BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Reckless (Reckless Series #1)(Sneak Preview)

Average Rating 3.5
( 972 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(352)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(183)

2 Star

(97)

1 Star

(164)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

107 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

Reading Teen Review of Reckless

I picked this book up at ALA 10 for my ten-year-old daughter. I got it signed for her and everything. She loved the Inkheart series and was really excited to start reading it, but after about 15 pages, she brought it to me and said, "I don't understand what's happenin...
I picked this book up at ALA 10 for my ten-year-old daughter. I got it signed for her and everything. She loved the Inkheart series and was really excited to start reading it, but after about 15 pages, she brought it to me and said, "I don't understand what's happening, this book makes no sense." So, I told her that I'd read it, and try to explain it to her. I am SO glad that I started this book....for two reasons. First, my ten-year-old is not ready for it. There was way too much bone-chilling creepiness, and there was also quite a lot of adult innuendo (the main character is 24) that she either wouldn't understand, or shouldn't be reading at ten.

The second reason is that I REALLY liked it a lot!! Unfortunately, if she hadn't brought it to me, I don't know that I would have ever picked it up, which makes me sad because I'm afraid that people who would love it, won't read it because it's marked (presently anyway) for 9-12 year olds.

So, why did I like this book so much? It was like The Lord of the Rings crossed with The Brothers Grimm Fairy Tales. I loved reading about the world behind the mirror! There were witches, and fairies, and dwarfs, and creepy stone creatures called Goyl. Then there were familiar fairy tale characters like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty (who was still sleeping because her prince never came for her). The story changes perspective several times as it is told by many different points of view, including Jacob, a loner who finds his place in this alternate world, Jacob's loyal female companion and shape-shifter, Fox, Jacob's brother, Will, who is rapidly turning into a Goyl, Will's fiery girlfriend, Clara, Hentzau, the captain of the evil Goyl King's army, and a few others. Though I think it might be confusing for younger readers, I thoroughly enjoyed reading from all these points of view. It was even interesting reading from the villain's outlook!

The creepy-factor was big in this book, too. If you're a fan of the Brothers Grimm or Tim Burton type movies, you will definitely appreciate the bizarre, and eerily terrifying creatures in Reckless. Some of them seriously gave me chills. "The Tailor"....that's all I'm saying.

I loved everything about this mystical world that Cornelia Funke twisted to make her own. I never knew what was going to happen next, or what creature they would encounter on their quest to free Will from the flesh-eating stone that was consuming him. The only complaint that I have is that I wish that we were able to get to know the characters a little better. I didn't feel like I got to know Jacob, or Will very well, which made it hard for me to care as much about what happened to them. Hopefully they will be fleshed out a little more in the next book which I can't wait to read! I hope that you won't let the age recommendation keep you from this book, and I hope you'll love it as much as I did.

Reckless is an Epic adventure with a creepy twist on all the Fairytales we know and love. "If you're looking for happily ever after, you've come to the wrong place."

Andye (http://ReadingTeen.net/)

posted by ReadingTeen on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

59 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Free eBook is only a sample

Most of the other reviews are about the hardcopy edition (which will not come out until Sept. 14, 2010). They are talking about advance copies.
Unfortunately the eBook only contains the first 7 chapters. Thirty three pages in all. The last page announces the release da...
Most of the other reviews are about the hardcopy edition (which will not come out until Sept. 14, 2010). They are talking about advance copies.
Unfortunately the eBook only contains the first 7 chapters. Thirty three pages in all. The last page announces the release date of the full version.
We have been tricked once more.

posted by Antonio_S on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 980 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    Reading Teen Review of Reckless

    I picked this book up at ALA 10 for my ten-year-old daughter. I got it signed for her and everything. She loved the Inkheart series and was really excited to start reading it, but after about 15 pages, she brought it to me and said, "I don't understand what's happening, this book makes no sense." So, I told her that I'd read it, and try to explain it to her. I am SO glad that I started this book....for two reasons. First, my ten-year-old is not ready for it. There was way too much bone-chilling creepiness, and there was also quite a lot of adult innuendo (the main character is 24) that she either wouldn't understand, or shouldn't be reading at ten.

    The second reason is that I REALLY liked it a lot!! Unfortunately, if she hadn't brought it to me, I don't know that I would have ever picked it up, which makes me sad because I'm afraid that people who would love it, won't read it because it's marked (presently anyway) for 9-12 year olds.

    So, why did I like this book so much? It was like The Lord of the Rings crossed with The Brothers Grimm Fairy Tales. I loved reading about the world behind the mirror! There were witches, and fairies, and dwarfs, and creepy stone creatures called Goyl. Then there were familiar fairy tale characters like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty (who was still sleeping because her prince never came for her). The story changes perspective several times as it is told by many different points of view, including Jacob, a loner who finds his place in this alternate world, Jacob's loyal female companion and shape-shifter, Fox, Jacob's brother, Will, who is rapidly turning into a Goyl, Will's fiery girlfriend, Clara, Hentzau, the captain of the evil Goyl King's army, and a few others. Though I think it might be confusing for younger readers, I thoroughly enjoyed reading from all these points of view. It was even interesting reading from the villain's outlook!

    The creepy-factor was big in this book, too. If you're a fan of the Brothers Grimm or Tim Burton type movies, you will definitely appreciate the bizarre, and eerily terrifying creatures in Reckless. Some of them seriously gave me chills. "The Tailor"....that's all I'm saying.

