Customer Reviews for

Reaver (Demonica Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

4.5 Stars

Worth Reading...
Total Pages: 317; Story Pages: 293
Reaver & Harvester's story.
Both are angel's. Everyone thinks Harvester is evil until they find out she fell from Heaven on purpose (to become a spy in Hell).
This one is part of the Demonica series but I think i...
Worth Reading...
Total Pages: 317; Story Pages: 293
Reaver & Harvester's story.
Both are angel's. Everyone thinks Harvester is evil until they find out she fell from Heaven on purpose (to become a spy in Hell).
This one is part of the Demonica series but I think it reads better if you wait until you read the Lords of Deliverance series first.

posted by catscougar1 on March 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Advance warning

Would have been GREAT if there was a warning that this book would be actually understood if you read the lords of deliverance books first. Now I have to go back and read those books (even though I already know some of the info as I had to squint through the first few ch...
Would have been GREAT if there was a warning that this book would be actually understood if you read the lords of deliverance books first. Now I have to go back and read those books (even though I already know some of the info as I had to squint through the first few chapters)... bloody hell!

posted by 720049 on August 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Advance warning

    Would have been GREAT if there was a warning that this book would be actually understood if you read the lords of deliverance books first. Now I have to go back and read those books (even though I already know some of the info as I had to squint through the first few chapters)... bloody hell!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    4.5 Stars

    Worth Reading...
    Total Pages: 317; Story Pages: 293
    Reaver & Harvester's story.
    Both are angel's. Everyone thinks Harvester is evil until they find out she fell from Heaven on purpose (to become a spy in Hell).
    This one is part of the Demonica series but I think it reads better if you wait until you read the Lords of Deliverance series first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    Another great read!

    I have read every book in this series and loved them all! I love finally seeing everything coming together to create this very well told story of pain, family, love, and also courage. Each new character introduced sometimes makes you hate them but go soft for them, even the bad guys. Great add to the collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Loved it!

    I accidently skipped ahead and didn't read the Lords of Deliverance before I read this. But this was still awesome! I think I will read it again after the I read the Hotsemen books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    I have been reading Larissa Ione since Pleasure Unbound... I lov

    I have been reading Larissa Ione since Pleasure Unbound... I love her books. This particular book seemed a little shorter than the rest, or maybe I power read it, i'm not sure. But these books are amazning and it has the ability to draw you in and you keep wanting more. I'm sure she will one day begin to get tired of writing, but I'll keep reading until she does. This book was great! Just as great as all the others!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reaver is a fantastically dark, gritty, battle filled adventure

    Reaver is a fantastically dark, gritty, battle filled adventure with a marvelously tragic love story and steaming hot romance if that isn't enough to suck you in...this is Reaver's and Harvester's story. Harvester, the fallen angel, that fell to save Reaver's children – the Horsemen. Ione uncovers incredible revelations, gives us lots of snippets from the characters we've come to adore and teases us with what might come. Ultimately, Ione once again thrills us with a white knuckle adventure that all Lord of Deliverance fans can't miss.




    I received this ARC copy of Reaver from Forever (Grand Central Publishing) in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication December 17, 2013.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Just when I thought I couldn’t love this woman more, here comes REAVER.  I’ve been waiting for his book since I read LETHAL RIDER and I found out all the little tidbits of information that left me craving his story.  He’s come a long way from when we first met him, and although I always knew he would be sexy…. I didn’t expect to fall so hard for him.  He is the perfect male.  The one you want by your side, the one you take home to meet the parents.  *sigh*  I have officially inducted Reaver to the top of my book boyfriend list.

    But wait, that’s not where my fascination with this book ends.  I’m admittedly a fan of strong, tough heroines.  Kick ass and maybe a little mean. They may bite a bit.  Well, that’s Harvester.  Knowing their backstory, and knowing how they’ve both come so far and changed so much through the centuries, was already heartbreaking.  But seeing what Harvester has had to go through, what she’s willingly put herself through, was beautiful.  She is truly tough with a heart of gold.

