Customer Reviews for

Rebellion (MacGregors Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Nora Robert's, Rebellion, is a romantic love story with a twist. It is 1745, an era in which the English despise the Scotts for their want of freedom from the British government. On a normal Scotland afternoon, while Mr. MacGregor is out hunting with his son, Coll, and ...
Nora Robert's, Rebellion, is a romantic love story with a twist. It is 1745, an era in which the English despise the Scotts for their want of freedom from the British government. On a normal Scotland afternoon, while Mr. MacGregor is out hunting with his son, Coll, and some friends, a group of English soldiers approach the MacGregor's house. They are looking to arrest Mr. MacGregor for a crime he did not committ. In his defense, Mrs. MacGregor pleads that her husband is an innocent man, but this only leads her to being raped by one of the soldiers known as Captian Standish. Standing at the top of the stairs, in complete and utter bewilderment, is Serena, who sees everything. That day she swears to show no mercy to any English man who dares cross her path. Ironically, her brother's british friend, Brigham Langston, is invited to stay at the MacGregor's home to help them and fellow Scotts fight the British regime, in hopes to gain Scotland's independence. As days pass, Serena begins to have feelings for Brigham, but struggles to keep an open mind with him due to his heritage. Though Serena continuely sticks with her beliefs and opinions about the British men, Brigham stops at nothing to try and win her heart. As the rebellion draws near their relationship is put at stake. The price of winning this war is honor, the victory, love. Will Serena and her British lover beat all odds and save their passionate yet unstable relaitonship?

posted by Anonymous on May 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

This is a story that kept you envolved throughout. I love Nora Roberts. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants love and mystery in one novel.

posted by tauralibra2 on December 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    Nora Robert's, Rebellion, is a romantic love story with a twist. It is 1745, an era in which the English despise the Scotts for their want of freedom from the British government. On a normal Scotland afternoon, while Mr. MacGregor is out hunting with his son, Coll, and some friends, a group of English soldiers approach the MacGregor's house. They are looking to arrest Mr. MacGregor for a crime he did not committ. In his defense, Mrs. MacGregor pleads that her husband is an innocent man, but this only leads her to being raped by one of the soldiers known as Captian Standish. Standing at the top of the stairs, in complete and utter bewilderment, is Serena, who sees everything. That day she swears to show no mercy to any English man who dares cross her path. Ironically, her brother's british friend, Brigham Langston, is invited to stay at the MacGregor's home to help them and fellow Scotts fight the British regime, in hopes to gain Scotland's independence. As days pass, Serena begins to have feelings for Brigham, but struggles to keep an open mind with him due to his heritage. Though Serena continuely sticks with her beliefs and opinions about the British men, Brigham stops at nothing to try and win her heart. As the rebellion draws near their relationship is put at stake. The price of winning this war is honor, the victory, love. Will Serena and her British lover beat all odds and save their passionate yet unstable relaitonship?

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite Nora Roberts book!

    Rebellion was the very first Nora Roberts book I ever read! And I absolutely loved it! I love all of her stories! I recently reread Rebellion, after a few years of having not read it, and I still love it just as much as the day I first read it. It remains to this day, my very favorite Nora Roberts book. She is such an amazing writer and this is such a fantastic story. I loved it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    A beautiful tale of how opposites attract !

    I absolutely loved this book it's the first book I've picked up in awhile and I haven't really read that many romance novels,but this particular book was just beautiful! The way the two main characters try to fight the fact that there in love only to succumb to it in the end and realize that they're meant to be it's beautiful! Love just doesn't really happen that way any more! I especially find the era in which this book is set to be romantic and scary it's really hard to explain! However on another note if your still having doubts on whether to read this book my husband also enjoyed it as a whole, it has action,comedy and romance if you ask me it would definetly make an amazing movie. Especially seeing as how there really aren't any True romance movies in todays society!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Nora Roberts Fan

    This was the first book I have read from Nora Roberts, and have been hooked ever since. I now have 12 of her books and still buying more. Nora is a great writer. Keep it up Nora!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    Hooked on Nora

    I was not much of a reader until I read Rebellion by Nora. I was hooked as soon as I started reading. I now collect all of her books, including her J.D. Robb series. All her books contain the perfect recipe for a great read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Great romantic read!

