Customer Reviews for

Reckless (Reckless Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 975 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(353)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(185)

2 Star

(97)

1 Star

(164)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

108 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

Reading Teen Review of Reckless

I picked this book up at ALA 10 for my ten-year-old daughter. I got it signed for her and everything. She loved the Inkheart series and was really excited to start reading it, but after about 15 pages, she brought it to me and said, "I don't understand what's happenin...
I picked this book up at ALA 10 for my ten-year-old daughter. I got it signed for her and everything. She loved the Inkheart series and was really excited to start reading it, but after about 15 pages, she brought it to me and said, "I don't understand what's happening, this book makes no sense." So, I told her that I'd read it, and try to explain it to her. I am SO glad that I started this book....for two reasons. First, my ten-year-old is not ready for it. There was way too much bone-chilling creepiness, and there was also quite a lot of adult innuendo (the main character is 24) that she either wouldn't understand, or shouldn't be reading at ten.

The second reason is that I REALLY liked it a lot!! Unfortunately, if she hadn't brought it to me, I don't know that I would have ever picked it up, which makes me sad because I'm afraid that people who would love it, won't read it because it's marked (presently anyway) for 9-12 year olds.

So, why did I like this book so much? It was like The Lord of the Rings crossed with The Brothers Grimm Fairy Tales. I loved reading about the world behind the mirror! There were witches, and fairies, and dwarfs, and creepy stone creatures called Goyl. Then there were familiar fairy tale characters like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty (who was still sleeping because her prince never came for her). The story changes perspective several times as it is told by many different points of view, including Jacob, a loner who finds his place in this alternate world, Jacob's loyal female companion and shape-shifter, Fox, Jacob's brother, Will, who is rapidly turning into a Goyl, Will's fiery girlfriend, Clara, Hentzau, the captain of the evil Goyl King's army, and a few others. Though I think it might be confusing for younger readers, I thoroughly enjoyed reading from all these points of view. It was even interesting reading from the villain's outlook!

The creepy-factor was big in this book, too. If you're a fan of the Brothers Grimm or Tim Burton type movies, you will definitely appreciate the bizarre, and eerily terrifying creatures in Reckless. Some of them seriously gave me chills. "The Tailor"....that's all I'm saying.

I loved everything about this mystical world that Cornelia Funke twisted to make her own. I never knew what was going to happen next, or what creature they would encounter on their quest to free Will from the flesh-eating stone that was consuming him. The only complaint that I have is that I wish that we were able to get to know the characters a little better. I didn't feel like I got to know Jacob, or Will very well, which made it hard for me to care as much about what happened to them. Hopefully they will be fleshed out a little more in the next book which I can't wait to read! I hope that you won't let the age recommendation keep you from this book, and I hope you'll love it as much as I did.

Reckless is an Epic adventure with a creepy twist on all the Fairytales we know and love. "If you're looking for happily ever after, you've come to the wrong place."

Andye (http://ReadingTeen.net/)

posted by ReadingTeen on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

59 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Free eBook is only a sample

Most of the other reviews are about the hardcopy edition (which will not come out until Sept. 14, 2010). They are talking about advance copies.
Unfortunately the eBook only contains the first 7 chapters. Thirty three pages in all. The last page announces the release da...
Most of the other reviews are about the hardcopy edition (which will not come out until Sept. 14, 2010). They are talking about advance copies.
Unfortunately the eBook only contains the first 7 chapters. Thirty three pages in all. The last page announces the release date of the full version.
We have been tricked once more.

posted by Antonio_S on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, definitely worth Buying.

    Just a reminder that we are supposed to be reviewing the book and not the publishers or barnes and nobles failure to advertise it correctly. I am sorry that this happened to you, but I can assure you that the book was well worth the money... I enjoyed this book alot. It kept me interested for hours on end. Didnt want to put it down. HIghly reccomended.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and Enchanting

    When I first began this book, I didn't know what to think. Sometimes, I thought Funke tried to hard for beautiful, poetic writing and that everything was rushed and I was going to write a whole lot about the flaws of this book.

