BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rebel Angels (Gemma Doyle Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 631 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(400)

4 Star

(157)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 632 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    will leave you wanting more...

    This second novel in Libba Bray's trilogy is at least as good as the first, A Great and Terrible Beauty. This has all the magic and intrigue of the first book plus more! We get to explore more of The Realms and see more of the strange and unique inhabitants. Gemma struggles to find the Temple in the Realms and bind the magic that is running rampant for anyone to abuse. She struggles to help her father with his addiction to laudanum. She struggles with her feelings about the dashing Simon Middleton as well as her feelings for Kartik. Gemma has many conflicts to face and overcome in Rebel Angels. There are characters in this book who are not who they seem to be and Gemma has to decide who she can trust and who she cannot. Libba Bray is a fantastic writer who brings her characters to life. She does a wonderful job at giving each character a distinct personality. This book has humor, romance, suspense, fantasy all blended together into a story that is fun, entertaining and will leave you wanting more!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    wow

    what an amazing trilogy!!! highly recommend the Gemma Doyle series to anyone who enjoys supernaturl mixed with some romance and excitement!!!! I am a 32 year old woman so that just goes to show its not just for teen readers. could not put this one down, anything i say couldnt do it much justice just read it!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    I love it. Simple.

    #2 of this series is intense and you can tell it'll bring a bang to the last book. This book brought more life into the characters. This book is highly recommended for the reader who wants something more than just a quick read. If you love a good mystery that will leave you guessing till the very end then this book is for you. Beautiful writing, angles and the right amount of romance circulates smoothly in Rebel Angels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful sequel

    "Rebel Angels" was such a great sequel to the already amazing "The Great and Terrible Beauty". Libba Bray has done an amazing job on this follow up as with the first book I couldn't stay away till I was finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book!

    Another excellent book by Bray. Intriguing, sad, happy, exciting, what else do you want? Not slow, a wonderful read. The characters flourish even more, if that's at all possible. Even if you haven't read the first, it's easy to pick up the story, which is great. Definately a keeper and a part of my library for a very long time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it!

    This book was soo awesome! I loved it alot more then the 1st one. The 1st moved kind of slow, but it was till good, but this one had you on the edge of your seat and i couldn't put it down. The end was a surprise too, it was a good twist. I recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The second is even better

    I read the first one very fast and loved it. I was delighted to find out that there was a second (as well as a thrid). I was a little worried that the second might be a disapointment, because after the adventure they just had how could there be any more...But I was wrong. The second was just as good if not better! It was darker and full of more epic adventure! We learn about the realms as well as getting to venture more deep within. The girls are starting to grow up and mature. They have to face bigger foes, such as Poppy Warriors and a new teacher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    So the second book really heats this series up! I pretty much ha

    So the second book really heats this series up! I pretty much had the same experiences with this book that I did with the first, great
    characters, great content, and the same amount of eye rolling. However, this time there was more romance to it and this was a
    pleasant development for the characters since they are getting older and more out in society. I also liked to that this book's setting
    was not all at Spence but mostly in London while the girls are on Christmas break it let you really get to know the characters even
    better particularly Felicity. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In this second installment in the Gemma Doyle trilogy, Gemma mus

    In this second installment in the Gemma Doyle trilogy, Gemma must try to bring order to the chaos she created at the end of the first book when she destroyed the runes of power. Now the magic has been released into the realms, controlled by none and coveted by all. Although Gemma defeated Circe's assassin, Circe is still on her quest for vengeance and power, and now Gemma has others to contend with who also want their share, including the mysterious Rakshana. With Felicity and Ann, whose deepest secrets are revealed, Gemma must restore order to the realms and figure out who she can really trust. She also learns some hard lessons about letting go and not being deceived by appearances. Once her decision is made and the magic has been bound, Gemma discovers that it's only the beginning of the real war to come.

    I think this second book in the series is even better than the first one. Gemma has learned a few things and matured a bit, although not nearly enough. It's easy sometimes to forget that she is only 16 and is still dealing with everything that a normal teen-aged girl would be dealing with in addition to the whole magical power struggle thing. She wants to be liked and is sometimes way too easily led astray. I appreciate the humor that Bray has kept in Gemma's character. It's interesting that books get longer--the first was 300+ pages, this second one is 500+ pages, and the third one is over 800 pages. I'm getting ready to launch into that one in just a bit. This second book read pretty quickly for over 500 pages, so I'm hoping that 800 pages go by quickly, too! I think that once it's over I will hate to leave Spence behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Gemma and katrick lover

    OMG i hope she will get together with katrick because he is so mysrerious. I lovevwhen gemma and katrick kiss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Rebel angels review

    I LOVED THIS BOOK i read the first one a nd got so excited to read the second one, this book fits all my excpectations i love the drama with her friends (as well as kartik) im on the third book now and is very disappointed that it is ending. I would recomend this book to anyone i meet (11 or older)
    -Anna, 11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    This was even better than the first and one of my favorites. It

    This was even better than the first and one of my favorites. It looks like something big will happen, foreshadowing etc. Also love the moments with Kartik and Gemma. Writing is even better in this. Though at times it got frustrating. But I guess it was the time period and all that but still. Really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Team kartik

    There is NO question she loves kartik more read the ending and the third book!Kartik is so awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    good

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Dissapointing

    loved the first book but this was dissapointing. I got half way through and gave up. It was well written but almost predictable. I didn't like that Gemma was easily minipulated by the other girls and I wish she was a little less clueless. I'm sure if I had read on I'd say something different, but I couldn't pull through the slow story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    i loved this series so much! amazing

    i loved this series so much! amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great follow up to Book 1 in Gemma Doyle series

    Engaging at every page, I love this series and all the characters. Highly recommend this book and unlike many other series I've read, the second was even better than the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Team Katrik!

    Omg i love the romance in this book! Its so exciting! Who does she love more Katrik or simon middleton! I GO FOR HANDSOME KATRIK!!! TEAM KATRIK OR TEAM SIMON! Im TEAM KATRIK!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    SHOOTING RANGE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Yayy!!!! Awesomeness!!!

    I just founout that this is a series!!! Yayyy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 632 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32