Customer Reviews for

The Reason for God: Belief in an Age of Skepticism

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Lucid and Convincing

The casual glance of the front cover may lead one to conclude that this must be a plain, and perhaps boring, volume laden with old, long theological words. This couldn't be farther from the truth. This is one of the most well written piece of popular apologetic I have...
The casual glance of the front cover may lead one to conclude that this must be a plain, and perhaps boring, volume laden with old, long theological words. This couldn't be farther from the truth. This is one of the most well written piece of popular apologetic I have read, and it successfully addresses the most modern issues that plague the minds of those in the post-modern societies. What I really appreciate about Pastor Keller's writing is that he effectively brings together vast array of knowledge from various different fields of knowledge, from science to philosophy to literature, to support his claims. For instance, in one of the chapters, he was referencing a story written by Flannery O'Conner, not only providing a deep analysis (which I was able to reference later on to help a friend who was reading the story), but also using it to a great effect to support his argument.

This book provides great answers to many of common objections to Christian faith, and I highly recommend to the seekers as well as those would like to learn to be able to defend their faith.

posted by hyunlee on March 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Nice Try, but...

...ultimately not what I hoped for. I was wanting a fresh, validating, positive response to Dawkins/Harris et al (the angry atheists) while also not swinging too far in the literalist direction. I was hoping for the sweet spot, and instead got a bit of the slightly stal...
...ultimately not what I hoped for. I was wanting a fresh, validating, positive response to Dawkins/Harris et al (the angry atheists) while also not swinging too far in the literalist direction. I was hoping for the sweet spot, and instead got a bit of the slightly stale warmed-over C. S. Lewis. I like Lewis, but I wanted something fresh...and non-circular, logically. If you are looking for that middle path between militant atheism and the intellectual straight-jacket of Christian literalism, I would recommend Marcus Borg's The Heart of Christianity, rather than Timothy Keller's pretty good effort. He ultimately veers toward a literalistic view of Christianity which is intellectually unfulfilling for many.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Good Reasons for defending the faith

    What i like most about Keller's book, The Reason for God, is it gives you a logical, common sense defense of the Christian faith without having to slam other religious traditions. It strikes me that Keller is fair and balanced in his approach, giving equal time to the arguments against and the reasons for believing in Christianity. As G.K. Chesterton noted, its not that the Christian ideal has been tried and found wanting, it has been found difficult and left untried. That is what I most enjoyed about the book, Keller gives us many reasons to try or practice the faith even its most difficult parts for it will deliver the ultimate reward of finding salvation from a loving and just God. In addition, C. S. Lewis fans will especially enjoy this book as Keller liberially quotes from his many favorites such as Mere Christianity, Four Loves and The Great Divorce. Finally, I am now better prepared to explain my Christian faith as well as to understand and practice it in my own life. You will be a better person for reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    A reviewer

    Just as C.S. Lewis answered the skeptics of his day, Tim Keller has written what feels very much like an updated version of 'Mere Christianity'. It has all the hallmarks of becoming a classic. Like Lewis, he goes through the major objections modern people have to Christianity and shows how nearly by logic alone these objections are easily answered. They simply don't stand up to scrutiny and reason. For Christians who get anxious when someone challenges their faith with questions like 'how could a good God allow suffering' or 'how can I believe in a religion that is so hostile to science?', you will love this book. These objections are easily defeated with a little knowledge and a little logic. And Keller is a master at showing believers how they can answer these objections in a loving, patient and even charming way! When you really understand these issues, there is no reason to ever be anxious or defensive when a friend confronts you with these questions. And for non-believers, you will find Keller's logic insightful and illuminating. As he does with his Sunday sermons, which are directed to a very secular New York audience, he will challenge you to think. You may not walk away with your mind changed, but your beliefs will be challenged and your thoughts will be clarified. After all, it is when our beliefs are challenged that they are either changed or clarified. So, don't be afraid to take the challenge! Each question is discussed in a single chapter. These questions could have books and books written about them, but that was not the intent of this book. Don't expect a detailed treatise on each question. Rather this book gives a concise overview laying out the logical, factual and historical frameworks through which these questions can be considered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Any philosophy can become a religion and anything in the sky

    On earth in the sea or below the earth can become a g d. A belief grows from fron a firm belief then to rules then laws and then commands first the belief then the cult then the recognized religion dissents sects and back to a cult and non believers and observers. i think healthy diet and prevention therefore of disease is the new one. Mars is back but under the new name of national security any religion still honor the not kill except amish mennoite and quakers.?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This book was just great
    the way Timothy Keller explained things in this book was exceptional.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A much needed work in 21st century postmodernism

    Timothy Keller¿s most renowned book is a solid apologetics book explaining why Christianity is not only reasonable, but the true path to God. Such a thought provokes much controversy and heat in the midst of our ¿tolerant¿ and post modernist world, but if such a claim is in fact true, then the truth must be proclaimed no matter what. Keller uses this book to answer some of the most prevalent objections to the Christian faith.

