BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rebel Heart (Dust Lands Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Loved it as much as the first. Saba is tough as hell. Lugh too. Not enough Jack. DeMalo sexy as hell, I know I'm not supposed to like him, but I do. Must read. Can not wait for the final book.

posted by 8459028 on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing.

I was so pumped for this sequel, you have no idea. Unfortunately, after reading this, I felt disappointed and angry. I loved Saba in Blood Red Road. I thought she was a great heroine. Strong, smart, witty..now I feel as if her personality just whittled away before my ey...
I was so pumped for this sequel, you have no idea. Unfortunately, after reading this, I felt disappointed and angry. I loved Saba in Blood Red Road. I thought she was a great heroine. Strong, smart, witty..now I feel as if her personality just whittled away before my eyes. She became weak, indecisive, impulsive, a bit crazy and somewhat a slut. I did NOT expect the latter from her AT ALL. Ms Young, what are you doing? Those bits with De'Malo and Tommo, COMPLETELY IRRELEVANT. Maev, Bram...all those other people, why plague us like that? Why make us dislike Saba? Whats the point of reading the book if you dont like the protagonist? I cannot understand. The book ended without anything being accomplished. What was the point? Sure they found out a few things but they didnt even get what they came for- what Saba dragged them there for. I just, I dont know whats going on. The novel was just all over the place - Saba was all over the place. Tommo was so random I just, I just CANT. Ugh, my favorite character in the novel was the goddamned bird, Nero!!!!!!! Hopefully the next novel will be better. 3.2 stars.

posted by GazeRockSnob on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Disappointing.

    I was so pumped for this sequel, you have no idea. Unfortunately, after reading this, I felt disappointed and angry. I loved Saba in Blood Red Road. I thought she was a great heroine. Strong, smart, witty..now I feel as if her personality just whittled away before my eyes. She became weak, indecisive, impulsive, a bit crazy and somewhat a slut. I did NOT expect the latter from her AT ALL. Ms Young, what are you doing? Those bits with De'Malo and Tommo, COMPLETELY IRRELEVANT. Maev, Bram...all those other people, why plague us like that? Why make us dislike Saba? Whats the point of reading the book if you dont like the protagonist? I cannot understand. The book ended without anything being accomplished. What was the point? Sure they found out a few things but they didnt even get what they came for- what Saba dragged them there for. I just, I dont know whats going on. The novel was just all over the place - Saba was all over the place. Tommo was so random I just, I just CANT. Ugh, my favorite character in the novel was the goddamned bird, Nero!!!!!!! Hopefully the next novel will be better. 3.2 stars.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Rebel heart

    I like this book almost as much as i liked the last one,but it does seem like the auther changed directions a little though.

    I knew as soon as she killed her freind on the roof in the end of the last book she was going to have a lot of touble with that in the next book, but she had a little more touble than i expected.

    In the first book i wasnt all that happy about the dream being a vision, but then in this book it happens again alot. There's a lot of dreaming in this book.

    Saba changes alot in this book, but she's still the same Saba.

    Lugh is very different in this book he's got some problems but theyre understandable.

    Jack is just as much of a mystery to me as he was before and again i dont trust him

    Seth ive always loved that name and i love the character too. I dont know how i really feel about him. I think he's telling the truth, but i dont think hes telling whole truth. I dont trust him but i really like him and i just have to quote him "are you killing me, saba?" When he said that i just wanted to stay there and explain.

    Read this book i thought it was worth my time. It's worth reading again!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Awesome

    Loved it as much as the first. Saba is tough as hell. Lugh too. Not enough Jack. DeMalo sexy as hell, I know I'm not supposed to like him, but I do. Must read. Can not wait for the final book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Dust lands

    This book is if you ask me perfect it keeps me going ,its my energy like a car needs gasoline i need this book its -WOW i demand Young to make this next book in a hurry ,and mrs Young please make sure Seth is a good guy and all the hurt and pain he feels is soon gone I dont like him being hurt it makes my heart break .This book really deserves a1,000,000 stars IT'S AMAZING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.


    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I was extremely excited for this sequel but I was utterly disapp

    I was extremely excited for this sequel but I was utterly disappointed. Saba and Lugh have become completely different characters then they were in Blood Red Road. Saba was a strong, hardheaded, warrior especially when battling in The Cage. What has happened to her!? She becomes weak and honestly insufferable. It was almost painful to finishes this book. Also Lughs character has become disappointing. The entire seven with DeMalo has completely ruined Saba for me. Honestly for whoever hasn't bought this book yet DO NOT BUY IT!  

