Customer Reviews for

Reawakened: A Once Upon a Time Tale

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

A Must read for all Once Upon a Time fans.

posted by FGNY on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

First of all, this book is very similar to the movie. A little b

First of all, this book is very similar to the movie. A little bit too similar. I mainly get this idea because it switches and forth between fairy tale world and Storybrooke in almost exactly the same way as the actual TV show. However, the author does try to add some ‘...
First of all, this book is very similar to the movie. A little bit too similar. I mainly get this idea because it switches and forth between fairy tale world and Storybrooke in almost exactly the same way as the actual TV show. However, the author does try to add some ‘flair’ by skipping some parts in most of the scenes and instead explained these events as a kind of introduction to the next part of the scene. For example, where the TV show would demonstrate an event from beginning and end, this book starts at the middle, and briefly describes how they even got there (in a sort of flashback form). I really don’t like this since it feels like the story has a huge gap in it because of this. 
Also, the characters are not developed like I think they should be. For example, Rumplestiltskin comes across in this book as a wise and somewhat kind man, completely different from the quirky, tricky, evil and slightly crazy man that is clearly portrayed in each episode of the TV show. 
Finally, the writing quality is not the best. It really just sounds like someone watched each episode, wrote it down and then added a few adjectives and short descriptive paragraphs. I would say this book is written in a mid-late elementary age level (seriously). 
Also, this probably isn’t as important for most of you, but you don't get any kind of cool 'easter eggs' in this book like you do in the movie (which I always love looking for :). 
However, this book is is very nice if you want a review of each episode as well as a little extra insight into what each character may be thinking during each scene (which is what a Television show lacks). Although this is true, if you want the full story and glory of Once Upon a Time, I would suggest watching it rather than reading it. I would really just limit to this book as being an okay supplement or synopsis of the TV show 

posted by 9211449 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    First of all, this book is very similar to the movie. A little b

    First of all, this book is very similar to the movie. A little bit too similar. I mainly get this idea because it switches and forth between fairy tale world and Storybrooke in almost exactly the same way as the actual TV show. However, the author does try to add some ‘flair’ by skipping some parts in most of the scenes and instead explained these events as a kind of introduction to the next part of the scene. For example, where the TV show would demonstrate an event from beginning and end, this book starts at the middle, and briefly describes how they even got there (in a sort of flashback form). I really don’t like this since it feels like the story has a huge gap in it because of this. 
    Also, the characters are not developed like I think they should be. For example, Rumplestiltskin comes across in this book as a wise and somewhat kind man, completely different from the quirky, tricky, evil and slightly crazy man that is clearly portrayed in each episode of the TV show. 
    Finally, the writing quality is not the best. It really just sounds like someone watched each episode, wrote it down and then added a few adjectives and short descriptive paragraphs. I would say this book is written in a mid-late elementary age level (seriously). 
    Also, this probably isn’t as important for most of you, but you don't get any kind of cool 'easter eggs' in this book like you do in the movie (which I always love looking for :). 
    However, this book is is very nice if you want a review of each episode as well as a little extra insight into what each character may be thinking during each scene (which is what a Television show lacks). Although this is true, if you want the full story and glory of Once Upon a Time, I would suggest watching it rather than reading it. I would really just limit to this book as being an okay supplement or synopsis of the TV show 

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    A Must read for all Once Upon a Time fans.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Once

    I love once upon a time. Watch it every week. It is highly recemended for all fans

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Love

    Awesome book. Can't even put it down!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Same as the show

    I love the show its awesome! But this book is the same as the series, but in ink.just like the first episode. I was hopeing for more back stories. More information. But was cool. Love the show

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    QUESTION?

    Does any one know if it goes thrue the hole five seasons? I am a big fan and it seams to have the hole thing the show started out with
    but I don't whant to buy before not knowing and does it switch back and fourth like the show does that would be nice.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    I like once upon a time

    I watched the movies but i havint read the books btw i LOVE it :)

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    What i love this

    Once a opon time rocks!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Oncers

    Recomended to all oncers!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Headline

    This is so good i love it.
    ;-6

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Amazing show, but not a fabulous book

    The tv show is absolutely wonderful. Full of intrigue, plotting, and lots of twists and turns, with romance sprinkled liberally throughout. The book is exactly the same, which is why it isn't as good. The book basically writes each episode down. If you've seen the show, this book is a waste of your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    I LOVE this tv series!!

    I love once upon a time. My favorite character is Red Riding Hood ( Red ). Is Once Upon A Time In Wonderland season 3, or is it a totally different series?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Great book!!!

    If you watch once upon a time it is a great book and if you don't it is a start of a really good series. I would reccomend it to people who like mystery and adventure.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Read For any fan of Once Upon a Time . The Last Page Tells you when the DVD of season 2 comes out. Read this Now.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Ba Best show evar BEST SHL OW

    Omg best show ever omg capption swan rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!bay is awesome and M
    A
    R
    R
    Y

    M
    A
    R
    G
    E
    T

    R
    U
    L
    E
    S



    Follow me on instagram @onceupona_oncer thx

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Read this if you're new to the show

    Basically, this is a rehash of season 1. If you were expecting a brand new adventure, like the Doctor Who or Eureka novels, you're going to be sorely disappointed (like me). Don't waste eleven bucks on this thing if you're a seasoned Once fan- the writing's barely average, not great, and a carbon copy of what you've already seen on tv is hardly satisfying to the little fan heart. To the marketing guys behind this: Nice money-earning SCAM, but a way to make even more money without pissing off core Once viewers is to start a line of freestanding adventures within the show's timeline (as mentioned above). No one who's actually seen season one actually needs to read this book, and that's millions in potential sales lost. Think about it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Once <3

    This was good book for all fans but if you havent seen the tv show the book could be a little confusing for you. But it is stilagood book, l recomend it to all fans

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    My favorite TV show brought to life in a book. This is must have

    My favorite TV show brought to life in a book. This is must have for any ONCER. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    To i love this tv series

    I watched every episode of Once Upon a Time in Wonderland as they aired up until the show got canceled ( which made me VERY VERY mad because it was my favorite show at the time ). I thought it was really good; in the show, Alice's father has put her in an England asylum because he didn't belive her after she mysteriously reappeared one day after being missing for a very long time, babbling about an unknown land in which the love of her life was ripped away from her by the Red queen. In the asylum, Alice is preparing to have surgery to take away her memories of Wonderland when the Knave of Hearts ( one of her friends from Wonderland) apperars in her cell and informs her that the genie she once loved, Cyrus, who was "killed" by the Red Queen, is still alive. With this knowledge, Alice wiilingly goes with the Knave back to Wonderland, where the two of them travel all accross Wonderland, and even go to Storybrooke, to find him. This series has a few characters, like Cora and the Smoking Caterpilliar, that were in Once Upon a Time. If you want to watch it, try the internet or on demand, because it got canceled and isn't airing on tv anymore. It's worth going the extra mile to watch it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    I need to say...

    I need to know how old the actor is that plays Henry he doesnt look that young this season and his voice dropped like crazy but James McAvoy is sexier love the show though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3