Customer Reviews for

Rebecca's Tale

Average Rating 3
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This ended up being such a great book! I just wanted something t

This ended up being such a great book! I just wanted something to read before I went to bed. I ended up reading the story a lot during the day too.
I love the characterization and unique perspectives of time. The narrative is so rich that certain sequences could almost ...
This ended up being such a great book! I just wanted something to read before I went to bed. I ended up reading the story a lot during the day too.
I love the characterization and unique perspectives of time. The narrative is so rich that certain sequences could almost be short stories by 
themselves. I think that some of the reviewers were just too stuck on their interpretation of the original story of Rebecca to appreciate what a
gem this book is. And I am such a finicky reader most of the time too. so I do understand how that can be, but this book is great. 

posted by 2884740 on May 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

BURN THIS BOOK PLEASE

I have always been a huge fan of Rebecca. I must have read this book SO many times, always imagining what happened after Mandery burnt down, and the lives of Maxim and the second Mrs.DeWinter. You can imagine how excited I was when I learned there was a sequal to Rebec...
I have always been a huge fan of Rebecca. I must have read this book SO many times, always imagining what happened after Mandery burnt down, and the lives of Maxim and the second Mrs.DeWinter. You can imagine how excited I was when I learned there was a sequal to Rebecca. I bought this book, and read it in 3 days. The bottom line? BURN THIS BOOK. NOT only did it ruin the original story for me, it made me angry to see the second Mrs.DeWinter as a such a weak and naive person. It was ridiculous to read that she was pitied. In Rebecca, I loved the way our unnamed narrator turned out to be such a strong person, who had a loving husband. I had hoped so much that they would have happy lives, and loved each other without any membrance of Rebecca but NOT in this book. It did say that they loved each other, but it gives hints that Max had always loved Rebecca deep in his heart, one example is how he took her enternity ring on her ring finger after Rebecca died (the eternity ring was a ring Reecca's father gave her) Max had said he would replace it with his ring and he did so in the end. AND, there is more hints of course. Overall this is such a disspointing book. If you are a fan of the second Mrs.DeWinter and Maxim, don't read this book. I wish now that I never read or wasted my money. NOW I'd have to read the original over again to try to forget this horrible book otherwise it will give me nightmares!

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    BURN THIS BOOK PLEASE

    I have always been a huge fan of Rebecca. I must have read this book SO many times, always imagining what happened after Mandery burnt down, and the lives of Maxim and the second Mrs.DeWinter. You can imagine how excited I was when I learned there was a sequal to Rebecca. I bought this book, and read it in 3 days. The bottom line? BURN THIS BOOK. NOT only did it ruin the original story for me, it made me angry to see the second Mrs.DeWinter as a such a weak and naive person. It was ridiculous to read that she was pitied. In Rebecca, I loved the way our unnamed narrator turned out to be such a strong person, who had a loving husband. I had hoped so much that they would have happy lives, and loved each other without any membrance of Rebecca but NOT in this book. It did say that they loved each other, but it gives hints that Max had always loved Rebecca deep in his heart, one example is how he took her enternity ring on her ring finger after Rebecca died (the eternity ring was a ring Reecca's father gave her) Max had said he would replace it with his ring and he did so in the end. AND, there is more hints of course. Overall this is such a disspointing book. If you are a fan of the second Mrs.DeWinter and Maxim, don't read this book. I wish now that I never read or wasted my money. NOW I'd have to read the original over again to try to forget this horrible book otherwise it will give me nightmares!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    This ended up being such a great book! I just wanted something t

    This ended up being such a great book! I just wanted something to read before I went to bed. I ended up reading the story a lot during the day too.
    I love the characterization and unique perspectives of time. The narrative is so rich that certain sequences could almost be short stories by 
    themselves. I think that some of the reviewers were just too stuck on their interpretation of the original story of Rebecca to appreciate what a
    gem this book is. And I am such a finicky reader most of the time too. so I do understand how that can be, but this book is great. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Horrible

    One of the worst books I think I've ever read. I don't understand why people think this was well written. I found the writing plodding, clunky, and slow. There were certain things, especially towards the end, that just left me wondering what on earth the author was thinking.

    In terms of story, this was a total waste of paper. The author doesn't want to "shed light" on the original - she wants to rewrite it. There are things that are presented as simple fact in the original that she suddenly decides aren't really true. I found her characters either boring or unsympathetic, and I found her manipulations of the characters from the original novel to be far fetched at best.

