Customer Reviews for

The Reason for God Discussion Guide: Conversations on Faith and Life

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Modern-Day C.S. Lewis

Well, let me put it this way. Tim Keller nailed it on the head. I knew coming in it was good, but I did not think it would be THAT good. First part, he shows the flaws in the common objections of Christianity. And shows the validity of the assertions of Christianity...
Well, let me put it this way. Tim Keller nailed it on the head. I knew coming in it was good, but I did not think it would be THAT good. First part, he shows the flaws in the common objections of Christianity. And shows the validity of the assertions of Christianity. I think this is a book that Christians and Non-Christians (since he wasn't merely targeting Christians) can glean from. I was especially impressed with his chapter, "Christianity is a Straitjacket". Then again, I personally love the topic of Freedom.

posted by Renwick-Prime on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Nice Try, but...

...ultimately not what I hoped for. I was wanting a fresh, validating, positive response to Dawkins/Harris et al (the angry atheists) while also not swinging too far in the literalist direction. I was hoping for the sweet spot, and instead got a bit of the slightly stal...
...ultimately not what I hoped for. I was wanting a fresh, validating, positive response to Dawkins/Harris et al (the angry atheists) while also not swinging too far in the literalist direction. I was hoping for the sweet spot, and instead got a bit of the slightly stale warmed-over C. S. Lewis. I like Lewis, but I wanted something fresh...and non-circular, logically. If you are looking for that middle path between militant atheism and the intellectual straight-jacket of Christian literalism, I would recommend Marcus Borg's The Heart of Christianity, rather than Timothy Keller's pretty good effort. He ultimately veers toward a literalistic view of Christianity which is intellectually unfulfilling for many.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Modern-Day C.S. Lewis

    Well, let me put it this way. Tim Keller nailed it on the head. I knew coming in it was good, but I did not think it would be THAT good. First part, he shows the flaws in the common objections of Christianity. And shows the validity of the assertions of Christianity. I think this is a book that Christians and Non-Christians (since he wasn't merely targeting Christians) can glean from. I was especially impressed with his chapter, "Christianity is a Straitjacket". Then again, I personally love the topic of Freedom.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great for New Christians

    As with most books arguing in favor of Chrisitanity I don't think it will change anyone's position. For me, it was thought provoking and inspired me to look deeper into the reasons for my own faith. As a devout Christian it did force me to re-examine my motivation and spiritual foundation. I think it is a excellent read for those who are Christians and want to continue down the path of becoming closer to God.

    If you are a non-believer it will take more than a book to change your perspective, but this is a nice start.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Reason For God - Is Clear

    For those who know God, the God of the Bible seen through His Son Jesus Christ you will be encouraged and challenged to life your live more joyously in Christ's unending love, grace and mercy. For those searching for meaning and ultimately for God - the one and only Creator of the Universe - well you will find Him. Timothy Keller does a great job explaining the faith found in Jesus Christ and what it means to truly be a Christian. His insight into our skepticism breaks down the arguments to their lowest denominator and then bridges us back to discovering the God has been there all along, waiting for you to find Him - actually you need to ask God to find you (read the book and you'll understand!) I Challenge you to read this book and come to a different conclusion.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    Religion versus Christianity

    Tim Keller eloquently makes the distinction between religion and Christianity betwen grace and works, and how God's grace to sinners humbles us to want to obey God in appreciaition for what Jesus has done rather than feeling guilty and fearsome, and compelled to obey.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    A modern, extraordinary apologetic work

    Imagine your favorite professor in college. Now imagine him teaching, in that same comfortable-but-confident conversational style, about the most important topic you could imagine: does God exist, and if so, how do I know (or, what do I do now)?

    A highly recommended book on why it's rational to believe and why it's
    ok to sometimes doubt.

    Considering the complex nature of the questions this book addresses, it's remarkable that he balances an easy-to-follow and interesting style with a brilliant intellect and great points, both original and from 2,000 years of philosophical, scientific and theological sources.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic book.

    Very clear, honest, and engaging.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another recommendation

    To "Anonymous" No. 2: May I recommend HOW GOOD IS GOOD ENOUGH by Andy Stanley. Short and to the point, it is a simple and straightforward explanation of our need for a savior.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    No reason, No God, No logic

