Customer Reviews for

Rebecca

Average Rating 4.5
( 364 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(247)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Rebecca

When I first began reading Rebecca, I felt that it wasn't catching my attention, and know that I am a reader of much romance and suspense. But once I jumped into the 2nd or 3rd chapter, things began to really roll in my mind. The imagery was truly fantastic, though a fe...
When I first began reading Rebecca, I felt that it wasn't catching my attention, and know that I am a reader of much romance and suspense. But once I jumped into the 2nd or 3rd chapter, things began to really roll in my mind. The imagery was truly fantastic, though a few words may seem unfamiliar to a reader who isn't used to highly sophisticated speech, yet most words can be solved using context clues. This story may definitely capture your heart with its deep suspense and loving sincerity. You just never know what's going on is Mr. de Winter's mind, regardless of his honest actions or words. It also makes you wonder whether the heroine really holds Maxim's heart. Daphne Du Maurier really knew how to hold the reader's attention, and I highly suggest this book if you're a reader who enjoys romance, suspense, and books that are hard to put down.

posted by PurelyArtificial on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not as spooky as you think

I never read Rebecca before, but decided to try it after I saw that the book The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield was compared to it. I very much enjoyed The Thirteenth Tale, but (after reading Rebecca) not sure why the two were compared. The similarities are fairly...
I never read Rebecca before, but decided to try it after I saw that the book The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield was compared to it. I very much enjoyed The Thirteenth Tale, but (after reading Rebecca) not sure why the two were compared. The similarities are fairly superficial. Rebecca is not the compelling, chilling gothic tale now that it probably was when it was published in the early 20th century. Readers today (and myself in particular) are now quite familiar with the idea of the psychopath and the wanton destruction and chaos that comes with a character like that. Mrs. Danvers, while obviously not right in the head, was also a disappointment. She's not nearly as creepy and nasty as literary lore makes her out to be. I found the book to be well-written, but not especially compelling until the last 1/3 of the book when Mrs. de Winter the Second wears the ill-chosen white dress to the costume ball. My biggest problem with the book was an extreme dislike of all the characters except Jasper the dog. Mrs. de Winter the Second (who I began to think of as the Idiot Wife because the author never reveals her first name)is a timid, neurotic, annoying mess. I got extremely impatient with her and her imagined conversations (she constantly imagines people saying negative things about her). She's also quite dumb and never really picks up on obvious things she should have, such as Mrs. Danvers suggesting she wear the white dress. I never like her, even at the end of the novel because she always shows herself to be weak, foolish, and not very brave or very bright. Overall I enjoyed the novel, but found most events in the novel predictable and not very shocking or scary. I'm afraid du Maurier's great masterpiece Rebecca did not age well or retain its greatness.

posted by KrisPA on September 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Classic

    The first part of the book started off a little slow. I wasn't really sure why everyone had raved about this classic.......however, after a little bit, I was taken in and could not put the book down. Luckily it was a Sunday and I finished the book by early evening. I absolutely loved it. A wonderful love story and terrific mystery. Fabulous writing. Don't miss it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    Rebecca

    It is a good book but i suggest you buy the newer version of Rebecca because since the language is a bit difficult in this book the foggy letters in this version of the book make it ten times harder to read...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    A Wonderful Classic

    I was more than eager to pick up this book and read it.One thing i especially liked was her style of writing. Rebecca was one of the most detailed books i have ever read. Daphne du Maurier described the most insignificant things, and made them sound beautiful. For example, when she describes Manderley, she tells us every detail of that beautiful mansion. The characters in this story were also extremely well developed. The character Ms. Van Hopper is an excellent example. Her cruel and creepy disposition was so well portrayed that even though i didn't like her character at all, i loved reading about what actions she was going to have next. I also loved how du Maurier never told us the main characters name. The title of the book threw me off at first because i thought Rebecca was the main character/narrator, but she wasn't. I liked how i didn't have that FULL connection to the narrator as you do in most books, as that made me pay more attention to the other characters. This book is a great source of romance and mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2015

    Well written

    Very well thought out, but you never know her name except the second Mrs. de Winter and the ending is very abrupt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A classic - great read!

