The story stayed interesting for the most part, hard to put down. I recommend reading this book.
    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Great Biker Book

    Well worth readinng n a good story. If you like harleys, buff alpha men n good loving n story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Engaging

    Read it in one day. Well written. Good main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you like hot, sexy bikers THIS BOOK is for YOU!!!!  I love Kr

    If you like hot, sexy bikers THIS BOOK is for YOU!!!!  I love Kristin Ashely and this book reminded me so much of her books.  Can't wait to read more of Joanna Wylde's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Love it

    Good book to escape to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Enjoyed it!

    Starts slow but gets better as story unfolds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4