Customer Reviews for

Rebel Angels (Gemma Doyle Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 632 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(401)

4 Star

(157)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    I love it. Simple.

    #2 of this series is intense and you can tell it'll bring a bang to the last book. This book brought more life into the characters. This book is highly recommended for the reader who wants something more than just a quick read. If you love a good mystery that will leave you guessing till the very end then this book is for you. Beautiful writing, angles and the right amount of romance circulates smoothly in Rebel Angels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful sequel

    "Rebel Angels" was such a great sequel to the already amazing "The Great and Terrible Beauty". Libba Bray has done an amazing job on this follow up as with the first book I couldn't stay away till I was finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    So the second book really heats this series up! I pretty much ha

    So the second book really heats this series up! I pretty much had the same experiences with this book that I did with the first, great
    characters, great content, and the same amount of eye rolling. However, this time there was more romance to it and this was a
    pleasant development for the characters since they are getting older and more out in society. I also liked to that this book's setting
    was not all at Spence but mostly in London while the girls are on Christmas break it let you really get to know the characters even
    better particularly Felicity. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In this second installment in the Gemma Doyle trilogy, Gemma mus

    In this second installment in the Gemma Doyle trilogy, Gemma must try to bring order to the chaos she created at the end of the first book when she destroyed the runes of power. Now the magic has been released into the realms, controlled by none and coveted by all. Although Gemma defeated Circe's assassin, Circe is still on her quest for vengeance and power, and now Gemma has others to contend with who also want their share, including the mysterious Rakshana. With Felicity and Ann, whose deepest secrets are revealed, Gemma must restore order to the realms and figure out who she can really trust. She also learns some hard lessons about letting go and not being deceived by appearances. Once her decision is made and the magic has been bound, Gemma discovers that it's only the beginning of the real war to come.

    I think this second book in the series is even better than the first one. Gemma has learned a few things and matured a bit, although not nearly enough. It's easy sometimes to forget that she is only 16 and is still dealing with everything that a normal teen-aged girl would be dealing with in addition to the whole magical power struggle thing. She wants to be liked and is sometimes way too easily led astray. I appreciate the humor that Bray has kept in Gemma's character. It's interesting that books get longer--the first was 300+ pages, this second one is 500+ pages, and the third one is over 800 pages. I'm getting ready to launch into that one in just a bit. This second book read pretty quickly for over 500 pages, so I'm hoping that 800 pages go by quickly, too! I think that once it's over I will hate to leave Spence behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    good

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great follow up to Book 1 in Gemma Doyle series

    Engaging at every page, I love this series and all the characters. Highly recommend this book and unlike many other series I've read, the second was even better than the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Check it out

    This book was a great follow up from the first one. I really enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Rebel Angels review

    I thought this book was so good! You get to know more about the characters. And it's one book that you can't put down. I enjoyed this novel alot. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book in the Gemma Doyle series

    This book was everything that was good in the 1st book and everything it lacked (yes i'm talking about a love interest/story-among other things!). It seems that a great battle is ensuing. It started a little slow. But it became hard to put this book down. I found myself eager to get through the day just so I could get home to finish it. Bray keeps you on the edge of your seat trying to figure out who to believe. Excellent read. I could not wait to start the 3rd and final book.
    Even though I enjoyed this book there were some parts that seemed to drag on and Bray seems to use extensive descriptions that seem to go beyond what is neccessary in some cases. But overall it was an enjoyable read.
    Even with all this said, I am sad to say that I would not recommend this series. I finished The Sweet Far Thing (final book in series) and it left me confused and frustrated. I thought this series would become one of my favorites but I think the final book just ruined it. I can't imagine ANYONE being happy with where Bray takes this series in the end; it was just so confusing. It leaves you with more questions than answers. I have never been so frustrated with a book's ending as I was with Sweet Far Thing. A major disappointment. Rebel Angels is by far the best book in the series: with the writing, continuity, the plot, the action, and the direction (Sweet Far thing lacked most if not all of these characteristics).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good book, explains quite a bit, leaves room for more.

    It is strongly recommended that you read A Great and Terrible Beauty first as it introduces you to the characters and the actual start of the big picture. I really enjoyed this book a lot more than the first one as I had so many unanswered questions left when I finished it which is why I rushed like mad to find Rebel Angels. It does a good job giving you more information on The Order and the Rakshana and their little magic world that's just behind "that door". So now with that good amount of information the plot in this book goes very smooth and combined with the action and mystery, it makes for a very good Victorian Gothic style book to read.

    There is enough mystery and intrigue in this book to keep you guessing who's really the "bad guy" here and when you finally do figure it out you might probably feel a bit of shock at first because you thought you knew all along or you may not be surprised at all. It's hard to say. I had quite a few guesses but my first initial guess was wrong so I suppose it was a pleasant surprise for me. If I was right it would have been predictable and perhaps boring. However I liked how you were given options on who might be behind it all so chances are maybe it's meant to be written that way so it won't be so predictable.

