Customer Reviews for

Recipe, Menu & Cooking Planner

Average Rating 4
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

283 out of 306 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

First time using this app. So amazing!
I am able to import favorite recipes to this app or add recipes from my favorite food networks. A bookmark 'icon' on my status bar allows me to click to add (import) the recipe without having to manually type it in. But even at t...
First time using this app. So amazing!
I am able to import favorite recipes to this app or add recipes from my favorite food networks. A bookmark 'icon' on my status bar allows me to click to add (import) the recipe without having to manually type it in. But even at that, I am able to copy/paste recipes.
Pictures are bright and amazing.

Picked a menu, placed in shopping list, and it itemized it !

I LOVE this app... I was a big skeptic as I am with most things. I didnt want an app to take up space on my nook that wasn't beneficial. Now I am going to delete books (lol) just to grow my recipe list...

Get it.
* If you don't know much about pepperplate, because i didnt, it does ask you to create an account (just email and psword). You import recipes online and it syncs automatically and itemize on your nook.
AWESOME ! im so glad i got it. THE BEST.

posted by TexasGoddess on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

68 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time

If you dont often sync you Nook with you pc, this app is pointless. You cant add recipies straight from your Nook browser. Waste of an app.

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Amazing

    First time using this app. So amazing!
    I am able to import favorite recipes to this app or add recipes from my favorite food networks. A bookmark 'icon' on my status bar allows me to click to add (import) the recipe without having to manually type it in. But even at that, I am able to copy/paste recipes.
    Pictures are bright and amazing.

    Picked a menu, placed in shopping list, and it itemized it !

    I LOVE this app... I was a big skeptic as I am with most things. I didnt want an app to take up space on my nook that wasn't beneficial. Now I am going to delete books (lol) just to grow my recipe list...

    Get it.
    * If you don't know much about pepperplate, because i didnt, it does ask you to create an account (just email and psword). You import recipes online and it syncs automatically and itemize on your nook.
    AWESOME ! im so glad i got it. THE BEST.

    283 out of 306 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Excellent App!

    I have been using Pepperplate online for months and am very excited that it launched on the NOOK! I enter recipes, menus and plans on my computer and it syncs to my NOOK and other devices. Grocery items are sorted automatically. I can add recipes and menus to the planner. I just took my NOOK to the store with the shopping list. Excellent App!

    97 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    What I've been looking for

    Love this app! To have one app to store favorite recipes is nice, but to click once and have the ingredients for a recipe added to your shopping list (a list that can be sorted by store aisle) is incredible.
    I've found that several well known recipe websites do not participate in Pepper Plate so you cannot add the recipe to your Pepper Plate using the URL. It's still easy to add a recipe by cutting and pasting it from the website to Pepper Plate, but it a bit more cumbersome.
    It's a free app; if you grocery shop and cook, I would highly recommend giving it a try.

    77 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Waste of time

    If you dont often sync you Nook with you pc, this app is pointless. You cant add recipies straight from your Nook browser. Waste of an app.

    68 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Not what I thought

    I got this app thinking it would give me recipe ideas and allow me to put various menus together while making the creation of a shopping list easier. It is in reality a place to store info and import items, I have other apps that are "multi-taskers" that I prefer.

    39 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Just What I Was Looking For!

    Really helpful app. Because of this app I found the PepperPlate web site. This is a perfect site to keep track of all your recipes. It allows direct import from a large number of popular food sites. After you import them, you can add your own notes, change the ingredient list, change the instructions, etc.. This app syncs with the web site and allows you to plan menus, shopping lists and more from your nook. I highly recommend this app for anyone who loves to cook!

    39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Pepperplate a Must have app for all cooks!

    I come from a family with a long fine history of male cooks. Being that I am both Italian and Spaniard makes me a leathal combination in traditional cooking. What I like about this apps is that it allows familys to record family favorite recipies to both preserve and share with new members of an ever growing family.

    All of us have family members who are not so tech savy and thankfully this app allows a person to email a link to a specific recipe without said "Aunt or Uncle All Thumbs" having to join Pepperplate.

    Overall the site is easy to use and the cost for the App is perfect because it is FREE!

    I hope the creators of Pepperplate read this comment because I have a great idea! They could offer to Pepperplate users the option to arrange their own favorite list of recipes from friends and family and print it out in book form. Just imagine a De Marco Family Recipe Book or Uncle Geebs Beer Belly Bustin Recipes, they could allow creators to include family photos and make it really unique!

    Well all I can do is cook, write, and dream!

    37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Another Nook fail

    This would be a great app, if the Tablet supported either bookmarklets or allowed users to cut and paste URLs. As it is, the only way to add recipes is to manually type in the exact URL of the recipe page ( not the site, but the exact page).