    Keller devotes sections of the book to explaining the objection at hand. He does a respectable job by analyzing the strength and weakness of such objections, then explains what the Bible has to say about the issue at hand, and uses sound reason and logic to enhance his arguments.

    Overall, Reason For God is a good apologetics book in defense of the Christian faith. I wouldn¿t say it¿s as great as Frank Turek and Gary Habermas¿ work, but it¿s nonetheless, a good start for seeking unbelievers, and new Christians wanting to strengthen their faith.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Powerful reading about God. Highly recommended. I gave a copy to friends.

    As an Air Force fighter pilot and now environmentalk engineer, I stick to concrete facts and results. I have involved myself in community and church (Lutheran) activities and was repulsed by society - individual/committee actions are often illogical and perplexing. This book lays out the reasons God allows these activities, and convincingly substitutes the idea of what is MOST important to you? Overlook the minor arguments everyone talks about ad naseum, and simply do your best. A wonderful book, the best I have seen in my search for truth.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Keller at his best

    Tim Keller's rational reasoning for faith is a materpiece and should be read by anyone who is skeptical about Christianity

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very well-argued and contemporary

    Subtitled Belief in an Age of Skepticism, The Reason for God at first looked like it was going to another popular survey of scientific and historical reasons to accept the Bible. I do in fact thoroughly enjoy such surveys, but this book is something more. The author is the founding pastor of Redeemer Presbyterian Church in New York City, and he addresses real doubts and concerns expressed by real people-people who have indeed grown up in an age of skepticism.

    Timothy Keller draws his reasons not just from history and science, but from philosophy, literature, real-life conversations, human instinct and satisfying arguments. He leads not to a "believe me or else" type faith, but rather to a request that the reader, questioner, believer, skeptic or agnostic, take stock and really think. He allows questions as if they're a part of his growing as well as the reader's-he wants to know more about people and welcomes what they say. And he provides answers that might challenge many of us to reconsider at least a few unquestioned convictions.

    There are lots of things society wants us to know that aren't actually true. There are things some religious leaders demand we be sure of that might likewise be false. And in between, there are questions that can be answered, doubts that can be entertained, and hopes that can enlighten and assure. Not a book of techniques, or rules, or familiar explanations, this is a book I'd recommend to anyone who wants to know what they believe, why they believe it, or why others do or don't believe.



    Disclosure: I was give a copy of this book by a friend, to encourage conversation with someone dear to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    It makes you think! -- Highly Recommended

    As a Christian, It makes me think. Why I think what I think and why I do what I do. The most beautiful reason for me is that there are corrections in the faith, not with God but with people !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    This Is A Bridge To Understanding The Power of God

    Once again Keller delivers a book that will change your perception on the will of God. No other book has or probably ever will explain the trinity in such a meaningful way. This is Keller at his best. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," which takes an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. This book too will change your life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Very helpful, well presented

    Nailed my questions regarding skepticism on God and faith and presented a fair and common sense answers to them. The research was well presented. Keller's book definitely helped me in my search for answers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If You Have Questions...

    Keller has answers. Perhaps, as he admits, not ever answer, but this book is filled with thought provoking arguements for the existence of God. I read this when I was experiencing a period of doubt in my personal faith and this helped me tremendously! Mr. Keller has a way of approaching questions of God and the Bible that makes you think differently about beliefs you have held to be true and re-access them, which strengthens your faith. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has questions about their personal faith, or the Bible, or doubts the existence of a god at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    awnsers to your questians and doubts

    "the reason for God" has some exellent awnsers to many questians that everyone has or some many have doubts. this bestseller has some exellent evidence for your faith and courage whean you have the tough times to want to break away from your peace this pastor also offers exellent research for those who dont have any faith and offers them something to hang on to. easy to understand awnsers and deal with your faith. great gift idea for your friend or family.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Informative and Inspiring

    This is an excellent book. It sheds light on the real message of the Bible and the false ideas some of us have on what the gospel is. It informs, yet also inspires. The chapter on religion and the gospel enlightened me like nothing else ever has. It is profound in its scope, but very understandable and readable at the same time. I love this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    A Compelling Argument

    I really enjoyed this book. It was clear and straight-forward and gave both sides of the argument. Even as a Christian I have often wanted answers to these questions and it was inspiring to read the answers and his reasoning behind his answers. I often get asked these questions and now I have a book to recommend to people who are sincerely looking for the truth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    As you can see, I rated this book the highest in every catagory.

    This is a succint answer to the New Atheists. It's a book that any intellectual or thinking person should be willing to examine. I wish I could buy a case full of this book and give it to people who are willing to truly examine the reason for God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great for Discussions

    I bought this book for a bible study at church. I would even recommend it for people who don't believe in God. Tim Keller really knows what he's talking about and addresses topics that even I as a Christian am skeptical about. At times he words things that I have to sit there and think about because it writes it at times in not a matter of fact sort of way. Good book. Great for discussions and debates and if you have doubts about God and his existence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Very Inspiring.

    The author cuts through all the bs and delivers an informative and thought provocative analaysis on the subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8