Customer Reviews for

Reboot

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Excellant!

    I am 55 & a sci fi fan. Great book. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    A new and interesting plot and story.

    A good plot that doesn't get too engrossed in one of the subtler aspects of the development of "once-human" emotional responses. An interesting carry-over of the fact that elements of the human nervous system can repair over time.

    "Good" and "evil" are not clearly defined and only subtly form an ambivalent thread under the story line.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Was on the edge of my seat...

    This book was a page turner, and though it is found in the teen section can be enjoyed by adults also.
    The characters were well written and likable, and the progression of the plot made the book go very quickly.
    I hope to see more adventures of Wren, Callum, and the rest of the Reboots!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Wren was shot a

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Wren was shot and killed and has come back to "life" and is now semi human or a Reboot.  She is living in the Rosa facility and a new group of Reboots have arrived and as she was dead a long time she is a trainer and must help train the incoming group.  Her decision to train a lower number sets her on an adventure where she ends up in a place she never thought she would have ever seen.

    It was easy to fall in love with Wren and want to join her on her journey and also learn about her complicated past.  The author did a fantastic job of world building while keeping the characters moving at the same time, she didn't fail either aspect of the book.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    At first glance Reboot is your typical popular dystopian story a

    At first glance Reboot is your typical popular dystopian story about what used to be America but was ravaged by disease, the government took over and had to rebuild itself. However, what you will find when you read this book is nothing like what you expected. We meet Wren Connolly, a 17 year old girl in the Republic of Texas, AKA 178. That number is how many minutes Wren was dead before her body was reanimated and she became what the title refers to, a reboot. A virus has spread through the country that brings people back to life stronger and less human than before, and at one point caused a huge war that threatened to end humanity. Now these reboots are trained and controlled by the government agency HARC as a young police force. Everything seems legit enough, until Wren meets Callum, a boy that will change her life forever.




    I know what you are thinking, that's a lot to process. In fact, I agree with you but that's why I enjoyed this book so much. There was a lot to set up: a past country, a virus that pretty much makes zombies and of course our main characters previous life and the one that she lives in the course of the book. However, this author has done an amazing job of building of a world, developing characters and creating problems they have to overcome without losing anything within the story. I loved the back story to the world these characters lived in and wanted to know more about the world during the reboot rebellion and how we came to the present issues. If I love a book and still I'm looking for more information, that's a winner to me.




    The other part that was especially awesome to me was the growth of Wren throughout the book. It was a 365 page hard cover, and I felt like I went through about 1,000 pages with her. She went from cold and robot like to cracking that shell and seeing who she really was as a human not as a reboot. Through that growth we watched friendships tested and romance bloom, along with a change occur both on the inside of a character and on the outside in the world around her. That is A LOT to fit into a book and still not get muddled with vague story lines or cookie-cutter plot. This was a unique futuristic look into a world that isn't unlike our own and how a love can break any steady surface making it something special

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    New-age zombies

    This book is a really good read. A new spin to zombies disturbed yet beautiful creatures. If you like girl power and zombies you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Best Book Ever!

    Reboot is one of the best books i have evr read! Really exiting story and great thoughts and ideas from the author. I do have one dislike about it; it never tells us who th HARC are and why they are there. I think there should be another book after Rebel telling the reason HARC is there and maybe Wren's life before she rebooted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Exciting and cute love story!

    I enjoyed reading this book and it was a page turner. I loved the unique storyline. Try it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Good novel

    A goodbook and an easy read. One that i can see myself reading again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    A new theory

    This book took supernatural in a new direction and was a great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reboot by author Amy Tintera sounded like a refreshing sci-fi no

    Reboot by author Amy Tintera sounded like a refreshing sci-fi novel that would keep me interested throughout. From the opening sentence I just knew that Reboot would be my kind of novel. It had every element that a novel should have and I loved it for that; sci-fi, dystopia, romance, a kick ass female main character—amaze! Reboot is one of those novels that deserves everything and most importantly a movie adaptation.

    In Reboot a disease has swept through Texas, killing children and causing them to come back after they die—a reboot. When kids come back as Reboots the longer they’re dead the less humanity they return with. Main character Wren Connolly died five years ago and rebooted 178 minutes later. Now known simply as Wren 178, she is one of the most dangerous Reboots that HARC has. Then a new recruit comes into Wren’s life. Callum 22. Callum is irritating. He’s too slow, his reflexes suck and he’s far too human for Wren’s liking.

     For reasons she doesn’t understand she finds herself agreeing to train him to be as good a Reboot as ever.  However there’s something wrong with the Reboots under sixty minutes. Wren first notices this when her roommate attacks her and begins to act crazed. Suddenly, Wren finds herself with an order: kill Callum or get him to be the Reboot HARC needs him to be. She can’t bring herself to kill him and there’s something about Callum that changes Wren and as she soon discovers with him there’s more to the Reboots than they both know.

    Something about Reboot just compelled me to keep reading. Everything about it just worked. The writing, the world, the characters it all just fit together like pieces of a puzzle and because of this I always had to keep reading. I’d finish a chapter and feel the need to keep reading, to figure everything out with Wren. Reboot is one of those reads where you could probably finish it in just one sitting, the plot is just so exciting. Even when the novel isn’t on a high point there’s something there that makes it still very intriguing. (And it could be because we’re dealing with semi-zombie assassins).