    28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Keeps my kitchen clutter free,keeps money in my pocket!

    I keep all my recipes on this. I use the shopping list and have noticed less waste of food,less money spent on things I already had at home. I dont like having to edit the list when I just add an entire recipes to the list,however. That can be tedious. I love how easy it is to collect my recipes from any website. And i like the fact that I can litteraly carry ALl my recipes on my nook, or on my phone. I am hooked on it. Ive used it for three months at least, and the more I use it, the more i NEED it. It' changed my entire cooking culture!

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Help please ; )

    I really love the idea of this app. It seemed to install ok, but I can't figure out how to get a recipe from a site and "sync" it so it shows up in my list.
    I'm sure its something very easy, I'm just not getting it....

    22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    The only app you'll need

    This thing is amazing! I've been adding recipes for hours! It lets you note favorites, make your own categories, modify recipes, automatically includes photos of each recipe if it's on the contributing website (or add your own), plan menus, make shopping lists. I can't say enough good things about this app except try it, you won't be able to stop using it.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Get this app

    At first I couldn't figure it out, but now I get it--dig, dig, dig---On your computer just Ctrl C URL then Ctrl V, and paste---Hit add and bam recipe and picture appair.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Love it! Love it! Love it!

    So...I'm one of those people who buys magazines and cookbooks because I aspire to plan healthier meals and be more efficient with my time. My problem was that it would take FOREVER to go through all my material to find the meals that would fit the structure of my week (which changes often). Though it took time to do this, I now have all my favorite recipes in this app (with pictures!). I can now plan my week's meals and it automatically generates a shopping list for me (another thing that used to take me forever to do). Now that they are all stored here, I can recycle my magazines, and create room for other things. (You would be shocked by how many magazines and cookbooks I kept around as "reference" material). It felt so good to just let it all go knowing my recipes are safely in my nook. Thanks Pepperplate!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    I like Pepperplate. I like it because all I have to do is go to

    I like Pepperplate. I like it because all I have to do is go to Taste of Home or Food Network, find a recipe I like and copy the recipe web address into Pepperplate and it seemlessly goes to my computer, my Nook color and my Lenovo tablet. WOW! I now have 560 recipes in my account. Instead of trying to take my laptop to the kitchen while I cook, I simply take my Nook and the recipe is there. The only problems I have had, is that I have to forceclose a lot of times on my Lenovo tablet and it is slower on my Nook, but I guess that is to be expected. I have also noticed that some of the sights given where you can import a direct recipe do not work as well as others. Taste of Home and Food Network work well. Some of the sights are other Cooking apps that are listed. I have not tried to make a grocery list as of yet. I think there is a good tutorial on line through UTUBE.. That would help with setting up catagories etc. All in all, a great product for people who enjoy cooking.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Frustrated.

    I loved this app until it became corrupted. Won't load;just keeps cycling the name "Pepperplate".I am now going to delete it and re-load it.
    Will keep you informed.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Copy and Paste makes adding recipes easy and quick

    For those "Non-supported" sites just Copy and Paste Ingredients, then do the same for Instructions. If you're having trouble Importing from Supported sites, Copy and Paste the full URL for the site AND page.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Great app for Foodies!

    I love this app! I plan my week's menues, create a shopping list based on that, add in other things I might need and take the NT to the store with me. I figure I'm saving money both by following a list and not having to make multiple shopping trips. The recipe cooking display is very clear and the multiple timers are handy, especially when I wander away from the kitchen - the NT comes with me, so I don't miss the timers. Only downside is I have to be on my desktop to add recipes, but they have made it very easy to do so; even personal recipes only take a short time to key in. Also, when I contacted them about adding one of my favorite websites, they sent a personal response within hours; support is excellent.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Exelent app! Worth getting! Many uses.

    I got this app so me and my mom could put our grocery list on it and then I found the coolest aspect of it: the recipies! Not only can you create your own recipies online but get the URL of the recipie and instantly synch it to your nook. It very easy and very handy in the kitchen. The only issue I found was that when you add alot of things to the grocery list, it sometimes stops typing. All you do is close it and reopen it. Everything is saved. Other than that I havent found any other issues. I feel it was so good that I got it and love the convinece of it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Great for anyone interested in cooking

    This is my new addiction! I hated bookmarking all of my recipes, and most of the time I just forgot about them. Now, I browse and save recipes a couple times a week, its my new recipe box :) The only problem is that you cant copy and paste links on the tablet. Not pepperplates falt, cough please fix barnes & noble cough, but if you have a computer/lap top its super easy to add recipes and then all you need in the kitchen is your tablet.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    OKAY AM I REALLY THAT DUMB?

    How do you use this app.?

    4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9