Customer Reviews for

Rebel Spirits

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

I love this book! It contains mystery, history, and romance, all things I love in a book! Such a good read, highly recommended to young readers who enjoy civil war history!

posted by 8912295 on June 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I am a fan of paranormal romance, historical romance, historical

I am a fan of paranormal romance, historical romance, historical fiction, and normal romance. I am a huge Civil War history buff.
 I also hate giving bad reviews, but in this case I have no choice.

This book inaccurately portrays the town of Gettysburg and the Re-enact...
I am a fan of paranormal romance, historical romance, historical fiction, and normal romance. I am a huge Civil War history buff.
 I also hate giving bad reviews, but in this case I have no choice.

This book inaccurately portrays the town of Gettysburg and the Re-enactment. 
I say this as a history major, a person who frequently visits the town (and has it practically memorized),
and as a Civil War reenactor (who has been to the Gettysburg reenactment, including the 150th). 
I was offended at what seemed like the lack of research done on the modern town of Gettysburg,  
on the Gettysburg reenactment and on the reenacting community.
I can assure anyone who read or is thinking of reading this that during an event no reenactor would EVER go into or consider going into to a private home that they did not own or were not invited into.

The title of this book is also very misleading, as a Confederate reenactor and a person with family ties to the south during the war I was excited at the possibility of a romance with a Confederate ghost
especially revolving around a battle that resulted in a Union victory and a major turning point in the war in favor of the Union, and again I was sorely disappointed.

This book was not worth the money I spent on it and I regret it every time I look at my bookshelf,
I can't even fathom donating this book either because I wouldn't want to subject anyone else to the poor quality.

This book was ridiculous and could have been so much better.
I DO NOT RECOMMEND this book to anyone.
It should not have been released at all, let alone during the 150th Anniversary of the war.

posted by hpfan95 on October 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Great read!

    I love this book! It contains mystery, history, and romance, all things I love in a book! Such a good read, highly recommended to young readers who enjoy civil war history!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2014

    I am a fan of paranormal romance, historical romance, historical

    I am a fan of paranormal romance, historical romance, historical fiction, and normal romance. I am a huge Civil War history buff.
     I also hate giving bad reviews, but in this case I have no choice.

    This book inaccurately portrays the town of Gettysburg and the Re-enactment. 
    I say this as a history major, a person who frequently visits the town (and has it practically memorized),
    and as a Civil War reenactor (who has been to the Gettysburg reenactment, including the 150th). 
    I was offended at what seemed like the lack of research done on the modern town of Gettysburg,  
    on the Gettysburg reenactment and on the reenacting community.
    I can assure anyone who read or is thinking of reading this that during an event no reenactor would EVER go into or consider going into to a private home that they did not own or were not invited into.

    The title of this book is also very misleading, as a Confederate reenactor and a person with family ties to the south during the war I was excited at the possibility of a romance with a Confederate ghost
    especially revolving around a battle that resulted in a Union victory and a major turning point in the war in favor of the Union, and again I was sorely disappointed.

    This book was not worth the money I spent on it and I regret it every time I look at my bookshelf,
    I can't even fathom donating this book either because I wouldn't want to subject anyone else to the poor quality.

    This book was ridiculous and could have been so much better.
    I DO NOT RECOMMEND this book to anyone.
    It should not have been released at all, let alone during the 150th Anniversary of the war.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2015

    My husband, who is a middle school teacher, brought this home fr

    My husband, who is a middle school teacher, brought this home from a book fair for me. You're probably wondering why he would do that, but he's recently discovered my love language is gifts and he's trying. I write ghost stoties and love the American Civil War so this book was right up my alley.




    Te main character, Lori, is bring uprooted from her home and friends right befor her Senior year. As you'd expect, she's not happy to leave everything to persue her panents' dream of owning a bed and breakfast in Gettysburg PA. Once she reaches the famous city, she discovered her latent ability to see and interact with ghosts.




    One ghost, Nathanial, a dashing Union soldier, needs her help. He didn't die in the skirmish but was murdered in his tent on the third day of the battle. While trying to solve the mystery of Nathanial's death, Lori discoveres there is something creepy going on in her new home. The investigation leads her down a whirlwind path where she learns the mystery around her house is connected to Nathanial's death. But discovering the answer could cost Lori her life.




    Overall, I enjoyed this book. I wasn't thrilled by the ending but my vindictive streak must be stronger than the authors. I wanted all the bad guys to pay. I also struggled with the title. I get that Lori and her friends were kind of rebels, but all of the ghosts in the book were from the Union so Rebel Spirirs seemed a little off. Otherwise, I thought it was an excellent and very age appropriat YA historical

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2015

    Amazing Book!

    This is by far one of the best books I have ever resd! I've had it for less than a year, and I have already read it twice! I am actually reading it again right now. The characters are well developed, and the plot line doesn't drag out like in some books. There are twists in the plot, and that just made me love it more because I don't like books that are too predictable sometimes. It gets boring. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a great story. Lois Ruby is a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    I &hearts this book

    I'm reading this right now. I have the book right next to me!! I'm dyidng to know what happens!!! Plus i also like romance books too.~Priscilla

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an amazing book!  It has mystery, history, and romance,

    This is an amazing book!  It has mystery, history, and romance, and, like any
    really good murder mystery, it had some of those "WOW!  I did NOT see that
    coming!" moments.  I've had this book for less than a year, and I've already read
     it twice.  I got a couple of my friends in on the book as well, and both of them
    loved it.  This book does NOT disappoint.  I recommend this book for pre-teens
    and teens.  I couldn't put it down either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Good

    SYKE
    One of the best books yet!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    A really good book

    This was areally good book i would reconmend this book for young teens because it is a rwally good book and if you like romance books rhis would be the book for you it is an amazing book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Better than Expected!!

    SO, although I'm not a super big fan of paranormal romance and all that, I am a sucker for history. And come on, THIS IS THE 150TH ANNIVERSARY OF GETTYSBURG like this week. Like this story is going on RIGHT NOW. So i started it, read it, and like it a lot more than I thought. Yes, there's a ghost, but there's also a couple of very real 'villains' and a interesting mystery. I realllly liked it!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Best book i have ever read

    This book is for readers who love romance histoty and mystory

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1