    What really stuck out for me with Reboot was the writing. Personally, I thought that the writing was fantastic. Because Reboot is told in the first person we get to see exactly how Wren thinks and at the beginning of the novel her character thinks the way somebody who has lost their humanity would think. She’s very wooden. Doesn’t have a lot of emotion and that’s how it’s supposed to be. As the novel progresses, Wren starts to become more and more human. She starts to have doubts, real human emotions and (*excited squee*) she falls in love. There’s a lot of character growth and the way that Tintera wrote Reboot brings it to life.

    I think a lot of readers are going to like the relationship between Callum and Wren. The chemistry between them both is instantaneous and they both come from opposites of the Reboot world and still somehow come together. I personally adored them together and would be shouting at the book whenever they would do something cute like Wren breaking his arm having little conversations that consisted of Callum’s teasing or a stolen kiss.

    By the time Reboot came to a close (and was left totally set-up for a sequel) I was left satisfied and am now eager to get reading its sequel. I would recommend Reboot to readers who are looking for a sci-fi/dystopia novel with a unique twist, readers who are fans of action and to anybody who wants a novel that is badass and fun.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    REBOOT is a 2013 debut with a very intriguing concept functionin

    REBOOT is a 2013 debut with a very intriguing concept functioning as potent YA readers' bait.
    The entire Reboot idea proved to be pretty interesting, human teenagers dying and rebooting after their death to become stronger and more resilient versions of their former selves.
    Amy Tintera described them to look like humans just with transformed shiny eyes and stronger body features. But they weren't always a tangible concept for me. Sometimes the Reboots gave off an almost cyborg-like vibe, their characters seeming to shift between human, machine and zombie attributes.

    High appeal had the fact that, after rebooting, Wren has almost zero emotions left and she would be confronted with feelings that should be non-existent by now. Callum, her announced love interest remains almost human after his death. I was very excited for their love story, as I imagined it to be very fierce and troublesome, with bickering and an emotional chaos for Wren. The imbalance between them was what promised to make their love story something to look forward to.
    In the end the relationship between 178 and 22 came along too manageable and without any major doubts on Wren's part. As she is always described as a calculating heartless being she should at least spend some time struggling, and I just didn't see that.
    Wren's character was strong otherwise and everyone respected her. It was Callum's character who could have used to appear edgier.

    Some time around the middle of the book, something happened that resulted in my discontentment. And after that I felt my attention being gradually diverted. I hoped for Wren's and Callum's training phase to be more intense and more emphasis put on Wren's life in the HARC complex. The strong enthusiasm I held for Amy Tintera's Reboots in the first few chapters of the book, couldn't make it to the end.

    The story's overall feel was inherently consistent and attractive with its dystopian and sci-fi elements. There are Reboots, rebels and the ominous HARC organisation. Everything the Reboots do, is controlled and observed by guards and scientists.
    REBOOT is set in Texas, but not the Texas we know today. Cities were destroyed in uproars, most of the population killed. Pretty scary!

    Sadly the explanation - stories with these kind of fatal developments in general - behind the Reboot procedure just didn't seem to work for me. Even though their stories are based on different basic set-ups, to some extent REBOOT reminded me of the reading impression I got from WITHER by Lauren DeStefano and EVE by Anna Carey.


    3,5/5 ***/* REBOOT - Extremely inventive Reboot concept with a weaker story line towards the end.

    Epic Reads tea time. That's where I first heard about Amy Tintera's debut and it was clear this was a 2013 debut I wouldn't put on hold for too long. I recommend you to pick it up as soon as possible, I'm sure it will find a place on many readers' favourites shelves. REBOOT could be a good read for people who enjoyed WITHER by Lauren DeStefano and EVE by Anna Carey.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Very interesting read-unusual premise

    not something I normally read, but I just had to keep reading. Ready for next book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Reboot

    Nice quick read kept me interested.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

        I liked Wren as a main character. She was different, but a h

        I liked Wren as a main character. She was different, but a heroine who could kick butt and take names. The premise is fantastic and got my attention from the first time I saw it. I think that the world building was balanced. I got a good idea of why the virus and reboot happened and the effects on society.
        Callum was a superb secondary character and love interest. He brought out the character development with Wren and it was great how his smile and the fact that he retained so much of his humanity highlighted the personality and emotions of Wren that she'd previously buried.
        I really enjoyed being in Wren's head. She was tough, and I got to see her humanity come out and see her make her own decisions through her interactions with Callum and her friend and roomie Ever.
        There was a great mix of action and character building, and I was glued to the pages and essentially finished in one sitting on the train back from Boston. I was thankful for the lack of interruptions.
       Some might be frustrated that the romance and building of it almost takes front seat to the robot elements, but for me felt just right. I think that Wren has reservations and that she had a hard time breaking free from the expectations on her, and Callum influenced that change in her a lot. But he wasn't the only one and for that I am grateful. The experiments and differences between Wren and Ever also shepherds some of this change.
        The plot of this book tied up pretty well, giving me the right balance of closure and yearning for the next book to find out what happens next.




    Bottom Line: Devoured it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2