Customer Reviews for

The Rebellion of Jane Clarke

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Rebellion of Jane Clark is a super historical thriller

In 1769 in Satucket on Cape Cod, twenty-two years old Jane Clarke rejects marriage to the loyalist Phinnie Paine chosen by her father. Outraged by his daughter's disobedience, he exiles her to take care of her elderly great-aunt Gill in Boston.

Jane enjoys the indep...
In 1769 in Satucket on Cape Cod, twenty-two years old Jane Clarke rejects marriage to the loyalist Phinnie Paine chosen by her father. Outraged by his daughter's disobedience, he exiles her to take care of her elderly great-aunt Gill in Boston.

Jane enjoys the independence of not residing under her father's tyrannical thumb and being near the British Custom House, she meets some of the leaders demanding representation in parliament. She becomes friends with Henry Knox and through her brother meets John Adams. As the men she meets become increasingly frustrated with the British efforts to restrain Bostonians, she fears violence will happen as she realizes those fomenting revolt are not interested in truths that detract from their argument of throwing the British out. Finally her premonition turns true when several protestors are killed at what the rebelling colonists call the Boston Massacre.

The Rebellion of Jane Clark is a super historical thriller that through the heroine's eyes focuses on key participants and others caught in the dispute in the days just prior to the American Revolution. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Jane is exiled to Boston and never slows down; yet enables readers to witness how divided the Massachusetts colonists were re revolt vs. allegiance. Sally Gunning's terrific tale brings to life the prime time players, their impact on others, and life in Boston as rebellion is on the minds of every citizen; with families divided between for, against, and neutral

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I loved it.

Well written and gives a personal idea of the events of the period.

posted by kohkoh on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Stunning Historical Novel!

    Sally Gunning is a new-to-me author, but one I quickly became a fan of. She's got a talent for making her story, full of rich, historical detail, complex characters and mystery, come to life. Each of her characters spoke volumes amongst the pages and held my attention until the end of the story.

    Jane Clark. She is an absolutely fiercely independent woman. In the beginning, I wasn't sure I would like her story, but the more I read, the more I liked her. Refusing to marry the man her father had chosen for her, she is forced to move to Boston and live with her aunt. Once there, her life greatly changes when she befriends the British, and jeopardizes her brother life, who works for John Adams. All this happens right before the Boston Massacre.

    When the Boston Massacre occurs, Jane rethinks her life. She's unsure of herself and her place in society, and wants to find her place. Questions arise and twists and turns accompany Jane's thoughts on finding her true self. She is young, and confused, and through finding the answers she'll find her way.

    This is a novel that is stunningly full of rich historical stateside detail, unforgettable characters, and a time period that changed the world. While this was a superbly fast 4 star read, it was not always a "light" read. if you love history-filled stories that ring true, then I highly recommend the talented Sally Gunning's The Rebellion of Jane Clark. Like me, you're sure to become a full part of the story, and before you know it, you'll be on the last page and ready for more of her novels!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A True Classic

    The Rebellion of Jane Clarke is the story of a young girl sent to live with her elderly Aunt in Boston, for not abiding by her father's wishes. The history of the pre-Revolutionary War period leading up to the Boston Massacre is written to protray what Jane actually saw happening as oppose to what people were led to believe was happening, surprisingly not unlike today. The story is rich with period history and historical characters along with Jane discovering who and what is important in her life. An interesting and enjoyable book that holds your interest and thoughts even after the last page is read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Rebellion of Jane Clark is a super historical thriller

    In 1769 in Satucket on Cape Cod, twenty-two years old Jane Clarke rejects marriage to the loyalist Phinnie Paine chosen by her father. Outraged by his daughter's disobedience, he exiles her to take care of her elderly great-aunt Gill in Boston.

    Jane enjoys the independence of not residing under her father's tyrannical thumb and being near the British Custom House, she meets some of the leaders demanding representation in parliament. She becomes friends with Henry Knox and through her brother meets John Adams. As the men she meets become increasingly frustrated with the British efforts to restrain Bostonians, she fears violence will happen as she realizes those fomenting revolt are not interested in truths that detract from their argument of throwing the British out. Finally her premonition turns true when several protestors are killed at what the rebelling colonists call the Boston Massacre.

    The Rebellion of Jane Clark is a super historical thriller that through the heroine's eyes focuses on key participants and others caught in the dispute in the days just prior to the American Revolution. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Jane is exiled to Boston and never slows down; yet enables readers to witness how divided the Massachusetts colonists were re revolt vs. allegiance. Sally Gunning's terrific tale brings to life the prime time players, their impact on others, and life in Boston as rebellion is on the minds of every citizen; with families divided between for, against, and neutral

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Great Early American depiction

    I really enjoyed this book. You feel like you're walking next to Jane as she witnesses the birth of American Revolution.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Worth every penny you spend!

    I am so glad I invested in this book. I read the previous two by Gunning and also liked them but this was by far my favorite.
    The main character, Jane Clarke, is a woman of her own mind and opinions. She is intelligent, compassionate and has a strong will without being overbearing.
    The historical events and persons of Boston, just before the break out of the Revolutionary War, are woven into this tale in a way that makes history come alive.
    I enjoyed every page of this book. I am left with a hunger for more by this author. Please write another Ms. Gunning!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Good story

    I liked this book. It was well written, and provided an interesting glimpse of that time period. Was it my favorite book ever? No, but it was a good read. For those of you who have read her other book, Bound, I didn't think it was quite as good as that one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    I loved it.

    Well written and gives a personal idea of the events of the period.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    WONDERFUL SERIES

    Terrific NE Story. What a sense of pride in all this history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    Need to read

    If you haven't read very much about the revolutionary war, this would be a good book to begin, because it has some human elements in it and not just dates. There are portions that have a little humor in them and some that makes you want to cry. In some areas we've come so far.
    I would read another book by this author. The problem with me reading all of the author's work, is that it all begins to sound the same. I like to try different authors, but will go back and read the authors I enjoy.
    I would recommend this for a book club discussion, there are numerous discussion points that could be addressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    another great read from sally gunning

    this follows the widows war and bound in greatness. i totally enjoyed this book and eagerly await another from her. wonderful characters, you can just imagine john adams down the street , just wonderful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2