Customer Reviews for

Reckless (Reckless Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 966 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(350)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(182)

2 Star

(96)

1 Star

(162)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

106 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Reading Teen Review of Reckless

I picked this book up at ALA 10 for my ten-year-old daughter. I got it signed for her and everything. She loved the Inkheart series and was really excited to start reading it, but after about 15 pages, she brought it to me and said, "I don't understand what's happenin...
I picked this book up at ALA 10 for my ten-year-old daughter. I got it signed for her and everything. She loved the Inkheart series and was really excited to start reading it, but after about 15 pages, she brought it to me and said, "I don't understand what's happening, this book makes no sense." So, I told her that I'd read it, and try to explain it to her. I am SO glad that I started this book....for two reasons. First, my ten-year-old is not ready for it. There was way too much bone-chilling creepiness, and there was also quite a lot of adult innuendo (the main character is 24) that she either wouldn't understand, or shouldn't be reading at ten.

The second reason is that I REALLY liked it a lot!! Unfortunately, if she hadn't brought it to me, I don't know that I would have ever picked it up, which makes me sad because I'm afraid that people who would love it, won't read it because it's marked (presently anyway) for 9-12 year olds.

So, why did I like this book so much? It was like The Lord of the Rings crossed with The Brothers Grimm Fairy Tales. I loved reading about the world behind the mirror! There were witches, and fairies, and dwarfs, and creepy stone creatures called Goyl. Then there were familiar fairy tale characters like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty (who was still sleeping because her prince never came for her). The story changes perspective several times as it is told by many different points of view, including Jacob, a loner who finds his place in this alternate world, Jacob's loyal female companion and shape-shifter, Fox, Jacob's brother, Will, who is rapidly turning into a Goyl, Will's fiery girlfriend, Clara, Hentzau, the captain of the evil Goyl King's army, and a few others. Though I think it might be confusing for younger readers, I thoroughly enjoyed reading from all these points of view. It was even interesting reading from the villain's outlook!

The creepy-factor was big in this book, too. If you're a fan of the Brothers Grimm or Tim Burton type movies, you will definitely appreciate the bizarre, and eerily terrifying creatures in Reckless. Some of them seriously gave me chills. "The Tailor"....that's all I'm saying.

I loved everything about this mystical world that Cornelia Funke twisted to make her own. I never knew what was going to happen next, or what creature they would encounter on their quest to free Will from the flesh-eating stone that was consuming him. The only complaint that I have is that I wish that we were able to get to know the characters a little better. I didn't feel like I got to know Jacob, or Will very well, which made it hard for me to care as much about what happened to them. Hopefully they will be fleshed out a little more in the next book which I can't wait to read! I hope that you won't let the age recommendation keep you from this book, and I hope you'll love it as much as I did.

Reckless is an Epic adventure with a creepy twist on all the Fairytales we know and love. "If you're looking for happily ever after, you've come to the wrong place."

Andye (http://ReadingTeen.net/)

posted by ReadingTeen on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

59 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Free eBook is only a sample

Most of the other reviews are about the hardcopy edition (which will not come out until Sept. 14, 2010). They are talking about advance copies.
Unfortunately the eBook only contains the first 7 chapters. Thirty three pages in all. The last page announces the release da...
Most of the other reviews are about the hardcopy edition (which will not come out until Sept. 14, 2010). They are talking about advance copies.
Unfortunately the eBook only contains the first 7 chapters. Thirty three pages in all. The last page announces the release date of the full version.
We have been tricked once more.

posted by Antonio_S on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 162 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Nice cover.

    Reads like a rejected entry from the Bulwer-Litton contest. Would love to see the German original some time to see if the purple prose comes from the original or whether it gained something in the translation. Plotline is hackneyed - touch a magic mirror, transport to another world. Can't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Sounds a little dark for a kids book.

    Too dark for me for that matter. I don't want my daughter reading stories from the dark side. I'm sick of all the vampire/devilish books that are out. Trying to look sexy and intriguing to young minds. I'd never purchase this book.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    A dead turkey

    Sucks. Why does the cookie have to die in the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    Worr Wort book ever Bla bla

    This book is boaring and i dont recamend it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    Da Book Person

    Yah I never really got into it either, the only reasom I got this book on my nook is, becuase my mom downloaded it cuase she thought it looked cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Really?

    .........should i buy this book or not? There is a lot of mixed reviews...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    DOn't care for it

    This book is not for me. I did not care for it much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    SLOW

    Ughhhhhhhh SSTUPID 1pg. UGGHHHHH

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    Ugh

    I+hate+it%21%21%21%21+Don%27t+buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    um...

    it starts off ok then u get lost n then when u start gettin into it, it finishes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    the book didnt say sneak peak

    i was kinda confused when it ended, but i dont really like it. it skipped a little in my version, and really confused me. i think inkheart was better. i dint know if ill buy the full version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Promised to be good...then found out it's only a preview.

    Ok, before everyone starts criticizing and asking why I'm complaining when it clearly states in the title that it's a sneak peek, I'll say one thing: IT DIDN'T SAY SNEAK PREVIEW IN THE TITLE AT THE TIME WHEN I DOWNLOADED IT or I wouldn't have bothered. That said, the book promises to be a good one...I was interested as I read it (boy finds magical world through mirror after the loss of his father, strange fairy folk who are up to no good, and a brother who's slowly turning into a monster), then was startled when it abrubtly ended 34 pages in. At first I was confused, thinking that perhaps the author meant for the story to end like that, but when I looked at it again online, I noticed that the title now included the words Sneak Preview. I love my NOOK but I'm beginning to get upset with B&N. Most of their free nookbooks are either previews or very sexual in content. Ah well...back to the topic. Liked the book but not enough to want to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Why?

    Why did you give a sample and not tell us!!!!!!!!!!!! You people are not very smart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    thanks

    well i was going to download this but thankfully i always look at the comments on a book and found out it was a sample that save me the time

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    BOOO!!!

    Didn't like this one at all the story line jumps around alot and just really didn't grab my attention. Good thing I didn't purchase this book I would have been disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    ya got me again

    ITS A SAMPLE>>>>> tell us that!!!! this customer service of yours is disturbing!!!!! Why can't you put it on here that it is just the 1st 7 chapters.. only 37 of 400 pages.. don't download if you don't feel like getting duped!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Can't tell you if I like it because it is only a sample!

    Why isn't this listed as a sample. B&N, quit misleading customers, it is getting to be anyoying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    disappointed

    i was looking to download this book and read all of your guys' commentx and im not so sure i want to download it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Only 33 pages

    I feel deceived. I decided to purchase a nook instead of a kindle because I thought Barnes and Noble would be upfront and more trustworthy. What a mistake. The very first download I made was Reckless. I downloaded this from my nook and never saw the word sample. I have looked again on the nook thinking I was just confused. NOWHERE on the nook store does it have the word SAMPLE. I had to search the internet site to see the fine print. I will definitely warn all my friends about this when they are choosing between a nook and a kindle. Free downloads? What a joke. Really, Barnes and Noble, have you ever heard that it is at least five times more expensive to lose a customer than to get a new one? Be upfront and honest!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Only a sample again

    Again with the samples. The last bunch of 'books' I downloaded were all samples, without any indication of that up front so I went on vacation with nothing to read. Is this what B&N's vaunted great free library all is? What a way to make customers really annoyed and feel gypped.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 162 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9