    I don’t want to bore you with the many reasons why I loved both Harvester and Reaver, just know that they are two of the most awesome characters in this series!  And they are perfect for each other.  I was unprepared for the extent of it.  REAVER does their story justice in every way.  The slow build up, the step by step unveiling of memories, the past colliding with who they are now.  I couldn’t have asked for Ms. Ione to do any better.  This was perfect.

    As I’ve come to expect from Ms. Ione, REAVER had a lot of action and slow burn sexual tension.  The battles always get bigger and more dangerous and this was no exception.  But my favorite part for sure was the fact that the characters stayed true to who they’ve become.

    I was so consumed in this story while reading it that I could hardly think of anything else.  I needed to see it all play out and see their HEA.  So thank you Ms. Ione for one of my most enjoyable paranormal reads this year!  I can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve next.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2015

    I really like this series. I'm listening to an audio book for th

    I really like this series. I'm listening to an audio book for this one. The narrator is good but she's making the characters sound completely different than the one who did Sin Undone. They sound like surfer dudes and it's difficult to get used to.

    Ok, I've finished. I have to say, once I got used to the voices that the narrator envisioned, rather than what I had in my head...you know how that is...it was great! As for the narrator, she does some really good accents and inflections.

    Now, to the book itself. I loved it. 4.5+ stars. I don't know if this is my favorite of the series but it was a hell of a ride! There is so much packed into this book, I expected it to end several times, and it kept going! Not in a bad way, just a lot of unexpected plot twists. Plus, we get to hear about Reaver & Harvester's histories. I thought it was very well done.

    If it's not my favorite, it's a close second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    Loved it!!!

    Another great one. Love the series, can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Wow!

    Reaver and Harvester's story is amazing and wonderful. I wanted it to continue on, like I do all my reads. They were breathe taking and well worth the money I paid and the time spent reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    This book was awesome from begining to end.  it was sad and funn

    This book was awesome from begining to end.  it was sad and funny and judt great.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    I loved this story! I have read all of the Demonica and Lords of

    I loved this story! I have read all of the Demonica and Lords of Deliverance books, but she never ceases to amaze me. Reads quick, which is a plus and a minus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    As a devoted fan of any of Larissa Ione¿s series, and especiall

    As a devoted fan of any of Larissa Ione’s series, and especially the Demonica series, I have been waiting for Reaver’s story for a looooong time. And boy, did we ever get it. Full of twists and turns and a few things that I know I never saw coming, it did not disappoint.
    Finally, finally, we are getting the whole story of Reaver and Harvester with this book. In the beginning, Harvester is taken by Satan to his domain to be tortured as a traitor. Reaver goes to save her, and end up stuck in hell together. So, they must not only work together, but hash out their tumultuous past. Whoa. And there’s sex…hot, hot sex.
    I have always been intrigued by Reaver’s character, even from his days as the grumpy resident Angel at Underworld General, I knew there was way more to him, and I was right. This book was both heartbreaking and full of information for all you die-hard Demonica fans out there. Plus, Harvester’s character was a surprise to me. I didn’t want to like her, but I ended up really, really liking her and liking her and Reaver together. Harvester was interesting to me because she was an Angel, but chose to fall so that she could be a spy for heaven. So, no matter her dirty deeds, she did help to thwart an apocalypse. The one thing I didn’t realize was how much of a deep and rich history that Reaver and Harvester had together. It was heartbreaking and intense. It’s a hell of a ride!
    Larissa Ione never disappoints in her writing for me. She manages to make it enthralling and sexy; she also manages to give her characters depth. These aren’t just sexy smutty time books; these are books with a very complete and deep world building that really rises to the top of this genre.
    Overall, I enjoyed this book immensely. I am so glad there will be more to this series, and I was blown away by Reaver and Harvester’s story. You will enjoy this…and if you haven’t read this series, you better get on it, because it’s one of the best! 4.5 stars

    Reviewed by Sara for Crystal’s Many Reviewers
    *Copy provided for honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    If you like The Black Dagger...

