BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Recalled

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    I read Recalled by Cambria Hebert. I recommend this book. I real

    I read Recalled by Cambria Hebert. I recommend this book. I really enjoyed reading this. It was the first book of this authors I have read and I think I will read more. it starts off with a homeless guy on the streets in Alaska. He just wants to get warm, so he sets his eyes on a waitress to steal her money. He achieves this and heads to a diner when the waitress he just bumped into is about to lose her life by a bus careening towards her. This man jumps just in time and pushes her out of the way but gets hit himself. Just before he passes, they stare into each others eyes. There becomes a connection, but he's gone. Piper, the waitress, can't get over why a stranger would save her life and sacrifice his. When the homeless man dies, he appears in an office, coming out of his body in a purple smoke essence. He knew he was going to hell because he killed a man when he was young, so he wasn't sure what was happening. A man shows up and offers him a deal. Money, immortality, the high life if he becomes an Escort, a Death Escort. He agrees but will he regret his decision? Will he ever be able to fit into this dream life? Will Piper ever get over her near death experience? This book has a great setting and plot!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    **3.5 Stars** Recalled by Cambria Hebert I had a hard time t

    **3.5 Stars**




    Recalled by Cambria Hebert I had a hard time trying to figure out how I was going to rate this book.




    Some people need a harder kick in the butt to learn life lessons. Dex died saving a girl's life, a girl he didn't even know, a stranger he was trying to rob from. Dex had been preparing himself his whole life for his one way ticket to hell, a place much warmer than his home in Alaska. Piper is a college student who is just trying to make her way in the world, without med-school crushing her. And get the death of the men who saved her out of her head.




    I liked the different POV's and how there was a definition at the top of each chapter. I thought it was a cute and a new idea. Each definition gave a theme for that specific chapter. I loved the background character Frankie who was Piper's best friend. The writing was easy flowing and easy to read. I am a purple girl so I did enjoy the cover (Plus it's another Regina artwork, who wouldn't enjoy that?), I like daisies too. One of my problems with Cambria's Masquerade was that the romance was too quick. I did like that love wasn't right away in Recalled, there was some questioning of trust. Dex even though he was suppose to be trying to kill Piper slowly felt out her personality before the two realized emotions was there. I did like that there was a note and some text messages which were different sources of media in the book, I just wish there was a space or they were formatted differently then the rest of the paragraphs so they were easier to read (that might be just me though, my eyes get weird with some readings.)




    I had one or two logistical problems with the book and I fought with myself if I should even mention them in the review because I did enjoy the book and I didn't want to seem like I was nit picking. I know my own writing has holes in them as well (which was one of the reasons I wasn't going to bring up the points in the review), no writing will ever, never have no loop holes. Dex drives a 100+K Mercedes convertible, I know it's fiction writing and people get to write out fantasies, but his car is a rear-wheel drive, in Alaska where the roads are being described as slippery because it's winter. The characters are having trouble slipping on the road, but he is driving a rear-wheel car with no problems? I have two family members who tried driving rear-wheel cars in the snow, in NJ, neither ended well. I also got a little confused, Dex says Piper can't sit at the bar because she isn't 21, but is doing med-school clinical work and can do that kind of medical work, but she isn't old enough to have finished her BS? The under 21 thing might have been a joke and since I've been sick for a week and our AC is broken I missed it.




    I feel like a jerk pointing these two things out because I did enjoy the book. I also think Cambria is a good person and writer. Especially since no one else in their reviews pointed them out...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!!! I've never actually read a book by this author but let me

    Wow!!! I've never actually read a book by this author but let me tell you that after reading Recalled I will read all her books.  It was a great read and sucked me in from the first few pages.  I had to finish reading it in one sitting.  Definitely a must read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    This was such a unique different story that I really enjoyed it.

    This was such a unique different story that I really enjoyed it.  This was my first reaper story and this wasn’t exactly what I expected, but it was definitely different from what I expected (in a good way!) The story was just so good.




    There were so many times that I wanted not to like Dex, but then he would do something to redeem himself. The whole thought of dying and getting the chance to try again,




    This book was so easy to read and sucked me in. I really enjoyed reading this one and the story was amazing.




    And the cover is just gorgeous! I must add that it is very purple, which in my house is a good thing! (My almost 5 year old lives for purple!) I think the cover was the first thing that made me want to read this book, but the book itself made me VERY happy that I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    It has mystery, suspense, and romance, and is an enjoyable read.

    It has mystery, suspense, and romance, and is an enjoyable read. The plot is very unique. I would liked to have seen a bit more romance, taking in mind the amount of time that Dex and Piper spend with each other. I didn't know what to expect while approaching the ending, but..........interesting twist there.
    The story centers around a guy, Dex, who has had a rough life on the streets as well as a tough beginning at home. It has taken away the good he once saw in himself. He has done things that most would never dreamed of doing if life had turned out differently. A chance encounter with someone (Piper) has now changed his "life" forever.
    I didn't quite connect with Piper on the level that I wanted to but I did like her. She may not have always have the answers but she pursed them. She was honest and had a wonderful, caring nature. She was willing to forgive and love unconditionally and which was my favorite thing about her.
    Still a great read and I recommend this for your TBR shelf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Cambria Hebert and Xpresso Book Tours.)
    Dex thinks he’s going to hell. He killed his mom’s abusive boyfriend when he was only 10, and not long after that he left home to live on the streets.
    Now Dex gets by by robbing people, and Piper is his next target.