    I loved everything about this mystical world that Cornelia Funke twisted to make her own. I never knew what was going to happen next, or what creature they would encounter on their quest to free Will from the flesh-eating stone that was consuming him. The only complaint that I have is that I wish that we were able to get to know the characters a little better. I didn't feel like I got to know Jacob, or Will very well, which made it hard for me to care as much about what happened to them. Hopefully they will be fleshed out a little more in the next book which I can't wait to read! I hope that you won't let the age recommendation keep you from this book, and I hope you'll love it as much as I did.

    Reckless is an Epic adventure with a creepy twist on all the Fairytales we know and love. "If you're looking for happily ever after, you've come to the wrong place."

    Andye (http://ReadingTeen.net/)

    107 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Free eBook is only a sample

    Most of the other reviews are about the hardcopy edition (which will not come out until Sept. 14, 2010). They are talking about advance copies.
    Unfortunately the eBook only contains the first 7 chapters. Thirty three pages in all. The last page announces the release date of the full version.
    We have been tricked once more.

    59 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    sample

    for the love of all that is holy, is it so hard to make samples say 'sample' plus arent samples useless since you can usually read the first chapter free anyways?

    36 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Read the Title...

    Did anybody even read the book title before downloading it? It states "sneak preview" right in the title...

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Utterly Fantastic

    I was lucky enough to get an ARC of this and it was amazing. I stayed up reading until my eyes were sore and I had a headache, because I didn't want to put it down. I've always been a fan of the Grimm Brothers and when I found out Cornelia Funke was writing a book based on their stories reading it was a no-brainer. This may be even better than the Inkheart book and I'm saying this as a huge fan of that series. Admittedly it's not as complex as those books, but something about it was more captivating. The way Grimms Fairy Tales are interwoven with original ideas and creatures is pure magic. Do yourself a favor and read this book. The only downside is that now I have to endure the wait for the sequel. Another win for Cornelia Funke!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An entertaining read

    Cornelia Funke has a very distinct writing style that works out well for this book. I bought this book because, like some of her other books, it is recommended for ages 9-12 but was reviewed and recommended for a more mature audience by readers. I have to agree. The subject matter and story of this book should best be left to teen or young adult readers. There is blood and violence, betrayal, and a complex emotional storyline that is more suitable for older readers. The characters are all very distinct, and through the course of this book, they grow and develop by addressing their emotions. The story moves quickly with teasing hints about the past of main character Jacob Reckless's adventures in Mirrorworld, and an ending that finishes the current story while setting up for more exciting adventures. I will definitely be following this series!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, definitely worth Buying.

    Just a reminder that we are supposed to be reviewing the book and not the publishers or barnes and nobles failure to advertise it correctly. I am sorry that this happened to you, but I can assure you that the book was well worth the money... I enjoyed this book alot. It kept me interested for hours on end. Didnt want to put it down. HIghly reccomended.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and Enchanting

    When I first began this book, I didn't know what to think. Sometimes, I thought Funke tried to hard for beautiful, poetic writing and that everything was rushed and I was going to write a whole lot about the flaws of this book.

    And then I decided I didn't want to nitpick it anymore. Funke has a brilliant and beautiful imagination, and she poured all of it into this novel. The concept of the stone people was gorgeous to say the least, and her talent of bringing characters' emotions to the readers is her strongest point here.

    While some parts of the story did seem a bit random (oh look, I suddenly have this thing that turns me invisible, how convenient!), overall, I really, really liked this book. The atmosphere was engaging, the characters were well-painted and sympathetic, and the plethora of images and imaginative concepts kept me captivated.

    I only wish that there was a prequel to this story. Jacobs previous adventures were mentioned almost every other page, and I would have really liked to experience those as well.

    But anyways, a very imaginative and evoking read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    SAMPLE-but great so far

    PLEASE WRITE THAT ITS A SAMPLE. YOU CAN'T DOWNLOAD A SAMPLE *OF* A SAMPLE!

    but the story is interesting so far. I guess I have to buy it now.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    It says SNEAK PREVIEW

    I see this a lot when looking around for free ebooks. They use the words SNEAK PREVIEW to mean its only a sample of the book. If you own a Nook you should be aware by now that all the SNEAK PREVIEWS and SAMPLES are free. Your not getting tricked or anything because you didn't spend any money and it's your fault not theirs that you can't read the whole title.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Loved it!!

    Im eleven and i absolutely loved it. But then again, i love the fantasy books like this, and i can comprehend a lot more than my friends... it felt like it was missing something though.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    scary but GREAT

    I read this book in class it was amazing! The darkest fairy tales really come alive. Do not read it unless you are prepared for a few bad words and pure scaryness. I recomend it for12 and up.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Instant Favorite!

    I love Cornelia Funke! She brings fairy tales to life and mixes fantasy with reality. I seriously hope she is writing a sequel because I want to know what happens next to the Reckless family. Jacob Restless seems an unlikely hero in the beginning but soon proves the opposite. READ IT!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Reckles

    Its a really good book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Wow

    This is a complex story if you like reading stories that you get scared this a great book and i am only 9

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Eagerly awaiting the sequel

    Great characters,plot,and pacing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    I thoroughly loved this book!!!!!

    I read the Inkheart series when I was younger and I am still impressed by Funke' s rich story telling. I am now 14 and the creepiness, mature story telling and fantasy elements incorporated was amazing. You also get fascinating different POV of different characters. The adventure of Jacob saving his brother from turning into a monster and watching the process was heart wrenching. You go through the emotions with the characters and I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    i loved this book. It was darker then some of Cornelia Funke's o

    i loved this book. It was darker then some of Cornelia Funke's other books,but still just as good! Its definitely worth reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't get into this one. The writing was poor. The characte

    I couldn't get into this one. The writing was poor. The characters flat and it was just completely uninteresting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Best book ever!

    My favorite book in the world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 980 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49