    Gemma is extremely more likable every time she opens her mouth or has a witty thought. If you liked her in the first book, you'll like her even more here. I liked her sense of independence and she did have this extra spark in her personality which made her stand out against the rest of the other characters. Speaking of wit, despite the real serious dark tones in the novel, there's little bits of comedy here and there that made me chuckle several times. I think it was because you can also hear what Gemma is thinking and some of the things that run in her head is actually quite funny (especially when Felicity and Ann decide to pick at her and laugh)

    The ending of the novel leaves you with wanting more. You know that the fight isn't even over. They're just taking a break before the big one begins. If you have ever seen Lord of the Rings The Two Towers remember the ending? yeah, it feels like that. You know there's something big that's going to happen in the grand finale. I'm really looking forward to how this ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    Good, Fun Read

    It is a good series especially for young girls. I enjoy reading young fantasy novels. Most of them can become redundant, but I found this books concept to be refreshingly unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    First book was EXCELLENT. I'd say this one was still very good, however predictable.

    I love this series! I had really high expectations for Rebel Angels after reading the first novel and the reviews on this site. I still love the series and enjoy Libba Bray's writing immensely, but unfortunately I saw the twist coming halfway through the book. I was disappointed by the predictability. I appreciate how deeply she is at developing the characters. You grow so fond of them as the reader. Cannot wait to read The Sweet Far Thing next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Another hit

    The characters in this second installment are facing more challenges and readers will begin to favor one more than the other. Choices, love interests, finding their places in society in addition to other issues help complicate matters. <BR/><BR/>Must read #2 in the Gemma Doyle series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Rebel Angels - Almost better than the original.

    Rebel Angels continues with Gemma and her new friends Felicity, Pippa and Ann after discovering the Realms and of course Gemma's mother's enemy known as Circe. The sequel was good but half the time I didn't know what was going on (mostly when the girls were in the realms). I don't know why but Gemma's brother Tom sort of annoyed me but then again they live in a time where men are considered stronger and women weaker. Poor Felicity is all I'm going to say. I recommending Rebel Angels and don't forget to read from the beginning and of course the finale the Sweet Far Thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    Another Great Read!!!

    If you loved the first book then you'll love this one, too! Gemma's story continues... and more mystery evolves along with love and hope...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Not so 'Angelic'

    It was just as good as the first. As in the first book, though, I still find no connection between the girls and it bugs me. They seem more cold toward each other than ever. They have no sympathy or kindness oward each other. I find it irritating that they consider themselves friends. It's easy to tell they are using Gemma to enter the Realms. I also find Gemma a weak heroine at most times, except for the end where she...well, if you read it, you know what I mean. Still, it's a great book that I reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a sequel to a Great and Terrible Beauty where we have the remaining girls after the incident with one of their own. Now we have the continuing fight between Gemma and her mother's friend Sarah now known as Circe. This was pretty good sequel and always like the scenes with Gemma and Kartik and sometimes Simon who I don't know might go well with Gemma maybe. But don't worry I'm all for Gemma and Kartik next to other favorite Bella and Edward and maybe even Jacob. Anyway, there were some interesting issues centered and revelations discovered like the case of Felicity and even Mrs. Nightwing. Still it was nice to see the returnee characters and the newcomers like for example Claire McCleethy and Nell Hawkins. Overall awesome sequel to the more awesome original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    A Great Adventure

    Rebel Angels by Libba Bray was a really good book, but not the best. This book is the sequel to Great and Terrible Beauty. In this book Gemma Doyle goes home for Christmas from Spence Academy, where a new teacher has just appeared. She comes home to her depressed, drunk-addicted father, over-confident brother and an old-fashioned grandmother. In Great and Terrible Beauty Gemma released the magic from the realms so that anyone can use it, even Circe. Kartik comes and tells her that she must bind the magic and find the Temple to do so. So with Felicity and Ann they make their way to the realms and look for this Temple. They find their dead-friend Pippi in the realms which Gemma suspects. In the outside world Gemma deals with Lord Denby a young man which seems in love with her. Also the visions of Gemma show three girls in white warning her about a strange woman. This novel was very adventurous and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I first read 'A Great and Terrible Beauty' I fell in love with the imagery of the Realms and the raw, heartfelt emotions of the Spence girls. Now, after reading 'Rebel Angels' i'm convinced that this story is captivating and beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    A much better sequel

    When I first read 'A Great and Terrible Beauty,' I enjoyed it but was not awed by it. It was a good read but was confusing and didn't draw me in as much. 'Rebel Angels' has everything the predessecor lacked. It was very well written with a very enjoyable twist at the end. I cannot wait till the next in the series. It is serious and light hearted and has a lot of thought provoking ideas. Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8