    And then I decided I didn't want to nitpick it anymore. Funke has a brilliant and beautiful imagination, and she poured all of it into this novel. The concept of the stone people was gorgeous to say the least, and her talent of bringing characters' emotions to the readers is her strongest point here.

    While some parts of the story did seem a bit random (oh look, I suddenly have this thing that turns me invisible, how convenient!), overall, I really, really liked this book. The atmosphere was engaging, the characters were well-painted and sympathetic, and the plethora of images and imaginative concepts kept me captivated.

    I only wish that there was a prequel to this story. Jacobs previous adventures were mentioned almost every other page, and I would have really liked to experience those as well.

    But anyways, a very imaginative and evoking read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    I thoroughly loved this book!!!!!

    I read the Inkheart series when I was younger and I am still impressed by Funke' s rich story telling. I am now 14 and the creepiness, mature story telling and fantasy elements incorporated was amazing. You also get fascinating different POV of different characters. The adventure of Jacob saving his brother from turning into a monster and watching the process was heart wrenching. You go through the emotions with the characters and I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Hat

    Wha are you 5 as i recall he she said " baddest book ever " um well i dont mean to be mean but the correct way would be worst book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Was better than I thought it would be :)

    I wasn't sure if I'd like this book, but it kept me turning the pages!! It's worth the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing hocks you right in

    It hocks youu right in when you start the book. I am only on the second chapter but i love it so far.!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    I loved this book.

    I loved this book. At first it was kinda confusing, but I kept reading and it made sense. Overall it's a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    This is the first book I've read by this author and I thoroughly

    This is the first book I've read by this author and I thoroughly enjoyed this inventive YA fantasy. The alternate world was brought alive with vivid descriptions of both the countryside and the creatures that inhabited it. The pacing of the story was excellent and the pages flew by. Would Jacob find a way to save his brother from becoming the legendary Jade Goyle? Jacob's companion Fox was an intriguing character. I wanted to know more of her story and the author gives us snippets of this shape shifter. Can't wait to see what happens to Jacob and Fox in the next book.
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Great book

    I will make sure my daughter reads this when she is old enough. Wonderful hopeful perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Bookhead

    Pretty good. Its a little dark but i liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Very entertaining!

    I really enjoyed the book. Though I did have to break down and purchase the whole thing after reading the free chapters. It's always disappointing to think you are getting a whole book for free only to realize it's just the first few chapters. But I did like the book enough to actually spend money on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Read this book

    A must read thriller that fills you up with wonder

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Idk

    I luved it! I luved all the fairy tales. I liked almost all of the characters! Awesome read!!!!!! Buuy it:):):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Terrific

    She is a master in writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Cornelia Funke Has Done It Again.

    I enjoy Cornelia Funke. She draws you into a world of make believe and doesn't leave you wanting even if a sequel is in the make. I enjoy that about authors. This is a good read. Not beach material, but it's enjoyable and defiantely worth a few hours of your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    A Good Book

    Well written with good detail and great charictors, this book does seem to contain gaps, or holes in the story hoever. Some parts of the book seem incomplete. It is a great buy over all and is certainly worth double what I payed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Just to get things straight

    These stories are not ment for kids they are meant for young adults they also are not meant for full grown adults they are meant for teens( ages 14 - 18) i understand that you may not like these kinds of stories but its whats popular. If you daughter is mature enought and likes these kinds stories you sould let her read them its all a part of growing up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    This book is definately worth reading

    Cornelia funke writes what i believe is one of her best books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Good read

    Im pretty new to reading on a daily basis and this waals one of the first ones i read. It can be slow at time but all and all a really good book. Made me look at my mirror different :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    ok...

    its good but. u get mixed up with the characters and story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9