    I have to say, I didn't know that this book was a classic until I started reading it - so I am going to base my rating on when the book was written and not in present time. We meet the 2nd wife of Mr. de Winter in the beginning of the novel - she meets Maxim in Monte Carlo on a holiday and is instantly attracted to him. On a whim she gets married to him shortly after and heads back to his estate of Manderley. Mr. de Winter is a widow of a year and she basically has to follow the steps in Rebecca's shoes to feel loved by Maxim.

    You meet a set of wonderful characters like Rebecca (dead wife), Mrs. Danvers (in charge of the house), Firth and Robert (staff), Frank (helps with the estate) and Maxim's sister, Beatrice. All these characters play a major role in the novel shaping life at Manderley.

    From the readers prospective, you are reading about a new life for the second Mrs. de Winter who is way out of her element and won't step up to the plate to actually take charge of the situation. You don't know why, is it her age or the jealousy how everyone compares her to Rebecca. Rebecca was born to take care of Manderley. She was beautiful, charming and the first wife. So who can compare - itt is a hard situation to be in. Little by little you get to understand the real Rebecca and the importance of Manderley.

    It is a great classic reading of suspense, romance and a little humor. A great read on a rainy afternoon or a weekend at the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I picked up Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier for 4 reasons:  1. Ever

    I picked up Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier for 4 reasons: 
    1. Everyone raves about this book
    2. It's been on my TBR list for waaaaay too long
    3. It's on my Classics Club list
    4. It's called Rebecca, only the best name ever.  

    On the cover of the paperback I have, it says "The unsurpassed modern masterpiece of romantic suspense."  That did not make me look forward to reading it.  But I read it anyway. 

    The second Mrs. de Winter (who, if I'm not mistaken, we never find out what her name actually is) tells the story of her experiences at Manderley, a fabulous estate.  

    She started out poor, as a companion/maid to a wealthy old woman, and ends up meeting Maxim de Winter while in Monte Carlo.  No one would have expected it, but after a short period of time, only a few weeks, Maxim asks her to marry him and come back to Manderley with him.  

    After a honeymoon in Italy, they arrive at Manderley, a home that is filled with his late wife Rebecca's touches and tastes.  The new Mrs. de Winter can't live up to the fabulous Rebecca, who everyone loved so much. . . 

    But something isn't right. . . 

    Actually, something is severely wrong. . . 

    It just takes a while of reading to find out what exactly that "wrong" thing is.  

    Rebecca is a classic for a reason.  It's shocking, suspenseful, beautifully written.  I highly recommend checking out Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier if you have not done so, especially if you want an easy-to-read classic novel. 

    What name do YOU think is the best?  

    Thanks for reading, 

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great psychological thriller

    This is one of those books that I've been meaning to read for AGES but finally got around to finishing. It takes some time to start up, the mystery and the creepiness doesn't show up until about a quarter of the way through. Ultimately, I couldn't put it down. This is a must-read for any mystery and suspense fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A mysterious love story

    Manderley is the center character of this book. Around her is the hidden mystery of the late Mrs. deWinter, lovely, charming and full of life and the insecruities of the young, second Mrs. deWinter shy, awakward and clumsly. What is the hold Rebecca has on everyone including Maxim? She is dead over a year and yet she is still in the house. The story unfolds beautifully to a shocking climax and conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    A True Classic

    This book was fantastic! I didn't know what to expect before I began this book, but if I had had any expectations, they would have been blown away! Rebecca is written in the spirit of Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights-if you liked those books, you will definitely enjoy Rebecca.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    a JOY for a lazy reader

    the second chapter or so was kinda boring, but it got better. I couldn't help but make inferences throughout the book, only to be proved wrong. when i first read the little summary on the back cover, i thought 'Rebecca' was a story about a haunted house and such. but the book turned out way better. and to think that I HATED reading. well, i still do, but this book is one of the best books in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Hauntingly Amazing