    I am a yet-to-be-believer who likes to read books about the validity of Christianity, proGod books if you will, I also read books that are proatheist. That being said this book was not very helpful at all. I found Part one of the book to be...how can I say this, but a complete waste of time. He makes so many presumptuous assumptions, but states them as absolute facts. He talks about love, like their is an absolute definition of the word. His whole piano player metaphor about how doing something, anything, enslaves you!!! What pish-posh. Obviously if you do something it restricts you from doing something else, but if you are doing something you like, you love, are you being enslaved??? Almost everything he presents as absolutes, I see handfuls of counter arguments. 'Only a Sith deals in absolutes'--Obi-Wan, and to this Keller would obviously refute that Obi-Wan's statement is an absolute. Duh. All of Part One is constructed on a elementary school style argument, which is: 'I know I am but so are you.' He encourages people to be open-minded, which is great advice, but there is not much value in that for people who are already open-minded. If you are an atheist who reads book about religion and god, in hopes to find them, then this is not the book for you. Obviously if you are an atheist reading about god, then you are already open to new ideas. Part two of the book is ok, but nothing I did not read in Mere Christianity. If you are trying to find God, more specifically Jesus, then I recommend the afore mentioned Mere Christianity and The Case for Christ, two very good books and two very different styles of presentation. I recommend this book to people who are Christians who think they are 'good' people, who think their doo-doo don't stink. And to atheists who think that Christians and other god believing persons are idiots, this book is a good start, but my recommendation is to read Case for Christ first. Keller does sort of counter some of Dawkins 'The God Delusion' arguments, but I would put The God Delusion on top of this book. I'd give Delusion say 3 and a half stars.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    A Nice Try, but...

    ...ultimately not what I hoped for. I was wanting a fresh, validating, positive response to Dawkins/Harris et al (the angry atheists) while also not swinging too far in the literalist direction. I was hoping for the sweet spot, and instead got a bit of the slightly stale warmed-over C. S. Lewis. I like Lewis, but I wanted something fresh...and non-circular, logically. If you are looking for that middle path between militant atheism and the intellectual straight-jacket of Christian literalism, I would recommend Marcus Borg's The Heart of Christianity, rather than Timothy Keller's pretty good effort. He ultimately veers toward a literalistic view of Christianity which is intellectually unfulfilling for many.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Good Reasons for defending the faith

    What i like most about Keller's book, The Reason for God, is it gives you a logical, common sense defense of the Christian faith without having to slam other religious traditions. It strikes me that Keller is fair and balanced in his approach, giving equal time to the arguments against and the reasons for believing in Christianity. As G.K. Chesterton noted, its not that the Christian ideal has been tried and found wanting, it has been found difficult and left untried. That is what I most enjoyed about the book, Keller gives us many reasons to try or practice the faith even its most difficult parts for it will deliver the ultimate reward of finding salvation from a loving and just God. In addition, C. S. Lewis fans will especially enjoy this book as Keller liberially quotes from his many favorites such as Mere Christianity, Four Loves and The Great Divorce. Finally, I am now better prepared to explain my Christian faith as well as to understand and practice it in my own life. You will be a better person for reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    A reviewer

    Just as C.S. Lewis answered the skeptics of his day, Tim Keller has written what feels very much like an updated version of 'Mere Christianity'. It has all the hallmarks of becoming a classic. Like Lewis, he goes through the major objections modern people have to Christianity and shows how nearly by logic alone these objections are easily answered. They simply don't stand up to scrutiny and reason. For Christians who get anxious when someone challenges their faith with questions like 'how could a good God allow suffering' or 'how can I believe in a religion that is so hostile to science?', you will love this book. These objections are easily defeated with a little knowledge and a little logic. And Keller is a master at showing believers how they can answer these objections in a loving, patient and even charming way! When you really understand these issues, there is no reason to ever be anxious or defensive when a friend confronts you with these questions. And for non-believers, you will find Keller's logic insightful and illuminating. As he does with his Sunday sermons, which are directed to a very secular New York audience, he will challenge you to think. You may not walk away with your mind changed, but your beliefs will be challenged and your thoughts will be clarified. After all, it is when our beliefs are challenged that they are either changed or clarified. So, don't be afraid to take the challenge! Each question is discussed in a single chapter. These questions could have books and books written about them, but that was not the intent of this book. Don't expect a detailed treatise on each question. Rather this book gives a concise overview laying out the logical, factual and historical frameworks through which these questions can be considered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    It makes you think! -- Highly Recommended

    As a Christian, It makes me think. Why I think what I think and why I do what I do. The most beautiful reason for me is that there are corrections in the faith, not with God but with people !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If You Have Questions...

    Keller has answers. Perhaps, as he admits, not ever answer, but this book is filled with thought provoking arguements for the existence of God. I read this when I was experiencing a period of doubt in my personal faith and this helped me tremendously! Mr. Keller has a way of approaching questions of God and the Bible that makes you think differently about beliefs you have held to be true and re-access them, which strengthens your faith. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has questions about their personal faith, or the Bible, or doubts the existence of a god at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    As you can see, I rated this book the highest in every catagory.

    This is a succint answer to the New Atheists. It's a book that any intellectual or thinking person should be willing to examine. I wish I could buy a case full of this book and give it to people who are willing to truly examine the reason for God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great for Discussions

    I bought this book for a bible study at church. I would even recommend it for people who don't believe in God. Tim Keller really knows what he's talking about and addresses topics that even I as a Christian am skeptical about. At times he words things that I have to sit there and think about because it writes it at times in not a matter of fact sort of way. Good book. Great for discussions and debates and if you have doubts about God and his existence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Very Inspiring.

    The author cuts through all the bs and delivers an informative and thought provocative analaysis on the subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3