Customer Reviews for

Rebellious Desire

Average Rating 4
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not My Favorite

    I've read all of Julie Garwood's historical romance novels. She is one of my favorite authors. However, this book was her worst! I bought this book for myself and have tried reading 3 or 4 times. I just can't get past the first few chapters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    not my favorite Garwood

    Rebellious Desire was a nice fluff read, but it was not Garwood's best effort. The story started off quite successfully and drew me in, but the middle lacked the signature humor that marks Garwood's better romances. The finale let me down, as the ending was anticlimactic and didn't do justice to the heroine's character. Just don't expect too much from this one

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Caroline Richmond's father sent her to live in Boston when she w

    Caroline Richmond's father sent her to live in Boston when she was four but demanded her to return home to England after 15 years. On the way to meet her father, she heard shots and goes to help a man who has been shot. While tending to his wound she hears a horse coming and it is the Duke of Bradford aka Jered Marcus Benton. They are aiming guns at each other and have a little bit of an argument about who will put their gun away first . He is impressed with the way she handled the situation and felt that she is really like no other woman he has ever met.

    Caroline is intelligent, witty, and strong. She determines to make the best of any situation and is a very likable character. Jered is domineering, sullen, and handsome. Together they are an interesting couple. Both are very determined people in their own way which make for very interesting situations.

    I enjoyed this book but did not love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    ok

    this book was ok but far from Garwoods best. The characters were a little weak and it ended too quickly. I would recommend Ransome, or Saving Grace instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Nice story!

    I have read almost all of Garwood's novels. However, this one was not one of my favorites. The characters and story are nice - however I think her medieval stories are more touching. It okay - not great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Julie Garwood is ALWAYS a good read!

    The best!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Blah

    I enjoy Garwood's books very much, but this just didn't do anything for me. It started out okay, but then fizzled. And, I'm getting a little irritated with Garwood' heroines. They are always the sweetest, most gentle, most beautiful women in the history of literature. Get over it already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    highly recommend

    I love this series, and I read Shadow Music, another great one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    So so

    Could have been a great story...not usual jg romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Not on of my favorites

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Hate it!

    I love Julie Garwood, but this book wont do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great weekend read!

    I love the back and forth between Caroline and the Duke of Bradford. It was hot a steamy as well as exciting. I love the way Julie takes me back to the past with a clear picture of what it was like in England, the danger, the passion, and the tradition of what was proper and what was not. Thank you so much :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    Loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book! It grabbed my attention from the very beginning! I loved all of the characters. Yeah, some storylines could've been developed a little more, but I don't care! I would love to see how her brother's trip panned out and read their stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Nice Read

    I loved this book, read it in one day!! The characters are wonderful. Caroline and the Duke will reach your heart and you will also laugh at what they say to each other!! I really enjoyed this book. I have enjoyed all Julia Garwood's Historical books. I especially like the Highlands settings books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    Reblious against Desire

    This was my first Garwood novel to catch my taste. It was not my favorite however this story will always hold a special place in my heart as my first romace novel. The story was lacking in an overall plot, unlike her other novels that do an excellent job of having an overall plot that effects all the characters rather than just the love story. The reader doen't have any feelings for antagonist and finds that the heroine's love intrest more of a threat than the true enemy. I won't continue to bash a book that will have to be my one and only reason for reading romance. I loved the heroine and every other one of her leading ladies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2001

    SPLENDID

    MS. GARWOOD MAINTAINS HER WONDERFUL ABILITY TO TAKE YOU BACK IN TIME. SHE IS A GIFTED AUTHOR WITH UNCANNY USE OF WORDS. THIS ADVENTURE KEEPS YOU ENTHRALLED. I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN UNTIL THE END. AS ALWAYS SHE LEFT ME WANTING MORE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    Romantic @ hart

    It was a great story and I really liked the characters, Caroline and the Duke. The story is exciting and mysterious, keeps you guessing til the end. Julie Garwood sure knows how to write it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8