    I think in many ways she misses the point of the original. Rebecca isn't a character on whom light is meant to be shed. She's supposed to be a mystery. She's supposed to be an enigma. That's part of the power of the original story. Besides that, much of the "history" she creates for the character feels more like a joke than it does anything that could possibly "answer questions" about Du Maurier's original characters. If you're left with questions after the original... good! That's the point. Not everything is meant to be answered all the time. Having someone write a book about it after Du Maurier is dead doesn't answer questions. Beauman has no freaking clue what Du Maurier might have had in mind. She's just plain old making it up. You can do the same thing yourself without having to waste your time and money reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2007

    Not an enjoyable read

    I was so excited to read this book and by the time I finished it, I was thoroughly dissapointed because nothing exciting happened. I kept waiting for an intersting climax, only to be sadly dissapointed. The original Rebecca should be left just as it is, without any differing versions of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Disappointed, to say the least

    While I enjoyed the writing style and the voice it was written in, I did not like the story it was telling me. This is so different from what Rebecca was that I don't feel like I was reading the same story. I am sorry for the unfortunate portrayal of the second Mrs Dewinter as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    An excellent read but . . .

    I'm sorry but I have to disagree with all the other reviewers. Sally Beauman nailed all the previous characters correctly. She is an obviously talented writer. I didn't expect her writing style to be like D. DuMaurier's since I think a writing style is a lot like a fingerprint and can't truly be duplicated. Rebecca left out a lot of detail in her version of events that would have explained Maxim's dislike for her a lot more believably than her pitiful little tale about the boy on the beach. I believe it reflected her egotistical view of herself that she flattered herself that he was still in love with her the whole time. I also think since T. Gray discovered inconsistencies in Rebecca's version of her tale (i.e. her father's death and all the gaps in her story) that other parts of her version were most likely a load of distortion of actual events as well. Like Maxim's undying love for her. This book did not ruin my love for DuMaurier's book Rebecca or the second Mrs. de Winter. In the original Rebecca the second Mrs. de Winter expresses how mousie she felt in the shadow and memories everyone had of Rebecca. What the characters in Rebecca's Tale were referring to was exactly how the second Mrs. de Winter felt the brief time she was at Manderley. She didn't acquire her courage and self confidence until after Manderley burned and they left England in Rebecca. I believe her strangeness with Ellie had a lot to do with her old wounds about the whole situation being reopened by the visit back to Manderley. The only parts I wasn't satisfied with was Rebecca's supposed vision of the future second Mrs. de Winter - I thought that was rather stupid. The reason given for Maxim's death was absurd. I also disagreed somewhat with Ellie's behavior in the end. It was as if she were developing some serious obsession with Rebecca's thoughts and what Rebecca's decisions would have been if she were in this or that situation and used that as a way of making her own life altering decisions. In the end of it all, I do understand that one person can make a difference in so many other lives but I believe that throughout Rebecca and Rebecca's Tale all of the characters over reacted as though their entire future happiness lay in the hands of a deceiving and conniving woman that only got where she was because of her beauty, cleverness, and her ability to act as something she wasn't - a good and decent person. Ironically the only character that did seem to move past this was the second Mrs. de Winter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Title character is not likeable

    I very much enjoyed reading Rebecca, and looked forward to Rebecca's Tale, however, this book destroys any sympathy one may have felt for Rebecca from the first book. Rebecca is basically a man-hating, conniving, manipulative woman who is so focused on revenge for past injustices, both actual and perceived, that one hardly feels sympathy for her as she "whines" away in her diary. She is too obsessed with destroying men and I feel that this theme, running throughout this story, makes for a disappointing, depressing read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Check it out if you are a fan of the original

    Very good for a sequel to a classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Why the two cousins were as they were might have been

    Interesting but one author cant take anothers book and change the actual story why not tell mrs winters story or the cousin who got sick when he learned she had c.a. or do the next years when they go away from england and she has a child and they settle down renember these estates were also working farms and evan a village owned by the estate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Too unbelievable

    I didn't like this book from the beginning. To me, none of the backgrounds were believable. Too sympathetic to Rebecca. Too many new characters. And what she did with the 2nd Mrs. De Winter was sad and, to me, not believable by the end of 'Rebecca,' she became a stronger woman whom Maxim loved and who loved him. Yes, one person can be remembered in many people's lives even after death, but that doesn't mean that they're good memories or, if they are, then what kind of person is having the memory: The people Rebecca had affairs with? The obsessive Mrs. Danvers? Or people she just put on a show for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Good book, but the sacrifice may be too much!

