BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rebirth

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The second Aftertime post apocalyptic thriller is an exciting tale

    California is an apocalyptic catastrophe with the cannibalistic fresh flesh eating Beaters everywhere, but Cass Dollar feels good as she has rescued her daughter Ruthie though the child has become mute from the horrors she lived through and witnessed (see Aftertime). While Ruth struggles with her psychosomatic trauma, The Dollar females reside at the Box camp with the mom's lover Smoke.

    However though Cassie begs him not to, Smoke leaves on a vendetta. Just after he leaves, the encampment's leader Dor pleads with Cass to help him rescue his daughter; held prisoner by the ruthless Rebuilders. She wants to refuse as Ruth comes first and she fears the Box haven is falling apart, but Cassie also understands how Dor feels having gone on her impossible quest to save her daughter.

    The second Aftertime post apocalyptic thriller is an exciting tale that places a human cost on the pandemic catastrophe. Readers will feel for Ruthie who is a superb traumatized child and understand the dilemmas facing her mother including her caring for the two strong men in her life. Character driven yet packed with action, Rebirth is a vivid dark future fantasy.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    Even better than Aftertime.

    Even better than Aftertime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    this book was great and I really enjoyed it. I did feel that whe

    this book was great and I really enjoyed it. I did feel that when Smoke, Cass's current lover (because she never calls them boyfriends just lovers) ran off to avenge the death of his old girlfriend, Cass got sucked in with Dor, a whole new guy. Thats when I started to feel like I was watching a movie sequel where they couldn't get the hunk from the first movie to come back for the second so they threw in a new guy (ie Miss Congeniality 2 where Benjamin Bratt chose not to make an appearance). Anyway, Smoke missing was noted although sex was not missing from this book.


    Let me put this out there, I'm not super big on soft porn books. The romance section doesn't really have a pull for me, not that books I read are missing sex, but usually its not detailed, "gets the juices flowing" sex. This book has hot tamale sex and its not just once. I'll admit, it was a little weird to read about in the first book, but I was expecting it this time.


    There were times when I questioned Cass's love for Ruthie, there were moments where she twisted what she wanted to make it seem like it was for her daughter. When Cass made the decision to leave the Box, she made it sound like there was going to be nothing left for her and Ruthie, but until that happened her daughter was still recovering from an unknown terror and she had the guarantee that she would be provided for. In a world where Beaters were around every corner, why not take something that was for sure and trade it for a world of chance?


    Granted, if she hadn't traded for the world of chance, this book wouldn't have happened, but still. Not to mention the Rebuilders were a real class act. Just knowing how they operated from the last book was enough to make me think that going to them was just a bad idea. Another sick idea that I thought was fascinating was the harvesting outlier babies. I mean really, taking 14 year olds and forcing them to be pregnant. Even forcing the men to have vasectomy's was a little outrageous, somewhat understandable, but outrageous. And if you ask me, the Rebuilders should have been using all their fire power to kill the Beaters, not kill the people or attack people's settlements like the Library or the School.


    If you also read the short story, Survivors, that was supposed to be between Aftertime and Rebirth then, you should remember Feo, the little boy that came in with his grandmother. You should be pleased to know that he does make an appearance in this book, so he wasn't forgotten. I can't wait to read the third and I believe final installment in this series, Horizon. That came out last month, but it will probably take me a few years to get to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Sequel!!!

    It has been a few months since Smoke helped Cass get her daughter Ruthie back and make a new life for herself. This has not always been easy, in a time when Beaters and Rebuilders roam the land, both equally intent on killing people. But life is good, if not stable. But then Smoke gets news that pulls him away from Cass and Ruthie, and their world is once again turned upside down. Cass and Ruthie leave with Dor, the leader of the Box they live in, and begin the hunt to track down other surviving family members. Add to this the fact that Ruthie is starting to show signs of being something more than she seems, and the stakes are higher than they have ever been before.

    What an incredible, compelling sequel! I was completely blown away by the powerful first book, Aftertime. It was hands-down the best adult zombie book I have ever read. Sophie Littlefield has set the standard for bleak, rough landscapes- where it is depressing to live, but hopeful to survive. This second story picks up shortly after the first one ends, and not much has changed. Cass has Ruthie, who is an instantly likeable little girl. As was Dor, which I found surprising, since he was not portrayed in a nice light in the first book. Littlefield is not afraid to write gory and graphic scenes, which make the world all the more real. I love traveling with Cass as she navigates her heart and desires, and can't wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1