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Rebel Heart is an exceptional sequel to Blood Red Road. Not only

    Rebel Heart is an exceptional sequel to Blood Red Road. Not only is Saba battling her longing desire to be with Jack but also her inner torment of sacrificing her friend. Lugh becomes prominent in this novel and it is evident that he no longer knows what to do when he realizes just how tough Saba had become in his absence. He fights to keep control and keep his family safe. Saba becomes somewhat erratic when she is overwhelmed, that is especially evident in the scene with DeMalo after she found out about the fate of Emmi and Jack. Overall this novel is great and well worth the wait! I liked the introduction of DeMalo/Seth as a real character but I really wish there was more of Jack in the book. The ending is great and will leave you wanting more. I comend Moira Young for writing these amazingly detailed and captivating stories and encourage her to please hurry with the next one!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    DL

    This book is the best. The series over all is better than the hunger games! I can't wait for the next book. I never want this series to end!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    WTF

    Ok im not even halfway through the book and im wondering what the heck is going on i mean this novel is all over the place. The author has gone in a tottaly diferent direction. I had to skip to the end to see if it was even worth finishing and after seeing the end im not so sure but i paid for the book so........ hopefully the next book will be better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Heateave

    I felt that the second book in this series was very intruiging. The relationship between lugh and saba is definately clashing, and i hope in the third book that they will both make amends with one another and share that very poignant relationship that they once had. I was quite appalled by what occurred between demalo and saba- i wasn't expecting her to feel the need of trusting him because she believed that jack betrayed and decieved her. Based on her personality, she is way more superior than that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am still debating my rating of this book. I¿m not even entirel

    I am still debating my rating of this book. I’m not even entirely sure what I just read. It’s predecessor, Blood Red Road, is one of my all-time favorite books, so naturally I was excited to read a sequel, despite feeling that it worked well as a stand-alone. Now, after reading Rebel Heart, I wish that Moira Young had left well enough alone.

    The writing itself isn’t bad. I enjoy the unique dialect that Saba and the rest of the inhabitants of her world speak in. It fits the story and world so much better than a traditional writing style ever could. It’s simple without being simplistic. The vivid descriptions made it easy for me to visualize the brutal environment and the action-packed, fast-pace of the novel kept me reading even when I was screaming in rage at everything else. If I can say nothing else positive about the story, I can say that there is never a dull moment.

    My problem with the book is the characters and the complete and utter lack of growth for any of them. Saba is definitely flawed. Selfish, stubborn, and very often unlikable, she is also loyal and brave. She loves deeply and blindly and all of these traits were what made me fall in love with her originally. However the likable traits are almost non-existent in this follow up. Saba seems to have changed completely between the two books. The change in character also happens about mid-way through this book, a complete and utter 180 that had my head spinning. She makes so many bad choices in the later half of this book, choices that seemed utterly inconsistent with the Saba that I knew from the first book, that the love I had for her was killed entirely. Generally I have no problems with flawed characters making bad choices. They are usually my favorites. Unfortunately many of Saba’s actions make no sense to me and its impossible for me to accept what I don’t understand.

    The plot itself is also chaotic and much of what happens seems to be pointless and unnecessary. There is no real explanation of why DeMalo is so obsessed with Saba and why he believes that the two of them are the key to changing everything. I also feel like the whole plot line centered around Jack’s  ”betrayal”  is ridiculously cliched and I found it impossible to believe that Saba would fall for it, making her later actions all the more frustrating and uncharacteristic. I can’t even began to describe how enraging and out-of-character I find her involvement with DeMalo to be, especially considering how everyone she does care about is fighting against what he is trying to do to their world.

    Honestly I’m not sure that I’ll read the final book. I’ll always have a deep love for Blood Red Road, but so much of where Young took this story has completely ruined my enjoyment of it overall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Loved it.