    I'm not one to give away any part of a good book and I won't start now. Instead I hope my enthusiastic rant on how much I loved this book will have you rushing to purchase your own copy, and if it was a Lend Me book I'd gladly lend it and the other five, because it's a great series. I am a true and loyal fan to the writers that I read. Stephen King was my first, followed by Toni Morrison, Ernest Gaines, and a few others. I LOVE J.R. WARD and her Black Dagger Brotherhood series and was looking for something to tide me over until her next book when I googled, "If you like The Black Dagger Brotherhood then..." Larrisa Ione was at the top of the list and let me tell you--rightfully so. The writing style and imagination is there, so much so, that I think they're the same person. This is part six of The Demonica series but to get a true picture of who Reaver is you'll need to read The Lords of Deliverance. Not to fret, both series are DY-NO-MITE! I tend to read series that I discover late in the game none stop and that's what I did with the first five in the Demonica and then gobbled up the Lords of Deliverance. They're fun and suspenseful and you'll find yourself falling in love with the characters, or at least I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly recommended must read series

    Loved it cant wait for the next Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Reaver and Harvester were a long time coming, and their story didn't disappoint

    The story of Reaver and Harvester was one that I looked forward to for a while. I enjoyed their adventure and the glimpses of who they were in the past. Harvester turned out to be one of my favorite female leading characters. She was loyal through thick and thin, and came out to have the happy ending she very much deserved and earned. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Reaver. Larissa Ione Review from Jeannie Zelos Book reviews. I l

    Reaver. Larissa Ione
    Review from Jeannie Zelos Book reviews.
    I loved the early Demonica series, and the new Bound by Night beginnings but I’ve not read any of the Lords of Deliverance. That proved to be a mistake I think as this books draws heavily on events from those. I found the names and different characters and their histories – spanning some 5,000 years - just too difficult to follow. I've always enjoyed Larissa's style of writing, and maybe if I’d read the L of D series this book would have worked better for me. I enjoyed meeting the Demonica brothers again – always loved their snarky humour and devious ways, but this book had so many others including the leads, Reaver and Harvester, that I didn't really understand that I couldn't get into it. It seemed to be endless battles with people I didn't know, and about characters and events I didn't understand. It was pretty graphic and gruesome at times too – and I’m a terrible wimp about stuff like that. If I’m engaged with the story my mind slips over too much blood and gore but when I’m not I get hit by it in full flood :(
    Its a typical L.I. novel in that its full of action, complex plots and spicy sex scenes, and I think if you've followed and loved the Lords series this will be a hit with you. As always its well written, with realistic characters and multiple story arcs leading to a grand finale. Just not one for me, which was something that came as a shock, as I’ve so much enjoyed her other books I’ve read.
    Stars: three. A well written book that just didn't engage me.
    ARC supplied by Netgalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    Just another great book in a long line of great books

    I have been following the "family" since the first one and once again, I'm not disappointed. I have been waiting for Reaver's story since he rescued Reseph aka Pestilence. It all had the twists and turns we have come to expect from Larissa Ione. Thank you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    A must read

    Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Like her writing and characters

    I'm a fan of Larissa Ione. I've read all the other books she's written as well. I like her characters, I like seeing the characters from her other books as well. I do find myself having issues with angels, especially the archangels, who are supposed to be playing for the good side acting the way they do. I don't want to give much away, but I would think Raphael's behavior would warrant immediate ejection from Heaven. I know, I'm reading too much into it, but I honestly found myself wondering why some angels fall and some are allowed to stay. Didn't make much sense to me as I read it. I like the story between the characters. I felt like this was a transition to the next series and maybe that's why it was presented this way. THAT SAID, I DID enjoy it. It seemed a little less steamy than others. Love her books, although the original Demonica series was my favorite. (Also love her Sydney Croft books!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4