    Piper is training to be a doctor, and working at a café while she does. Dex bumps into her and robs her, and then the next thing she knows, he’s pushing her out of the way of a bus that’s slipping on the ice towards her.

    Dex dies in Piper’s place, but he doesn’t go to hell as he expects. Instead he finds himself a cloud of purple smoke, in some weird guy’s office, being offered some kind of job; money, a house, a car, and all he has to do is be an escort – a death escort.

    Dex is given his first victim, all he needs to do is kill her, and he’ll be a fully-fledged death escort. Dex is okay with this, until he finds out who his first victim will be – Piper.
    Can Dex kill Piper? Can Dex really be a death escort? And what will Dex learn on the way?


    I’m not sure where to start with this book. It had mystery, suspense, and romance, and was an enjoyable read, but I didn’t like it as much as Cambria’s other books.

    Piper was a nice girl, she worked hard and always tried her best. She didn’t have much money but was generous with her friends, and her main aim in life seemed to be to help people. She did seem a little naïve at times, but I think this was more a case of her being in the wrong place at the wrong time rather than anything else.

    Dex was an interesting character, although it was obvious to me that he wasn’t really as bad as he thought he was. Although he thought that he was a tough, mean guy, it seemed evident that he really had a heart of gold, and I never believed for a second that he would make a good death escort if he actually had to kill people!

    The good thing about the romance in this book was that it grew slowly. Dex had absolutely no intentions of falling in love with Piper, and there was no love-at-first-sight for Piper either. The pair slowly grew to have feelings for each other, and there was no ‘fated-to-be-together’ stuff which was a nice change in a paranormal book.
    I felt like the romance in this book was quite soft, as there wasn’t a lot of romantic moments between the two as a couple, but more about them falling in love. The romance wasn’t really the main theme of the book though, so this fitted in well with the rest of the story.

    I liked the storyline, I don’t think I’ve read anything recently with this sort of a theme, and it was certainly enough to keep me interested. I’ve no idea where this series is going to go as it seems like Piper and Dex’s story ends in this book? Maybe there will be a different escort in the next book? I don’t know!

    Overall; a different concept, a touch of the supernatural, and a soft romance.
    7 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Recalled is the first book in the new Death Escorts series by Ca

    Recalled is the first book in the new Death Escorts series by Cambria Hebert. I don't know how much I should talk about this book. The synopsis is VERY vague, and maybe the author wants people to not really know anything going into this book. So, I won't sum it up but I will say that the job mentioned is a Death Collector.

    Recalled is told from two points of view – Dex and Piper. Dex is a great, complex character. He is the ideal bad boy that makes girls swoon – rough around the edges but good deep down. He ends up having, ummm... two identities. I can't even explain this to you. You just have to read it. I was totally blown away at this point in the book. It's weird and intriguing at the same time.

    Piper is the female lead character. She is a poor college student, who works at a diner and interns at a clinic. She aspires to be a doctor and she is a very caring person. She has a special “gift” which makes her interesting. I really enjoyed her best friend, Frankie, who brought a lot of laughs to the story.

    The plot is very unique and held my attention the entire time. There was a lot of mystery and suspense in this. I would liked to have seen more romance, considering the amount of time that Dex and Piper spent with each other. The ending had quite the twist to it. I didn't know what to expect while approaching the ending. I'm not sure how/if this storyline continues into the next book. I know this is a series, but sometimes series have different characters. The ending of this story was wrapped up in a way that it could be the end, but I'd love to see it continue on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    This is a great and creative tale!!! Genre:  New Adult Urban Fa

    This is a great and creative tale!!!

    Genre:  New Adult Urban Fantasy/PNR
    Publisher Type: Self/Indie
    My Rating:  *  *  *  *

    My Review:

    This is a great and creative tale!!!  I love Cambria Hebert's writing; she is especially gifted with writing the falling in love experience.  She puts those deep, can't -begin-to-explain-it feelings down on paper like no one else can and develops realtionships slowly, at a natural and believable pace.  And now we can add Queen of Suspense to her titles.  I held my breath practically the entire novel (thank goodness I'm a fast reader -- tee hee hee)!!!  The whole novel has you clenching your Kindle, asking yourself "how can this work out?!?!"  And the characters......oh the characters!!!  Both Dex and Piper are great characters.  Dex is a good guy consumed with guilt, leading him to believe he is, at his core, bad.  Piper is beautifully sweet and loving; the perfect woman to bring light back into Dex's world.  I was all tied up in knots over how this bittersweet story would end.  It was a really good ending, but truthfully I didn't like how it ended (but that's totally a personal thing, not a "bad book" thing).  Other than not loving the ending (although it was a really well done ending), my only other point of concern was about Dex's boss.  Yeah, he was a great bad guy.  Totally perfect.  But I would've liked to understand why he had such power over Dex's and Piper's destinies.  How much was a bluff?  Maybe we'll learn more in future installments, but for right now, I wish I'd been given just a touch more, maybe near the end.  Overall, a FANTASTIC start to a new series that I highly recommend! 

    Cover Art:

    Oh my goodness gracious!!!  I'm a huge fan of Regina at Mae I Design.  Yes, I have favorite cover designers just like I have favorite authors.  And I just LOVE Regina's work!!!  This cover is gorgeous, fits the book perfectly and is purple!!!  Okay, maybe I'm a pick peculiar when it comes to the color purple ... perhaps obsessed is better verbiage?

     I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  See more of my reviews on my blogspot blog, Known to Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1