    Maximillian de Winter¿s new wife has to fill a very large pair of shoes and many people¿s great expectations for her. Everyone compares her to his first wife Rebecca who everyone loved, except for Maximillian himself. The head maid, Mrs. Danvers, hates the new Mrs. de Winter and does everything she can to make her miserable. No matter where she goes in Manderly, reminders of Rebecca are there. In the drawing room, the morning room, the library, almost every room in the house is linked to Rebecca some way. But, one foggy day after a terrible experience at the Manderly Ball the night before a ship crashes in the bay behind the mansion. While a diver is inspecting the hole in the ship, he finds a boat that belonged to Rebecca when she was alive with a body inside of it. The discovery of the boat brings into question how Rebecca really died and how Maximillian de Winter truly felt about his first wife. Daphne du Maurier really captivated me with her well-written suspense and plot twists. I never thought I would have enjoyed a book like this because it looked like a romance novel. Now I know that just because a book¿s cover looks a certain way doesn¿t mean the story inside of it isn¿t good. I loved this novel and I would recommend it to anyone who likes unexpected endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    A Shocker

    When my teacher gave this book to me I honestly didn't know what to expect. I found myself getting more and more sucked into the new Mrs. de Winter's situation. This book will shock you not only with how good it is but also with the turns in the plot. I reccomend this to anyone who enjoys reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    Creative and Interesting...

    This book has a very creative plot and I've heard the movie is great. I will admit that the beginning was pretty boring, so just keep reading it and it'll get interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2005

    Sensual, Dark and Insightful

    I just finished reading this page turner a couple of days ago and I still can't stop thinking about it. I agree with a previous critic here that the first few chapters were a bit flat. However, as I progressed further into the novel I realized that those first few chapters kind of foreshadowed events and characters that appeared later in the book, which made me think to myself: 'Oh, then THAT'S why this was mentioned back in Chapter 2,' and so on. So, even though the reading was bit slow in the beginning, it all served to connect the rest of the story toward the middle and the end. These were some amazing and memorable characters, and Ms. du Maurier did such a wonderful job in bringing out each character's personality quirks that it almost felt like I was standing in the presence of each character. I feel that she did this best with the characters of Beatrice, Ms. Danvers, Favell and the unnamed second Mrs. De Winter, all of whom were my favorites. As I began progressing through this novel, I couldn't help but feel as if I had heard of this story before even though I had never read the book before, and after a while it finally clicked in. The surreal 60s/70s soap 'Dark Shadows,' did this whole parallel time storyline where the character of 'Angelique' is portayed in a similar light as 'Rebecca' while the character of 'Maggie' plays a role similar to the second Mrs. De Winter, and the entire storyline is a take on this particular novel. For all of those who are familiar with 'Dark Shadows' and this storyline, you should know what I am talking about. That was always my favorite storyline on the show, and it was fun to finally realize just where it was inspired from. Anyway, it was a wonderful read, and one that I would recommend to all interested in a sophisticated mystery/suspense genre with a sensual, supernatural element.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    A BOOK I COULDN'T PUT DOWN.

    Rebecca was somewhat boring in the beginning, i thought i would never get through it. However, after about 150 pages it started to get interesting. i just wish the action would have started sooner so it didn't end so fast. Also, i heard this was supposed to be an interesting sort of scary ghost story. it wasn't. but it did keep me interested when i got through all the fluff in the beginning. i read at work when i wasn't busy..and i couldnt put it down!! a good book, READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    Pretty Good

    Rebecca was a pretty good book. It was so boring in the begining though. After about the frist 200 pages it started getting intresting, and I couldn't put it down. It would've been one of the best books I've ever read if only it was more intresting in the begining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    A cool student who doesn't read alot

    well i dont read much but i was suppose to read this for my summer reading. I started reading the first few chapters and i could barely stay awake, but then i kept reading and i just couldn't put it down. The book was very detailed in every aspect. At the end they reveal the killer of Rebecca and I had no clue that it was..... Read to find out!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Very Hard to Put Down!!!

    I had a really hard time putting this book down! When the teacher metioned this book to read for my reading report I thought it would be really boring but it was really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    A Captivating Read

    Daphne DuMaurier starts of the book in a melancholy tone which bores you. As you get into a couple of chapters, the detailing that she gives instantly captivates you. This book is a very interesting read, but if you are the impatient sort I do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    Full of Surprises

    This book was full of surprises. It took many twists and turns. Although it may seem slow throughout the first few chapters, it takes on a whole new tone as you read and get into it. It keeps you surprised and engrossed to the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4