    Let me start by saying that i was a little nervous about reading this book. I had read some of the reviews prior to reading it. I loved blood red road so i was a little bummed by some of the reviews saying It wasent as good as the first book. I m sooo glad it read this book. Everyone has their own opion but i loved this book. The thing about reading is that we all get to experience books in our own way. For me i thought it was awsome. I cant wait for book 3. I love the whole saba/jack/demalo thing. All though demalo has a really warped way of doing things i can see why saba did what she did. And of course who who doesnt love jack. At least it keeps things interesting

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Good

    This book was extremely good i wish they turn the series into a movie i love the fact that the author purposely didnt use the best grammer when i rea dother books im just like uggghh punctuation i like how its in Sabas point o fview she describes everything just wonderfully one of my favorite books read it HURRY WITH THE NEXT BOOK!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    i love this book so much. this book is one of those book when yo

    i love this book so much. this book is one of those book when you want to know what happens in the end, it keeps you going. one of this book when you finally finish it your going to wish it never had. and when you have finished it you still going to think about it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    This book was all over the place. In the long run, nothing was a

    This book was all over the place. In the long run, nothing was accomplished. Saba became a weak, flighty, and unable to make decisions.  What happened to the girl who won battles in The Cage and saved her brother? I also dislike what Lugh has become. This book was a disappointment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Blood Red Road was an excellent addition to the dystopian genre.

    Blood Red Road was an excellent addition to the dystopian genre. I was curious as to were the story might go next because it seemed like things had been solved in the first book. But, I was hooked and would follow the series no matter were it might go.

    The first thing is it really does take determination to read this series. Saba has an extremely difficult voice. I remember that from the first one, but it really took some time to get use to what she was trying to convey. It's kind of like reading a story in another language that you aren't exactly fluent in. But, I fell into the rhythm of it and was suck in.

    I really felt sorry for Saba in this book. She did this big heroic thing in the last book, but she's back to defending her thoughts and actions. According to everyone else, she doing things for all the wrong reasons. She makes rash decisions and is constantly putting other's in danger. She should only trust her family and no one else is worth it. For this alone, I really disliked Lugh. I get that something horrible happened to him while he was in captivity. But, he needs to stop and see what he's doing to her. He may be her twin, but he no longer understand her. Everything he said about Saba, I felt more directly applied to him. It really made me want to reach through the pages and knock some sense into him.

    Saba really tries to work around to the voice of her brother. She tries to leave by herself to keep them out of danger. She seems to have little regard for her own safety, just a stark determination to save those she loves. But to accomplish these tasks, she beings to realize there is much more at stake here. All of a sudden it's not just about her, but about the whole country.

    There is a major event that occurs in this story that really left me reeling. I think there's some greater force at work there that Saba left herself open to. I'm curious how it will play out in the future book. It can't be good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Definitely not as good as the first book. I ended up only liking

    Definitely not as good as the first book. I ended up only liking the animals in this book and not the actual characters, especially Saba and Lugh. Saba just made me so frustrated throughout the entire book. Not only that, but be prepared for lots of repetition in this book. She repeats her dreams for pages on end when totaled together and what a character just said a page before will also be repeated at least twice more in italics. The whole thing with Jack seemed pretty predictable and Lugh made me furious every time he opened his mouth. The ending didn't seem much as a resolution to me, not even a cliffhanger, just a scene that didn't have a lot of significance at all. I loved the first one, not so much the second.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Awsome!!!

    Awsome ten times more

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    The Road Gets Longer, Rougher . . . After having been blown away

    The Road Gets Longer, Rougher . . .
    After having been blown away by Moira Young's BLOOD RED ROAD, I was most anxious to tackle REBEL HEART, the second book in the DUST LANDS series. The wait was well worth it. Once again, Young managed to snag this reader by the throat with her unusual variation of "prose." But there was no "dragging" required. Putting the book down is, in fact, the challenge. This is storytelling in its purest form and yet Young's skills continue to blow me away. "My mind sniffs at the problem. Licks at it, nibbles it, tears it apart. Over and over till it's like there's somebody shoutin at the top of their voice inside my head." The Mad Maxian world reveals itself a bit more as we continue this journey through the ravages of what once was and what is coming/promised/destined. Saba. Jack. Lugh, Molly. Em. Tommo. Maev. Love 'em all. And their struggles. What I found incredible was how Young managed to twist this reader into tender feelings for the bad guy. I can't wait to see where this story is headed. But don't write faster, Ms. Young. Just keep doin what your doin.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Why in the world would we want to wait almost a year and a half

    Why in the world would we want to wait almost a year and a half for the resolution to this story? Authors such as Stephen King can get away with writing only one book every two years, but this story is not that interesting to wait so long for a conclusion

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Trust me their is going to a lot of *gasp* "OH MY GOSH, TH

    Trust me their is going to a lot of *gasp* "OH MY GOSH, THIS CANT BE HAPPENING!" .... so trust me DO REAAD!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4