    I love the book Rebecca and have for many years. For me, Rebecca's Tale became something like a terrible car accident, I wanted to turn away but I just couldn't. The book is a compelling read, however, if you truly loved the original story, STAY AWAY from this one. It could very well ruin Rebecca for you. This book is as the title suggests REBECCA'S story. You may come to truly like Rebecca---- but remember---- in order to truly like Rebecca you have to sacrifice something and that may be your love for the second Mrs. De Winter. Proceed with Caution. If you aren't a huge fan of the original Rebecca, or if you found yourself drawn to the dark and mysterious Rebecca more than Maxim's sweet young wife, try this book, you may like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    A Disappointing Read

    I heartily agree with reader Em-239's comments below. I have read Daphne DuMaurier's "Rebecca" every year (sometimes 2x a year) as I love Ms. DuMaurier's style of writing. It is my favorite novel. I've also read "Mrs. deWinter" by Susan Hill when it was published and although I did enjoy reading another author's take on life post-Manderly it fell short of Rebecca. Then I came across "Rebecca's Tale" and was excited at the prospect of reading yet another author's interpretation. What a disappointment. I've had the book 3 weeks and am still struggling to finish reading it. I dislike the author's style and her twist on the characters' personalities. This book belongs back on the grocery check-out bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    a good read but ...

    I found Beauman's portrayal of Du Maurier's original characters too out of character. For example, the Colonel was too 'backbone of the community' to be in love with Rebecca. Two, Beauman tried to create sympathy for Rebecca. Three, the acts of the next Mrs. De Winter seemed wrong. Even the honeymoon confession of a teen rape seemed flimsy and too shallow to feed such a hatred as DeWinter held for his wife. Yet, the mystery surrounding Mrs. Danvers and the new love story is good. If you really want to enjoy this, don't read the original immediately before or soon after. Let the facts and characters become hazy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Rebecca's Tale

    I would recommend Rebecca's Tale to anyone, whether or not the original Rebecca was read before. I couldn't put this book down. It revealed many secrets for the characters in Rebecca as well as the new characters introduced in Rebecca's Tale. This book explains Rebecca de Winter's past through a journal that was sent to one of her friends, Colonel Julyan. With the help of Terence Gray, a writer, Julyan was determined to find out the truth about Rebecca's mysterious death. Through her journal entries and through past acquaintances, Julyan and Gray link together the clues and finally discover the secretive life of Rebecca de Winter. There was never a moment that I was bored while reading this book. All of my questions from Rebecca were answered. Rebecca's Tale definitely deserves five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2001

    A GOOD STORY

    Deep mystery with a topical romance theme, but well crafted. I prefer a bit more activity and interaction between characters like Joe Matlock or Nicholas Sparks works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    Superb Mystery

    In this novel following in the footsteps of the famous REBECCA by Daphne du Maurier, Manderley is revisited in 1951, twenty years following Rebecca¿s death. <br><br> Colonel Julyan, former magistrate for the districts of Kerrith and Manderley, had previously been involved in the inquest where Rebecca¿s death was ruled a suicide thereby exonerating her husband, Maxim de Winter. When a mysterious parcel arrives bearing Rebecca¿s notebook along with a postcard of her as a young child, the Colonel is forced to recreate his memories of Rebecca and Manderley where she lived. Adding to the reopening of old wounds is the presence of outsider Terence Gray, who seems to have a single-minded interest in the mystery of Rebecca¿s death. <br><br> As Mr. Gray becomes the talk of Kerrith, and spinster ladies link him to Ellie, the Colonel¿s unmarried daughter, the Colonel receives more interesting parcels. Ellie, Gray, and Julyan are caught up in a web that is so intricate in its weave, the reader will not want to miss a word of their tale as hidden truths of the past are disclosed. Gray leads the reader on a merry journey in his quest for self-discovery leading to Rebecca and her haunting legacy. From her journals and first-person accounts of encounters with Rebecca, she remains as much an enigma as she did in Ms. du Maurier¿s novel. <br><br> As the intensity of this read increases, so does the complexity of its characters. Those inhabitants of Manderley, who appear at first very commonplace, become so much more as the many layers of their personalities are carefully revealed. For a superbly crafted read with much mystery, some romance, and a pinch of the paranormal, REBECCA¿S TALE is a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2