    I bought this book at the airport. It was such a wonderful romantic story that it kept me enthralled through a 2 hour flight delay, and the 2 hour flight! Very sexy, very romantic. Great job, Nora Roberts!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2001

    Roberts makes you travel back in time

    I always loved reading. For I live in Austria I never had the opportunity to read books written by English/American Authors. Now I am in America with a Highschoolexchangeprogram and as a bookfanatic I read every book I can find that could be interesting. Even though Romantic novels are usually not my favorites I was really intrigued when I read Rebellion. I read it in one night. After that I couldn't wait to read other Roberts books. I just finished number 3 and I'm sure many will follow! But I think that Rebellion is especially good because you feel set back in time and you can live through the roots of generations of a fascinating family. And thats why I think it would be interesting too if there would be more novels from the time back when there were no such things as cars and TV. You can identify with the characters and because there are so many different ones in the macgregor clan I'm sure everybody will find one to identify with. Although I think that it is unreal that every character in her books always finds someone who they spend the rest of their lives with it is nice to dream of it. And her special style glues the book to your fingers. I'm the witness. I tried to put the book down. Impossible! Just keep the work up, Nora! As long as you keep writing books I know I will always have readingmaterial! Just wish me luck, that I find your books when I'm back in Austria. :o)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2014

    Highly recommended

    This is a story that kept you envolved throughout. I love Nora Roberts. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants love and mystery in one novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    lovely

    just a nice story to read on a rainy day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    The BEST

    This is absoultly my favorite book of all time!!! Any one with any romantic tastes would enjoy this book. I read it over and over agian. The front cover is falling off of my copy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Couldnt put it down

    I started reading this book in on the ride to vacation, and I couldn't put it down..I ended up reading for two days straight even after I was at a beautiful lakefront cabin. It diffently holds your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2015

    ANOTHER HUGE SUCCESS!!

    I love Nora Roberts' books and this one was awesome!! Beautiful love story told in the wilds of Scotland!! What's not to love!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2015

    Recommend!

    Great love story. Love Nora Roberts historical romances! Sizzling chemistry between the main characters and wonderful period references. My other favorite historical romance by Ms. Roberts is a book called LAWLESS, soooo good! I highly recommend it as well as REBELLION!

    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    Great romantic story, I didn't know how I will enjoy a romance w

    Great romantic story, I didn't know how I will enjoy a romance which happend in 1745 but it was really beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Character application for apocolyptic

    Name: Luna phelps . gender: female. personality: shy, sweet, and is sensitive. Looks: wavy black hair that has a navy blue tint (has long bangs that sometimes fall on her eyes), fair skin, dark sorrowful eyes, skinny. Clothes: sleeveless black top, navy jeans, and black tennis shoes. Weapon: spiked club and bow and arrows. Suggestion: has a crush on the main boy character. Or someone - random person

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Character applications here

    ~ Dead Queen &#9813

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2001

    What a blunder.

    I love Nora Roberts work. I have for years, but this book and all others that make the mistake of romantisizing the 45 rebellion offends me. IT WAS THE WORSE THING TO HAPPEN TO SCOTLAND, EVER. Prince Charles Edward Stewart ended up a drunken wife-beater, and that was the high point of his life. Roberts grasp of her charactors as ever is great, but I do wish she had chosen a better era to set her story in. As a Scottish type person,(by birth and locality) I do wish people would realise what a cowardly pathetic excuse for a prince the Bonnie Prince really was, AND stop making him a hero, He was not.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    Nora Roberts does it again!

    Spellbinding. I can't put her books down once I start to read. Wish we had one per week from her!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2